2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "All fair arguments and a pleasure to my ears.

Limerick unfairly had a man sent off.

Didn't really change the game anyway so no need in giving out."
How do you know it didn't change the game, down to 14 men for 10 minutes, Do you really believe it would be a draw if Limerick were down to 14....

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 64 - 15/05/2022 21:28:05    2417429

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I know. Linesman looked as though he wasn't convinced but obviously told Lyons he hadn't seen anything. There was no reaction from crowd which itself is good indication that he was acting the maggot.

It is a disgrace and it should be teams themselves that are cracking down on it. Some ref is going to have to grasp the nettle and start handing out cards for this sort of carry on."
Cork were the better team and deserved the win. My favourite ref blew it with Gleeson and I don't care what the t.v. is showing. The plan to get him off is working like a dream. He did absolutely nothing to Downey and I will challenge anyone who was at the match to prove otherwise. It has become fashionable to send him off and I often complain about his antics but this antagonizing of him is getting ridiculous. I suppose if you can not beat him fairly then this is the way to go.
Again congrats to Cork and they deserve great credit for how they turned us over.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/05/2022 21:36:04    2417434

Replying To updwell:  "2 games in a row now where Clare fellas clearly dived to get an oppositionplayer sent off, obviously something Lohan is teaching them. Terrible to see it and embarrassing for the county of Clare and hurling."
Just saw the second yellow there on the SG. Shameful stuff out of the Clare player, rolling around like f**kin Neymar.
This nonsense diving has to be dealt with..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 15/05/2022 21:40:20    2417437

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I know. Linesman looked as though he wasn't convinced but obviously told Lyons he hadn't seen anything. There was no reaction from crowd which itself is good indication that he was acting the maggot.

It is a disgrace and it should be teams themselves that are cracking down on it. Some ref is going to have to grasp the nettle and start handing out cards for this sort of carry on."
Cork were the better team and deserved the win. My favourite ref blew it with Gleeson and I don't care what the t.v. is showing. The plan to get him off is working like a dream. He did absolutely nothing to Downey and I will challenge anyone who was at the match to prove otherwise. It has become fashionable to send him off and I often complain about his antics but this antagonizing of him is getting ridiculous. I suppose if you can not beat him fairly then this is the way to go.
Again congrats to Cork and they deserve great credit for how they turned us over.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 15/05/2022 21:43:55    2417440

Can I it that the Limerick v Waterford trilogy, that most people on here were carping on about a month ago, is not happening this year?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 15/05/2022 22:01:03    2417446

On a separate note, I would love to see the look on z Derek McGraths face now with all the nonsense he has been spouting. Waterford in big trouble.

I said at the start of the championship, everyone thought Cork, Waterford and Limerick would come out. I said one of those wouldn't and it was between Tipp and Clare to take the spot. It's panned out that way although I thought Clare would take 3rd.

I always said though Waterford are way overhyped and it's proven true. Cork back in the comp. I still think Tipp could beat them next week, we'll see.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2479 - 16/05/2022 07:42:48    2417453

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Haha

Hurler of the year is a team award really.

If you think cian is better than Tony then i think you would find that the neutrals would disagree"
Hurler of the year is a team award???. How come Christy Ring, Tony Brown and Austin Glesson have all won it, in years when their sides did not even win the All Ireland. In '59 Cork did not even win the Munster title.
I also think to win it in a year when Limerick so ruthlessly swept aside all opposition and had several candidates for the position, that Lynch's savage performance in the Final absolutely left the judges no option. Having said all that if Peter Casey had not been injured so early in the Final he would have run him close.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 07:45:35    2417454

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick are in a nice scenario after their round Robin series. In a munster final where they've shown signs of where they need to be. Getting lads back fit and minutes was key last few weeks. Cian will be back soon as with Peter casey and Barry Murphy to inject that bit more into it.

The match today was scrappy. It had moments where the hurling was allowed to happen but not much really. Tony Kelly was super but clare are heavily over realiant on him and he looked gassed after 45-50 mins. Kyle hayes when he gets his shooting boots on will be impossible to stop in next few weeks and with Gillane and Lynch to go back in Limerick will start upping their tempo from here on in. I don't see anything but another munster championship.

Hegartys red will be rescinded without a drop of diesel wasted by kiely and Co. Enough said. Poor show. Let the witch hunt end now. Hopefully kiely backs his player in his media duties.

Saw most of cork v Waterford. Waterford don't wear the favs tag well as we often didn't too. Cork were vilified and like tipp v Limerick you knew they'd bring something. Waterford were v poor.

I wouldn't in a second presume cork will bear tip next Sunday but I don't see lohan risking kelly v Waterford so the deise will pick up the points there.

Interesting to see what happens next Sunday. Tipp need a miracle so unlikely they'll get through. Limerick u20s AI final v kk now at least has a meaningful match alongside it."
When you dive you tell the opposition 'we know we cant beat you with fifteen men'

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 07:47:40    2417455

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "All fair arguments and a pleasure to my ears.

Limerick unfairly had a man sent off.

Didn't really change the game anyway so no need in giving out."
You are right there- it did not affect the result. Great Game. But no more than Dermot Byrnes in '18 the antics of David Fitzgerald means than Clare men can claim the high ground on the issue of diving anymore (Is that an oxymoran or Foxy Moran, as we used call it long ago). Anyway DFs namesake pointed out last that he had a fine game and indeed he had, but that silly carry on must be stamped out and I dont care if a Limerick man does it AGAIN he should be punished as well.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 07:55:42    2417458

Replying To arock:  "Ahh here 3 added mins in Ennis, sorry this is very very poor officiating. Time keeping is disgraceful."
Yes indeed, There a number of substitutions and stoppages in the second half. There was 10 minutes in '18 and it should at least have been 7 or 8 yesterday.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 07:58:57    2417460

Replying To updwell:  "2 games in a row now where Clare fellas clearly dived to get an oppositionplayer sent off, obviously something Lohan is teaching them. Terrible to see it and embarrassing for the county of Clare and hurling."
Hold on that wouldn't have been a Lohan characteristic. Think you are adding 1 and 1 and making 3. It's in players in every county including mine and yours at this stage. And not just at intercounty level. It was shocking theatrics though and must be very embarrassing for the lad who dived on the floor when you watch the slow motion. Unlikely he even has a bruise.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11843 - 16/05/2022 08:03:10    2417461

Replying To katser:  "What a pleasure it is to watch such a Wonderful player as Tony Kelly....easily the best player on the field today and best in the Country! Really looking forward to seeing him collect his 1st Senior Munster winners Medal."
I, myself, am looking to seeing Declan Hannon being the first man to Captain a four in a row Munster Title winning team, almost as much as I am I am looking forward to seeing himself, Mulcahy and Quaid become the first Limerick men to win five Munster Medals, since that all conquering team of '33 to '40. Those men of the Halcion days of long ago, in their beds in Heaven, must be full of admiration for those gallant young men who are so magnificently blazing a similar trail.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 08:11:01    2417463

unreal atmosphere in ennis yesterday and the fine day added to the whole occasion.....draw prob the fairest result. but hegarty sending off was disgraceful he got a yellow card for trying to take a quick sideline ball.......on the waterford cork game i wonder where is derek mcgrath this morning ......he talks some bl ****

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1097 - 16/05/2022 08:28:27    2417465

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""The most dispiriting thing about it is that this Kilkenny team isn't that good."

They're good enough to win Leinster, and good enough to give any (Munster) team a game in the All-Ireland semi-final. Why don't you join the Wexford fans on their thread, your bleating will fit in well there."
In comparison to the Kilkenny teams from 2006-2015 or so this Kilkenny team is nowhere near that standard in my opinion.

We got some beatings from that Kilkenny side, and had some good performances too even beating them in the Championship. That's what makes Saturday so dispiriting. Kilkenny have regressed but so have we.

Kilkenny still a decent side but we are not anymore.

Post wasn't intended as a slight on Kilkenny, a more disappointment at where Dublin are.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/05/2022 08:32:34    2417466

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "On a separate note, I would love to see the look on z Derek McGraths face now with all the nonsense he has been spouting. Waterford in big trouble.

I said at the start of the championship, everyone thought Cork, Waterford and Limerick would come out. I said one of those wouldn't and it was between Tipp and Clare to take the spot. It's panned out that way although I thought Clare would take 3rd.

I always said though Waterford are way overhyped and it's proven true. Cork back in the comp. I still think Tipp could beat them next week, we'll see."
Hold on a minute LRH. I for one one backed Clare ages ago. You cannot under estimate a team, with the best hurler I have ever seen- and that includes Canning and Sheeflin,- plus Duggan and SOD- neither of the latter two reached their full potential yesterday. I think Corks respite may well be temporary as there has to a kick left in Tipp at home. I also feel that both games should be played at the same time on Sunday, as the last games are in Leinster. I agree about DMc, he is becoming a bigger joke by the day.
I still think we will edge it in Thurles- we seemed that bit stronger coming going down the stretch and we have more firepower to return, although the replacements stood up well yesterday. Any visiting team that comes out of of Cusack Park with a draw are doing well.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/05/2022 08:32:59    2417467

Watched the match back last night when I got home .

God right from the off the officials hadn't a scoobie doo. The 65 given was either a free in (and a probable booking ) for the challenge on Kyle or a free out for charging….not a great day for colm Lyon's. I've a lot of sympathy for him both of hegartys yellows he relied on his support act as we always say he should…..they let him down. Now the rest of the game was poorly reffed. A 13/7 free count didn't seem equitable in a game where both sides were were equally pulling dragging and timber was flying. We have timbered every team for 4 years and sadly we are being whistled on reputation.

Gearoid can have no complaints ultimately. It's a free game and it has been coming. He's sailed so close to the wind that he's had that one coming to him. I'd rather he got that red in such a horrendous BS situation that forces refs to properly ref him. I've watched him closely in the last two matches…he's been close to where I've been and the amount of fouling, pulling dragging etches being subjected to off the ball is ridiculous. About time dowling showed it on the Sunday game. Obviously he's no angel but I think there's been an obvious attempt to stay away from the dirt since the Galway red. Kiely was dead right to leave gillane off.

It was like an old style game yesterday. A game for backs in a bear pit. Fair play to both sides. There's no respect or fear from either side and they both tear into each other. When can I book my Munster final tickets ??
Lots of our forwards are playing poorly. Gearoid going off was massive…think we may have snuck it otherwise but no harm. Hayes starts in a fury in every game. He needs to learn the patience of playing at 14. Needs to play there more for me. Backs are still coping. Taking a while for Seamus to get back to form. Poor yesterday. Match practice will bring him on a lot. No training compares to that game. Thought boylan did fine. Works very hard but not sure if he's a dangerous forward. Reidy was tidy.

Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 16/05/2022 09:04:02    2417476

Replying To Viking66:  "Hold on that wouldn't have been a Lohan characteristic. Think you are adding 1 and 1 and making 3. It's in players in every county including mine and yours at this stage. And not just at intercounty level. It was shocking theatrics though and must be very embarrassing for the lad who dived on the floor when you watch the slow motion. Unlikely he even has a bruise."
Fully agree with you,it's down to player in question,no one else,I be very surprised if Lohan is telling his players to do that,like you said it's happening across all teams,county and club games.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 16/05/2022 09:04:37    2417477

I agree 100% that the actions of the Clare substitute was appalling shameful even, please name the 2nd Clare player that you are accusing because I go to all games & watch Sunday Game and know nothing about this but do you not think its time to stop excusing Mr Hegarty for his wildness to say the least with his hurley.

Yes there was no contact with the Clare player but the swipe came down on the hurley if it landed on his hand then smashed fingers out for season out of work.

Please give an honest answer I absolutely admit that Clare player should be censured if there was a rule.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 16/05/2022 09:06:03    2417478

Replying To skillet:  "Just saw the second yellow there on the SG. Shameful stuff out of the Clare player, rolling around like f**kin Neymar.
This nonsense diving has to be dealt with.."
It was shameful by the Clare player but why does Hegarthy give the officials a decision to make Good article on it by Eddie Brennan in the Irish Indo today

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 16/05/2022 09:11:54    2417482

Replying To Oldtourman:  "You are right there- it did not affect the result. Great Game. But no more than Dermot Byrnes in '18 the antics of David Fitzgerald means than Clare men can claim the high ground on the issue of diving anymore (Is that an oxymoran or Foxy Moran, as we used call it long ago). Anyway DFs namesake pointed out last that he had a fine game and indeed he had, but that silly carry on must be stamped out and I dont care if a Limerick man does it AGAIN he should be punished as well."
Actually it was not David Fitzgerald it was temporary sub Aaron Fitzgerald there is more time spend on talking about the negatives that the real issue.
I got into Ennis early was in a pub near the grounds where a good trad session was happening nothing but good nature bar a bit of loud bragging by a few idiots.
Game not a classic but still very good great occasion both sides went at it hammer & thongs nothing more that a little bit of edge to it and at the end all the players were shaking hands.

Munster Final will be different story Gillane & Possibly lynch will be back Clare might have Aidan McCarthy back too Limerick still top dog but gap is closing

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 16/05/2022 09:22:37    2417485