All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Premier28:  "Forde is back and a few others"
Who else? What are the six starting forwards likely to be v Offaly and then presumably Galway?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 14/06/2023 10:29:32    2486372

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Who else? What are the six starting forwards likely to be v Offaly and then presumably Galway?"
If everyone is fit then from midfield up you'd likely have Noel, Tynan, Conor Stakelum, Bowe, Kennedy, Morris, Kehoe, Forde - in no particular order. Probably unlikely both of the two lads start and thats assuming Dan Mc stays at wing back

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/06/2023 10:58:20    2486380

Replying To CARPS:  "Sure, if we lose on Sunday, we demand a back door play off with the All Ireland winners. The morning after that game. At, say, 9am?"
In Dr Cullen Park? That'll be fine. The Kilkenny team will have plenty of time to get there, from the Citywest Hotel.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2777 - 14/06/2023 11:17:00    2486387

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "In Dr Cullen Park? That'll be fine. The Kilkenny team will have plenty of time to get there, from the Citywest Hotel."
There in a post is why Kilkenny have so many AIs......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15811 - 14/06/2023 15:16:45    2486458

Replying To updwell:  "It wasn't just the last sequence of play, he was very harsh on Limerick in the first off even though Clare are upset over 1 particular incident. In the first half Conlon barged into Gillanes chest similar to the late incident with Kelly and Casey and Clare got the free while O'Donnell got a free off Nash for an imagined Jersey pull.3 Clare defenders fouled Hegarty in the space of about 5 seconds and Hegarty got booked. It seemed to me he referred the match and incidents on players previous reputation like booking Hegarty because 'he always causes trouble' or Gillane because he fooled ref in Cork match or Kelly because he dived v Cork."
If we look again at the last sequence I feel that Diarmuid Byrnes was fouled in the build to the so called Clare frees, so the Ref having done nothing about the first foul felt he now could not penalise LK. Look at it again lads.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4495 - 14/06/2023 16:20:02    2486471

Replying To Oldtourman:  "If we look again at the last sequence I feel that Diarmuid Byrnes was fouled in the build to the so called Clare frees, so the Ref having done nothing about the first foul felt he now could not penalise LK. Look at it again lads."
Don't you Limerick lot ever stop moaning and whining? I've just been reading the 'Limerick Hurling 2023', it's endless. The refs are always favour the other team. Our lads are penalised more than others. Oher teams cheat and dive and provoke our players ...on and on ad nauseam.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2777 - 14/06/2023 22:35:58    2486546

Replying To Oldtourman:  "If we look again at the last sequence I feel that Diarmuid Byrnes was fouled in the build to the so called Clare frees, so the Ref having done nothing about the first foul felt he now could not penalise LK. Look at it again lads."
I have also heard there was a throw ball from a Clare player in there...

Not trying to cause a stir but did anyone else notice the very obvious 3 catches from Byrnes early in the game when he was coming out with a ball unchallenged. I couldnt get over that it wasnt picked up in commentary.

Theres probably 100 debatable incidents in these games but I thought that was an easy one for the ref to pick up or did I miss something?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 09:22:43    2486567

Replying To tiobraid:  "I have also heard there was a throw ball from a Clare player in there...

Not trying to cause a stir but did anyone else notice the very obvious 3 catches from Byrnes early in the game when he was coming out with a ball unchallenged. I couldnt get over that it wasnt picked up in commentary.

Theres probably 100 debatable incidents in these games but I thought that was an easy one for the ref to pick up or did I miss something?"
You shouldn't be at all surprised that this wasn't picked up on commentary, Tiobraid. That type of thing is a regular occurence, especially with Marty Morrissey. Another frequent blunder he makes is when the referee moves a free forward - Marty always tells us it's for dissent, but as often as not it's because an opponent prevented a quick free being taken.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 604 - 15/06/2023 09:58:45    2486576

Replying To midlands:  "You shouldn't be at all surprised that this wasn't picked up on commentary, Tiobraid. That type of thing is a regular occurence, especially with Marty Morrissey. Another frequent blunder he makes is when the referee moves a free forward - Marty always tells us it's for dissent, but as often as not it's because an opponent prevented a quick free being taken."
Ya himself and Canning wouldnt be very good at that but would have thought Duignan would have seen it. It seemed so obvious to me that I'm wondering did I miss something myself.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2023 10:12:58    2486583

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Don't you Limerick lot ever stop moaning and whining? I've just been reading the 'Limerick Hurling 2023', it's endless. The refs are always favour the other team. Our lads are penalised more than others. Oher teams cheat and dive and provoke our players ...on and on ad nauseam."
Cockney Hard to say as there are very few contributors from most of the main Hurling counties on here. The letters pages of the Irish Examiner and indeed the Sindo were replete with fellows complaining about the Ref in the recent CK/LK game.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4495 - 15/06/2023 10:42:00    2486595

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Don't you Limerick lot ever stop moaning and whining? I've just been reading the 'Limerick Hurling 2023', it's endless. The refs are always favour the other team. Our lads are penalised more than others. Oher teams cheat and dive and provoke our players ...on and on ad nauseam."
Absolutely, although your own counties forum on boards can be just as bad, what annoys me is people who think refs have some agenda against their county, refs like players are human and will make wrong decisions from time to time, sometimes they go your way sometimes they don't but the lads who think there's some conspiracy against their county really grate with me.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/06/2023 11:04:34    2486603

Fair points Cockney Cat, we shall take that on the chin old bean.

Might I throw in how your manager reacted to Marty Morrissey when questioned about a penalty decision at the end of the 2009 all Ireland final and how he treated his former favourite Son because that man had the balls to want to manage another county? How he reacted to Ger Loughnane's comments in 2007 when Loughnane mentioned about Kilkenny players targeting the wrists of the opposition ................

It can be ad nauseum on a forum, from a leader, wherever. We all just want to win & want the best for our teams.

Personally I think the Limerick hurling 2023 thread is pure gold, love it!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 15/06/2023 11:28:11    2486616

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Absolutely, although your own counties forum on boards can be just as bad, what annoys me is people who think refs have some agenda against their county, refs like players are human and will make wrong decisions from time to time, sometimes they go your way sometimes they don't but the lads who think there's some conspiracy against their county really grate with me."
100% agree. I dont believe it is possible to referee our games to the letter of the law . If it was possible to do so or if a referee did a near perfect job by pulling up every foul that was technically a foul it would probably impact the enjoyment of our games. I reckon if you watch back any hurling game you would see at least 50 fouls that were not called e.g. overcarrying, little tugs of the jersey , non shoulder to shoulder "shoulders".
I don't have a problem with this and what happens in practice is that referees do a level of interpretation and try to be as fair as possible.
But the knock on impact of this interpretation is that everyone has a slightly different interpretation and no matter how people try to be objective , there is always bias in the interpretation. I know some lads who watch piles of games in both codes at all sorts of levels , and in every game the ref is biased against the team they favour... never once do I hear , jez the ref gave us a lot today.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 987 - 15/06/2023 11:50:33    2486623

If you were listening to anything about hurling this week you will have heard the Clare fans giving out about the ref and the free/no free at the end of the game.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 15/06/2023 12:14:37    2486631

Replying To updwell:  "If you were listening to anything about hurling this week you will have heard the Clare fans giving out about the ref and the free/no free at the end of the game."
Ye have been as bad as each other in all honesty.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 15/06/2023 12:59:53    2486645

In fairness there's been many counties complaining worse than Limerick this year

Frontier1000 (Cork) - Posts: 61 - 15/06/2023 13:15:11    2486650

Refs tend to balance out their dubious calls. You get some you don't get others. That's the way it is. Move on. Limerick had to after 2019 semi final. There are other issues where certain players appear to be victimised by who they are by some refs and that comes in my opinion with the ego of the ref and the perceived media narrative. But again players need to just get ok with that regardless . The best refs leave their ego behind and communicate well with the players. The likes of Paul o dwyer, John keenan and fergal horgan are/ were excellent communicators and allowed players to be the focal point. Some refs currently haven't acquired the same skills. It might come with experience I'd assume. There are going to be roughly 5 or 6 poor calls per team per match.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 15/06/2023 13:23:55    2486654

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Ye have been as bad as each other in all honesty."
Well I've never been at a match where everyone is happy with the ref over every decision.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 15/06/2023 13:27:49    2486657

Don't read the thread?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15811 - 15/06/2023 13:32:52    2486658

Better a bit of passion and support be shown than complete indifference.

Where are all the KK supporters, there is no comment because so few are bothered to support their team the numbers turning out to support them week in week out is an embarrassment to a fantastic team. They'll only come to life in the semis and all Ireland final if they make it.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 437 - 15/06/2023 13:40:04    2486661