2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Hold on that wouldn't have been a Lohan characteristic. Think you are adding 1 and 1 and making 3. It's in players in every county including mine and yours at this stage. And not just at intercounty level. It was shocking theatrics though and must be very embarrassing for the lad who dived on the floor when you watch the slow motion. Unlikely he even has a bruise."
Thank you a real bit of sense I do hope the Clare player is totally embarrassed today I was cringing watching him last night

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 16/05/2022 09:24:51    2417487

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "On a separate note, I would love to see the look on z Derek McGraths face now with all the nonsense he has been spouting. Waterford in big trouble.

I said at the start of the championship, everyone thought Cork, Waterford and Limerick would come out. I said one of those wouldn't and it was between Tipp and Clare to take the spot. It's panned out that way although I thought Clare would take 3rd.

I always said though Waterford are way overhyped and it's proven true. Cork back in the comp. I still think Tipp could beat them next week, we'll see."
Well now LRH, i had tipped Us, yourselves and Waterford to get out of Munster. As meatloaf often said, 2 outta 3 ain't bad.
Without trying to stir the pot, i think we'll beat ye by 7 or 8 in the final. For whatever reason we can't seem to win in Ennis. Thurles with a full team will see a different result.

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 16/05/2022 09:27:08    2417489

Replying To aloneitstands:  "How do you know it didn't change the game, down to 14 men for 10 minutes, Do you really believe it would be a draw if Limerick were down to 14...."
Yes I do.

Red cards can often have the opposite impact as we saw in 2019 Wex v Tipp, even in the Clare Tipp minor final the other day.

I was at the match yesterday and in my opinion the red card did not change the flow of the game in anyway.

So yes I think it's reasonable to say the red card had no impact.

That being said Aaron Fitz was wrong in what he did and it was poor out of him but lads Hegarty gave him the opportunity with what is becoming a characteristic swipe back. He is at it constantly and lucky of Aaron this time it hit his hurl but Hergart definitely went to clip him. For intent alone it's a yellow card.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 16/05/2022 09:35:10    2417491

What a shame that a game that produced everything yesterday is about a controversial red card ,simulation and bad officials again..I'll mention 6 players yesterday who for me showed hurling as it should be,Barry Nash,diarmaid Byrnes and will o donohue from limerick..Rory Hayes,David Fitz and tony Kelly from Clare..thought all were outstanding..my last comment on controversy,if it had been tj reid,Seamus harnedy or a mannion would they have received yellow cards for those incidents,I don't think so..past incidents should have no bearing,it should all be on the day..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2206 - 16/05/2022 09:43:59    2417498

Replying To Shocs07:  "Well now LRH, i had tipped Us, yourselves and Waterford to get out of Munster. As meatloaf often said, 2 outta 3 ain't bad.
Without trying to stir the pot, i think we'll beat ye by 7 or 8 in the final. For whatever reason we can't seem to win in Ennis. Thurles with a full team will see a different result."
Hold on lads Waterford could still get out of Munster. I too tipped Waterford Limerick and Clare and am not throwing away that docket yet!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11727 - 16/05/2022 09:46:49    2417499

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Yes I do.

Red cards can often have the opposite impact as we saw in 2019 Wex v Tipp, even in the Clare Tipp minor final the other day.

I was at the match yesterday and in my opinion the red card did not change the flow of the game in anyway.

So yes I think it's reasonable to say the red card had no impact.

That being said Aaron Fitz was wrong in what he did and it was poor out of him but lads Hegarty gave him the opportunity with what is becoming a characteristic swipe back. He is at it constantly and lucky of Aaron this time it hit his hurl but Hergart definitely went to clip him. For intent alone it's a yellow card."
What will Lohan say to the clare lad at training on Tuesday? Would he be proud of what he did? I'd like someone to ask lohan what he felt of the blatant simulation/cheating that occurred yesterday? I think it's too easy to deflect this onto hegarty. If people really care about this game this sort of stuff should be really called out for what it is. It's bringing the game into disrepute. It's cowardly and has no place on the field of play. Thats the bottom line.

I've said it before and I'll day it again any team that resorts to this is beaten before they leave the dressing room.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 16/05/2022 09:51:13    2417505

Replying To CTGAA10:  "What a shame that a game that produced everything yesterday is about a controversial red card ,simulation and bad officials again..I'll mention 6 players yesterday who for me showed hurling as it should be,Barry Nash,diarmaid Byrnes and will o donohue from limerick..Rory Hayes,David Fitz and tony Kelly from Clare..thought all were outstanding..my last comment on controversy,if it had been tj reid,Seamus harnedy or a mannion would they have received yellow cards for those incidents,I don't think so..past incidents should have no bearing,it should all be on the day.."
Great Post

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 16/05/2022 09:52:16    2417508

Replying To Viking66:  "Hold on lads Waterford could still get out of Munster. I too tipped Waterford Limerick and Clare and am not throwing away that docket yet!!"
Yes I'm having second thoughts too, I'll have to wait and see what team Clare put out because if they rest all their important players I fancy Waterford!
Also there is noway Tipperary will want to finish with a big rotten Zero points...they will do everything to win that game

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 16/05/2022 09:53:08    2417509

Replying To clooney:  "Actually it was not David Fitzgerald it was temporary sub Aaron Fitzgerald there is more time spend on talking about the negatives that the real issue.
I got into Ennis early was in a pub near the grounds where a good trad session was happening nothing but good nature bar a bit of loud bragging by a few idiots.
Game not a classic but still very good great occasion both sides went at it hammer & thongs nothing more that a little bit of edge to it and at the end all the players were shaking hands.

Munster Final will be different story Gillane & Possibly lynch will be back Clare might have Aidan McCarthy back too Limerick still top dog but gap is closing"
Sorry for fingering the wrong man. David Fitzgerald did have a fine game. Yes indeed a tremendous atmosphere in Ennis yesterday and the Clare followers, as always, were brilliant to interact with, both before, during and after the game. Maybe, you are right, we are focusing too much on the negatives. We certainly have too fine teams now. May the best team win in Thurles.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/05/2022 10:14:31    2417535

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I, myself, am looking to seeing Declan Hannon being the first man to Captain a four in a row Munster Title winning team, almost as much as I am I am looking forward to seeing himself, Mulcahy and Quaid become the first Limerick men to win five Munster Medals, since that all conquering team of '33 to '40. Those men of the Halcion days of long ago, in their beds in Heaven, must be full of admiration for those gallant young men who are so magnificently blazing a similar trail."
Would Ring not have captained Cork to four-n-a-row? He surely captained Cork to four Munster titles, whether in a row or not?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 16/05/2022 10:15:54    2417537

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Sorry for fingering the wrong man. David Fitzgerald did have a fine game. Yes indeed a tremendous atmosphere in Ennis yesterday and the Clare followers, as always, were brilliant to interact with, both before, during and after the game. Maybe, you are right, we are focusing too much on the negatives. We certainly have too fine teams now. May the best team win in Thurles."
Yes Sir, I agree with you....May the best team win..Clare.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 16/05/2022 10:23:53    2417543

Replying To daveboy:  "What will Lohan say to the clare lad at training on Tuesday? Would he be proud of what he did? I'd like someone to ask lohan what he felt of the blatant simulation/cheating that occurred yesterday? I think it's too easy to deflect this onto hegarty. If people really care about this game this sort of stuff should be really called out for what it is. It's bringing the game into disrepute. It's cowardly and has no place on the field of play. Thats the bottom line.

I've said it before and I'll day it again any team that resorts to this is beaten before they leave the dressing room."
daveboy sure havent Limerick priors with this sort of antics too? Lets not kid ourselves here, simulation as wrong as it is, is becoming more and more widespread.

I know you are going to defend Hegarty but he needs to relax and stop swiping at players. Forget about the simulation, we can all agree that Aaron was out of line, but for intent, Hegarty deserved a yellow card. He has no hope of the red being overturned (not sure why they would bother anyway as he wont miss and match).

The spotlight is on Limerick. Ye are All Ireland champions and the best team in Ireland by a distance (and I think ye will beat us in the Munster final by 5 or more points) but after every game now there are disciplinary issues ye need to stamp out. For every Hegarty that you can feel maybe aggrieved at there is a Gillane incident that ye get away with too. Im not even talking about last week which was 50/50 a red but he also got away with one in the Munster final last year.

Its easy to talk about Aaron and I fully admit he was embarrassing, but lets also not deflect from what appears to be Limericks either little swipes or bad pulls that we are talking about after every match?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 16/05/2022 10:39:36    2417553

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "daveboy sure havent Limerick priors with this sort of antics too? Lets not kid ourselves here, simulation as wrong as it is, is becoming more and more widespread.

I know you are going to defend Hegarty but he needs to relax and stop swiping at players. Forget about the simulation, we can all agree that Aaron was out of line, but for intent, Hegarty deserved a yellow card. He has no hope of the red being overturned (not sure why they would bother anyway as he wont miss and match).

The spotlight is on Limerick. Ye are All Ireland champions and the best team in Ireland by a distance (and I think ye will beat us in the Munster final by 5 or more points) but after every game now there are disciplinary issues ye need to stamp out. For every Hegarty that you can feel maybe aggrieved at there is a Gillane incident that ye get away with too. Im not even talking about last week which was 50/50 a red but he also got away with one in the Munster final last year.

Its easy to talk about Aaron and I fully admit he was embarrassing, but lets also not deflect from what appears to be Limericks either little swipes or bad pulls that we are talking about after every match?"
The red will 100% be rescinded. There are consequences for all reds and that needs to be sorted quickly which it will be.The focus is on limerick you are right and we welcome it and long may it last. Gearoid is a fabulous hurler. We are lucky to be watching him in the flesh. The same as Tony Kelly. Let these lads hurl.

Great atmosphere yesterday. Very enjoyable afternoon. Roll on thurles.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 16/05/2022 10:48:21    2417560

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "daveboy sure havent Limerick priors with this sort of antics too? Lets not kid ourselves here, simulation as wrong as it is, is becoming more and more widespread.

Its easy to talk about Aaron and I fully admit he was embarrassing, but lets also not deflect from what appears to be Limericks either little swipes or bad pulls that we are talking about after every match?"
I wonder is some of this thing with Limerick grossly exaggerated. In almost five years name me one bony injury that has been inflicted on any opposing player by a Limerick man. A Corkman concussed Sean Finn, clearly with intent, and two of them were sent off against Clare both this year and last and there was not a single case of their coming under scrutiny. When KK flaked the nine kinds of it out of Limerick players back in 2007 there was not a word about it in the Media and if onyone did bring it up, one was told to man up and face down KK or else shut up and 'take our beating'. None of that of course applies when a team outside of the 'BIG Three' has the temerity to break the monopoly. Your own county were scandalised in the late nineties as Galway were decade, for a lot less that KK did in '07.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 16/05/2022 11:01:13    2417574

Replying To daveboy:  "The red will 100% be rescinded. There are consequences for all reds and that needs to be sorted quickly which it will be.The focus is on limerick you are right and we welcome it and long may it last. Gearoid is a fabulous hurler. We are lucky to be watching him in the flesh. The same as Tony Kelly. Let these lads hurl.

Great atmosphere yesterday. Very enjoyable afternoon. Roll on thurles."
I dont think it will be rescinded because if you look at it objectively his swipe came down on hurley with force and intent 3 inches higher broken fingers no need for it, he was on a yellow what about thinking of Limerick hurling instead, of sating his own wildness there is too much of this out of him.

No denying the simulation or how good Hegarthy is but I wonder how well it serves him having everyone jump to his defence all the time.

Thanks god to be back at games the atmosphere yesterday was great

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 878 - 16/05/2022 11:01:34    2417575

Replying To dingo:  "You can say what you want about the Limerick boys but they don't fall around looking for frees and lads to get cards. Really sad to see it creep into hurling"
Come on Dingo. The most blatant dive I ever saw in hurling was perpetuated by a player who was Limericks MOTM yesterday.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 16/05/2022 11:07:42    2417580

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Come on Dingo. The most blatant dive I ever saw in hurling was perpetuated by a player who was Limericks MOTM yesterday."
What about John conlon a couple of weeks ago? The byrnes one was v poor and it was 4 years ago. Limerick have never done it since. It was stamped out immediately and was not acceptable under kiely. Kiely said it at the time. Did lohan say the same to his players after conlons simulation? Clearly he didn't. Did he even encourage more of it? Possibly.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1123 - 16/05/2022 11:16:57    2417587

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I wonder is some of this thing with Limerick grossly exaggerated. In almost five years name me one bony injury that has been inflicted on any opposing player by a Limerick man. A Corkman concussed Sean Finn, clearly with intent, and two of them were sent off against Clare both this year and last and there was not a single case of their coming under scrutiny. When KK flaked the nine kinds of it out of Limerick players back in 2007 there was not a word about it in the Media and if onyone did bring it up, one was told to man up and face down KK or else shut up and 'take our beating'. None of that of course applies when a team outside of the 'BIG Three' has the temerity to break the monopoly. Your own county were scandalised in the late nineties as Galway were decade, for a lot less that KK did in '07."
Thats a very good post some home truths there for sure
We have all been there from time to time
Fair play to Limerick there a great team
Let ye make hay while the sun shines on Limerick
Because the Trad Big 3 will allways be around for more
Imagine another Limerick/ Galway final or Limerick /Clare final that would be something

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 16/05/2022 11:20:52    2417593

Replying To daveboy:  "The red will 100% be rescinded. There are consequences for all reds and that needs to be sorted quickly which it will be.The focus is on limerick you are right and we welcome it and long may it last. Gearoid is a fabulous hurler. We are lucky to be watching him in the flesh. The same as Tony Kelly. Let these lads hurl.

Great atmosphere yesterday. Very enjoyable afternoon. Roll on thurles."
Id be shocked if it was rescinded as the rules with regards striking are clear. It is a red card if a player:

To strike or to attempt to strike an opponent with a hurley, with minimal force.

So you dont even need to strike you need to attempt to strike and whether ye like it or not, Hegarty tried to clip Fitzgerald yesterday and only Fitzgeralds hurley prevented him from being hit so he and was possibly lucky under the rules of the game not to get a straight red. This is not condoning Aaron's actions but its a red card offence.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 16/05/2022 11:21:35    2417594

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Come on Dingo. The most blatant dive I ever saw in hurling was perpetuated by a player who was Limericks MOTM yesterday."
Assume that's the incident from Cusack Park 5 yrs ago that gets dragged up any time anyone tries to claim Limerick dive.
Anything a bit more recent to work with?
Say in the last 2 yrs??

.Say what you like about our team and their ability to dish it out, they take it in spades without resorting to sort of simulation Clare indulged in yesterday.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 16/05/2022 11:29:13    2417599