Wexford Intercounty Hurling 2023

Posters here love giving out about other posters just because they didn't go to every single challenge match in the rain and dark in January. And they think their opinion matters more because they did.

I think we all have the same ambition for the Wexford team and that is success and the title of this thread is Wexford hurling.

The whole;" Im a bigger fan than you" stuff is just childish. Some lads cant disagree without a dig

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 14/02/2023 11:24:40    2458224

Replying To Yellow:  "Posters here love giving out about other posters just because they didn't go to every single challenge match in the rain and dark in January. And they think their opinion matters more because they did.

I think we all have the same ambition for the Wexford team and that is success and the title of this thread is Wexford hurling.

The whole;" Im a bigger fan than you" stuff is just childish. Some lads cant disagree without a dig"
Incorrect, what annoys me is people jumping to conclusions on things without getting the facts, I didn't even know our minors, u20s etc. had challenge games at the weekend until reading it here so wouldn't jump to conclusions on those games, other posters choose to do so.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 11:35:55    2458229

Replying To Yellow:  "Posters here love giving out about other posters just because they didn't go to every single challenge match in the rain and dark in January. And they think their opinion matters more because they did.

The whole;" Im a bigger fan than you" stuff is just childish. Some lads cant disagree without a dig"
And just for the record I think the floodlights are a waste of money - the light show and music at half time is gimmicky and annoying to residents and fans alike.

There was nothing wrong having matches on a saturday/ sunday afternoon and I would have preferred the money to be pumped into under- age player development.

Just my opinion and I will say no more about it

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 14/02/2023 11:37:32    2458230

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd be hoping they play with their own age group along with Pepper. We haven't won an underage AI since the 60s and I think we should have a good u20 team this year with those 3 lads on the team. I'd be imagining Foley would be centreback instead of fullback again and Byrne Dunbar and Pepper would be a real handful in the full forward line. Cian Byrne, JJ Twalmey and Shamey O Hagan are still u20 also up front. Along with younger lads like the 2 Lukes Murphy and Roche, Simon Roche, Darby Purcell and Cillian Byrne scoring shouldn't be a problem . While we haven't even won a Leinster at u20/1 in 8 years we came very close last year and even closer in 2018. And this year's u20 team might be better than all those teams at least on paper."
If we had Pepper last year, might have won the lot. Thought we were a little short of quality in the forwards and he might have been the spark. Never know! Daft rule

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 14/02/2023 11:39:38    2458232

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "Based on schools, you couldn't expect much from the minors this year. Even GCC had far more KK hurlers starting then Wexford lads which is rare normally. Billy Byrne said it, we have to get the schools sorted. If your school's are performing well it's a good sign regardless. Last year, overall, I think our schools did okay. This year has been bad. We do have a strong u14 team from all accounts, performed well in their competitions. Need groups like that every few years to be a serious force not one every decade. Just frustrates me, every time I hear a county board member on the radio or a podcast they say everything is going well at underage. If they think the results were getting over the last decade at underage is good enough, then there are problems."
I think the senior schools teams are more u18/19 than u17 so wouldn't be a huge crossover for minor, the players on the minor team who do transition year probably still have 2 more years in school.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 11:39:39    2458233

Replying To Yellow:  "With all the money being thrown around Wexford GAA could we not appoint a schools development officer in charge of the development of secondary school hurlers. Work in Peters, Wexford CBS, Enniscorthy, Good Counsel and Gorey Community. Skills development - training sessions that the teachers can also attend and learn from. Add to that the S&C development for underage and it would be money well spent.

Im sick of hearing about great work being done in the Kildares and Westmeaths and Offalys of this world as they seem to result in overnight success at some grade while we still seem to at a standstill.

Look at the size of the U20s Irish rugby team this weekend - those lads are ready for the step up to the senior team - why do our under age lads look so slight and small?

Sort it out Michael Martin - fancy light shows, and ACDC blaring out at Wexford park at a huge cost ( a few hundred thousand maybe? ) for two (meaningless) matches played in January and February was not he best way to spend the funds in my honest opinion"
Think this is a very ill-informed opinion .. Wexford GAA were one of very few counties left that don't have floodlights in their county grounds.. It was the next natural progress with regards to development work. The lights were fully paid for prior to the launch night as well as the drainage/irrigation works. So Wexford GAA deserve a big pat on the back for their continued work in this area. Ferns COE is work in progress too and is a very impressive place now. We have come along way in 10 years when under Liam Dunne's management tenure we were struggling to even get a jersey sponsor.

I do agree that there should be more emphasis on our secondary schools .. Things like this don't need a huge amount of money .. We did venture down the combined schools road a few years ago but it seemed to fail miserably ..
If we are competing well in Leinster Schools competition then it is only good for our underage county teams

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 208 - 14/02/2023 11:59:29    2458236

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Think this is a very ill-informed opinion .. Wexford GAA were one of very few counties left that don't have floodlights in their county grounds.. It was the next natural progress with regards to development work. The lights were fully paid for prior to the launch night as well as the drainage/irrigation works. So Wexford GAA deserve a big pat on the back for their continued work in this area. Ferns COE is work in progress too and is a very impressive place now. We have come along way in 10 years when under Liam Dunne's management tenure we were struggling to even get a jersey sponsor.

I do agree that there should be more emphasis on our secondary schools .. Things like this don't need a huge amount of money .. We did venture down the combined schools road a few years ago but it seemed to fail miserably ..
If we are competing well in Leinster Schools competition then it is only good for our underage county teams"
On the floodlights off hand, Mayo is the only county ground in Connacht with lights, in Munster Cork, Tipp and Limerick have them, Waterford and Kerry have them in their 2nd grounds of Tralee and Dungarvan. In Ulster every county bar Monaghan and Antrim have them in the county ground (they were in Casement Park). In Leinster ourselves, Carlow, Laois, Dublin have them, they used to be in Navan but were taken down in 2015 due to structural issues, haven't returned yet.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 12:16:51    2458240

Replying To MyOhMi:  "Think this is a very ill-informed opinion .. Wexford GAA were one of very few counties left that don't have floodlights in their county grounds.. It was the next natural progress with regards to development work. The lights were fully paid for prior to the launch night as well as the drainage/irrigation works. So Wexford GAA deserve a big pat on the back for their continued work in this area. Ferns COE is work in progress too and is a very impressive place now. We have come along way in 10 years when under Liam Dunne's management tenure we were struggling to even get a jersey sponsor.

If we are competing well in Leinster Schools competition then it is only good for our underage county teams"
Spot on. Did anyone else notice how much better the pitch is in the Park this year than it used to be ? And how much better it was than all the other pitches we played on or I saw on TV?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 12:27:08    2458243

Replying To Yellow:  "And just for the record I think the floodlights are a waste of money - the light show and music at half time is gimmicky and annoying to residents and fans alike.

There was nothing wrong having matches on a saturday/ sunday afternoon and I would have preferred the money to be pumped into under- age player development.

Just my opinion and I will say no more about it"
Being a resident I would hope people see the bigger picture.

There's a big opportunity to generate more revenue from this so the effect on underage investment should be better.

Concerts or neutral games will be great for us instead of having the park sitting there idle

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3854 - 14/02/2023 13:31:49    2458255

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Being a resident I would hope people see the bigger picture.

There's a big opportunity to generate more revenue from this so the effect on underage investment should be better.

Concerts or neutral games will be great for us instead of having the park sitting there idle"
Ballygunner v Ballyhale would have been there had the floodlights been up in time

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 14:24:51    2458270

Replying To Viking66:  "Spot on. Did anyone else notice how much better the pitch is in the Park this year than it used to be ? And how much better it was than all the other pitches we played on or I saw on TV?"
No they seem more concerned about giving out about underage teams losing challenge games where they have no idea of who did and didn't play. Yeah pitch looks in great knick at the moment, hasn't always been the case this time of year.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 16:28:15    2458304

Replying To Viking66:  "I'd be hoping they play with their own age group along with Pepper. We haven't won an underage AI since the 60s and I think we should have a good u20 team this year with those 3 lads on the team. I'd be imagining Foley would be centreback instead of fullback again and Byrne Dunbar and Pepper would be a real handful in the full forward line. Cian Byrne, JJ Twalmey and Shamey O Hagan are still u20 also up front. Along with younger lads like the 2 Lukes Murphy and Roche, Simon Roche, Darby Purcell and Cillian Byrne scoring shouldn't be a problem . While we haven't even won a Leinster at u20/1 in 8 years we came very close last year and even closer in 2018. And this year's u20 team might be better than all those teams at least on paper."
Darragh Carley, Jack Redmond, Liam Schokman all still underage this year. From memory Eoin Whelan and Sean Cooney were impressive for the minors in 2021 and Paidi Doyle last year, hopefully some of them will kick on to u20 level.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 16:52:21    2458307

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "No they seem more concerned about giving out about underage teams losing challenge games where they have no idea of who did and didn't play. Yeah pitch looks in great knick at the moment, hasn't always been the case this time of year."
Was never the case tbh: D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 16:52:59    2458309

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Darragh Carley, Jack Redmond, Liam Schokman all still underage this year. From memory Eoin Whelan and Sean Cooney were impressive for the minors in 2021 and Paidi Doyle last year, hopefully some of them will kick on to u20 level."
Jack Redmond and Darragh Carley were very impressive last year for the under 20s. Really looking forward to seeing how we get on at this grade we should have a very competitive team.
I seen its been changed to round robin this year when does it start and what group are we in ?

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 14/02/2023 17:09:24    2458315

Replying To Finchfurlong996:  "If we had Pepper last year, might have won the lot. Thought we were a little short of quality in the forwards and he might have been the spark. Never know! Daft rule"
Sure look it was the same for most teams. Galway lost Tiernan Killeen, Gavin Lee and Greg Thomas to that rule too, Limerick lost Cathal O'Neil, probably the stand out player at this age atm, so I don't know how much we can read in to Oisin Peppers loss when others had similar if not greater losses. It's a stupid rule especially when all those lads mentioned missed out on an underage year they'll never get back and didn't really play that much hurling for their senior sides in comparison.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 14/02/2023 17:12:46    2458317

Replying To Afinestick:  "Jack Redmond and Darragh Carley were very impressive last year for the under 20s. Really looking forward to seeing how we get on at this grade we should have a very competitive team.
I seen its been changed to round robin this year when does it start and what group are we in ?"
Ourselves, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway are in a group of 4, I seen we're down to play KK at home, Dublin away and Galway in a Laois venue, Portlaoise I presume. Top 2 straight into the semi finals, bottom 2 in QF against a team who come through the other section Offaly and Laois most likely I'm guessing, don't know on dates but as I said on a previous post Munster is starting on March 22 so probably an early date, given the senior championship doesn't start til April 22nd the u20s could have 3 or 4 games played by then, there guaranteed 4 games which in the long term can only be good for the players development.

https://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/leinster-u-21-hurling-championship-2023/

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 17:22:29    2458320

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Darragh Carley, Jack Redmond, Liam Schokman all still underage this year. From memory Eoin Whelan and Sean Cooney were impressive for the minors in 2021 and Paidi Doyle last year, hopefully some of them will kick on to u20 level."
Didn't realise Jack Redmond was also still under 20. That means 6 of the best front 6 from last year are all u20 again? Hopefully they all stay injury free! Darragh Carley looked good last year, Schokman hopefully will step up to be a regular starter this year. He's got good height too. Looking forward to getting to see them out on the pitch. I know Keith Rossiter was fairly busy looking at lads who did well for their clubs but didn't play minor intercounty hurling also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 17:30:53    2458324

Replying To Afinestick:  "Jack Redmond and Darragh Carley were very impressive last year for the under 20s. Really looking forward to seeing how we get on at this grade we should have a very competitive team.
I seen its been changed to round robin this year when does it start and what group are we in ?"
https://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/leinster-u-21-hurling-championship-2023/
Really looking forwards to it too!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 17:32:51    2458325

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "Ourselves, Dublin, Kilkenny and Galway are in a group of 4, I seen we're down to play KK at home, Dublin away and Galway in a Laois venue, Portlaoise I presume. Top 2 straight into the semi finals, bottom 2 in QF against a team who come through the other section Offaly and Laois most likely I'm guessing, don't know on dates but as I said on a previous post Munster is starting on March 22 so probably an early date, given the senior championship doesn't start til April 22nd the u20s could have 3 or 4 games played by then, there guaranteed 4 games which in the long term can only be good for the players development.

https://leinstergaa.ie/competitions/leinster-u-21-hurling-championship-2023/"
I wouldn't rule out Kildare or Antrim either.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16698 - 14/02/2023 17:34:15    2458326

Replying To Viking66:  "Didn't realise Jack Redmond was also still under 20. That means 6 of the best front 6 from last year are all u20 again? Hopefully they all stay injury free! Darragh Carley looked good last year, Schokman hopefully will step up to be a regular starter this year. He's got good height too. Looking forward to getting to see them out on the pitch. I know Keith Rossiter was fairly busy looking at lads who did well for their clubs but didn't play minor intercounty hurling also."
Yeah 4 of the 6 starting forwards from last year's Leinster final are underage and add in Oisin Pepper, Luke Murphy and maybe Cillian Byrne. That's good on the last point I don't think Jack Redmond or Eoin Ryan played minor for Wexford while Joe Barrett played minor football, all 3 started last years Leinster final.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 14/02/2023 17:41:43    2458328