2022 All-Ireland Hurling Championship thread

Replying To ahsure.:  "Well done to Liam Sheedy for calling out the madness of penalising Cooney for that free in injury time on Saturday. When Lee Chin spent even longer lining up!!

Double standards, bowing to crowd pressure."
I was equally annoyed to be honest. They chose the time of the graphics rather conveniently. Chin was addressing the ball after 11 seconds. Cooney hadn't stood over it yet.

Regardless, should probably drop it and move on.

We could meet again in the leinster final yet.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3048 - 19/04/2022 08:24:10    2411470

Replying To tiobraid:  "Fairly predictable results today and sets both teams up well for remaining games in Munster championship.
I'm afraid Kingston has to get the boot from Cork. His tactics are mind boggling at best. Limerick getting all the credit for the turns overs and granted they do work like dogs but Cork could not make it any easier for them - first option is always to turn around and look for a mna behind rather than in front of them. They're going no where fast.
From a Tipp perspective there were definite encouraging signs. I've no idea why Bowe was taken off. Unfortunately Bonner offered us nothing when he came on. Outside of Noel our four best players were players who Sheedy didn't rate which is probably not too surprising. It's a shame that Bryan O'Mara took a year out this year.
Tipp are really up against it now but a win the next day gives us a fighting chance of getting out of Munster. Tipp will hope to have bigger performances from our two leaders in Maher and Forde the next day too.
There's no question that introducing Gleason turned the game for Waterford. He's different class when he cuts out the silly stuff. Deeply frustrating line ball he scored when he clearly carried it out over the line himself. I'm not for a second saying the ref cost us but I can't for the life of me understand how we keep getting that ref. He was horrendous from start to finish today. Tipp however missed 3 easy goal chances which could have given us an unlikely win."
..and one of the goals Waterford scored was clearly thrown for the final pass across the goals. How D McGrath on the Sunday Game claimed otherwise makes the mind boggle. Way too biased to be a credible analyst

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 19/04/2022 10:55:07    2411499

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I was equally annoyed to be honest. They chose the time of the graphics rather conveniently. Chin was addressing the ball after 11 seconds. Cooney hadn't stood over it yet.

Regardless, should probably drop it and move on.

We could meet again in the leinster final yet."
Cooney took an age to come back and stand over the ball for the free.

Thought the referee made some dodgy calls on both sides on Saturday however

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 19/04/2022 11:04:55    2411504

Replying To ahsure.:  "Well done to Liam Sheedy for calling out the madness of penalising Cooney for that free in injury time on Saturday. When Lee Chin spent even longer lining up!!

Double standards, bowing to crowd pressure."
Very poor by Sheedy, maybe he has an eye on the Galway job down the road!

I heard Jamsie O Connor say that it was the right position, and he was working at the match for SKY.

I wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy or the other RTE pundits only watched the highlights, they struggle to get the Wexford players names right most of the time.

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 403 - 19/04/2022 11:13:41    2411509

I thought Cork had not progressed from the 2021 All Ireland. Their plan to move the ball from defence didn't work, Limerick turned over one attempt for a goal. Limerick will take stopping this year, their match with Waterford is one I'm looking forward to.
What do Cork need to be contenders.? Tipperary looked good v Waterford, if they beat Clare they will be contenders to emerge from Munster.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 19/04/2022 11:19:43    2411514

Replying To WEX98:  "Very poor by Sheedy, maybe he has an eye on the Galway job down the road!

I heard Jamsie O Connor say that it was the right position, and he was working at the match for SKY.

I wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy or the other RTE pundits only watched the highlights, they struggle to get the Wexford players names right most of the time."
Same as Dalo and his men on his podcast. Haven't any knowledge of current Wexford hurling at all. At least the Kilkenny lads doing Punditry and obviously Davy Fitz have some idea about the counties and players in the Leinster championship.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13347 - 19/04/2022 11:28:13    2411518

Replying To Bon:  "And there's cadogan on the bench twiddling his thumbs. Makes you wonder."
Never mind Cadogan on the bench Cork need a few backs. Ironic Bon that the best potential center back they could have is plying his trade in Kildare with Clane. Cork are a team lacking a foundation and if they could get that right their fortunes could swing quickly. Not saying one player could change a system that is fundamentally flawed but unless Cork bring in players with controlled agression they are destined to have many similar days.

churchill (Cork) - Posts: 6 - 19/04/2022 11:30:34    2411519

Replying To Viking66:  "Sheedy missed the point. Cooney didnt get the free overturned for how many exact seconds he took. It was overturned for time wasting when in front. Unsportsmanlike conduct more specifically. Which couldn't apply to Chins free however long he took as Wexford were behind and everyone knew it was the last meaningful puck of the game."
100% Viking - Sheedy totally missing the point "AGAIN". I haven't had a chance to look back at it yet but if someone goes back and times from when the whistle was blown for the free on Mannion to when Cooney was pulled for not hitting it I'd imagine it's a lot lot longer than the time the the whistle was blown for free on Reck to when Chin hit it. What's surprising is that no-one seems to be questioning where Chin hit that last free from as it looked like the linesman was trying to tell the ref that he was hitting it from the wrong place?

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 172 - 19/04/2022 11:46:35    2411527

Replying To WEX98:  "Very poor by Sheedy, maybe he has an eye on the Galway job down the road!

I wouldn't be surprised if Sheedy or the other RTE pundits only watched the highlights, they struggle to get the Wexford players names right most of the time."
The pundits should know the players' names. It's their job. However, outside of Wexford, who else would be expected to know bar a handful of Wexford hurlers (Chin, Fanning, Ryan, MacDonald)? It's like being asked to name four of the Cork footballers. When teams are out of the limelight and not in the public eye, how do you expect anyone to know who they are?

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2070 - 19/04/2022 12:45:25    2411544

Replying To Viking66:  "Same as Dalo and his men on his podcast. Haven't any knowledge of current Wexford hurling at all. At least the Kilkenny lads doing Punditry and obviously Davy Fitz have some idea about the counties and players in the Leinster championship."
Dalo and his men have no knowledge of Leinster hurling whatsoever. For a man who managed in the county not so long ago, his knowledge is absolutely brutal.
I don't listen to his show but I bet it was 2 hours of a show with 1hr 50 about the 2 matches in Munster.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1777 - 19/04/2022 13:35:57    2411565

Replying To churchill:  "Never mind Cadogan on the bench Cork need a few backs. Ironic Bon that the best potential center back they could have is plying his trade in Kildare with Clane. Cork are a team lacking a foundation and if they could get that right their fortunes could swing quickly. Not saying one player could change a system that is fundamentally flawed but unless Cork bring in players with controlled agression they are destined to have many similar days."
Who is the potential center back if you don't mind me asking? Mark Ellis starred for New York in their football loss to Sligo at the weekend

TheDigger (USA) - Posts: 84 - 19/04/2022 13:54:24    2411568

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Dalo and his men have no knowledge of Leinster hurling whatsoever. For a man who managed in the county not so long ago, his knowledge is absolutely brutal.
I don't listen to his show but I bet it was 2 hours of a show with 1hr 50 about the 2 matches in Munster."
Ah not even that. Was a bit of banter like you'd get in a bar out West, a small bit on the Munster Championship, a smaller bit on the Leinster Championship, a bit of horseracing, and some fantasy hurling. It is entertaining if not very informative!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13347 - 19/04/2022 14:02:51    2411575

Replying To foreveryoung:  "The pundits should know the players' names. It's their job. However, outside of Wexford, who else would be expected to know bar a handful of Wexford hurlers (Chin, Fanning, Ryan, MacDonald)? It's like being asked to name four of the Cork footballers. When teams are out of the limelight and not in the public eye, how do you expect anyone to know who they are?"
You missed a Wexford lad off that list who got an All Star only 2 and a half years ago. But I get what you mean. Pundits certainly should know. Outside of the big 9, who's squads I could name most of, I could name most of Laois, Antrim and Offalys teams, and a good few of Carlows and a few of Kerrys also and I'm only a supporter.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13347 - 19/04/2022 14:12:55    2411578

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Dalo and his men have no knowledge of Leinster hurling whatsoever. For a man who managed in the county not so long ago, his knowledge is absolutely brutal.
I don't listen to his show but I bet it was 2 hours of a show with 1hr 50 about the 2 matches in Munster."
I'm actually a big fan of his podcast, of all the numerous GAA podcasts out there now theirs' is the best craic. Some of the stories and banter is gold.

However, they do wear their Munster bias on their sleeves big time. I was very frustrated they only chose to do live shows in Limerick and Cork last week. Would love to have seen a live show but they never even bothered to try somewhere in Leinster.

Regarding Sheedy, I couldn't believe they chose to start their clock when the ball was placed for the free. You can hear the ref blow the whistle a few seconds before Cooney picks the ball up and places it again. He then proceeds to throw up some grass and twirl the hurl in his hand a few times. Whereas Chin is set to take the free before the ref even blows the whistle to take it. The analysis was honestly so bad you'd think they'd been given an agenda to stoke controversy about the ref.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 19/04/2022 14:12:58    2411579

The Sunday game analysis is so bad it actually cringy, however Derek mcgrath is at another level with everything waterford, he so biased it's unbelievable, unbelievable:)

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1017 - 19/04/2022 14:33:36    2411591

I think the Podcast is backed by the Irish Examiner paper, hence the focus on Munster

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1462 - 19/04/2022 14:51:34    2411598

Replying To grassroots01:  "100% Viking - Sheedy totally missing the point "AGAIN". I haven't had a chance to look back at it yet but if someone goes back and times from when the whistle was blown for the free on Mannion to when Cooney was pulled for not hitting it I'd imagine it's a lot lot longer than the time the the whistle was blown for free on Reck to when Chin hit it. What's surprising is that no-one seems to be questioning where Chin hit that last free from as it looked like the linesman was trying to tell the ref that he was hitting it from the wrong place?"
Don't be ridiculous. The ref caved under pressure. How long did it take ye to take the penalty?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/04/2022 14:53:37    2411599

Replying To Shocs07:  "..and one of the goals Waterford scored was clearly thrown for the final pass across the goals. How D McGrath on the Sunday Game claimed otherwise makes the mind boggle. Way too biased to be a credible analyst"
There was something doubtful about the second goal too. Kiely seemed to barge into two Tipp defenders and took a lot of steps before passing to Hutchinson for the goal. Having said that, the two goals were very well finished. It was strange to see Brian Gavin in The Examiner praising Johnny Murphy for his handling of the game. I thought he made some very strange calls, and he was inconsistent in dishing out yellow cards (on both sides).

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 580 - 19/04/2022 15:21:13    2411609

derek mcgrath is getting a small bit carried away with waterford.......he said after the league final that waterford were the team everyone had to beat........john mullane is the same i know waterford havnt won an allireland in over 60 years but they would want to put a lid on it......mcgrath said yesterday on dalos hurling show that waterford will meet limerick 3 times this year......

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1130 - 19/04/2022 15:31:49    2411613

Replying To baire:  "Don't be ridiculous. The ref caved under pressure. How long did it take ye to take the penalty?"
Would be interesting to time both frees all the same.? Not very long for the penalty I'd imagine?? Mannion sledging Fanning delayed it a small bit too as penalty couldn't be taken until Mannion went outside the D.

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 172 - 19/04/2022 16:45:54    2411632