2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Trump2020:  "Multiple Choice Question: Is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country or is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country? Yes or Yes?"
It could be a Galway v Clare All Ireland Final...you'd love that!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2473 - 15/05/2022 17:48:21    2417286

Waterford very fortunate that Clare are already through to the Munster final.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2654 - 15/05/2022 17:52:21    2417288

Waterford have to beat Clare next Sunday..if 2 teams level on points think it's head to head..surely the ref today has to be stood down after that performance..gearoid should not have been sent off..first yellow card was a disgrace,taking a quick line ball,mcinerney tried to stop it please explain what was wrong..full frontal challange on hannon no booking..Sean finn fouled by o donnell leading to Clare point..reidy fouled at other end togs nearly pulled off him,ref looking and no bloody free..I'd have to question why a leinster ref not appointed..same earlier in year with a limerick ref for tipp/Waterford..what is worse is the officials on linesman duty are either leinster or Galway so they are at the match anyway..I'll give a ref the benefit of doubt a lot of time but today was shocking..I hope Clare player in second incident with gearoid is ok!!!!!

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2373 - 15/05/2022 18:03:36    2417293

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Waterford very fortunate that Clare are already through to the Munster final."
But even if they beat Clare they are gone if Cork win isn't that right? Looking bad for them I think.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 246 - 15/05/2022 18:04:43    2417294

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dubs were simply awful last night. The most dispiriting thing about it is that this Kilkenny team isn't that good.

With the exception of Dónal Burke the rest of the forwards are nowhere near good enough. Poor touch, poor decision making and no ability to win even 60/40 contests in their favour.

Brennan isn't an improvement on Nolan either which has been unfortunate as there was hope that he could be.

Defence and midfield is okay but when the ball doesn't stick up front and is coming back at you time and time again you'll start conceding heavier eventually.

Going nowhere at the moment."
"The most dispiriting thing about it is that this Kilkenny team isn't that good."

They're good enough to win Leinster, and good enough to give any (Munster) team a game in the All-Ireland semi-final. Why don't you join the Wexford fans on their thread, your bleating will fit in well there.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2654 - 15/05/2022 18:12:09    2417300

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Waterford have to beat Clare next Sunday..if 2 teams level on points think it's head to head..surely the ref today has to be stood down after that performance..gearoid should not have been sent off..first yellow card was a disgrace,taking a quick line ball,mcinerney tried to stop it please explain what was wrong..full frontal challange on hannon no booking..Sean finn fouled by o donnell leading to Clare point..reidy fouled at other end togs nearly pulled off him,ref looking and no bloody free..I'd have to question why a leinster ref not appointed..same earlier in year with a limerick ref for tipp/Waterford..what is worse is the officials on linesman duty are either leinster or Galway so they are at the match anyway..I'll give a ref the benefit of doubt a lot of time but today was shocking..I hope Clare player in second incident with gearoid is ok!!!!!"
All fair arguments and a pleasure to my ears.

Limerick unfairly had a man sent off.

Didn't really change the game anyway so no need in giving out.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 15/05/2022 18:17:41    2417307

I'm so happy for all the Limerick folk that travelled to Ennis today to witness the greatest hurler in Ireland put on a display.

TK - GOAT

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 15/05/2022 18:20:33    2417311

Replying To Viking66:  "If Tipp beat Cork by enough and Clare beat Waterford by enough Tipp will get 3rd."
No. Waterford beat tipp

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 157 - 15/05/2022 18:21:15    2417312

Replying To Trump2020:  "Multiple Choice Question: Is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country or is Tony Kelly the best Hurler in the country? Yes or Yes?"
He is.....when our 2-time hurler of the year is taking a break!
Great game though. A pity that a simulation that was so bloody obvious threatened to ruin the match.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 15/05/2022 18:37:39    2417318

That day didn't turn out like everyone thought!

Well done to Cork. Their Championship is back live. Tipp will give them lots but I see them winning that game and knocking out Waterford. A real shame considering how good a team they are.

Fair play to Clare today. Limerick came with everything. Like two bulls who wouldn't back down. The hurling in the first half was out of this world. The second half was tense and enthralling. While Hegarty may feel hard done by, I don't understand why he had to swing the hurl back in the direction of the player!

I don't think I've ever seen anything like Tony Kelly before. What a player

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1466 - 15/05/2022 18:47:53    2417325

Its worse officiating is getting these days, but then again nothing changes if nothing changes. Umpires 50 yards away making a call on an incident in which the Clare player had his back to them? Its a joke. Fitzgerald should get a ban for diving and cheating, that's the only way you'll put a stop to it.
A decent ref for the final now and it has the makings of a cracker.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2084 - 15/05/2022 18:50:36    2417326

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "No. Waterford beat tipp"
And cork beat Waterford,be down to scoring difference.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 783 - 15/05/2022 18:51:35    2417327

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "All fair arguments and a pleasure to my ears.

Limerick unfairly had a man sent off.

Didn't really change the game anyway so no need in giving out."
It's obviously OK on your eyes for Clare players to dive..Good man you are. Roll on Thurles when we have a full team with a win at all costs attitude and we'll see how good ye really are.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 845 - 15/05/2022 18:52:14    2417328

You can say what you want about the Limerick boys but they don't fall around looking for frees and lads to get cards. Really sad to see it creep into hurling

dingo (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 15/05/2022 18:58:54    2417330

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Was that your acca for the weekend?"
1st bad weekend this year! Glad I didn't go down the bookies with it! 1 outta 5 is terrible!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13784 - 15/05/2022 18:59:32    2417332

Replying To JimmyNail:  "But even if they beat Clare they are gone if Cork win isn't that right? Looking bad for them I think."
Yes and yes

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13784 - 15/05/2022 19:00:13    2417333

What a pleasure it is to watch such a Wonderful player as Tony Kelly....easily the best player on the field today and best in the Country! Really looking forward to seeing him collect his 1st Senior Munster winners Medal.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2473 - 15/05/2022 19:00:57    2417334

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""The most dispiriting thing about it is that this Kilkenny team isn't that good."

They're good enough to win Leinster, and good enough to give any (Munster) team a game in the All-Ireland semi-final. Why don't you join the Wexford fans on their thread, your bleating will fit in well there."
We don't all bleat cockneycat. There is a small hard-core of bleaters who only post when we are losing ok. Shame is we have had to put up with them a fair bit over the last 3 years!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13784 - 15/05/2022 19:02:23    2417336

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "No. Waterford beat tipp"
Head-to head doesn't matter in this situation. Scoring difference is used to determine final positions in the case of a 3-way tie, so mathematically, Tipp still have an outside chance. Their scoring difference is significantly worse than the others though so it is highly unlikely.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1014 - 15/05/2022 19:03:26    2417338

The Championship is taking shape now....wonder what odds would one get for All Ireland Quarter Finals....Kilkenny v Cork and Wexford v limrik!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2473 - 15/05/2022 19:03:50    2417339