Great win for your Minor team tonight.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4566 - 09/05/2023 21:04:58 2477146 Link 0 |
m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/virgin-media-throw-further-fuel-on-gaago-fire-with-hard-hitting-statement-aimed-at-gaa-and-rte/a483613199.html Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20671 - 09/05/2023 21:30:04 2477148 Link 0 |
I am invariably correct ... in the long term :-)
BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 10/05/2023 08:01:17 2477164 Link 0 |
Same reality as there's been the last 15 odd years CC so it's not really bumping into it like it's some sort of surprise. Actually surprised at a stats man like you not being aware of our record against Dublin. And obviously like Barney you are completely unaware of how the club championships over here run these days!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20671 - 10/05/2023 09:33:25 2477178 Link 0 |
Near enough all of our clubs play 5 hurling championship games and 5 football championship games every year. Most play more than 10 championship games as 5 out of 6 teams either make a QF or a relegation final. So typically most of our clubs play at least 12 championship games. If you want more of a gap between intercounty games then we have to go back to the old system. Less IC games with players going back to their clubs between them for club championship games. But most of us like the fact we have more IC games. The current system is far from perfect but the only other way would be to have a word with the man upstairs to slow the progress of the earth around the sun so that there are more weekends in the year.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20671 - 10/05/2023 09:39:44 2477181 Link 0 |
You aren't correct in your assertion there were no club championship games played in August though; )
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20671 - 10/05/2023 09:41:15 2477184 Link 0 |
Thank Oldtourman it was really welcome after last years defeat on penalties a few years ago we were hammered by 40 points by Cork. Eoin Gunning an absolute delight to watch at corner/full back his skill speed & determination are superb and rarely fouls. I thought that Limerick team were better than Cork very unlucky to lose out The skill of hurlers these days are amazing so natural on both sides good in the air but of course no ground hurling at all possession based game. Good luck to your seniors on Sunday like ourselves you cannot afford to slip up. clooney (Clare) - Posts: 1009 - 10/05/2023 09:52:58 2477193 Link 0 |
"Can be" made, as indeed is still mostly the case despite the split season Wexford and your own county have been cited as examples. Five senior club games in Wexford last August am I correct Viking? Fairways is right, the end stages of the senior club involve as few players as the end stages of the senior inter county. The myth that most club players were ever somehow put upon by the inter county championships continuing into September is laughable, and always was. If people are happy with the championships being "microwaved" then they have no business complaining about the consequences of that in terms of reduced visibility. Which in turn is and will have a drastic impact on playing numbers. BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4550 - 10/05/2023 10:08:04 2477210 Link 0 |
The Clare minor team of 2021 were beaten in Munster by Cork by 40 points. That team backbone the current under 20 team who are through to the Munster final v Cork. Our current minor team are Munster Champions (after losing the final last year) and the likes of Hegarty, Gunning, Ronan Keane look like future senior Clare hurlers. 2 short years ago we wrote our own epitaph as our underage structures looked in disarray. Its been an unbelievable turnaround in such a short period of time and is testament to the unbelievable work been done by various lads who would die for Clare. The Club Clare supporters club also deserves special mention in looking after these young players. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 10/05/2023 10:15:17 2477213 Link 0 |
Fair play. It's always great that the likes of ourselves, yourselves and Waterford are picking up titles. Some very good players on your minor team who'll probably give our lads a belly full in years to come Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 10/05/2023 11:43:04 2477258 Link 0 |
What has changed so dramatically? Past players and pundits were coming out with big statements at that time and from their perspective Clare were going no where underage and it was a joke of a setup. Surely as much as the work has gone in since that this was massively exaggerated as they have flourished since that result.... Also a good win against Tipp in the U20 - although I have no idea how Tipp lost that game never mind by 9 points. There has been grenshoots for most of the Munster hurling counties at underage the last few years which is good to see. tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/05/2023 12:05:17 2477264 Link 0 |
I'd have to disagree with you on this one Barney. As a current club player, the split season is far better than what we had previously. I get the same feedback from almost any other club players I speak to. I can actually plan my summer and I've also had far more meaningful championship games on good pitches in decent weather. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 3053 - 10/05/2023 12:47:32 2477287 Link 0 |
Great credit due to Clare for turning it around and ye do seem to have a bright future ahead but maybe that 40 point defeat was the wake up call ye needed. The Munster underage competitions are very competitive and if the management of any team aren't up to standard or are cutting corners then you will get a hiding very fast. That defeat also took place during Covid when organising a team and training was a lot more complicated.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 963 - 10/05/2023 13:27:15 2477311 Link 0 |
I had no problem with less IC games being spread out through the year Barney. Neither did club players as there were club games on between the IC games. The problems arose when IC managers wanted more games, and then wanted more time from IC players between them, which resulted in the club games not being played between IC games. The CPA weren't formed on a whim.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20671 - 10/05/2023 13:27:58 2477312 Link 0 |
With regards to the number of meaningless games, would it be possible to combine the four main competitions (NHL, Munster, Leinster, AI) into one? There are 11 teams playing in the MacCarthy Cup with the top 2 from the Joe McDonagh Cup meeting MacCarthy cup teams in qualifiers. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6634 - 10/05/2023 13:42:40 2477321 Link 1 |
You hit the nail on the head there. If we were 40 points worse than Cork there is no way we would be in a Munster under 20 final against them next week just 2 years later. Our problems 2 years ago came from an executive with their eye off the ball and an under prepared team. Lads like Jack O Neill who played that night, are playing super stuff for the under 20s (and Jack is only 18). Irrespective of that, I think the tied is turning in Munster more and more from the "traditional 2". Compared the underage and senior successes of Tipp and Cork combined in the last 20/30 years to the 50 years before that. Simply put the likes of Limerick, Clare and perhaps to a lesser extent Waterford have had so much more success and silverware in recent times. The days of Clare teams folding at the sight of a Cork jersey is over. Current Clare players do not carry the baggage of the previous generations. Great Clare teams lost so many matches from a mental perspective in the 70s and 80s but this isnt the case any more. Beating Cork and Tipperary in last years championship will live long in the memory of those older supporters who could never or very rarely see something like that happening. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 10/05/2023 13:58:47 2477327 Link 1 |
As mentioned we were totally unprepared for that match. Those results can scar teams though but it doesnt seem to have impacted our players. Getting to this years under 20 final which is backboned with those minors is testament to that fact. It was a good win v Tipp but I would have to disagree when you say you have no idea how Tipp lost that match, I thought we were the better team throughout and bar some shocking wides in the first half should have been going into the break 5-6 in front. The end of the game put a bit of gloss on the scoreline, There certainly wasnt 9 points between the teams! I just thought Tipp lacked a real goal threat and that was one of the main differences. For Clare, we need to work on our delivery of ball into our forwards as even though we won, I thought our delivery was poor and wont do the next day. LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2698 - 10/05/2023 14:03:28 2477330 Link 1 |
We will agree to differ on U20 and having failed to beat Clare twice Tipp didn't deserve to go through anyway. I didn't think it was a great game with lots of errors. Tipp had one glorious goal chance that was butchered and Clare went down the field and got their second goal. I think we missed 8-9 frees on the night too, most of which were very scoreable. Clare used their sweeper well and capitalised on the long ball into their full forward line which Tipp struggled with. I'd still prefer and under 21 cship but still always one of the best competitions to watch. tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 10/05/2023 15:43:41 2477366 Link 1 |
I think Clare Under 20s certainly deserved to win but maybe the final score was a bit harsh on Tipp. Both teams had some very promising players but to me Clare played better as a team. I couldn't understand why the Tipp management allowed Clare to take short puckouts for so long. It gave Clare easy possession which invariably they used very well. Yes, Clare should have been ahead at the break after hitting so many wides and then Tipp did likewise in the second half, especially from frees. The Clare manager was very humble and gracious afterwards, emphasising that there was just a point between the teams with five minutes to go. Cork are a bit strong team but I'd give Clare a good chance in the final.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 649 - 10/05/2023 16:27:10 2477385 Link 1 |
Joe McDonagh winner will place 3rd in Leinster (currently Dublin). Do you think they could give them a game? skirge7 (UK) - Posts: 254 - 10/05/2023 21:02:58 2477436 Link 0 |