2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Viking66:  "In any sport the idea is to win. One of the things anyone does to do that is try to work on your opponents weaknesses. Gleesons, Hegartys and Gillanes is their temperament. They don't really have any other weaknesses. So once someone doesn't break the rules in doing it why shouldn't they wind them up? It's up to them not to react and get themselves sent off. Before lads go completely mad on this I would say Gillane in particular gets fouled consistently throughout every game I've seen him play nearly. That's where I would agree with you Canuck. It is up to the referee to blow up these fouls instead of letting them go the whole time. Winding up a lad within the rules is perfectly acceptable. Persistent fouling isn't."
I think that's a fair point Viking. If anything comes from first few matches is hopefully we'll see a bit more focus on the persistent pulling and dragging. A couple of quick frees will sort it. There will always be the dark arts and every team has a component of those in them but the dragging and hauling lads to the ground is why people stopped watching Football. It just needs to be stopped. Feral horgan is the best I've seen at reffing this. He's always looking out for off the ball fouling. John keenan is good too. The umpires really should but its clear they've been instructed not to for some reason as its right in front of them.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1125 - 19/05/2022 10:14:34    2418598

Replying To Viking66:  "In any sport the idea is to win. One of the things anyone does to do that is try to work on your opponents weaknesses. Gleesons, Hegartys and Gillanes is their temperament. They don't really have any other weaknesses. So once someone doesn't break the rules in doing it why shouldn't they wind them up? It's up to them not to react and get themselves sent off. Before lads go completely mad on this I would say Gillane in particular gets fouled consistently throughout every game I've seen him play nearly. That's where I would agree with you Canuck. It is up to the referee to blow up these fouls instead of letting them go the whole time. Winding up a lad within the rules is perfectly acceptable. Persistent fouling isn't."
All top players get fouled persistently. In hurling and football. Yes it is up to the referee but maybe that would be the value of 2 referees? 1 referee can't have eyes in the back of his head.
If a player lets himself get wound up by an opponent, that is on him. If I was marking Austin Gleeson, I would wind him up too.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 19/05/2022 10:27:37    2418603

Replying To daveboy:  "I think that's a fair point Viking. If anything comes from first few matches is hopefully we'll see a bit more focus on the persistent pulling and dragging. A couple of quick frees will sort it. There will always be the dark arts and every team has a component of those in them but the dragging and hauling lads to the ground is why people stopped watching Football. It just needs to be stopped. Feral horgan is the best I've seen at reffing this. He's always looking out for off the ball fouling. John keenan is good too. The umpires really should but its clear they've been instructed not to for some reason as its right in front of them."
Umpires aren't even allowed call a square ball let alone off the ball fouling.
I would ask what a linesman is doing when the ball is coming in from out the field. Why can't they help?

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 19/05/2022 10:31:44    2418607

Exiled,ive done umpire myself and I've called a ref to tell him what I'm watching,more often s warning is enough for most players to cop on..ive seen a ref getting more help in club games than inter county..umpires are wired up now so there is no bloody excuse..even the best footballer in the country has found it hard at times to keep his cool..its a pity it has crept into hurling but it looks as if it's there until action is taken..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 19/05/2022 11:34:08    2418628

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "All top players get fouled persistently. In hurling and football. Yes it is up to the referee but maybe that would be the value of 2 referees? 1 referee can't have eyes in the back of his head.
If a player lets himself get wound up by an opponent, that is on him. If I was marking Austin Gleeson, I would wind him up too."
That surely depends on what the means are?

I'm sure the likes of Clifford and others are well used to all sorts of rubbish since they were spotted as talents as a young age, but no one should have to put up with the constant barrage of no doubt bull that was there on camera for all of us to see in the league final against Mayo.

There is also undoubtedly the case that with fellas like Gleeson and Hegarty, and John Small in football, that it's often open season on them because they are allegedly "hard men."

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 19/05/2022 12:23:23    2418654

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "That surely depends on what the means are?

I'm sure the likes of Clifford and others are well used to all sorts of rubbish since they were spotted as talents as a young age, but no one should have to put up with the constant barrage of no doubt bull that was there on camera for all of us to see in the league final against Mayo.

There is also undoubtedly the case that with fellas like Gleeson and Hegarty, and John Small in football, that it's often open season on them because they are allegedly "hard men.""
Whats your prediction for the Galway v Dublin game!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 19/05/2022 12:36:48    2418663

LSHC
Wins for Kilkenny, Galway, and Westmeath.
Munster
Cork v Tipperary

Clare v Waterford. 3 teams looking for the final qualifying place.

Cork to win, Clare to win.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 19/05/2022 12:56:32    2418675

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Umpires aren't even allowed call a square ball let alone off the ball fouling.
I would ask what a linesman is doing when the ball is coming in from out the field. Why can't they help?"
"Umpires aren't even allowed call a square ball let alone off the ball fouling. I would ask what a linesman is doing when the ball is coming in from out the field. Why can't they help?"

Is that for real?

Are the duties and responsibilities of umpires and linesmen defined and outlined in the official rulebook (presuming that there is one)? Or are these 'officials' there just at the beck and call, even whim, of the referee? In our games, the umpire is the referee (it'll go over many of your heads).

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 19/05/2022 13:41:54    2418700

Replying To katser:  "Whats your prediction for the Galway v Dublin game!!"
I'm afraid they've been disappointing so far so home win if Henry has stopped them getting the jibbers on seeing the blue jersey.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2524 - 19/05/2022 13:43:06    2418701

Viking66 the operative word as you said is within the rules. Grabbing him around the neck and pulling to the ground is not within the rules which ended up in him sent off. He absolutely did nothing in that fracas. Burying the heel of a stick in him but because he does not roll around on the ground is not within the rules. I have never said Gleeson is an angle and actually not a fan but now it is open season on him. Over the years I have always stood up for refs.The stand of officiating is terrible. Again officiating is the operative word. There are 7 of them out there who can influence a game. Calling a square ball. Bringing attention supposedly to off ball incidents etc. etc.. So what I am saying if it is everyone's wish to see all the players stay on the field do your job to try and have that happen. I would want that for every team and absolutely hate seen anyone sent off. Yes it will happen at times and players themselves are responsibe for it.
May be the weakness of these players is as my old coach used to say if you are going to get sent off make sure your opponent is going off on a stretcher. Not something I approve of either.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 19/05/2022 14:44:56    2418726

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I'm afraid they've been disappointing so far so home win if Henry has stopped them getting the jibbers on seeing the blue jersey."
It was never jibbers, compliancy yes. Hopefully a good 15pt Galway win will set that straight!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 19/05/2022 14:54:02    2418728

Replying To foreveryoung:  ""Umpires aren't even allowed call a square ball let alone off the ball fouling. I would ask what a linesman is doing when the ball is coming in from out the field. Why can't they help?"

Is that for real?

Are the duties and responsibilities of umpires and linesmen defined and outlined in the official rulebook (presuming that there is one)? Or are these 'officials' there just at the beck and call, even whim, of the referee? In our games, the umpire is the referee (it'll go over many of your heads)."
Umpires have never been allowed to call a square ball. As long as I am playing anyway.
But sure the GAA think a referee 50 yards away is a better man to call it. People complain about refereeing all the time but the GAA do nothing to help them.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 19/05/2022 15:23:48    2418743

Replying To katser:  "It was never jibbers, compliancy yes. Hopefully a good 15pt Galway win will set that straight!"
I thought it was just that you were terrible last year tbh. And complacent in 2019.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/05/2022 15:24:19    2418744

Replying To katser:  "Whats your prediction for the Galway v Dublin game!!"
Galway by 10 points...pulling up! Well, that's how it should be...on paper, on form, even at the turf accountant. The game isn't being played on any of these places, however. Luckily, for Galway, it's being played in Galway. Or is that lucky? It means bringing the prodigal home... the Mattie Factor!

Galway by 2 points, not 10: and be damn glad happy with it!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 19/05/2022 15:33:17    2418748

Replying To katser:  "It was never jibbers, compliancy yes. Hopefully a good 15pt Galway win will set that straight!"
I'd say Galway by 5 or 6 points. Hoping for no major injuries.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 19/05/2022 16:30:51    2418765

The form and scoring of J Cooney and Monaghan has been unreal in the Leinster cship. Whelan and Concannon havent yet really discovered their form of a few years ago. Galway should win but surely some back lash in Dublin

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/05/2022 09:30:26    2418837

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Umpires have never been allowed to call a square ball. As long as I am playing anyway.
But sure the GAA think a referee 50 yards away is a better man to call it. People complain about refereeing all the time but the GAA do nothing to help them."
Referees have always called a square ball. I preferred it that way when I was playing, and often umpire 1 from either club. Imagine the row over a square ball then

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 20/05/2022 10:24:32    2418865

Replying To tiobraid:  "The form and scoring of J Cooney and Monaghan has been unreal in the Leinster cship. Whelan and Concannon havent yet really discovered their form of a few years ago. Galway should win but surely some back lash in Dublin"
Monaghan looked very good against us. Joe Cooney less so. Nowhere near as influential as Whelan was. Agree about Concannon. Galway still have very good players though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/05/2022 10:27:11    2418866

Replying To Viking66:  "Monaghan looked very good against us. Joe Cooney less so. Nowhere near as influential as Whelan was. Agree about Concannon. Galway still have very good players though."
I think J Cooney has played some wonderful hurling this year, including the game against Wexford. His scores and pinpoint passes, with seemingly effortless striking, are a joy to watch. The break from the game while in Australia seems to have rejuvenated him.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 20/05/2022 12:56:57    2418932

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "Head-to head doesn't matter in this situation. Scoring difference is used to determine final positions in the case of a 3-way tie, so mathematically, Tipp still have an outside chance. Their scoring difference is significantly worse than the others though so it is highly unlikely."
According to News paper report. If Cork win they are in..

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 126 - 20/05/2022 13:00:14    2418936