2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

I hope Limerick win. But out of the remaining games the one thing that sticks out is how dangerous the Munster Final runners up will be. Clare and Limerick have both taken the scenic route to Croker in the past, Limerick in 07 and 18 and Clare in 13.

The runners up will have a 50/50 quarter final and that game could be pivotal towards an all Ireland run. In comparison I think losing the Leinster final could really hurt both teams.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 03/06/2022 12:46:06    2421964

3 targets at start
Objective 1.........Win Round Robin unbeaten.........
Check.
Objective 2..........Win Leinster Final............?
Objective 3...........Win All Ireland Semi Final....TBC
Galway coming along nicely, roll on tomorrow evening!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2209 - 03/06/2022 12:55:04    2421970

Replying To tiobraid:  "yawn.."
If Kerry beat Antrim and then shock you in the playoff and then beats someone who has an off year in the Round Robin next year, winning no games, like you and Waterford had this year, for talks sake Waterford, do you think it would be fair that you would have to play a play off against Waterford to get back into the Munster Championship if you win the Joe Mac pulling up?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11986 - 03/06/2022 13:16:30    2421982

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Bob O'Keeffe - Kilkenny by 4
Mick Mackey - Draw (70 mins)
Joe McDonagh - Kerry by 2"
Who wins the Mackey in ET?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11986 - 03/06/2022 13:17:35    2421984

Replying To slayer:  "I hope Limerick win. But out of the remaining games the one thing that sticks out is how dangerous the Munster Final runners up will be. Clare and Limerick have both taken the scenic route to Croker in the past, Limerick in 07 and 18 and Clare in 13.

The runners up will have a 50/50 quarter final and that game could be pivotal towards an all Ireland run. In comparison I think losing the Leinster final could really hurt both teams."
I think the truth is the Munster teams have just been stronger in general over the last while. I don't think either Galway or Kilkenny will fear Cork if they get to the QF all the same.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11986 - 03/06/2022 13:22:58    2421987

Replying To katser:  "3 targets at start
Objective 1.........Win Round Robin unbeaten.........
Check.
Objective 2..........Win Leinster Final............?
Objective 3...........Win All Ireland Semi Final....TBC
Galway coming along nicely, roll on tomorrow evening!!"
I think I could put music to Galway coming along nicely only for you to inevitably calve when the pressure is on. As average as Kilkenny are by their lofty standards, they'll likely give you a belly full of it on Sunday

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 03/06/2022 13:31:46    2421992

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Bob O'Keeffe - Kilkenny by 4
Mick Mackey - Draw (70 mins)
Joe McDonagh - Kerry by 2"
Good predictions but who wins the Munster Final AET?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1133 - 03/06/2022 14:19:18    2422009

Replying To Shocs07:  "Let's hope the Clare lads keep their feet"
Jesus will you let it go it's boring. Stop trying to turn this thread into another tit for tat

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2489 - 03/06/2022 14:46:50    2422014

Replying To Viking66:  "Who wins the Mackey in ET?"
I wasn't sure if the games went to extra time, and/or a replay or a shoot out. I tried googling it, but can't find anything.

All my predictions are from a betting point of view, where all the odds given are on 70 minutes play.
But I'd say Limerick might have the edge in extra time.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 03/06/2022 16:59:58    2422041

Replying To Viking66:  "If Kerry beat Antrim and then shock you in the playoff and then beats someone who has an off year in the Round Robin next year, winning no games, like you and Waterford had this year, for talks sake Waterford, do you think it would be fair that you would have to play a play off against Waterford to get back into the Munster Championship if you win the Joe Mac pulling up?"
We disappointed in the championship but when someone else other than Clare gets as close to the champions then our epitaph can be written. The funeral is over for most people. Only thing left to do ie erect the head stone. However I see your scenario.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2664 - 03/06/2022 19:55:44    2422054

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jesus will you let it go it's boring. Stop trying to turn this thread into another tit for tat"
If you can't take it don't give it.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 03/06/2022 20:18:18    2422055

Great weekend in prospect. You get the sense this week that the championship really goes up a notch from here on in. Provincial finals bring an intensity but with the narratives and story lines surrounding both this weekend it really is intriguing. No one exits the championship this weekend but statements are there to be made.

Munster final:

Its going to be a throw back to the memorable ones of the 80s and 90s. My first was as a neutral in 86 in killarney for Cork v Clare. I can still remember the colour, noise, sheer dread to open my mouth. Magical. Hooked. Neutral.

Both teams are lined up as strong as they have available. I think Limerick have gone as I expected. I think Lohan will still be wondering exactly what Limerick might do with Hayes as will we all. Clare have a very simple game plan so it won't change but I think Limerick could expose the FB line here if they wish. Limerick could start with all 3 of Gillane Flanagan and Hayes in the FF line which I believe was the plan since last January. That would imo cause a mismatch at least in one position for clare. That would mean Limerick going very direct which i think they'd have no problem with. Hayes could also come out on the 40 allowing o neill to drop into midfield and WoD to sweep the HB line. Gives a bit of cover and security there. They could easily switch it up too at times. Hayes could also start 7 which I would be surprised with mulcahy in. I think Limerick will bring a serious intensity to this. Clare won't have seen this type of intensity,physicality and relentlessness possibly since 2019 in the GG. But clare are in a better place than they were that day.

Clare have a nice balanced look about their team. Id expect they'll go route one on duggan a lot but if limerick give them space on their puckouts they'll shorten it a few times. Duggan is a big man and he may not win direct ball but the breaking ball is what they'll be sniffing for. Kelly, Taylor, o donnell are experts at drifting into space and clipping scores. It's that second/breaking ball where clares fate lies.

This game will bring big moments for the referee. Its a munster final. It's Limerick v clare. It's been 27 years. Limerick are going for 4 in a row. It will be savage out there. John keenan for me has been brilliant for the last 2 years. I was hugely impressed down in PUC when Limerick played Cork this year. He let's the game go as it should and he doesn't get involved in stuff that doesn't need to be acted on. Right now with bar fergal Horgan he is imo the best equipped ref for this match.

I fancy Limerick. They're hungry for this. The motivation will be right there for them. If they do manage to win Munster without the HOTY and all star corner forward in Peter casey with both back training ahead of the rest of the year it will be some statement.

Leinster Final:

The kilkenny team named I find hard to believe will start. Walter walsh and padraig Walsh both named on the bench and I'd expect one if not both to start. I still like this kk team but they're not quite firing yet. I like what they did and the balance they've given to their side. The one position I still think they're struggling is 6. Deegan is just not mobile enough to sweep and I felt richie Reid was a good fit but he wasted an mount of ball at 6 v wexford..if I was cody I'd be putting padraig Walsh back at 6(if fit) and wally at 11.

Galway for me have named their best 15 but looking at their bench I'm struggling to find serious impact. My worry for Galway is if they don't start well is the plan B good enough. And can they still finish kk off in a big final. On form this should be Galway but of both Walshs are fit I'll go with KK.

The joe mcdonagh is great to have on TV later and you'd fancy Antrim. At least the lads down in Tipp will be hoping the saffrons win so the gear won't have to be taken out again.

Can't wait. Safe travels to all. Enjoy the colour.

Luimneach abú

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1129 - 04/06/2022 09:28:21    2422068

Replying To Shocs07:  "I think I could put music to Galway coming along nicely only for you to inevitably calve when the pressure is on. As average as Kilkenny are by their lofty standards, they'll likely give you a belly full of it on Sunday"
I assume you mean "cave" , rather than "calve"!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/06/2022 11:07:25    2422076

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jesus will you let it go it's boring. Stop trying to turn this thread into another tit for tat"
It's hardly tit for tat. Bottomline is some of the Clare players do appear to get moments of vertigo.
Anyway looking forward to what should be a great game

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 04/06/2022 11:12:15    2422077

Replying To Viking66:  "I think the truth is the Munster teams have just been stronger in general over the last while. I don't think either Galway or Kilkenny will fear Cork if they get to the QF all the same."
Likewise, I don't believe Cork would fear either Galway or Kilkenny.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 04/06/2022 11:18:34    2422080

Replying To Viking66:  "If Kerry beat Antrim and then shock you in the playoff and then beats someone who has an off year in the Round Robin next year, winning no games, like you and Waterford had this year, for talks sake Waterford, do you think it would be fair that you would have to play a play off against Waterford to get back into the Munster Championship if you win the Joe Mac pulling up?"
Tipp stuck in the Joe Mac? Now there's a thought!

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2477 - 04/06/2022 11:34:14    2422090

Replying To Rockies:  "Likewise, I don't believe Cork would fear either Galway or Kilkenny."
Welcome back Rockies!

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 04/06/2022 11:53:26    2422094

Replying To updwell:  "If you can't take it don't give it."
I can take it no problems trust me. It's not like Clare are winning titles every year. Just trying to avoid this becoming an over and back again, it's boring. Let's focus on the game now and hope it's a cracker.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2489 - 04/06/2022 11:56:03    2422095

Replying To daveboy:  "Great weekend in prospect. You get the sense this week that the championship really goes up a notch from here on in. Provincial finals bring an intensity but with the narratives and story lines surrounding both this weekend it really is intriguing. No one exits the championship this weekend but statements are there to be made.

Munster final:

Its going to be a throw back to the memorable ones of the 80s and 90s. My first was as a neutral in 86 in killarney for Cork v Clare. I can still remember the colour, noise, sheer dread to open my mouth. Magical. Hooked. Neutral.

Both teams are lined up as strong as they have available. I think Limerick have gone as I expected. I think Lohan will still be wondering exactly what Limerick might do with Hayes as will we all. Clare have a very simple game plan so it won't change but I think Limerick could expose the FB line here if they wish. Limerick could start with all 3 of Gillane Flanagan and Hayes in the FF line which I believe was the plan since last January. That would imo cause a mismatch at least in one position for clare. That would mean Limerick going very direct which i think they'd have no problem with. Hayes could also come out on the 40 allowing o neill to drop into midfield and WoD to sweep the HB line. Gives a bit of cover and security there. They could easily switch it up too at times. Hayes could also start 7 which I would be surprised with mulcahy in. I think Limerick will bring a serious intensity to this. Clare won't have seen this type of intensity,physicality and relentlessness possibly since 2019 in the GG. But clare are in a better place than they were that day.

Clare have a nice balanced look about their team. Id expect they'll go route one on duggan a lot but if limerick give them space on their puckouts they'll shorten it a few times. Duggan is a big man and he may not win direct ball but the breaking ball is what they'll be sniffing for. Kelly, Taylor, o donnell are experts at drifting into space and clipping scores. It's that second/breaking ball where clares fate lies.

This game will bring big moments for the referee. Its a munster final. It's Limerick v clare. It's been 27 years. Limerick are going for 4 in a row. It will be savage out there. John keenan for me has been brilliant for the last 2 years. I was hugely impressed down in PUC when Limerick played Cork this year. He let's the game go as it should and he doesn't get involved in stuff that doesn't need to be acted on. Right now with bar fergal Horgan he is imo the best equipped ref for this match.

I fancy Limerick. They're hungry for this. The motivation will be right there for them. If they do manage to win Munster without the HOTY and all star corner forward in Peter casey with both back training ahead of the rest of the year it will be some statement.

Leinster Final:

The kilkenny team named I find hard to believe will start. Walter walsh and padraig Walsh both named on the bench and I'd expect one if not both to start. I still like this kk team but they're not quite firing yet. I like what they did and the balance they've given to their side. The one position I still think they're struggling is 6. Deegan is just not mobile enough to sweep and I felt richie Reid was a good fit but he wasted an mount of ball at 6 v wexford..if I was cody I'd be putting padraig Walsh back at 6(if fit) and wally at 11.

Galway for me have named their best 15 but looking at their bench I'm struggling to find serious impact. My worry for Galway is if they don't start well is the plan B good enough. And can they still finish kk off in a big final. On form this should be Galway but of both Walshs are fit I'll go with KK.

The joe mcdonagh is great to have on TV later and you'd fancy Antrim. At least the lads down in Tipp will be hoping the saffrons win so the gear won't have to be taken out again.

Can't wait. Safe travels to all. Enjoy the colour.

Luimneach abú"
Kyle Hayes is x player in this game, where does he go and the ripple effect it will have throughout the field. If he moves out it frees up a Clare full back and closes down the space in the Clare forwards but if he stays Limerick will go high and long down on the 2 Clare corner backs.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 04/06/2022 12:19:36    2422101

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I wasn't sure if the games went to extra time, and/or a replay or a shoot out. I tried googling it, but can't find anything.

All my predictions are from a betting point of view, where all the odds given are on 70 minutes play.
But I'd say Limerick might have the edge in extra time."
I'd agree. Think Limerick will win in normal time tbh though Clare should run them closer than anyone else has from this stage onwards since ye beat them in 2019.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11986 - 04/06/2022 12:39:25    2422104