2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

This already exists, it is called a season ticket?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 26/05/2022 18:28:51    2420407

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see all tickets for munster final that went on sale this morning have sold out..should those tickets not have been given to clubs first?snything left over then can go on general sale..people were told by clubs that getting tickets through Ticketmaster was their best option ,don't think it should be like that..am I being cranky this morning??"
Clubs tend to be looked after, are they not? Normally there is enough set aside for the clubs?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 26/05/2022 18:30:10    2420408

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I agree 100%

You should have to produce ticket stubs from previous matches when demand is that high"
Only terrace tickets went on sale. The clubs will get lots of stand tickets.

On another note. I have no intention of getting a season ticket next year. I'll be sitting on my own agin in Thurles. My dad who will be travelling with me will also have to sit on his own in some other part of the stadium. It's a joke.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 26/05/2022 18:37:41    2420411

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "I love the current format. Now that might have much to do with Clare's super record in the RR (12 games, 8 wins, 1 draw and 3 losses).

I love the buzz in Ennis on Championship day and the atmosphere generated. I love travelling away to play other Munster teams. I dont want to give that up now. Instead of playing in Cork, Limerick and Thurles every day isnt is great to go to Ennis and Walsh Park in the Munster championship. Its great to see the fans mixing and socialising after the games.

It also tends in the main to ensure the best teams qualify. The top 3 in Munster are certainly the best teams in Munster. You could possibly argue that Dublin are hard done by in Leinster having beaten Wexford but unfortunately if you don't do your job you run the risk of being eliminated and the Dubs were poor against KK and Galway, two games that decided their fate.

The only thing for me is Munster teams are seriously disadvantaged against when compared to Leinster teams as there is an imbalance in quality between the provinces. Before I am attacked, I am not saying the Leinster Championship is less enjoyable but the better teams on a whole are in Munster as evidenced by the last two All Ireland finals being contested by Munster teams.

As a result, the 4th placed Munster team is potentially a better team than 2nd or 3rd in Leinster in any given year. There is no way around this though as the Munster council will protect the Munster championship at all costs. Unless of course Kerry beat Tipp, I would imagine there would be a scramble to restructure then.

All in all there is never going to be a system we agree on, but this format for me is the best we had."
Imbalance in quality at minute maybe! These things run in cycles. Bit like the Leinster thirds beating Munsters first in the rugby at the minute!! That will change too, we hope!!

bottletopbill (Wexford) - Posts: 71 - 26/05/2022 20:19:48    2420417

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "There is some logic to this.

I remember seeing Clare fans crying in the stands after we won in 2013. Some of them hadnt been to a match in years.

I would love some sort of online account system that prioritises people who have been to earlier rounds or if its a first round game, looks at the prior season.

While giving the best tickets to clubs is probably fair, I know of lots of hardcore Clare fans who are not club members in Clare as they live in Dublin/Galway/Cork for example and yet they go to most league and all championship matches every year. They are disadvantaged. Also there are plenty of club members who go to no games but get a good stand ticket for the Munster final. Thats not 100% fair either.

A system whereby the regular attenders, those who brave the January cold to go to Munster League matches, those who attended the Clare Tipperary championship game when most of the Clare county had little faith should be prioritised for tickets. Once they have been allotted, next up should be clubs and general sale last of all."
Club members in general are the heartbeat of the organisation. a % of these go to club matches at all levels so going to every intercounty match on top of that is too time consuming and costly. I get what you're saying but I feel club members should be given the choice of tickets fist and foremost with season ticket holders also having the option. As fas as I'm concerned the majority of the rest can become club members if they want. A non-playing club membership isnt very much in most clubs and it helps out grass roots more than anything else.
I was talking to a Mayo person before last years final and she was crying over not getting a ticket and that she goes to the majority of the games - yet she couldnt name a "club member" of hers on the Mayo team - I've little interest in Mayo club football but even I could! Theres arguments for both for me club members first every single time.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/05/2022 09:13:13    2420433

Replying To tiobraid:  "Club members in general are the heartbeat of the organisation. a % of these go to club matches at all levels so going to every intercounty match on top of that is too time consuming and costly. I get what you're saying but I feel club members should be given the choice of tickets fist and foremost with season ticket holders also having the option. As fas as I'm concerned the majority of the rest can become club members if they want. A non-playing club membership isnt very much in most clubs and it helps out grass roots more than anything else.
I was talking to a Mayo person before last years final and she was crying over not getting a ticket and that she goes to the majority of the games - yet she couldnt name a "club member" of hers on the Mayo team - I've little interest in Mayo club football but even I could! Theres arguments for both for me club members first every single time."
If she went up at h/t she d have got in id say ,she d have met a few crying coming out %)

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 27/05/2022 10:06:41    2420439

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Only terrace tickets went on sale. The clubs will get lots of stand tickets.

On another note. I have no intention of getting a season ticket next year. I'll be sitting on my own agin in Thurles. My dad who will be travelling with me will also have to sit on his own in some other part of the stadium. It's a joke."
If you can at all, I'd recommend a season ticket for you and your Dad.
It definitely makes life easier getting seats together and is actually really good value at €150. No charge to league games and first 2 munster championship matches.. Cost's €30 on balance.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 27/05/2022 10:08:37    2420440

Replying To tiobraid:  "Club members in general are the heartbeat of the organisation. a % of these go to club matches at all levels so going to every intercounty match on top of that is too time consuming and costly. I get what you're saying but I feel club members should be given the choice of tickets fist and foremost with season ticket holders also having the option. As fas as I'm concerned the majority of the rest can become club members if they want. A non-playing club membership isnt very much in most clubs and it helps out grass roots more than anything else.
I was talking to a Mayo person before last years final and she was crying over not getting a ticket and that she goes to the majority of the games - yet she couldnt name a "club member" of hers on the Mayo team - I've little interest in Mayo club football but even I could! Theres arguments for both for me club members first every single time."
There is never going to be a solution i guess that suits everyone and I suppose the club first seems fairly logical and probably serves the majority

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 27/05/2022 10:21:25    2420445

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I see all tickets for munster final that went on sale this morning have sold out..should those tickets not have been given to clubs first?snything left over then can go on general sale..people were told by clubs that getting tickets through Ticketmaster was their best option ,don't think it should be like that..am I being cranky this morning??"
That's the Clare bandwagoners coming out of the woodwork, I know some of them, they've been following Limerick for the last 5 years.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 27/05/2022 10:24:57    2420446

Replying To updwell:  "That's the Clare bandwagoners coming out of the woodwork, I know some of them, they've been following Limerick for the last 5 years."
Lol

In fairness to Limerick ye have a strong core supporters group. But like all teams with success ye now have a very large bandwagon but any team would have the same in your position.

If you do know of any Clare fan that followed Limerick in recent times please ask them to refrain from supporting Clare. We do not take kinds to blasphemy in our county.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 27/05/2022 10:41:24    2420450

Replying To updwell:  "That's the Clare bandwagoners coming out of the woodwork, I know some of them, they've been following Limerick for the last 5 years."
A Limerick supporter complaining about a bandwagon.....as a Dub I know all about bandwagons and every successful county has one and Limericks is as packed as the Luas on a Monday morning!

The gas thing about "going through the clubs" is there are people in every club who never go to a county match. There are people in my club in Wexford never go and I know people in my old Dublin club the same.

And I know people who never go to a club match but go to every Wexford from Walsh Cups or O'Byrne cup onwards. These supporters are just as entitled to tickets as Jimmy who cuts the grass in the local pitch.

Simple answer, if you want to be guaranteed a ticket get a season ticket.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 27/05/2022 11:01:22    2420454

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Lol

In fairness to Limerick ye have a strong core supporters group. But like all teams with success ye now have a very large bandwagon but any team would have the same in your position.

If you do know of any Clare fan that followed Limerick in recent times please ask them to refrain from supporting Clare. We do not take kinds to blasphemy in our county."
No they've found the old Clare 'Vodafone' jersey, rabbited on about 'TK' and 1 has a bodhran. Could you get any more Clare than that.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 27/05/2022 11:56:48    2420463

Bandonwaggonners follow every club. Munster rugby is the first to jump to mind. Could be worse - we dont want Munster final with the attendances of first round Waterford Crystal games

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/05/2022 12:23:14    2420470

Replying To updwell:  "No they've found the old Clare 'Vodafone' jersey, rabbited on about 'TK' and 1 has a bodhran. Could you get any more Clare than that."
You could get a lot more Clare than that..... they could hike in the beauty of the Burren, drink porter on the Wild Atlantic Way or go swimming in one of our many beautiful beaches.

A lot of my Limerick friends spend their summers in West Clare in Kilkee would you believe. Could you get anymore Limerick than that?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 27/05/2022 12:43:30    2420474

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "You could get a lot more Clare than that..... they could hike in the beauty of the Burren, drink porter on the Wild Atlantic Way or go swimming in one of our many beautiful beaches.

A lot of my Limerick friends spend their summers in West Clare in Kilkee would you believe. Could you get anymore Limerick than that?"
Jaysus, updwell n LHR, you're both forgetting Dromoland Castle and Durty Nellies.

Nothing more 'Cead mile failte', and 'Let's milk the Yank dry' than that. If Bord Failte could land the planes in the car park, they would. Aer Lingus don't do a bad job of it, as it is.

Saw thru that charade years ago; the quiet, less discovered Ireland, off the beaten track is what I advise my American compatriots on (and you wouldn't believe how many Americans want to visit Ireland). But we're not $m$r$c$ns. We want a certain quality, and if we get it and feel that there's a good bang for our buck, we'll tip well and speak well of Ireland.

But if we get the stench of a tourist trap or a rip-off, we'll never come back, and neither will any of our friends, relations, or business contacts ever even go.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 27/05/2022 13:18:28    2420480

Replying To Timmy86:  "If she went up at h/t she d have got in id say ,she d have met a few crying coming out %)"
Hahah brilliant. She had found a few straw hats on the ground too for good measure

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 27/05/2022 13:22:01    2420481

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "You could get a lot more Clare than that..... they could hike in the beauty of the Burren, drink porter on the Wild Atlantic Way or go swimming in one of our many beautiful beaches.

A lot of my Limerick friends spend their summers in West Clare in Kilkee would you believe. Could you get anymore Limerick than that?"
Townies go to West Clare for a wash,more a Kerry man myself.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 27/05/2022 13:27:07    2420483

Replying To tiobraid:  "Bandonwaggonners follow every club. Munster rugby is the first to jump to mind. Could be worse - we dont want Munster final with the attendances of first round Waterford Crystal games"
Amen brother. People complained about our football support delaying matches for years. As a true blue Dublin hurling supporter, it would be a dream to have a match delayed due to the crowd. Someday maybe. Someday.
There is nothing wrong with a bandwagon, once supporters don't start a "aren't we great supporters altogether, haven't we great fans" jargon when 15k of them couldn't name the clubs of 5 of the players.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 27/05/2022 14:39:00    2420502

Replying To updwell:  "Townies go to West Clare for a wash,more a Kerry man myself."
Have none of you culchies ever heard of an airplane?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1128 - 27/05/2022 14:44:58    2420504

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Have none of you culchies ever heard of an airplane?"
Of course they have. My cousin just took the Shannon to Kilkee flight last week. He'd never do it again, he says. The jet-lag just killed him; didn't enjoy his day off at all!

Let us know what da Dub would do, like a good man, and I'll kindly pass on your advice to my poor culchie cousin.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1910 - 27/05/2022 15:55:33    2420513