to settle a bet, where did the wexford team go [hotel] in dublin after the 96 all ireland? Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3002 - 17/02/2023 17:13:42 2458720 Link 0 |
Have heard it's been hinted to Galway behind the scenes that their minor team would be more likely to be accepted into Leinster if they'd also agree to enter their club champions into the Leinster Club Championships, but that Galway are dead set against doing that. They like being able to play their club championships right up to the end of November and then seeing their champions going straight into an All-Ireland semi-final. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2985 - 17/02/2023 21:02:31 2458751 Link 0 |
in dublin after the 96 all ireland?"]Still organ Park
hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 18/02/2023 09:54:55 2458777 Link 0 |
They're accepted at minor now
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 18/02/2023 10:22:50 2458781 Link 0 |
I'd say 99% of Galway people would disagree with that tbh. Look at the levels they've had to go to to get into Leinster, basically had to bypass Leinster to get in. What's another minor all Ireland to them at this stage, I'd say they rather get 5 games and loose an all Ireland win it in 2 games like they used to back 25 years ago. Did nothing for player development. Also you'd be surprised how hated it is in galway (as a lad who's played club hurling in galway I can tell you that for a fact) They want everything in. I think it's the fact they don't get home games at u20 and only recently got home games in senior that causes a bit of talks breaking down with Leinster. Call a spade a spade they did rescue a dying Leinster championship since they entered. I know it makes our underage teams fall down the pecking order in Leisnter a bit bit it can only be good for our young lads to be playing top teams at that age. What good has getting to Leinster finals and then getting hammered in the all Ireland series done for us at underage, gives us a better indication of where we stand and raises standards. There's been a cry out in galway for full immersion I. Leinster for a long time. I'd say the only reason their clubs haven't been brought in is the strength of Ulster ATM. Would leave it unbalanced and one province would get a bye to the all Ireland final after winning their province which is worse tbh. Only solution would be to bring in Ulster teams to Leisnter too but that woul swell it to way too big a size. Not a great system ATM but probably the one that fits best ATM. If Tooreen had beaten Monaleen there would've been a Connacht final this year but not to be. Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 18/02/2023 10:50:27 2458789 Link 0 |
Problem is the attitude towards the Leinster competitions in Galway. Winning a Leinster means nothing to a Galway lad who isn't from Leinster. The Leinster championships in any grade are only being used by Galway teams as a means to an end. I still think they should be let in but long-term it would be better to raise the standard of hurling in the other Connacht counties.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 18/02/2023 11:03:12 2458793 Link 0 |
Still organ Park"]Malihide castle after the 96 final if I remember right they left stillorgan hotel too late to book it
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 18/02/2023 11:17:37 2458796 Link 0 |
Still organ Park"]Malihide castle after the 96 final if I remember right they left stillorgan hotel too late to book it"]No - it was Stillorgan Park.
Selskarexile (Wexford) - Posts: 30 - 18/02/2023 12:18:43 2458814 Link 0 |
in dublin after the 96 all ireland?"]The Downward Spiral!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2354 - 18/02/2023 14:07:05 2458841 Link 0 |
The relaxing of the u20 rule got voted in at Congress as did Galway joining a minor provincial championship. TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 18/02/2023 14:11:50 2458843 Link 0 |
Still organ Park"]Malihide castle after the 96 final if I remember right they left stillorgan hotel too late to book it"]No - it was Stillorgan Park."]I'd be 99.9 percent sure it was malahide I'm sure Larry o brother will clarify
Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 18/02/2023 14:30:13 2458847 Link 0 |
in dublin after the 96 all ireland?"]Stillorgan surely?
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3857 - 18/02/2023 14:44:21 2458849 Link 0 |
We see how it goes with Galway at minor. Mixed feelings about it. It's a wait and see I suppose. I'm kinda against the idea of Galway potentially blocking the progression of a developing Leinster county. Would Laois have gotten to the final last year with Galway in it? Hard to know. Suppose it will raise everyone's standards in Leinster which is good for Leinster hurling I suppose.
Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 19/02/2023 18:45:16 2459137 Link 0 |
Stillorgan surely?"]grand in malahide
Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3002 - 19/02/2023 19:50:28 2459185 Link 0 |
How are we on the injury front for Sunday, anyone know? hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1150 - 19/02/2023 20:03:35 2459189 Link 0 |
in dublin after the 96 all ireland?"]Grand in Malahide -100% - asked the father and he was there.
grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 182 - 20/02/2023 09:34:28 2459270 Link 0 |
Reading Wexford People last week sounds like Ryan and Rory O'C probably won't be quiet ready, Shane Reck, Kyle Firman and O'Hanlon should be ready no word on Chin or Oisin Foley.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 20/02/2023 10:31:06 2459292 Link 0 |
I don't think it would stall progression, better for the likes of Laois to be playing the best around and learning from it.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 20/02/2023 10:33:30 2459297 Link 0 |
Oisin Foley hasnt featured at all yet. Coming towards March now hopefully he will be involved in the squad Sunday
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 20/02/2023 11:42:04 2459317 Link 0 |
It would be good to see Foley, Reck and Firman get a couple of League games in. Really not too bothered if I don't see Matthew, Lee, Rory, or Liam Ryan til Salthill tbh. If they are fully fit I'd have them starting in Salthill anyway so no need to risk them getting injured before that. The next 3 games would be great experience for Niall Murphy and/or David Clarke at 3. And for some of the younger lads in the front 6 and wingback. Not sure what the plan is for Jacko but he looked way off the pace in Mullingar . Maybe a few starts at wing forward or centre forward to see if he can be a ball winning option in that line might be a good plan for the next 3 games and see if he can get himself more mobile and effective in the game.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16704 - 20/02/2023 12:42:59 2459345 Link 0 |