National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Bon:  "Nice one to use club hurling to deflect from Galway underachieving at county level. All the talent that has come out of Galway and 1 senior all Ireland in nearly 30 years to show for it.
Now that's how counties are judged :)"
If you have read the history of hurling in the 19th century I'm sure you'll be aware that hurling was stronger in Kildare than in most other Leinster counties, KK included, what happened to ye? Did ye start horsing about or what?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/02/2022 17:24:26    2401113

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Don't be codding yourself. The Ahane team won 11 Senior All Ireland Hurling medals in one day. How many of your great Galway clubs ever did that. The fact is Limerick has two to one with ye in All Irelands at Senior level and that is all that really matters. We have over 50 per cent of all the finals our boys contested and ye won ,20. BTW most of our All Irelands were won long before sponsorship was even thought of."
Address the issues I have raised, ie Kiely's tactical smearing of the Galway hurlers in Pearse Stadium, some posters' smearing of C Mannion here - are you saying that this type of bad mouthing of our hurlers is acceptable?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/02/2022 17:35:45    2401115

Replying To Bon:  "Nice one to use club hurling to deflect from Galway underachieving at county level. All the talent that has come out of Galway and 1 senior all Ireland in nearly 30 years to show for it.
Now that's how counties are judged :)"
Nice bit of deflection there youself regarding the point he made in relation to Cathal Mannion...

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 19/02/2022 17:37:42    2401117

Replying To updwell:  "Just seen Cian sent off in Fitzgibbon final for a joke of a decision- it looks like Colin Lynch in '98 and Keady in '89 we are going to be put back in our place by the GAA old guard."
Cian Lynch's red card was unbelievably harsh, Hegarty's was deserved and overdue, there not in anyway alike.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 19/02/2022 18:01:50    2401121

Replying To baire:  "Address the issues I have raised, ie Kiely's tactical smearing of the Galway hurlers in Pearse Stadium, some posters' smearing of C Mannion here - are you saying that this type of bad mouthing of our hurlers is acceptable?"
Yerra go away with you.A band of ye lads have been bad mouthing Limerick since ye lost the 18 AIF.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 19/02/2022 18:21:09    2401123

Replying To wexico15:  "Cian Lynch's red card was unbelievably harsh, Hegarty's was deserved and overdue, there not in anyway alike."
Refs are getting influenced by a media driven narrative that limerick are overly physical. It's been a concerted effort going on 2 years now. There might be a reaction now seeing as though this has cost a university from another county a well deserved first fitzgibbon cup. Cian won't be upset for himself but gutted for his team mates and management. He has 2 already. It's sad that it has come to this. As a limerick man and a former UL student I felt so sorry for NUIG after this was stolen from them.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/02/2022 18:31:25    2401126

Replying To baire:  "If you have read the history of hurling in the 19th century I'm sure you'll be aware that hurling was stronger in Kildare than in most other Leinster counties, KK included, what happened to ye? Did ye start horsing about or what?"
Fast women and slow horses my friend .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2322 - 19/02/2022 18:45:45    2401129

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Yerra go away with you.A band of ye lads have been bad mouthing Limerick since ye lost the 18 AIF."
Well said Oldtourman I always had time for Galway and was happy to see Canning win in 17 but the begrudging from their fans is hard to understand. We never had any rivalery with them and their fans seemed to be happy that we won in 18 because they knew how it was to end a famine but they have changed. Maybe their more comfortable with the big 3 adding to their 100 plus AI and have the rest of us scrapping for the crumbs.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 19/02/2022 18:46:46    2401130

Replying To Ailteoir:  "Nice bit of deflection there youself regarding the point he made in relation to Cathal Mannion..."
Mansion is a fabulous hurler, but he's no angel either, don't cod yourself.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2322 - 19/02/2022 18:47:17    2401131

Replying To Bon:  "Fast women and slow horses my friend ."
The cats even have the faster horses now :-) The jumping ones anyway.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3528 - 19/02/2022 18:52:13    2401134

Replying To Bon:  "Mansion is a fabulous hurler, but he's no angel either, don't cod yourself."
His name is Mannion. As for being an angel, maybe not. Then again, I can't recall him being as dirty as Hegarty either.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 19/02/2022 18:57:28    2401135

Replying To wexico15:  "Cian Lynch's red card was unbelievably harsh, Hegarty's was deserved and overdue, there not in anyway alike."
Harsh? There was absolutely no reason for it. The narrative out there is we are dirty and our players are now going to be punished at every opportunity. At least this incident which decided the game should be discussed and Donal Og and his ilk should be just as strong in his criticism of the officials on this occasion as he was in his attack on Hegarty last weekend.How many posters here who put the boot in on Hegarty will now call out today's officials? Very few I imagine.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 19/02/2022 19:00:09    2401136

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "The cats even have the faster horses now :-) The jumping ones anyway."
Waterford flying altogether Bon!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15783 - 19/02/2022 19:02:54    2401137

Replying To baire:  "Address the issues I have raised, ie Kiely's tactical smearing of the Galway hurlers in Pearse Stadium, some posters' smearing of C Mannion here - are you saying that this type of bad mouthing of our hurlers is acceptable?"
Well you have problem bad mouthing other teams, especially Limerick yourself

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 19/02/2022 19:09:26    2401141

Replying To updwell:  "Harsh? There was absolutely no reason for it. The narrative out there is we are dirty and our players are now going to be punished at every opportunity. At least this incident which decided the game should be discussed and Donal Og and his ilk should be just as strong in his criticism of the officials on this occasion as he was in his attack on Hegarty last weekend.How many posters here who put the boot in on Hegarty will now call out today's officials? Very few I imagine."
That's the worst red card decision I've seen in a while. The whole UL management team were in the linesmans ear.
Enough is enough, surely its time for the GPA to call out a complete overhaul of officiating of gaelic games. Players deserve so much better.
There's too many mickey mouse decisions being made that have big consequences to games.
Bring in whatever technology made be needed to help match officials.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2322 - 19/02/2022 19:45:54    2401148

Replying To updwell:  "Harsh? There was absolutely no reason for it. The narrative out there is we are dirty and our players are now going to be punished at every opportunity. At least this incident which decided the game should be discussed and Donal Og and his ilk should be just as strong in his criticism of the officials on this occasion as he was in his attack on Hegarty last weekend.How many posters here who put the boot in on Hegarty will now call out today's officials? Very few I imagine."
I've seen worse challenges at an u12 match not a sending off,but most of the players out there today have inter county experience and should have known better especially after the way the matches have ended in the last few weeks.NUIG should have been instructed from the line to protect the lead.There is one that though,I have never seen such bitterness over a poxy league match that will have no bearing on where the McCarthy cup goes,dragging up nonsense about how many finals this and that one has won and lost.Teams come in cycles if you are lucky and we should concentrate on the now not 100 years ago,every player knows how to fall, foul and work a free that's part of the game, wouldn't it be worse if they were rolling around the place like Renaldo.We're losing sight of the discussion in my opinion.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 19/02/2022 19:46:33    2401149

Replying To Ailteoir:  "His name is Mannion. As for being an angel, maybe not. Then again, I can't recall him being as dirty as Hegarty either."
Autofill, you know who I meant.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2322 - 19/02/2022 19:47:21    2401150

Replying To Waveitwide:  "I've seen worse challenges at an u12 match not a sending off,but most of the players out there today have inter county experience and should have known better especially after the way the matches have ended in the last few weeks.NUIG should have been instructed from the line to protect the lead.There is one that though,I have never seen such bitterness over a poxy league match that will have no bearing on where the McCarthy cup goes,dragging up nonsense about how many finals this and that one has won and lost.Teams come in cycles if you are lucky and we should concentrate on the now not 100 years ago,every player knows how to fall, foul and work a free that's part of the game, wouldn't it be worse if they were rolling around the place like Renaldo.We're losing sight of the discussion in my opinion."
Excellent point

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/02/2022 19:51:49    2401151

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well you have problem bad mouthing other teams, especially Limerick yourself"
You don't know me nor I you. This is a forum where some ppl engage in debate in a civilised manner while others hide behind their pseudo names and faceless personas to gang up on other posters and abuse them and their county. I was in Croke Park when Limerick beat us in 2017, amongst Limerick people and I congratulated them wholeheartedly, they were the better team on the day and I knew no more than my own county what they had suffered down through the years.
The bile that some of the ghosts on this forum write doesn't bother me but it bothers me when a very successful manager comes on tv to smear the character of the hurlers of my native county. He knew what he had said was untrue and apologised later but he put the smear out there in the hope that it would stick. I don't recall any other manager using such an underhand tactic to gain influence with GAA officials through the media.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/02/2022 20:05:10    2401154

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well you have problem bad mouthing other teams, especially Limerick yourself"
You don't know me nor I you. This is a forum where some ppl engage in debate in a civilised manner while others hide behind their pseudo names and faceless personas to gang up on other posters and abuse them and their county. I was in Croke Park when Limerick beat us in 2017, amongst Limerick people and I congratulated them wholeheartedly, they were the better team on the day and I knew no more than my own county what they had suffered down through the years.
The bile that some of the ghosts on this forum write doesn't bother me but it bothers me when a very successful manager comes on tv to smear the character of the hurlers of my native county. He knew what he had said was untrue and apologised later but he put the smear out there in the hope that it would stick. I don't recall any other manager using such an underhand tactic to gain influence with GAA officials through the media.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/02/2022 20:07:30    2401156