Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To Blueblood4life:  "When we are addressing Facts & Agendas…. Mulligan was dropped by Vinny in pre-season and wheeled back in after a bout of injuries hit the forward line."
So you think Mulligan isn't as good as some of the forwards on the panel? I think a team with him is better at least it gives another option for a left footer

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 14/02/2023 17:49:03    2458330

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "So you think Mulligan isn't as good as some of the forwards on the panel? I think a team with him is better at least it gives another option for a left footer"
When did I say he wasn't? It was Vinny that dropped mulligan not me.

Blueblood4life (Monaghan) - Posts: 200 - 15/02/2023 14:16:39    2458408

Photo doing the rounds of the provisional fixture list for senior football next year. Seems to be the single league format which is the same as the last few years. Do yous think the reduction in games is affecting Monaghan football? Games not starting till half way through April while many other counties have league games beginning in the next 2/3 weeks. Personally, I'm delighted to see a number of monaghan teams playing in the Ulster League as everyone knows players much prefer games over training. Any word on the format of the Championship this year?

MonaghanMaverick (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 16/02/2023 10:00:18    2458469

Replying To MonaghanMaverick:  "Photo doing the rounds of the provisional fixture list for senior football next year. Seems to be the single league format which is the same as the last few years. Do yous think the reduction in games is affecting Monaghan football? Games not starting till half way through April while many other counties have league games beginning in the next 2/3 weeks. Personally, I'm delighted to see a number of monaghan teams playing in the Ulster League as everyone knows players much prefer games over training. Any word on the format of the Championship this year?"
Forgive my ignorance but how does the league affect a team with regard's relegation? Like if a team finished bottom of the league, but finishes top of their championship group do they still end up in a relegation playoff? A gold star for the lad/lassie that can put me right on this!

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 16/02/2023 11:43:16    2458493

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Forgive my ignorance but how does the league affect a team with regard's relegation? Like if a team finished bottom of the league, but finishes top of their championship group do they still end up in a relegation playoff? A gold star for the lad/lassie that can put me right on this!"
I believe that they are given a chance to play the team who comes third in the relegation group after championship. I think this happened with blackhill in intermediate last year. They played a q/f in championship and lost then played the harps in a relegation playoff. In my opinion, I don't think this is a fair system and hopefully its not the case again this year.

MonaghanMaverick (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 16/02/2023 12:56:41    2458508

Replying To MonaghanMaverick:  "Photo doing the rounds of the provisional fixture list for senior football next year. Seems to be the single league format which is the same as the last few years. Do yous think the reduction in games is affecting Monaghan football? Games not starting till half way through April while many other counties have league games beginning in the next 2/3 weeks. Personally, I'm delighted to see a number of monaghan teams playing in the Ulster League as everyone knows players much prefer games over training. Any word on the format of the Championship this year?"
The introduction of the group format championship system, which has been a great success, has meant that there's not enough dates in the dairy for a double league format. The season was dragging on far too long with meaningless games at the tale end of the season, and in some cases league games being forfeited due to clubs participation in ulster club or later stages of club championship.
We have a league format that will run from April to august when the weather should decent for players and supports.
The was also a large number of students who headed to the USA on J1's for the summer and this trend will continue in 2023. Every player knows the years fixtures and can plan holidays etc.

latefortraining (Monaghan) - Posts: 99 - 16/02/2023 13:18:26    2458511

Replying To MonaghanMaverick:  "I believe that they are given a chance to play the team who comes third in the relegation group after championship. I think this happened with blackhill in intermediate last year. They played a q/f in championship and lost then played the harps in a relegation playoff. In my opinion, I don't think this is a fair system and hopefully its not the case again this year."
Last year bottom 4 in the league had relegation semi and final to decide the worst team in the league. That team (worst team in league) then played the team that finished second bottom of the championship relegation group at the end of the year to decide which of them went down (going down along with the team that finished bottom of the championship relegation group)

monman91 (Monaghan) - Posts: 42 - 16/02/2023 13:20:20    2458513

Replying To latefortraining:  "The introduction of the group format championship system, which has been a great success, has meant that there's not enough dates in the dairy for a double league format. The season was dragging on far too long with meaningless games at the tale end of the season, and in some cases league games being forfeited due to clubs participation in ulster club or later stages of club championship.
We have a league format that will run from April to august when the weather should decent for players and supports.
The was also a large number of students who headed to the USA on J1's for the summer and this trend will continue in 2023. Every player knows the years fixtures and can plan holidays etc."
I wouldn't agree the group format championship system has been a great success. I might be a traditionalist but league is a league and championship is knock out.

Group format championship system suits the biggest playing squads and penalises small squads where an injury can greatly affect a teams chances. Case in point Karl O'Connell with Tyholland last year.

Teams like Blackhill (and most junior clubs from Currin to Oram) have a small pool of players who can create shock results in one off games but struggle if one or two are injured, playing hurling, away for holiday's, stags or weddings.

Teams like Latton & Truagh can beat the likes of Scotstown but will struggle to win a championship in the current format.

MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 111 - 16/02/2023 14:50:59    2458538

What is the problem with the Monaghan official web page no info on teams eg who is on the u20 panel also Sundays game v Donegal not even on the fixture list, our page was voted the best a couple of years ago what has gone wrong.
And why is the team only named on the morning of the game put it out after the last training session like most other counties (it is no advantage to the team or supporters)

DEBOGMAN (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 16/02/2023 17:14:00    2458569

Paddy MC Brearty also out now on Sunday. MC Manus /Hughes brothers be aiming to make this game I would think?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 16/02/2023 18:50:28    2458582

Replying To DEBOGMAN:  "What is the problem with the Monaghan official web page no info on teams eg who is on the u20 panel also Sundays game v Donegal not even on the fixture list, our page was voted the best a couple of years ago what has gone wrong.
And why is the team only named on the morning of the game put it out after the last training session like most other counties (it is no advantage to the team or supporters)"
Change of PRO probably to blame

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 17/02/2023 08:48:48    2458604

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Paddy MC Brearty also out now on Sunday. MC Manus /Hughes brothers be aiming to make this game I would think?"
McBrearty is apparently not definitely out according to the Donegal GAA twitter, but to undego a pre-game fitness test. Maybe not as badly injured as some of the wilder stories have suggested.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 17/02/2023 09:48:56    2458611

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "Change of PRO probably to blame"
It's been poor for a long while. Have a look at the fixtures and results section. There's a myriad of duplicated competition categories, very very poor classification structured, upcoming fixtures for 2022 still listed. It's a shambles and very very difficult to find any fixtures or results.

There's a discussion here about the format of the championship. Where's that outlined on the site?

There's a significant lack of basic information presented there. Hopefully someone will be resourced to spruce it up for the year ahead.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 17/02/2023 11:45:16    2458642

I see that GAA GO are not showing Monaghan v Donegal, the only D1 match not available. Has anyone else noticed , a bias towards Monaghan as regards TV coverage? ..... Ok when we play profile teams like, Dubs, Kerry & Mayo, they will get coverage. When was the last time Monaghan v an Ulster team was shown live in NFL ?.... " a sure it's only wee Monaghan" attitudes.. grrrrr!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 18/02/2023 13:02:12    2458827

Any word on the team tomorrow?

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 18/02/2023 21:27:54    2458936

Good win today v good in second half fair play to all d hughes was brilliant

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 19/02/2023 16:35:43    2459056

Replying To prideof85:  "Good win today v good in second half fair play to all d hughes was brilliant"
Darren Hughes was excellent, the younger lads finding their feet, a great mix .

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 19/02/2023 17:13:45    2459080

Great second half performance today. Darren hughes was very good. Great to see mulligan back. Used the ball very well in second half and were full of running. O hanlon Jones and mc carron were excellent. Defense also stood up well today, onwards from here hopefully.

McGuirk1985@ (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 19/02/2023 17:26:29    2459087

A real old-school Monaghan win today. Darren Hughes set the tone with a number of blocks and vital tackles that frustrated Donegal all afternoon. The overall defensive effort created the chances for counter attacks that turned the tide in the second half. Stephen O'Hanlon made the most the space created and Donegal couldn't counter his pace- his use of the ball was very good all day.
Donegal's big players around the middle ran out of legs early and they lumbered to the final whistle. Their insistence on flooding the central area and kicking onto there against the wind, played into Monaghan's hands- it negated their midfield height advantage and allowed Monaghan to get onto a lot of breaks. Strange.
Credit though to Monaghan's forwards for taking their chance. Jones, again, was ice cold in front of goal. 2 points on the slate, and with Kerry-away played as one of your losses, their is some chance restored. 8 and 9 remain the problem however.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 19/02/2023 18:14:48    2459119

Good win today, old and new players doing well. But some players just can't do no wrong in Cory's eyes, how the stayed on for as long I don't know

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 19/02/2023 18:26:36    2459126