All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2023

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""Joe canning and Eoin Cody can enjoy their Sunday evenings and not be too upset that the Munster final was a good contest and maybe one day people might stop being so hung up one what's going on in Munster."

Maybe Canning and Cody are fed up to the back teeth of hearing and reading pundits (usually from Munster) in the national media, telling them how wonderful the Munster Championship is, and how rubbish Leinster is.

Here's Dónal Óg Cusack last week on RTE
Munster is a battle. Leinster is a game."
Himself, Shane McGrath and Anthony Nash are all the same and are massively biased towards Munster hurling. I don't get the need for province bashing. Leinster was not overly competitive this year but since the introduction of the round robin its been by far the most competitive championship.
If Gearoid Hegarty or Shane O'Donnell had of scored the goal and the point Wally Walsh got yesterday you'd never hear the end of it

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 12/06/2023 14:09:14    2485858

Replying To Viking66:  "KK never brought huge support even for AI finals."
When Dublin footballs pay in crocker they fill the place, when they have to travel down to KK for a championship game they only had a handful of supporters.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 157 - 12/06/2023 14:29:30    2485866

Replying To katser:  "Not a fear of it..... Clare 100% to win that game."
Thank God

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 157 - 12/06/2023 14:31:57    2485869

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Nobody this year convinces me they are 100% the team to beat.

Below are my perceived weakness for each team left which gives me a lingering doubt about all of them -

1. Limerick - They are struggling big time to put teams away, maybe it will come good but they haven't won any of their last 8 Championship matches by more than three points and i think at some stage the rub of the green goes against them and they fall just short.

2. Clare - Defence!! I'd be worried about their concession rate. I think its too high to sustain and win an All Ireland.

3. Tipp - I think they lack a marquee, All Ireland winning forward. In 2019 Callanan was on fire. Morris looks good but without Forde i'd be worried the attack is not strong enough.

4. Galway - Straight out hard to trust. While i think their forwards might be better this year i'd fear for McInerney at full back and i think their backs can be got at. Hard to have faith.

5. Kilkenny - Best of the rest after Limerick in my opinion they have a tail but they also have top class players that can almost win games on their own. I think they will be hard to beat. Injuries might catch them.

6. Dublin - Just not enough good hurlers. Athletic and committed but lacking the class to really breakthrough. It will be interesting to see how close they push the beaten Munster Finalists.

A good rule of thumb i've learned is that if you are not convinced on who is going to win the All Ireland just back Kilkenny and i think thats what i'll do."
Nothing to change my mind from the above post after yesterdays games

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 12/06/2023 14:39:57    2485871

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Himself, Shane McGrath and Anthony Nash are all the same and are massively biased towards Munster hurling. I don't get the need for province bashing. Leinster was not overly competitive this year but since the introduction of the round robin its been by far the most competitive championship.
If Gearoid Hegarty or Shane O'Donnell had of scored the goal and the point Wally Walsh got yesterday you'd never hear the end of it"
I hear very few Munster people bashing Leinster. Yet the Leinster pundits and players keep going on like broken records.

I dont understand how amazed you are that Munster pundits and people talk more about Munster than Leinster! Both Eoin Cody and Joe Cannings comments yesterday were embarrassing to listen to. Cringe doesnt even begin to describe it. Tyrell is regularly at the same craic. You cant even acknowledge the fact that the close games in Munster deservingly got a lot of media attention.

Anyway new competition now so maybe some of ye will get over it.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/06/2023 15:09:55    2485882

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Himself, Shane McGrath and Anthony Nash are all the same and are massively biased towards Munster hurling. I don't get the need for province bashing. Leinster was not overly competitive this year but since the introduction of the round robin its been by far the most competitive championship.
If Gearoid Hegarty or Shane O'Donnell had of scored the goal and the point Wally Walsh got yesterday you'd never hear the end of it"
I agree with most of what you say but i don't think it anything to do with counties or provinces i think it is to do with the perceived big names and who is relevant in the media or to the media. Daragh O'Donovan for example has ripped it up for Limerick this year and been consistently one of the best players in the county and put over some cracking scores but will barely get a mention. If TJ Reid gets the spectacular score it will get the spectacular reaction.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 436 - 12/06/2023 15:11:42    2485884

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I worked with a Kilkenny woman who had never been at any other match than an All Ireland final. True story."
I think you'll find there are people in most other counties whose only experience of watching a live GAA match is an All-Ireland.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2776 - 12/06/2023 15:16:41    2485887

Replying To tiobraid:  "I agree with most of your predictions there but I give Tipp a chance of beating Galway should we overcome offaly. I think this Kk team is a shell of a team and wexford must wonder how they're gone and KK are in a semi final. In my opinion there's absolutely no chance that Kk team are going to win the AI. Not trying to be disrespectful but hurling is not in the place it's made out to be if they do - I'm comparing this team to their 4 in a row team which a young TJ struggled for game time. An ageing TJ is their go to player and you've paddy deegan at centre back the last day but then you have a bit of a makeshift Tipp team drawing with limerick as well so maybe a reality check is needed for us all about where hurling is at the minute. Although you can't say it hasn't been entertaining"
Kilkenny are in a semi-final because they won a Leinster final. A final they had already qualified for when they faced Wexford. Wexford on the other hand were playing their most important game in years, in there own backyard. Fail to win, and they were relegated. Frankly, it's nonsense to compare Wexford to Kilkenny on that one game. I notice you didn't mention Dublin, who finished 2 points ahead of Wexford. Should Wexford also 'wonder how they're gone' and Dublin are still in it?
Also, it is disrespectful, and condescending to say 'hurling is not in the place it's made out to be if they do' about Kilkenny (or any other county) at this stage. If Kilkenny are to win this year's AI they will have deserved it, having won a semi-final and a final, probably against two top teams.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2776 - 12/06/2023 15:46:16    2485906

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I think you'll find there are people in most other counties whose only experience of watching a live GAA match is an All-Ireland."
There no doubt are, but she is the only one I know, and she had been at 6 or 7!

In fairness to her, she did follow hurling and was from a village that although long past its glory days continues to supply the occasional county senior.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3537 - 12/06/2023 15:54:56    2485920

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny are in a semi-final because they won a Leinster final. A final they had already qualified for when they faced Wexford. Wexford on the other hand were playing their most important game in years, in there own backyard. Fail to win, and they were relegated. Frankly, it's nonsense to compare Wexford to Kilkenny on that one game. I notice you didn't mention Dublin, who finished 2 points ahead of Wexford. Should Wexford also 'wonder how they're gone' and Dublin are still in it?
Also, it is disrespectful, and condescending to say 'hurling is not in the place it's made out to be if they do' about Kilkenny (or any other county) at this stage. If Kilkenny are to win this year's AI they will have deserved it, having won a semi-final and a final, probably against two top teams."
Youre misunderstanding me. Many feel this is the greatest era and highest standard hurling has ever been. I and some KK people I've spoken to agree that this KK team arent a patch on ones which has gone before. Of COurse if they win they'll deserve it - just like they did yesterday.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/06/2023 15:58:25    2485925

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I agree with most of what you say but i don't think it anything to do with counties or provinces i think it is to do with the perceived big names and who is relevant in the media or to the media. Daragh O'Donovan for example has ripped it up for Limerick this year and been consistently one of the best players in the county and put over some cracking scores but will barely get a mention. If TJ Reid gets the spectacular score it will get the spectacular reaction."
Spot on. A game where its hard to pick a man of match always defaults to one of these guys that gets all the media attention.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 12/06/2023 16:00:01    2485926

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Tullamore would probably be the more realistic option if a ground was expanded, Portlaoise you've the training centre behind the stand and apartments behind the terrace on the other side. Bit of room behind the terrace in Tullamore."
Portlaoise is bigger as it is. And more central. There's no terrace at one end in Tullamore though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 12/06/2023 16:14:00    2485939

Replying To slayer:  "Easiest finals to get tickets for were Offaly in 1994 & Kilkenny in 2007. There were a lot floating about before the games. Most difficult ever was Wexford in 1996, not a sniff of one even the night before the game. Finals against Galway, Cork, also easier to get tickets for than Wexford. Whatever it is about ye in finals the whole county seems to travel :-)"
We have the best bandwagoners in the country! Record attendances for Leinster and AI finals involved us!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 12/06/2023 16:15:01    2485940

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "When Dublin footballs pay in crocker they fill the place, when they have to travel down to KK for a championship game they only had a handful of supporters."
What have the Dubs got to do with it?!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 12/06/2023 16:15:44    2485941

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny are in a semi-final because they won a Leinster final. A final they had already qualified for when they faced Wexford. Wexford on the other hand were playing their most important game in years, in there own backyard. Fail to win, and they were relegated. Frankly, it's nonsense to compare Wexford to Kilkenny on that one game. I notice you didn't mention Dublin, who finished 2 points ahead of Wexford. Should Wexford also 'wonder how they're gone' and Dublin are still in it?
Also, it is disrespectful, and condescending to say 'hurling is not in the place it's made out to be if they do' about Kilkenny (or any other county) at this stage. If Kilkenny are to win this year's AI they will have deserved it, having won a semi-final and a final, probably against two top teams."
Last year we beat you by more in Nowlan Park. In a game that was must win for both of us . You eventually got to coming close in an AI final on the back of Galway doing you a favour by getting their only win against the Dubs in their last 4 championship meetings.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 12/06/2023 16:22:44    2485943

Replying To Viking66:  "Portlaoise is bigger as it is. And more central. There's no terrace at one end in Tullamore though."
Their both fairly central, according to a FAI report last week listing the 40 biggest stadiums in the country across all sports Portlaoise holds 22k and Tullamore 18k (same as Wexford Park), Nowlan Park 2nd biggest venue in Leinster at 27k.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 12/06/2023 17:11:16    2485978

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "When Dublin footballs pay in crocker they fill the place, when they have to travel down to KK for a championship game they only had a handful of supporters."
That maybe, but KK don't turn out for their home games either, the round robin against Galway was proof of that.. As a neutral i'd travel to watch TJ Reid play not sure why their own support won't (obviously the core supporters aside). His likes won't be around forever.

A few years of pain and not competing at the business end of things and then regaining success can sometimes can be the best cure for what was previously taken for granted.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 436 - 12/06/2023 17:14:57    2485982

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Their both fairly central, according to a FAI report last week listing the 40 biggest stadiums in the country across all sports Portlaoise holds 22k and Tullamore 18k (same as Wexford Park), Nowlan Park 2nd biggest venue in Leinster at 27k."
Nowlan Park would be ideal for a Dublin Galway final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15795 - 12/06/2023 17:19:34    2485986

Replying To Viking66:  "Last year we beat you by more in Nowlan Park. In a game that was must win for both of us . You eventually got to coming close in an AI final on the back of Galway doing you a favour by getting their only win against the Dubs in their last 4 championship meetings."
Galway doing us a favour by beating Dublin? Where did you get this nonsense from?
In the final round of games if Dublin had beaten Galway, and Kilkenny beaten Wexford: it would have been a Dublin v Kilkenny Leinster final.
It's a round robin competition, where every team plays each other, with top teams overall going through. Maybe Wexford shouldn't be so obsessed with Kilkenny, and concentrated a bit more on Westmeath and Dublin, either of who you haven't beaten in 2 years on the trot. But no, it's Galway's fault.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2776 - 12/06/2023 17:35:55    2485991

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Their both fairly central, according to a FAI report last week listing the 40 biggest stadiums in the country across all sports Portlaoise holds 22k and Tullamore 18k (same as Wexford Park), Nowlan Park 2nd biggest venue in Leinster at 27k."
That's the main part of the problem. Not one stadium in Leinster, bar Croke Park, with a 30k+ capacity. Whereas, in Munster they have 3 or 4(?) with a 40k+ capacity.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2776 - 12/06/2023 17:43:05    2485995