Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To shaggylegend:  "Jesus we win and people on here are trying to hound individual players or management.

On yesterday's performance I thought the backs were very solid with a special to McPhillips who done a great job on Jamie Brennan.
Darren was immense and is a defying all the miles on the clock. Strong determined and willing to put his body on the line.

The midfield was a lot better yesterday with Gary Mohan's size and presence making us far more competitive in that sector.

Bannigan and O'Hanlons hard direct running caused Donegal all sort of problems. Gallagher impressed for the second game in a row, and will get better the more minutes he plays at this level. Carey put into a solid shift and his work rate was top notch. McCarthy suffered a little from change of position from the Kerry game. McCarthy was impressive in Killarney when on the receiving end of quick ball into the full forward line. Jack was a massive addition kicked a couple of great scores from play ( only critism was him kicking a scoreable free backwards in the first half instead of waiting for Rory to come up.

McManus and Jones really helped the push for home in the last 15 minutes.
Great to see Mulligan get a few minutes also.

Plenty of positives and no reason why we can't get more points against Roscommon."
Confused as to how you can point to a criticism(hound the individual), but nobody else can ??
No posts above were slating anyone in my view and I think everyone is in agreement that the team as a whole played brilliantly and are moving in the right direction.

Again well done management and team and looking forward to the weekend.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 21/02/2023 10:07:01    2459540

Listened to Vinny's post match interview, he was was impressive in the balanced perspective he brought, There was no bluster just a calm reading of a league win. He elaborated on the midfield situation and was quite positive but realistic as regards building on the panel options available. Mentioned that Conor Leonard and Fintan Kelly were progressing in training, and he was keen to get more time for Gary Mohan to find his feet in midfield. I thought bringing Mulligan in on Sunday was a sign of shrewd management too.

In fairness, the Northern Sound interviewer asked very intelligent questions to bring some out good honest football discussion, a far cry from the yahoo-with-a-mic that occupies many of these jobs.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 21/02/2023 13:03:59    2459579

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Listened to Vinny's post match interview, he was was impressive in the balanced perspective he brought, There was no bluster just a calm reading of a league win. He elaborated on the midfield situation and was quite positive but realistic as regards building on the panel options available. Mentioned that Conor Leonard and Fintan Kelly were progressing in training, and he was keen to get more time for Gary Mohan to find his feet in midfield. I thought bringing Mulligan in on Sunday was a sign of shrewd management too.

In fairness, the Northern Sound interviewer asked very intelligent questions to bring some out good honest football discussion, a far cry from the yahoo-with-a-mic that occupies many of these jobs."
Of course Eddie it took an intelligent person to understand all of that which you said.

We should stay up but doubt if we will be vying for the Final.

I look forward to when the ground hardens and the intensity increases so we can get some decent games.

The league has been a bore fest this year - all the handpassing backwards is hard to watch at times.

Best football to date by Monaghan was the first 15 minutes against Kerry when we attacked with speed. We then retreated back into our shell .

Bernardo (Monaghan) - Posts: 595 - 21/02/2023 15:36:57    2459615

Great result Sunday. A great blend of youth and experience. We are making new leaders out of new men and its great to see. Mc Philips in corner back brings a freshness and mohan can temporarily fill a gap in midfield. Gallagher seems to be progressing with every game and is bringing a lot of men into the team. Yes a few men had off days and people call for them to be dropped but these men have the ability to tun around and score 3 goals in one game or produce a bit of magic and the team should be wiling to carry that.

Adding Mulligan back in is a good idea and hopefully he can stake a starting spot come championship and if rumours are true the fact he came back speaks more of mullligan as an individual to put his county first.

Roll on roscommon, a team who we should not fear and a team i think we will put a score on next Sunday. Its ok playing a few games in the hyde lets see them when they have to travel north of Boyle!!

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 22/02/2023 13:13:49    2459763

What team would we like to see out this weekend now against Roscommon??

1 Beggan
2 McPhilips
3 Duffy
4 Wylie
5 Boyle
6 D Ward
7 K Loughran
8 G Mohan
9 Lavelle
10 O'Hanlon
11 Bannigan
12 D Hughes
13 McCarron
14 Jones
15 McCarthy

McManus, Gallagher, O'Connell, Carey off the bench.

This is how I would like to see the team play. See how it goes. I have a feeling this gam is going to come down to very fine margins with Monaghan coming out the right end. Bookies has Monaghan as slight favorites so shall be very good to see how this fairs out. Looking forward to it.

Lets see your options of a lineout

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 23/02/2023 09:56:17    2459836

What to make of this next one? Roscommon have earned the resect of Division 1 for sure with 3 big results. However, I did think Armagh made it quite straightforward for their defensive/counter attacking plan, by playing aimlessly to and fro in front of them all day. If Monaghan are to turn them over they will have be direct in attack from the off.

VC may need to revert to Conor Boyle at full back depending on the Roscommon lineup as Duffy could be caught for pace. Duffy is well suited to picking up Conor Cox or Enda Smith though. Wylie for O'Carroll would make sense with McPhilips starting too. Ryan O'Toole possibly returning into half back to pick up Ciaran Lennon leaving Dessie Ward to get on the front foot. Hughes and a fit Lavelle can break even in midfield, and although he needs as much game time as possible, Mohan might best be used in reserve this time.

McCarthy needs to step up so give him more room at half forward. Him together with Bannigan and O'Hanlon and you all of a sudden have a half forward line that can do damage on their day. Jones has to start with Jack up top, and Karl Gallagher between them- the latter is coming into his own.

There is shape to that forward line and you have Mohan, McManus, O'Connell, Carey, Mulligan and Loughran to come in. I'd be optimistic but Monaghan need Lavelle playing, a shift from Mohan off the bench, and McCarthy/O'Hanlon to put scores on the board. Taking Monaghan at 11/2 to win by 4 to 6 points

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 23/02/2023 19:18:09    2459932

Personally my team would be:

Beggan
Hanratty
Duffy
McPhillips
Hughes
Ward
Wylie
Mohan
Lennon
O'Hanlon
Brannigan
McCarthy
Jones
McCarron
Gallagher

Some changes here but I think an all around stronger team going forward and most of all staying/getting back. Would like to see some more youth coming off the bench along with the obvious old heads. Hopefully we see some of Boyle from Truagh and Leonard from eir og during the league. Irwin would be another lad that'd be a lot more dangerous and industrious than others that have been getting jerseys.

Darren Hughes at wing back was a revelation last week, shored the whole thing up when he was taking a breather while others were attacking - which is a massive issue for Monaghan as, in attack the entire half back line (and some of the full back line) abandon ship and flood forward, Derry last year and Kerry made us pay for this badly. Hughes stays back preventing this and then when he does make a burst forward its from deep where he had time and space to build up ahead of steam - Donegal had no answer for him.

Not a criticism at all of the job vinnys doing though. It's easy to throw a few wild cards into the mix when you're not the one answering questions after the match!!

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 24/02/2023 08:15:53    2459946

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "What to make of this next one? Roscommon have earned the resect of Division 1 for sure with 3 big results. However, I did think Armagh made it quite straightforward for their defensive/counter attacking plan, by playing aimlessly to and fro in front of them all day. If Monaghan are to turn them over they will have be direct in attack from the off.

VC may need to revert to Conor Boyle at full back depending on the Roscommon lineup as Duffy could be caught for pace. Duffy is well suited to picking up Conor Cox or Enda Smith though. Wylie for O'Carroll would make sense with McPhilips starting too. Ryan O'Toole possibly returning into half back to pick up Ciaran Lennon leaving Dessie Ward to get on the front foot. Hughes and a fit Lavelle can break even in midfield, and although he needs as much game time as possible, Mohan might best be used in reserve this time.

McCarthy needs to step up so give him more room at half forward. Him together with Bannigan and O'Hanlon and you all of a sudden have a half forward line that can do damage on their day. Jones has to start with Jack up top, and Karl Gallagher between them- the latter is coming into his own.

There is shape to that forward line and you have Mohan, McManus, O'Connell, Carey, Mulligan and Loughran to come in. I'd be optimistic but Monaghan need Lavelle playing, a shift from Mohan off the bench, and McCarthy/O'Hanlon to put scores on the board. Taking Monaghan at 11/2 to win by 4 to 6 points"
Was listening to game on Highland radio last weekend and Martin McHugh was praising quality of forwards Monaghan have coming through singling out Jones in particular. If we can get midfield and the central defensive positions sorted we will be OK. The forwards look the part. McManus doesn't need to play every match and there should be good competition for places.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1799 - 24/02/2023 08:43:53    2459950

Beggan
Mc Philiphs
Duffy
Wylie
O toole
Ward
Boyle
Hughes
Mohan
Carey
Bannigan
O hanlon
Mc Carthy
Gallagher
Mc Carron

I think the above team will be the one that starts, maybe Lavelle coming in for Mohan/O toole if hes fit after his injury v Donegal. I was very impressed with O toole and i think he deserves another chance. Its great having Boyle out half back as he gives us another man marking option in the half back line.

Our half forward line picks itself, packed with scorers and runners who are willing to do the hard unseen work whilst also chipping in with a point or two. I think Jones might not be fit for the full 70 so might be a better option to give him game time gradually and bring him up to pace for the full game in the next few weeks. Gallagher is laying a big claim to the 14 Jersey, a big man who brings others into the game, he is worth persevering with and giving a good chance to.

Overall we should be targeting this game for 2 points, nothing to fear from Roscommon. This game probably is the biggest of the year so far with the highest pressure on as we all expect a performance and a win.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 24/02/2023 08:54:03    2459951

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Beggan
Mc Philiphs
Duffy
Wylie
O toole
Ward
Boyle
Hughes
Mohan
Carey
Bannigan
O hanlon
Mc Carthy
Gallagher
Mc Carron

I think the above team will be the one that starts, maybe Lavelle coming in for Mohan/O toole if hes fit after his injury v Donegal. I was very impressed with O toole and i think he deserves another chance. Its great having Boyle out half back as he gives us another man marking option in the half back line.

Our half forward line picks itself, packed with scorers and runners who are willing to do the hard unseen work whilst also chipping in with a point or two. I think Jones might not be fit for the full 70 so might be a better option to give him game time gradually and bring him up to pace for the full game in the next few weeks. Gallagher is laying a big claim to the 14 Jersey, a big man who brings others into the game, he is worth persevering with and giving a good chance to.

Overall we should be targeting this game for 2 points, nothing to fear from Roscommon. This game probably is the biggest of the year so far with the highest pressure on as we all expect a performance and a win."
For anyone interested. The match is being shown live on the TG4 player and also deferred coverage on TG4 tv at 445 pm

TommyBowe (Monaghan) - Posts: 10 - 25/02/2023 19:44:37    2460138

Replying To TommyBowe:  "For anyone interested. The match is being shown live on the TG4 player and also deferred coverage on TG4 tv at 445 pm"
On GAAGO too for those abroad

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 26/02/2023 10:14:57    2460198

Replying To TommyBowe:  "For anyone interested. The match is being shown live on the TG4 player and also deferred coverage on TG4 tv at 445 pm"
Looks like TG4 website is down and no sign of the match stream in the app.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 26/02/2023 14:40:27    2460263

Great win but why, why are we rolling on Fintain Kelly when there are younger players on the bench. Vinny must want an easy time at work. Sorry about been negative but just boils my blood

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 26/02/2023 16:12:47    2460300

Should have been 7 or 8 points in it. Some great chances missed. McPhilips, Bannigan, Duffy were excellent

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 26/02/2023 16:24:01    2460304

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Great win but why, why are we rolling on Fintain Kelly when there are younger players on the bench. Vinny must want an easy time at work. Sorry about been negative but just boils my blood"
Yes I understand the sentiment here but I think there are 2 possible reasons for it:

1) the game was still in the melting pot and those 2 points could be crucial to staying up...maybe a wiser old head coming on to see out the win was what Vinny hoped for.

2) the older members of the panel, who Vinny sees as playing a part this year will all need minutes in the legs come championship time - I would say we might see more minutes for the older guard in the next couple of games on that basis.

All in all a very good win against a game Roscommon team...errors still very much there for Monaghan though,not too sure how many balls dropped short being the most glaring!

MonaghanGa3l (USA) - Posts: 18 - 26/02/2023 19:14:59    2460421

Good to get the points despite not being near their best today. No reason we can't get another couple of points in Salthill next week.

Just want to point out some of the abuse given to Monaghan players today by so called Monaghan supporters, which was nothing short of a disgrace.
Lads burst their arse all year scarificing social and family to represent their county. And you have clowns giving them dogs abuse everytime they touch the ball.

God help any family member sitting listening to the abuse.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 26/02/2023 20:04:52    2460453

Delighted to see performances now being rewarded with results. Some panel depth here

Hon.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 26/02/2023 20:26:36    2460469

Replying To MonaghanGa3l:  "Yes I understand the sentiment here but I think there are 2 possible reasons for it:

1) the game was still in the melting pot and those 2 points could be crucial to staying up...maybe a wiser old head coming on to see out the win was what Vinny hoped for.

2) the older members of the panel, who Vinny sees as playing a part this year will all need minutes in the legs come championship time - I would say we might see more minutes for the older guard in the next couple of games on that basis.

All in all a very good win against a game Roscommon team...errors still very much there for Monaghan though,not too sure how many balls dropped short being the most glaring!"
I take on board your reasons but other counties are bringing through new young players and giving them time to show themselves before championship and we're not using our bench to its full potential I feel.

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 26/02/2023 20:47:57    2460484

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Should have been 7 or 8 points in it. Some great chances missed. McPhilips, Bannigan, Duffy were excellent"
As a rossie I approached today with trepidation and I was proved correct ..ye schooled us in league football at the top level,had a plan to nullify our main threats and as you say should have won the game by 7/8 points ..hopefully ye will do us a favour or two by the end of the NFL and we'll meet again next year.

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 26/02/2023 21:02:14    2460494

Another good result today beggan coming out of goals with 3points up and full time gone is maddness and is going to cost us somewhere along the line otherwise happy today heading home muineachan abu

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 26/02/2023 21:17:52    2460503