Monaghan GAA thread

A poor enough game and a patchy performance , but it was sufficient. Listening to Corey's comments after the game left me in no doubt that he won't get carried away on with being overly optimistic or pessimistic with the result or performance. He was down to earth about what they need to do and improve. Great to see he's giving youth it's chance - McPhillips, Gallagher and O'Toole all getting extended game time is what the squad needs and they are growing in belief with every game. I hope over the league he continues this with other players too. Sure, I'd like to see a few more younger players start but striking the right balance is essential.

Jones as an impact sub is a real bonus - well he might not want that roll but he benefits the team , no doubt. When he starts he's hot and cold (if you had watched a couple of DCU's Sigerson games this year, you'd know what I mean). The talent is there but he needs to had a bit of consistency.

Onwards to Galway. It's important that they prove to themselves, that they can perform on the road and get a result. It's an important building block in a teams self belief. On ability they can do it.

sleater (Monaghan) - Posts: 152 - 27/02/2023 09:36:54    2460543

Another great win and another week with a certain few accounts gone strangely quiet...

Congrats to Vinny and the boys again.

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 27/02/2023 10:17:46    2460557

Replying To Monaghanfan123:  "Great win but why, why are we rolling on Fintain Kelly when there are younger players on the bench. Vinny must want an easy time at work. Sorry about been negative but just boils my blood"
don't let it get to ya. Even though he's one of the more senior lads, I think he's 2 years younger than the likes of o'connel and mcmanus and maybe 3 years younger than darren hughes so he's still got a lot to give.
even in the short-term, if its just to plug a hole left by kearns/mcanespie.

nice balance of youth and experience in the last fortnight and results are positive

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 27/02/2023 10:26:15    2460561

Replying To sleater:  "A poor enough game and a patchy performance , but it was sufficient. Listening to Corey's comments after the game left me in no doubt that he won't get carried away on with being overly optimistic or pessimistic with the result or performance. He was down to earth about what they need to do and improve. Great to see he's giving youth it's chance - McPhillips, Gallagher and O'Toole all getting extended game time is what the squad needs and they are growing in belief with every game. I hope over the league he continues this with other players too. Sure, I'd like to see a few more younger players start but striking the right balance is essential.

Jones as an impact sub is a real bonus - well he might not want that roll but he benefits the team , no doubt. When he starts he's hot and cold (if you had watched a couple of DCU's Sigerson games this year, you'd know what I mean). The talent is there but he needs to had a bit of consistency.

Onwards to Galway. It's important that they prove to themselves, that they can perform on the road and get a result. It's an important building block in a teams self belief. On ability they can do it."
I think the way Vinny is using Jones with game time and impact role is brilliant. It will take time with him to get up to the county game and all these 20/30 mins will be the making of him.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 378 - 27/02/2023 10:26:38    2460562

Another good win, little bit of pressure eased. Well done Vinny, was never going to be an easy job coming in with a bit of transition needed, and losing the first 2 games had everyone writing us off already. But as we know by now, Division 1 football has plenty of twists and turns and there will be more to come yet. Fair play to Vinny and the team for bouncing back well, and he's using plenty of youth in the process too.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/02/2023 10:30:12    2460565

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I think the way Vinny is using Jones with game time and impact role is brilliant. It will take time with him to get up to the county game and all these 20/30 mins will be the making of him."
And McManus too, He's not the force he was but he set up the goal last week and contributed a few scores. Good again yesterday with his use of the ball and smarts on the ball to win a few free's. You can see when he comes on he gives the crowd a lift and causes nerves in the opposition camp - The Rossies yesterday straight away started switching men around to pick him up when he came on.

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 27/02/2023 12:19:08    2460626

Well done Vinny and backroom team. A breath of fresh air to Monaghan football. Great use of both young and experienced players. Really impressed with Gallagher,McPhillips. Jones and O'Toole. Having said that Darren has been the rock on which Donegal and Roscommon perished. There will be more hiccups along the way and Div. 2 is on the cards for any two of five teams at the moment. It wouldn't be the end of the world so long as management keeps giving the young lads plenty of game time. It is more than a 4 month programme to rebuild but thank God the poison of the past 3 years is behind us.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 27/02/2023 14:14:23    2460669

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Well done Vinny and backroom team. A breath of fresh air to Monaghan football. Great use of both young and experienced players. Really impressed with Gallagher,McPhillips. Jones and O'Toole. Having said that Darren has been the rock on which Donegal and Roscommon perished. There will be more hiccups along the way and Div. 2 is on the cards for any two of five teams at the moment. It wouldn't be the end of the world so long as management keeps giving the young lads plenty of game time. It is more than a 4 month programme to rebuild but thank God the poison of the past 3 years is behind us."
Agree with your sentiment here, but maybe if you want everyone to move on from the last 3 years, you should stop mentioning the last 3 years. It really is time to let that one go.
The promising football being played by a new-look team should get all our attention and support now. They've a long way to go for sure, but for the last 2 weeks we have seen some real quality and ambition. Well done Vinnie and co.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 27/02/2023 14:50:11    2460692

Great to see Ryan O'Toole and Thomas mcPhillips have strong roles in the win against Roscommon. Along with our seasoned warriors Kieran Duffy, Conor Boyle and Darren Hughes, Roscommon were running out of ideas when they got forward.. Again the hitting of the ball into their goalkeepers hands was unforgivable, 3 times it was done by my count.. and on our own pitch, players must know their scoring zone on their own pitch..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 27/02/2023 15:32:14    2460715

Replying To monaghanmad:  "I think the way Vinny is using Jones with game time and impact role is brilliant. It will take time with him to get up to the county game and all these 20/30 mins will be the making of him."
It actually looked like Vinny Jones had hit McCarron the way he went down holding his face when he had been pushed in the chest. Very un-Monaghan like.
No complaints with the result. Ye deserved to win. No doubt about that. Fair play to Monaghan for staying in division one for so long given your playing resources.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 28/02/2023 14:39:34    2460976

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "It actually looked like Vinny Jones had hit McCarron the way he went down holding his face when he had been pushed in the chest. Very un-Monaghan like.
No complaints with the result. Ye deserved to win. No doubt about that. Fair play to Monaghan for staying in division one for so long given your playing resources."
Was far away from the incident but I tend to agree with your vision of it. Brilliant to see so many very sporting Rossie fans making the journey to Clones. Hopefully we will be making the return trip to the Hyde next year.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 28/02/2023 16:42:17    2461016

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "It actually looked like Vinny Jones had hit McCarron the way he went down holding his face when he had been pushed in the chest. Very un-Monaghan like.
No complaints with the result. Ye deserved to win. No doubt about that. Fair play to Monaghan for staying in division one for so long given your playing resources."
To be fair, I think his head hit the ground quite hard, & that's what injured him

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 28/02/2023 20:18:57    2461063

Brilliant result against Roscommon. Plenty to take from it but I am sure they will learn plenty from this result.

Vinny really using his experienced players well. Great to see McManus getting more game time along with O'Connell. Be great to see K Hughes back in the next game if possible. D Hughes has been great in there. Playing as his life depends on it which is great to see the hunger still there. These older lads will bring the younger boys through these tough days and grind out results.

Lets look forward to Galway. Go there and play football. We have 4 points another 2 points at least from 6 would be great but lets see the team go out and play a good open game. Let each player express themselves and empty the bag. Don't forget we are one of the smallest populated counties in the country. We have been in Div 1 the second longest ever (after Kerry). Div 2 wouldn't be the biggest issue. VC and management really seem to be enjoying it and the players also. Read Bannigans interview after the Roscommon game and he described the training sessions as being brilliant.

Big best wishes to all players and management. They aren't going nowhere yet like some pundits may have nailed down at the start of the year.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 01/03/2023 13:03:03    2461182

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Brilliant result against Roscommon. Plenty to take from it but I am sure they will learn plenty from this result.

Vinny really using his experienced players well. Great to see McManus getting more game time along with O'Connell. Be great to see K Hughes back in the next game if possible. D Hughes has been great in there. Playing as his life depends on it which is great to see the hunger still there. These older lads will bring the younger boys through these tough days and grind out results.

Lets look forward to Galway. Go there and play football. We have 4 points another 2 points at least from 6 would be great but lets see the team go out and play a good open game. Let each player express themselves and empty the bag. Don't forget we are one of the smallest populated counties in the country. We have been in Div 1 the second longest ever (after Kerry). Div 2 wouldn't be the biggest issue. VC and management really seem to be enjoying it and the players also. Read Bannigans interview after the Roscommon game and he described the training sessions as being brilliant.

Big best wishes to all players and management. They aren't going nowhere yet like some pundits may have nailed down at the start of the year."
Good post .

Really looking forward to Galway. Although I think its the pints I'm more looking forward to.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 01/03/2023 18:37:31    2461303

I think the re building is going to plan, and as Vinny said on rte radio after the match that there is a plan and they are sticking to it. It's a great mix of seasoned and new young lads and you can see them adjusting to county football with each game they play. Not out of the trees yet but the intensity of division 1 will bring them on leaps and bounds, every other county is doing it and finally our County is doing it. Keep 'er lit !

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 01/03/2023 19:51:38    2461323

Replying To countymonaghan:  "Brilliant result against Roscommon. Plenty to take from it but I am sure they will learn plenty from this result.

Big best wishes to all players and management. They aren't going nowhere yet like some pundits may have nailed down at the start of the year."
Fully agree, especially with the last part. Every year, the national media, and fans & pundits in general are just waiting to write us off for relegation. We were favourites after the 1st game, then deemed as absolute no hopers after the 2nd game. While that was a bad loss for sure, it seemed like a bit premature with 5 games yet to play in a competitive division 1. As Vinny has said, this time last year we'd only got 2 draws out of 4 games.

Now we might yet go down anyway, but regardless I don't think that would be the disaster most people are waiting to label it as. I'd have full faith in Vinny and crew in their long term plan (and it is a long term outlook with the transition coming up). He's bedding in plenty of youth while still wisely using the elder statesmen well. The day we get relegated isn't the end of the world because the goal is still to develop the lads coming up, and then rise back up if we were to sropy. I suppose what I'm getting at is I don't understand why we're regularly overlooked than some other counties - even now with Armagh for example, who we're above, and who we probably wouldn't have lost to if Beggan hadn't lost his head.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 02/03/2023 13:51:55    2461403

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Well done Vinny and backroom team. A breath of fresh air to Monaghan football. Great use of both young and experienced players. Really impressed with Gallagher,McPhillips. Jones and O'Toole. Having said that Darren has been the rock on which Donegal and Roscommon perished. There will be more hiccups along the way and Div. 2 is on the cards for any two of five teams at the moment. It wouldn't be the end of the world so long as management keeps giving the young lads plenty of game time. It is more than a 4 month programme to rebuild but thank God the poison of the past 3 years is behind us."
Good man Seamus - You wanted to win the AI last year, anything else was a disaster. now we can drop divisions and it doesn't matter.

FYI - great win on Sunday, the team and management are doing a great job.

patmouse (Monaghan) - Posts: 112 - 02/03/2023 15:15:00    2461435

Replying To patmouse:  "Good man Seamus - You wanted to win the AI last year, anything else was a disaster. now we can drop divisions and it doesn't matter.

FYI - great win on Sunday, the team and management are doing a great job."
What a nonsensical post. I think you are still mourning your hero Banty. If your reading skills were up to scratch you would have read that what I wanted was exactly what Vinny is doing ie. giving the young lads lots of game time and transition from the great team that Malachy had to a new young squad who will go on to achieve success. Instead we got, under your God a team going out in an Ulster semi-final with only one player who hadn't played under Malachy who that stage was 3 years gone. Didn't have to be a genius to know that an Ulster Championship was well beyond the capabilities of your buddy and his hired hands.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 02/03/2023 21:05:10    2461504

5 days later, my eardrums have just settled down after the roar from Monaghan crowd when Darren Hughes made that magnificent catch near the end from a high ball launch when we were looking for the levelling score. Got the feeling he is a folk hero up there.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 03/03/2023 13:12:13    2461572

Replying To facethepuckout:  "5 days later, my eardrums have just settled down after the roar from Monaghan crowd when Darren Hughes made that magnificent catch near the end from a high ball launch when we were looking for the levelling score. Got the feeling he is a folk hero up there."
In my opinion, one of our top 3 greatest ever. Criminally underrated outside of the county and a lot of boys with all stars have him to thank for the mountains of work he got through to help them along the way.

Jjoniel79 (Monaghan) - Posts: 144 - 03/03/2023 13:51:06    2461587