Replying To ElGranSenor: "Well, here are the players I'd ask to be in the squad if I were in Keith's shoes (Not necessarily the players who'll commit and not necessarily in order of preference). I could have forgotten a few by mistake too....
1. James Lawlor/Mark Fanning/Aaron Duggan/Derry Mahon 2. Shane Reck/Simon Donohoe/Joe Barrett 3. Liam Ryan/Matthew O'Hanlon/Eoin Whelan 4. Niall Murphy/Conor Devitt 5. Damien Reck/Mike Kelly/Ian Carty/Conor Foley/Kyle Scallan 6. Paudie Foley/Cian Molloy/Michael Dundon 7. A.J. Redmond/Charlie McGuckin/Connal Flood/Darragh Carley 8. Gavin Bailey/Dee O'Keeffe/Conor Hearne/Cathal Dunbar 9. Kevin Foley/Liam Óg McGovern 10. Richie Lawlor/Jack O'Connor 11. Lee Chin/Oisín Foley 12. Jack Cullen/Niall Hughes 13. Rory O'Connor/Séamus Casey/Mikie Dwyer/Rory Higgins/Diarmuid Doyle/Tomás Kinsella 14. Conor McDonald 15. Cian Byrne/Oisín Pepper/Corey Byrne-Dunbar/Ross Banville/Cathal Doyle
You're probably going to have somewhere between 5 and 10 people reject the offer which would give you an initial panel of around 40" I think it would be nearer 10. I'd be adding Joe O'Connor, Shane Murphy, Daire Barden, Robbie Barron, Stephen O Gorman, Paudie Casey, Shamey O Hagan, Conor Murphy, Jack Redmond, Jack Doran, Darragh Farrell, Kyle Firman, Conor Firman, Joe Coleman, Darragh Kehoe, Conall Clancy also to any invites to an initial training squad in November. Niall Hughes did really well for the Rocks, as did Conor Kinsella and Cian Hughes, but all 3 are with the intercounty footballers and would be more of an addition there. I've probably forgot a few also ElGranSenor!!!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 19/08/2023 13:43:27
Replying To Viking66: "I think it would be nearer 10. I'd be adding Joe O'Connor, Shane Murphy, Daire Barden, Robbie Barron, Stephen O Gorman, Paudie Casey, Shamey O Hagan, Conor Murphy, Jack Redmond, Jack Doran, Darragh Farrell, Kyle Firman, Conor Firman, Joe Coleman, Darragh Kehoe, Conall Clancy also to any invites to an initial training squad in November. Niall Hughes did really well for the Rocks, as did Conor Kinsella and Cian Hughes, but all 3 are with the intercounty footballers and would be more of an addition there. I've probably forgot a few also ElGranSenor!!!" Paidi Cullen.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 20/08/2023 00:15:02
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Well, here are the players I'd ask to be in the squad if I were in Keith's shoes (Not necessarily the players who'll commit and not necessarily in order of preference). I could have forgotten a few by mistake too....
1. James Lawlor/Mark Fanning/Aaron Duggan/Derry Mahon 2. Shane Reck/Simon Donohoe/Joe Barrett 3. Liam Ryan/Matthew O'Hanlon/Eoin Whelan 4. Niall Murphy/Conor Devitt 5. Damien Reck/Mike Kelly/Ian Carty/Conor Foley/Kyle Scallan 6. Paudie Foley/Cian Molloy/Michael Dundon 7. A.J. Redmond/Charlie McGuckin/Connal Flood/Darragh Carley 8. Gavin Bailey/Dee O'Keeffe/Conor Hearne/Cathal Dunbar 9. Kevin Foley/Liam Óg McGovern 10. Richie Lawlor/Jack O'Connor 11. Lee Chin/Oisín Foley 12. Jack Cullen/Niall Hughes 13. Rory O'Connor/Séamus Casey/Mikie Dwyer/Rory Higgins/Diarmuid Doyle/Tomás Kinsella 14. Conor McDonald 15. Cian Byrne/Oisín Pepper/Corey Byrne-Dunbar/Ross Banville/Cathal Doyle
You're probably going to have somewhere between 5 and 10 people reject the offer which would give you an initial panel of around 40" Conor McDonald is not a starter for me anymore, he hasn't the pace for inter county hurling and he doesn't work hard enough.
I'd play Chin full forward next year.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 835 - 20/08/2023 09:37:22
You're probably going to have somewhere between 5 and 10 people reject the offer which would give you an initial panel of around 40" Jack Cushe, Sean Keating and Andy Kennedy 3 more who could be considered, not advocating carrying 7 keepers like were Chelsea just to be clear.
TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 20/08/2023 10:23:35
Replying To Past hurler: "Conor McDonald is not a starter for me anymore, he hasn't the pace for inter county hurling and he doesn't work hard enough.
I'd play Chin full forward next year." Disagree. I honestly believe Mac should be a starter. You mention his pace, well if truth be told he never was a cheetah. His game has changed somewhat recently. He has become a playmaker more than a score getter. This could clearly be seen during the club championship. He has good hands, is skilful at lifting and striking, gets loads of attention from the opposition, therefore freeing up other players to take advantage. He has plenty of experience. Chin would be wasted in at full forward. He is a ball winner so centre forward is his best position. Winning possession from puckouts is vital. You don't win many games if you can't win your own puckouts. Getting the right players on either side of Mac and Chin I think is the key and with Rossi now at the helm I believe he will be working on that.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 386 - 20/08/2023 11:06:31
Replying To Past hurler: "Conor McDonald is not a starter for me anymore, he hasn't the pace for inter county hurling and he doesn't work hard enough.
I'd play Chin full forward next year." There's no way we have 6 better forwards than mac, he also works way harder than people give him credit for, but agree he's very slow
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3228 - 20/08/2023 11:59:45
Replying To Magpie2: "Disagree. I honestly believe Mac should be a starter. You mention his pace, well if truth be told he never was a cheetah. His game has changed somewhat recently. He has become a playmaker more than a score getter. This could clearly be seen during the club championship. He has good hands, is skilful at lifting and striking, gets loads of attention from the opposition, therefore freeing up other players to take advantage. He has plenty of experience. Chin would be wasted in at full forward. He is a ball winner so centre forward is his best position. Winning possession from puckouts is vital. You don't win many games if you can't win your own puckouts. Getting the right players on either side of Mac and Chin I think is the key and with Rossi now at the helm I believe he will be working on that." I haven't been Macs biggest fan the last few years but he was excellent today.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 20/08/2023 19:28:39
You're probably going to have somewhere between 5 and 10 people reject the offer which would give you an initial panel of around 40" We have the makings of a good strong panel. Looking forward to January and seeing the lads in action
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/08/2023 10:03:11
has rossiter got the job....ye have named some good players on there......what wex need is for the manager to surround himself with top class people in different areas of the game. ......i know there arent too many paul kinnerks around but surely there is an astute smart young coach in wexford.......
munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1130 - 21/08/2023 11:17:34
Replying To munsterchamps: "has rossiter got the job....ye have named some good players on there......what wex need is for the manager to surround himself with top class people in different areas of the game. ......i know there arent too many paul kinnerks around but surely there is an astute smart young coach in wexford......." Yeah Rossiter has the job. You're spot on, his backroom team will be absolutely crucial. Hopefully he'll get it right and have the best guys around him.
Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 227 - 21/08/2023 11:34:51
Replying To munsterchamps: "has rossiter got the job....ye have named some good players on there......what wex need is for the manager to surround himself with top class people in different areas of the game. ......i know there arent too many paul kinnerks around but surely there is an astute smart young coach in wexford......." Yes Rossiter has the job. Backroom team will be revealed next week. Rumours of Frank Flannery as coach. The Oulart lads were very impressed with him during his time there. Who has he been involved with since does anyone know?
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/08/2023 11:48:10
Replying To Afinestick: "Yes Rossiter has the job. Backroom team will be revealed next week. Rumours of Frank Flannery as coach. The Oulart lads were very impressed with him during his time there. Who has he been involved with since does anyone know?" Well....strictly speaking, Rossiter hasn't got the job yet, since his nomination still has to be approved by the full County Board next week. But it'd be a massive surprise if that turned out to be anything other than a formality.
Flannery was over Ballysaggart in Waterford (home of the Bennett brothers and therefore obviously also Pat Bennett, the Ferns manager) when they won intermediate there, four or five years ago. They've since been relegated again, but he'd moved on before that happened.
He also won the second grade competition in Cork a couple of years ago, with Kanturk. They call it Senior A, but it's the second grade all right - their top grade is called Premier Senior.
Nice bit of success seems to follow him around wherever he goes, so hopefully he can bring it to Wexford too, if he's confirmed as part of the backroom team.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2648 - 21/08/2023 12:06:02
Replying To Afinestick: "Yes Rossiter has the job. Backroom team will be revealed next week. Rumours of Frank Flannery as coach. The Oulart lads were very impressed with him during his time there. Who has he been involved with since does anyone know?" Managing in Cork. Won the Championship with Kanturk and is over Carrigtwohill now.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 21/08/2023 12:18:40
Replying To Pikeman96: "Well....strictly speaking, Rossiter hasn't got the job yet, since his nomination still has to be approved by the full County Board next week. But it'd be a massive surprise if that turned out to be anything other than a formality.
Flannery was over Ballysaggart in Waterford (home of the Bennett brothers and therefore obviously also Pat Bennett, the Ferns manager) when they won intermediate there, four or five years ago. They've since been relegated again, but he'd moved on before that happened.
He also won the second grade competition in Cork a couple of years ago, with Kanturk. They call it Senior A, but it's the second grade all right - their top grade is called Premier Senior.
Nice bit of success seems to follow him around wherever he goes, so hopefully he can bring it to Wexford too, if he's confirmed as part of the backroom team." Sounds like he could be a good appointment . Would hope Rossiter gets a good backroom team around him including a sports psychologist
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/08/2023 13:08:19
Replying To Afinestick: "Sounds like he could be a good appointment . Would hope Rossiter gets a good backroom team around him including a sports psychologist" Think that last line is very important too Afinestick. The rumour going around Kilkenny would be great if true but I think its unlikely. Franks, Flannery, and Cunningham coaching. Mythen, Skippy and Rory Jacob selectors. No mention of the psychologist though!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 21/08/2023 13:31:05
Replying To Afinestick: "Sounds like he could be a good appointment . Would hope Rossiter gets a good backroom team around him including a sports psychologist" A sports psychologist was specifically requested by the players im told
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3228 - 21/08/2023 13:53:45
Replying To Viking66: "Think that last line is very important too Afinestick. The rumour going around Kilkenny would be great if true but I think its unlikely. Franks, Flannery, and Cunningham coaching. Mythen, Skippy and Rory Jacob selectors. No mention of the psychologist though!" That seems like a good setup but unlikely to have 3 coaches and 3 selectors I would say
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 21/08/2023 14:19:49
I'd play Chin full forward next year." Ability to win primary possession still very important as seen yesterday! No point expecting him to be sprinting out to the corners to win ball when outnumbered but direct ball in one on one and he can still be a big asset.
Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 309 - 21/08/2023 14:41:30
Replying To Afinestick: "That seems like a good setup but unlikely to have 3 coaches and 3 selectors I would say" Very unlikely!!!!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 21/08/2023 15:15:26
Replying To Timbertony: "Ability to win primary possession still very important as seen yesterday! No point expecting him to be sprinting out to the corners to win ball when outnumbered but direct ball in one on one and he can still be a big asset." If you look back he spent alot of time out around the corners and ran back into the space inside.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14127 - 21/08/2023 15:16:34