I see your love affair with Limerick continues Kats! lol There could be a draw or two there. How good are Clare? Tipp are building nicely. Wexford v Dublin will be tight I imagine. baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 20/04/2022 11:39:36 2411749 Link 1 |
Are you Derek Mcgrath in disguise by any chance? He consistently tips teams playing limerick in championship and ends up a bit of a laughing stock. I do appreciate your consistency though.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/04/2022 11:55:05 2411756 Link 2 |
I sometimes listen to Daly, TJ and Landers and find it to be a great listen. The strength of it, I think, is that they don't just focus on current hurling, but comment on things from years ago, too. It's also sort of a social podcast in that they all seem to know the lie of the land in the other counties and local characters; TJ having been involved with Kilworth in Cork a few years back, Daly knowing many of the Limk lads from the academy, etc. That they keep it quite local and parochial is the podcast's strength. I don't know for the life of me why anyone from Wexford, Galway or Kilkenny would even listen to it. It's tailor-made for a very different audience. Why do they need to have any knowledge of Wexford hurling? I don't, and it's no hinderance at all. So, instead of saying you can't stand Dalo's podcast, why not start up a similar one in the south-east? I'm sure that the likes of Martin Storey or Liam Dunne for example, would have great yarns to tell, while still offering opinions on current hurling affairs, as well as promoting local events. It can't be that difficult to bring 3-4 informed (of local stuff) and entertaining guys together; even Orla Jacob! foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2092 - 20/04/2022 11:59:18 2411757 Link 1 |
Tipp and Clare isn't on in Ennis K
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 20/04/2022 12:07:24 2411765 Link 0 |
Insightful comments, but as half a Corkman, I would fear for them. For the third game in a row plus last years AIF they have been savagely exposed at the back and there seems to be very little movement up front. Too many of this team have failed on the big day before. I am not convinced yet about my own county, as last Sunday was just too easy. I too am looking forward eagerly to Saturday evening and Waterford.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4465 - 20/04/2022 12:29:02 2411772 Link 0 |
Its actually an Irish Examiner podcast.. and they get Dalo to lead it. Hence the focus on Munster as this is their main customer base.
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1464 - 20/04/2022 12:42:27 2411781 Link 0 |
Not sure about Wexford v Dublin deciding 3rd and 4th. Can't see why you have that opinion being as ye haven't beaten the Dubs in a championship game in years. And since they beat you last year you have possibly lost your 2 best forwards in Canning and now likely Whelan. And we have split our championship games exactly down the middle with the Cats the last 6 years. If we beat Dublin then yes we will definitely finish 3rd or higher IF we also beat Westmeath and Laois. I believe its a mathematical certainty. But after that I'd still not be certain who will finish where. Before a ball was thrown in I honestly couldn't predict who will finish where in Leinster and after the 1st round of games I still can't. On your other predictions I hope Clare win. And I've a feeling that the outcome of this instalment of Limerick against Waterford is going to be irrelevant to both the MSHC and the AISHC so I'm not sure how it will play out. If it was the AIF I think Limerick would shade it but it isn't. So I'll go for, without any certainty except for Kilkenny and Galway- Wexford Kilkenny Galway Clare Limerick. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13702 - 20/04/2022 12:55:03 2411788 Link 0 |
I didn't say I can't stand it at all. I listen to it because it's great craic! The lads are people you'd pass an evening with a few pints with very quickly. It is the podcast of a now national newspaper though and they do cover the Leinster championship. So they ought to know a little more about it. Daly has managed intercounty and club in Leinster with a good deal of success.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13702 - 20/04/2022 12:59:54 2411792 Link 0 |
Galway v Westmeath.........Galway Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2652 - 20/04/2022 13:01:56 2411794 Link 0 |
https://open.spotify.com/show/6OryjCBqFKW5j7I2yiQcBi?si=09a96f55b2f04e26
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1783 - 20/04/2022 13:04:45 2411799 Link 0 |
Yes this is true...there could be a draw or two! I find it difficult to separate Wex v Dub (both of a similar level) but tradition and a home venue that Wex players are familiar with should get them over the line! Really looking forward to watching Clare on Sunday....plenty of good hurlers with lots of potential. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2471 - 20/04/2022 13:19:03 2411804 Link 0 |
"Down south the Cork examiner is the one they call the paper", a favorite saying of me ol' fella.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2092 - 20/04/2022 13:24:25 2411805 Link 1 |
Not so sure about that... I would be hopeful of having 1 foot in the leinster final Saturday night. Based on recent history we are just as likely to be kilkenny as you, and slightly less likely to lose to Dublin. I may well have to eat those words but I'll take the risk You must be still sore over the weekend. There's no real reason for you to have a vendetta against us Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3116 - 20/04/2022 13:28:05 2411807 Link 0 |
Park the hurling teams for a second. There seems to be far more interest in going to matches in Munster imo. Look at the crowds going to the Munster matches compared with Leinster matches and the atmosphere and buzz. I am completely open to correction on this as i am only judging Leinster Championship from TV but it looks like the crowds just don't turn up anything close to what they do in Munster in the Round Robin. Even when Limerick were in the doldrums and had nothing won there were still massive numbers turning up to support them. Galway is a massive county similar to Limerick in population but never bring big numbers throughout the early stages, the same can be said for Kilkenny. Do Wexford travel in their numbers for early round matches? The point being people are saying that the Munster championship is always being lauded but is the proof in the pudding that there always seems to have been far bigger interest from the genuine core supporter to actually go to games in Munster than Leinster? Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 409 - 20/04/2022 13:38:32 2411813 Link 3 |
Sound enough! I didn't know that it was a National podcast. While Daly did indeed have success in Leinster, he'd have to be surrounded/backed up by Wexford/Offaly/ Kilkenny/Dublin/Laois (not Parkinson, and not all at the same time), fellas who'd be good to tell a story (Daithi Reagan? for example), to bring an extra insight/entertainment to it. And to Storey's Tash, I don't have Spotify (and usually don't hit unknown links), but thanks for the link! foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2092 - 20/04/2022 13:38:54 2411814 Link 0 |
I found it strange the last day v Wexford when Galway were playing well and winning the game +6pts, Henry took lads off and when the subs came on Galway started playing bad!!!! My motto is...when your playing well don't take lads off, bring subs on when your playing bad! This is my predictions for the group finish..... 1. Galway 9pts 2. Kilkenny 8pts 3. Wexford 7pts 4. Dublin 4pts katser (Galway) - Posts: 2471 - 20/04/2022 13:43:04 2411822 Link 1 |
i am told we will be without peter casey, seamus flanagan and kyle hayes on sat night so this will be very close.
munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1130 - 20/04/2022 13:54:20 2411825 Link 0 |
Not sore or have a vendetta....Wexford is a lovely place. Just disappointed Galway didn't win as I expected them too. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2471 - 20/04/2022 13:57:12 2411826 Link 1 |
I've heard from a fairly reliable source that Flanagan will be available.. I suppose we'll know more Saturday night.
skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1103 - 20/04/2022 14:09:56 2411829 Link 1 |
There are so many reasons why that might be the case. Lets be real here, 4.30 on a Saturday evening for Wexford and Galway (150 miles apart) is never going to generate a big crowd. That said, both stand and open side of Wexford Park were almost packed at the weekend and crowd was probably as big as Waterford Tipp which was on prime time. Cork v Limerick was always going to bring out a big crowd. Cork is a huge county and knew it was the only game in PUC this year, Limerick are AI champions so tack on the 50% bandwagon since 2018 then why wouldn't it bring a huge crowd? Not saying that bandwagon is unique to Limerick btw before I get attacked - every single county (including my own) has the ones who turn up for the big games and success breeds more of these. There were people slapping backs in 2019 after we beat Kilkenny who I swear I never saw before at a match. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1783 - 20/04/2022 14:36:48 2411844 Link 0 |