All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2023

Replying To Whammo86:  "How can a team lose 5 matches and get knocked out in the quarterfinals?

I have that they could lose 3 draw 2 to reach the quarterfinals.

I agree with your wider point though. The competition is very low stakes for quite sometime."
Sorry. Four i think. A seeded team like Mayo could lose their first game in province, then all three group games, Wouldn't reach quarter finals of course. It would be possible to lose 3 and draw two as you correctly say, and get to quarters which is even more absurd.

We won't know of course until the group stages begin, but there will be some farcical games i imagine with virtually no one watching them.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 16/04/2023 11:06:49    2471156

Replying To legendzxix:  "How many home games will you get to enjoy?"
This is what is known in logic as a non sequitur!

I personally will not be playing any games this year, not even Junior T hurling.

On assumption you are referring to the Dublin footballers, I have no idea, and has absolutely nothing to do with the point regarding the structure being used.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 16/04/2023 11:10:31    2471158

What way have fixtures been arranged??2 matches this week in ulster football but if I'm right matches next weekend in all four plus the hurling championship starts..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2215 - 16/04/2023 11:36:32    2471164

whats this obsession with leaving from july on for other sports, ? every club in ireland is in full whack then for gods sake!!!! it typical irishness , so insecure, so worried about what everyone else is doing and thinking, for 50 years there was non stop complaining about how the clubs were being shoved to one side due to county teams, now when its addressed its still not right, everyone who complaines always has a line "something has to be done" without ever offering any ideas, its great, its best move the gaa ever made since building croke park

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 16/04/2023 12:30:42    2471173

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "whats this obsession with leaving from july on for other sports, ? every club in ireland is in full whack then for gods sake!!!! it typical irishness , so insecure, so worried about what everyone else is doing and thinking, for 50 years there was non stop complaining about how the clubs were being shoved to one side due to county teams, now when its addressed its still not right, everyone who complaines always has a line "something has to be done" without ever offering any ideas, its great, its best move the gaa ever made since building croke park"
Any club I'm speaking to are totally against the current set up. The players are heading off from June July. So they don't have them. One said at least before split season lads would be available for club once championship over for the county as they wouldn't have made plans to go abroad

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2023 14:22:09    2471187

Replying To royaldunne:  "Any club I'm speaking to are totally against the current set up. The players are heading off from June July. So they don't have them. One said at least before split season lads would be available for club once championship over for the county as they wouldn't have made plans to go abroad"
Exactly. Little or no difference to clubs other than top counties run off their senior championships a few weeks earlier than before.

July and August pretty much dead months for club games as always. Vast majority of club players completely and utterly unaffected by the compressed inter county season.

Surrendering prime media position to other rival sports is Marketing 101 error. Croke Park accountants always had an eye on using grounds for other purposes, and the proof is there every big even that is proposed. Glad to see them being snubbed by the FAI of all people :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 16/04/2023 15:20:57    2471202

The split season and the new football championship system probably got the 2 highest ever vote percentages at Congress.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 16/04/2023 15:33:24    2471206

Can a referee bring a 45 in for dissent?

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 16/04/2023 16:52:44    2471219

Replying To Whammo86:  "The advanced mark is terrible and is all about the obsession with forcing teams to kick the ball. It's rubbish.

The rule changes around kick outs are annoying too.

Something better could be done around the schedule too and have intercounty and club played around each other."
I like the 'Pat Spillane Nine-Month Split Season' - one half with Intercounty Football/Club Hurling and the other half has Intercounty Hurling/Club Football. Two problems for me though are:
1) when would a dual player (dying breed) play for his club?
2) there would have to be an overlap with both codes 'on' in mid season, so each code gets 5-6 months.

Separately, to save the Prov Chp KO (and eliminate the NFL anomilies discussed), these pairings could 'double up' as part of the AIC group phase (similar to the Triple Criwn and Calcutta Cup as subsets to Six Nations Rugby).

Say, draw the AIC 4 groups of 4 'early' after Prov QFs (played in Feb) - placing at most one SF from each Prov per group, and then placing all remaining Tier 1 teams in groups different to their opponents in Prov QFs & 1st Rd. Teams play a 12-match group/league phase season (crossover v all teams in other 3 groups). Four group winners and 4 other best records to AIC Playoffs (no automatic berths for Prov Champs).
Play Tier 2 Tailteann Cup 4x4 groups similarly (may include Prov SF teams).

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2584 - 16/04/2023 17:29:46    2471223

Tyrone were better than I thought. Despite the result I am pleased Derry are playing Monaghan rather than Tyrone.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 16/04/2023 18:00:31    2471229

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "The split season and the new football championship system probably got the 2 highest ever vote percentages at Congress."
Hard to understand all the talk around problems with the split season at this stage.

In the first year of it the vast majority of complaints against it came from people with a vested interest in it. Columnists and pundits were the loudest critics but obviously it was nothing to do with the fact they had a shorter window to work in...

Clubs and club footballers have been getting shafted for years, the split season is a way of helping them.

Club championships last year were for the most part played in better weather, in better conditions, on better quality pitches and had bigger attendances than before. Win win for clubs and their players. Win win for county boards with higher ticket income and a great opportunity to stream games online to a wider audience too.

There's a significant majority of players, both intercounty and club only who are in favour of the split season, to the point that it's hard to see how it could be reversed at this stage.

The only ones who are against it at this stage it seems are either worried they'll lose a bit of easy work over the summer from it, or else have some fictitious fear that the organisers of the Superbowl, Masters and Olympics are suddenly going to spot a gap in the market to take advantage of the All Ireland finals not being played in September anymore.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 16/04/2023 18:07:13    2471235

What a game of football today - bravo! Fair play to both teams and well done to Monaghan.

ardmhacha (Armagh) - Posts: 172 - 16/04/2023 18:11:19    2471237

Well done Monaghan, great game !

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 16/04/2023 18:39:40    2471244

Replying To PattyONeill:  "Tyrone were better than I thought. Despite the result I am pleased Derry are playing Monaghan rather than Tyrone."
Just what Monaghan want.....underestimate us again !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 16/04/2023 18:46:00    2471245

The biggest problem with the new system will be highlighted when the Ulster and Leinster provincial finalists have to play maybe 5 out 6 weeks in a row and then play a quarter final against a team that had a 2 week break! There could be some hammerings
dished out in the QFs

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 16/04/2023 18:49:58    2471246

Fantastic game of football. Really enjoyed it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/04/2023 18:56:51    2471248

Replying To PattyONeill:  "Tyrone were better than I thought. Despite the result I am pleased Derry are playing Monaghan rather than Tyrone."
And we are happy to be playing Derry too, see yous there

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 16/04/2023 18:58:13    2471249

Big well done to Monaghan, first away to Mayo in last game in league and now today. Good luck v Derry and then Donegal in the final.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2013 - 16/04/2023 19:04:24    2471250

A fantastic game. Fair play to O'Toole in going for that goal at the death. I suspect most would have fisted that over the bar to take the game to ET.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 16/04/2023 19:17:48    2471252

Replying To artisan:  "A fantastic game. Fair play to O'Toole in going for that goal at the death. I suspect most would have fisted that over the bar to take the game to ET."
Goal of the year contender already. Hard to imagine even any of the top forwards having done other than fist the ball over. A half back's goal! Great game to watch.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2557 - 16/04/2023 19:53:20    2471262