National Hurling League 2022

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well you have problem bad mouthing other teams, especially Limerick yourself"
I was in Croke Park when Limerick beat us in 2018 rather!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 19/02/2022 20:08:24    2401157

Replying To baire:  "Galway men are sensitive and go down easily. Funny how your overly sensitive manager was the first to start spouting that malicious rubbish on tv after his team's defeat in Pearse Stadium, retracted it later and denied that it was true.
I take it you're referring to the Cathal Mannion incident in the Gaelic Grounds. I have a recording of that game and I have looked at it a couple of times. A lot of people wouldn't have seen the hit, it was so quick. Michael Duignan's initial reaction to the melee on the sideline was that no one got hit. It took a few replays for him to see G Hegarty hit J Cooney twice in the face. A few replays of C Mannion and I guarantee you would see him getting hit if you took your green blinkers off. C Mannion is a fine, honest, fair and skilful hurler.
How many club All Irelands have the non-sensitive, macho Limerick hurlers won? Club hurling is the authentic gaelic championship, where it all starts and finishes, no billionaire backing, no psychologists, nutritionists, statisticians etc. The hardy men of Galway are up there with the hardy men of KK and Cork when it comes to winning club All Irelands."
Yes I was correct. You are way over sensitive!! You are getting a lot off your chest in that post. Excuse the pun but your level of Green envy is at the top of the scale. But I love it.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 19/02/2022 20:09:12    2401158

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Yes I was correct. You are way over sensitive!! You are getting a lot off your chest in that post. Excuse the pun but your level of Green envy is at the top of the scale. But I love it."
Typical, you avoid the issues and repeat your silly 'sensitive' comment. I never saw a more sensitive lot in my life! You can't take any form of criticism especially objective criticism. I admit to being sensitive i.e. very sensitive to cliches, bs, utter nonsense and repetition! What amuses me is how 'supporters' whose county has won so much in the last four years could be so miserable and sanctimonious - you should be happy and enjoy your success instead of 'boasting' about massacres, it's unseemly. It used to be 'Limerick you're a Lady' now it's Limerick you're a Laddie!
PS
I'm not referring here to the Limerick supporters that I have met in real life obviously nor the ones I know personally, just the few buinneacháns on this silly forum, the ones who wouldn't know the difference between the bas of a hurl and a keyboard. Don't be too sensitive now with your replies! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 20/02/2022 10:05:47    2401197

Replying To Bon:  "Fast women and slow horses my friend ."
That explains it! Do ye not have any nifty stallions to put the brakes on your fast women?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 20/02/2022 10:14:36    2401198

Replying To updwell:  "Harsh? There was absolutely no reason for it. The narrative out there is we are dirty and our players are now going to be punished at every opportunity. At least this incident which decided the game should be discussed and Donal Og and his ilk should be just as strong in his criticism of the officials on this occasion as he was in his attack on Hegarty last weekend.How many posters here who put the boot in on Hegarty will now call out today's officials? Very few I imagine."
I understand you and other Limerick posters defending your own even before the Lynch red, we'd all probably do likewise in the situation but think ye are going down the conspiracy theory route thinking Donal Ogs views and Lynch's red were linked, Donal Og made valid points, Limerick have sailed close to the wind the last 2-3 years and by right should have got red cards in 70-80% of their championship games over 2 years, perfect example last year's Munster final when 2 straight reds should have been issued, 1 at a time when Tipp held a 10 point lead, the call yesterday was made and I don't like saying it by a linesman who has a track record of dodgy calls, Anthony Nash didn't have his finest hour either for his part in the incident, I certainly don't think the incident and Donal Ogs views were linked. Looking at social media there has been nothing only criticism over yesterday's decision by pundits,if you think it hasn't got traction its just the fact Fitzgibbon isn't as high profile as national league and the incident occurred on a weekend where there's no hurling league games so as much media coverage of hurling.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 10:26:42    2401203

Replying To wexico15:  "I understand you and other Limerick posters defending your own even before the Lynch red, we'd all probably do likewise in the situation but think ye are going down the conspiracy theory route thinking Donal Ogs views and Lynch's red were linked, Donal Og made valid points, Limerick have sailed close to the wind the last 2-3 years and by right should have got red cards in 70-80% of their championship games over 2 years, perfect example last year's Munster final when 2 straight reds should have been issued, 1 at a time when Tipp held a 10 point lead, the call yesterday was made and I don't like saying it by a linesman who has a track record of dodgy calls, Anthony Nash didn't have his finest hour either for his part in the incident, I certainly don't think the incident and Donal Ogs views were linked. Looking at social media there has been nothing only criticism over yesterday's decision by pundits,if you think it hasn't got traction its just the fact Fitzgibbon isn't as high profile as national league and the incident occurred on a weekend where there's no hurling league games so as much media coverage of hurling."
Let's just hope we can move on and get back to the hurling being the headlines. Limerick will be fine tuning over the next 4 weeks or so and they'll have the motivation they require to throw everything at the 3 in a row. There are a few contenders lurking in the grass and the year ahead looks very promising from a hurling perspective. The media's job is to drive interest in their products/pundits and they like all other outlets do it very well. Kiely and his group will take no notice whatsoever of this and the players won't change one thing from their approach to training/matches.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 11:16:40    2401223

Daveboy I'm hoping everyone will now get back to the subject on the forum..I've thoroughly enjoyed the hurling so far..we have cork next week and I feel limerick will want to avoid defeat big time..I'm expecting close to championship 15 to start this one..any news on o donohue injury??the 4 counties who have caught my eye so far are Galway,Waterford,Dublin and cork..possible great year ahead,it could come down to who avoids injury most..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2512 - 20/02/2022 12:09:11    2401246

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Daveboy I'm hoping everyone will now get back to the subject on the forum..I've thoroughly enjoyed the hurling so far..we have cork next week and I feel limerick will want to avoid defeat big time..I'm expecting close to championship 15 to start this one..any news on o donohue injury??the 4 counties who have caught my eye so far are Galway,Waterford,Dublin and cork..possible great year ahead,it could come down to who avoids injury most.."
Injuries can play a huge part in any AI attempt. I've said here before that Limerick for the most part have been on the better side of it since 17 when this team was put together. That said they've had to re jig players when the dreaded cruciate struck mike casey English and now peter. Up to now the players that have slotted in have done so well they've gotten all stars. This time kiely will need to strike gold again but might be a little trickier for the 15 jersey. From what I'm hearing the squad is in good shape, lot of the physical work is getting done and likes of Mike casey back training etc has been a nice boost. I believe WOD will be fine.

I'm not in any way concerned about results but as kiely said once the performances have a positive trajectory thats the main thing. They are very much in 2nd gear right now slowly getting minutes into the prospective 20 for April. The Galway match was a fantastic work out for the team and will have been well received albeit they don't like to lose any match. I think we'll see 10 or 11 starters from last years AI again and they'll all hurl to try and win the game but once the effort is put in, passages of play are worked on, tackle count is upped and a good sense of execution is there the result is secondary. I do feel that if they hit the targets for the match the result will be there.

To look at the other countys it's impossible to gauge. Galway look to have a lot of work done which can be deceiving for championship but shefflin a bit like Davy fitz was always going to have them primed early to get the county on board. Cork look sharp but haven't had any test yet. Dublin I fancy to come out of leinster definitely. Of all the teams there Waterford are for me Limericks big danger this year. That said even though tipp and kk look to be in some sort of transition they will have a say and if clare get likes of SOD and Aidan Mccarthy back for championship I think they could be a dark horse to get out of munster.

It's great to have the matches back. Brought the young kids to Galway match and they loved it. Looking forward to cork next week and trying to pick a few bits more to take forward.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 12:31:30    2401249

Replying To daveboy:  "Let's just hope we can move on and get back to the hurling being the headlines. Limerick will be fine tuning over the next 4 weeks or so and they'll have the motivation they require to throw everything at the 3 in a row. There are a few contenders lurking in the grass and the year ahead looks very promising from a hurling perspective. The media's job is to drive interest in their products/pundits and they like all other outlets do it very well. Kiely and his group will take no notice whatsoever of this and the players won't change one thing from their approach to training/matches."
I dont think they need any added motivation Daveboy. Individually they want to make the team and collectively including the management they seem a pretty ambitious and grounded bunch.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15791 - 20/02/2022 13:08:19    2401261

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Daveboy I'm hoping everyone will now get back to the subject on the forum..I've thoroughly enjoyed the hurling so far..we have cork next week and I feel limerick will want to avoid defeat big time..I'm expecting close to championship 15 to start this one..any news on o donohue injury??the 4 counties who have caught my eye so far are Galway,Waterford,Dublin and cork..possible great year ahead,it could come down to who avoids injury most.."
For sure injuries could have a big bearing on it but I hope not. Not sure what you have seen in Cork so far this year. The game against a very weakened Clare team was played with a challenge match intensity and Offaly are a Joe Mac county this year. I think next weekend will be the 1st real test of them.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15791 - 20/02/2022 13:11:23    2401262

Replying To wexico15:  "I understand you and other Limerick posters defending your own even before the Lynch red, we'd all probably do likewise in the situation but think ye are going down the conspiracy theory route thinking Donal Ogs views and Lynch's red were linked, Donal Og made valid points, Limerick have sailed close to the wind the last 2-3 years and by right should have got red cards in 70-80% of their championship games over 2 years, perfect example last year's Munster final when 2 straight reds should have been issued, 1 at a time when Tipp held a 10 point lead, the call yesterday was made and I don't like saying it by a linesman who has a track record of dodgy calls, Anthony Nash didn't have his finest hour either for his part in the incident, I certainly don't think the incident and Donal Ogs views were linked. Looking at social media there has been nothing only criticism over yesterday's decision by pundits,if you think it hasn't got traction its just the fact Fitzgibbon isn't as high profile as national league and the incident occurred on a weekend where there's no hurling league games so as much media coverage of hurling."
I'd agree with alot of your post Wexico and in general you are a fair poster. Wexford are going in the right direction at last.
However to say Limerick should have got red cards in '70 to 80%" of games last year is profoundly wrong and does betray a certain mindset that is common amongst some counties. Not the top 3 but the underlings. It is a jealousy . It's a deep seated envy.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/02/2022 13:48:47    2401279

Replying To Viking66:  "I dont think they need any added motivation Daveboy. Individually they want to make the team and collectively including the management they seem a pretty ambitious and grounded bunch."
That's true. Leinster looks v interesting for me this year. I think it won't be straight forward. I think wexford have acquired an excellent coach in Egan. I think he'll get more out of them than Fitz did. I think they'll give Galway all of it the first day and might surprise a few people out there. I think it could be a year when wexford and Dublin might do well

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 14:11:29    2401281

Replying To daveboy:  "That's true. Leinster looks v interesting for me this year. I think it won't be straight forward. I think wexford have acquired an excellent coach in Egan. I think he'll get more out of them than Fitz did. I think they'll give Galway all of it the first day and might surprise a few people out there. I think it could be a year when wexford and Dublin might do well"
Hope so. Impossible to say this early in the season though. The younger lads have shown up well so far and we ve still our captain and vice captain and a couple of other championship starters to return from injury. Waterford, Dublin and Cork are probably the most settled squads after yourselves and that might count for alot this year as it will fly by. The AIF is only a few months away. And the championship will be starting in no length.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15791 - 20/02/2022 14:30:32    2401290

Replying To bloodyban:  "I'd agree with alot of your post Wexico and in general you are a fair poster. Wexford are going in the right direction at last.
However to say Limerick should have got red cards in '70 to 80%" of games last year is profoundly wrong and does betray a certain mindset that is common amongst some counties. Not the top 3 but the underlings. It is a jealousy . It's a deep seated envy."
The 70-80% remark has absolutely nothing to do with envy let's go through the specifics of the 2021 championship.

Munster Semi v Cork- Hegarty should have got a straight red just before half time for a dangerous head high challenge under the old stand in Thurles on Robert Downey.
Munster Final- Gillane and Flanagan should have got straight reds as well flagged at this stage
All ireland semi final- Casey got a debatable red v Waterford
All ireland final- had absolutely no impact on the result as it was long decided but Lynch should have a got red for dumping Tim O'Mahony head 1st on the ground, it unbelievably dangerous might not even be allowed in a MMA cage.

So there's 75% of games where ye should have got reds and 25% where ye got a debatable red.

Do ye expect a blind eye to be turned? Donal Og was 100% right when he said Hegarty is very loose with his hurl it's not a agenda it's the reality, to be fair nobody said he's just a hatchet man, he's a brilliant player in terms of skill, physicality, athleticism and savage workrate and deservedly got HOTY in 2020 so this notion that he needs to play on the edge is nonsense for me, it's the qualities I mentioned above that make him a brilliant player.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2022 14:53:58    2401301

"Kiely the word and Kiely the man " (in UL anyway). They say lightning doesn't strike twice. The Waterford lads have stuck it three times in a few weeks. Then Stephen Bennett blasts thunder five times in two games. I hope it doesn't run out.
On a serious note again these red cards need to be reviewed before issuing. Before anyone says the technology is not always there a guy in the crows nest on a schooner with a brass telescope would have got Cian Lynch's one correct. Also penalties reviewed. I defend refs but they need help. This one is a funny one as to what either of them saw or did not see. What did Horgan ask or tell the lines man. " You are not getting your steak and onions or travelling money if you don't agree with me." Every ref makes a mistake but Horgan has a shopping cart of them. I break into a cold sweat every time he is named to a game.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3046 - 20/02/2022 14:56:43    2401302

Replying To wexico15:  "The 70-80% remark has absolutely nothing to do with envy let's go through the specifics of the 2021 championship.

Munster Semi v Cork- Hegarty should have got a straight red just before half time for a dangerous head high challenge under the old stand in Thurles on Robert Downey.
Munster Final- Gillane and Flanagan should have got straight reds as well flagged at this stage
All ireland final- had absolutely no impact on the result as it was long decided but Lynch should have a got red for dumping Tim O'Mahony head 1st on the ground, it unbelievably dangerous might not even be allowed in a MMA cage.

So there's 75% of games where ye should have got reds and 25% where ye got a debatable red.

Do ye expect a blind eye to be turned? Donal Og was 100% right when he said Hegarty is very loose with his hurl it's not a agenda it's the reality, to be fair nobody said he's just a hatchet man, he's a brilliant player in terms of skill, physicality, athleticism and savage workrate and deservedly got HOTY in 2020 so this notion that he needs to play on the edge is nonsense for me, it's the qualities I mentioned above that make him a brilliant player."
Did you analyse every other team for borderline challenges from last year's championship out of interest or just Limerick?

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 15:56:44    2401324

Replying To wexico15:  "The 70-80% remark has absolutely nothing to do with envy let's go through the specifics of the 2021 championship.

Do ye expect a blind eye to be turned? Donal Og was 100% right when he said Hegarty is very loose with his hurl it's not a agenda it's the reality, to be fair nobody said he's just a hatchet man, he's a brilliant player in terms of skill, physicality, athleticism and savage workrate and deservedly got HOTY in 2020 so this notion that he needs to play on the edge is nonsense for me, it's the qualities I mentioned above that make him a brilliant player."
You not see the belt Barrett pulled on Hegarty's hand when 'blocking down' a ball in the Munster Final or Robert Downey' pull down on Lynch's colletbone just before the O'Mahoney incident at all. But of course your beloved Cork or Tipp men would never do anything out of the way. BTW what was O'Mahoney doing catching Lynch around the neck when the ball was twenty yards away.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 20/02/2022 16:50:40    2401342

How is it when Eddie Brennan jerked be lol hurley into Limericks men's faces there was nobody from 'neutral' counties giving out morning noon and noght and when a few of us who did complaint were to shut and take our beating. CT

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 20/02/2022 16:56:05    2401344

Replying To baire:  "I was in Croke Park when Limerick beat us in 2018 rather!"
So what I was too so what. I attended my first in 68 and several more since most of which were not involved in. Do you expect a medal for going to see your own county play in a final?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 20/02/2022 17:04:09    2401345

Just looking back at last year Barron punched Hegarty in AI semi final, Downey chopped down on Lynchs shoulder head area before the O Mahony incident and Dan McCormack got booked for swinging off Lynchs neck when some would get red for that so in 75% of games last year opposition players could have been sent off against us but weren't. If you were to analyse all championship matches you would find 2 or 3 incidents in every game where someone could have been sent off.
Back in 2019 Peter Casey was nearly decapitated by Ronan Maher in Munster final and wasn't sent off and Cillian Buckley committed a terrible head high tackle on Barry Nash without a red again-its the game and some days it goes for you an some days it goes against you.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 20/02/2022 17:14:11    2401348