Monaghan GAA thread

Agreed with Mickod.. A lot of people here to just leave negative comments and try come up with a reason why a player shouldn't get a chance. Why not make reason why they should get a chance. Also believe any player good enough that is not there at the minute it is probably their own decision.

Each of these players are out training this 8 weeks probably (maybe more), trying their best to make the team and bring success to the county. They don't need people behind screens ridiculing them. Vinny and mgmt are there every night and see what happens in training, now I am pretty sure if a player was not good in training they wouldn't be the first sub off the bench. So McCarville obviously impressed in training and fair play. He is an honest lad and gives it his all. Good hands and good feet.
Lets all be a bit realistic here, every player in the setup at the minute is capable. It might take time but they will do their best and give what they can. Likewise with Vinny and his group of men on the line they want Monaghan to win, they don't need some ********* opinion.

McKenna cup over now 1 loss and 1 win, an extraordinary amount of new faces making appearances stabilized by more senior lads which is refreshing to see. Lets look forward to the first league game against Armagh. Local derby will be nothing simple but lets see what we have.

Great to see McCarron, Beggan and the likes back too.

countymonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 273 - 12/01/2023 14:20:48    2452192

18 euro for Monaghan v Armagh , they are going to price people out at this rate

Monaghan78 (Monaghan) - Posts: 22 - 12/01/2023 15:30:46    2452217

Replying To Monaghan78:  "18 euro for Monaghan v Armagh , they are going to price people out at this rate"
But that includes parking in the multi-storey in 'Blayney, right? Hassle free, and great value. /s

Stupid price, and €15 for the students and OAPs. Likely not going as that's a real put off.

Not surprising, however, as Monaghan GAA were charging €10 into club league games last year.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 12/01/2023 18:01:35    2452241

Replying To Monaghan78:  "18 euro for Monaghan v Armagh , they are going to price people out at this rate"
Complete joke nearly ulster final prices from few yrs back for a league opener

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 12/01/2023 21:20:59    2452262

Replying To seanie08:  "Complete joke nearly ulster final prices from few yrs back for a league opener"
And sold out at that price too.

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 14/01/2023 09:15:54    2452383

Surely Inniskeen holds more than Blayney?

Blayney not fit to have fans behind goals or opposite side of pitch?

Inniskeen can have 7000?

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 14/01/2023 11:23:46    2452388

Replying To eirekeeper:  "Surely Inniskeen holds more than Blayney?

Blayney not fit to have fans behind goals or opposite side of pitch?

Inniskeen can have 7000?"
Hopefully the county board will have a bit of cop on and move the game to a venue that can hold the crowd. A lot of disgruntled monaghan supporters about who travelled up and down the country and can't get a ticket, time monaghan county board held their hands up and admitted their mistake and for once listen to the supporters

Truecountysupporter (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 14/01/2023 12:41:10    2452393

Replying To TearsIn85:  "But that includes parking in the multi-storey in 'Blayney, right? Hassle free, and great value. /s

Stupid price, and €15 for the students and OAPs. Likely not going as that's a real put off.

Not surprising, however, as Monaghan GAA were charging €10 into club league games last year."
Again showing your ignorance of the Monaghan club scene. Monaghan GAA were not charging anything into Monaghan league games. Clubs set their own charges. Of the 9 league games I attended €5 was the admission charge at all but one. A certain mid Monaghan club charged €10 to watch their junior team in league games. Simple solution to your problem,stay at home.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 14/01/2023 13:11:18    2452395

So people want it moved out of Blayney into Inniskeen which holds significantly less people, masterstroke.

TheGreatRambo (Monaghan) - Posts: 79 - 14/01/2023 17:24:39    2452420

Replying To TheGreatRambo:  "So people want it moved out of Blayney into Inniskeen which holds significantly less people, masterstroke."
It should be moved to Clones on the Sunday there is a fortnight to organise that. That would be the master stroke of all master strokes.

nagrattansabu (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 14/01/2023 18:27:53    2452433

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Again showing your ignorance of the Monaghan club scene. Monaghan GAA were not charging anything into Monaghan league games. Clubs set their own charges. Of the 9 league games I attended €5 was the admission charge at all but one. A certain mid Monaghan club charged €10 to watch their junior team in league games. Simple solution to your problem,stay at home."
Well Seamus. Maybe being in the USA you might be a bit out of touch?

I went to round 1 league game in 'blayney last year, and when I questioned the €10 entry fee, was explicitly told that this is what they were instructed to charge by county board

So someone telling porkies. And if thats the level of information, how is anyone supposed to be in the know, apart from the inner circle continually hinting their knowledge on here.

And can you please elaborate on 'again showing your ignorance'?

And not going to the games is indeed the solution. And likely what I'll be exercising this year.

TearsIn85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 194 - 14/01/2023 18:34:53    2452435

Replying To TearsIn85:  "Well Seamus. Maybe being in the USA you might be a bit out of touch?

I went to round 1 league game in 'blayney last year, and when I questioned the €10 entry fee, was explicitly told that this is what they were instructed to charge by county board

So someone telling porkies. And if thats the level of information, how is anyone supposed to be in the know, apart from the inner circle continually hinting their knowledge on here.

And can you please elaborate on 'again showing your ignorance'?

And not going to the games is indeed the solution. And likely what I'll be exercising this year."
I was also informed when I questioned the increase, that it was as per instructions from the county board. The new charge was €10 a 100% increase from the previous year. A bit stiff if you ask me.

nagrattansabu (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 14/01/2023 19:37:59    2452445

You are possibly right nagrattan, when you look at the home games Monaghan have Armagh seemed the least likely game to take out of Clones. The beat on the street though is that the Co manager preferred Blayney as he thinks Armagh would be unfamiliar with their surroundings. Question - when would Armagh last have played a serious game in Blayney? Moving to Inniskeen isn't an option as despite what some here think it's capacity is only about 60% of Blayneys. It was full last year for the Kerry game and all their supporters came in the one car so if they need to scale up Clones the way to go

But you know what Blayney is likely big enough when all is said and done, it was big enough for Cavan and Tyrone twice in recent years More tickets will come on stream for it as time goes on, every one who wants a ticket will get one. Sat evening can be a family evening for plenty, it may be on TV (BBC?), the weather may be crap

Now if only there was a car park right outside the gates where everyone could park we'd all be happy :). What do yis all do at other matches cause venues with ample parking are like hens teeth??

TheGreatRambo (Monaghan) - Posts: 79 - 14/01/2023 20:17:49    2452449

Think people should get behind our new manager and give him a chance. He was a great servant for Monaghan and deserves his chance.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 14/01/2023 20:38:19    2452453

Replying To border Gael:  "Think people should get behind our new manager and give him a chance. He was a great servant for Monaghan and deserves his chance."
Well said, yes we all should be getting behind and giving all that's new about the County this year all the support we can . When the balls threw in I don't think anyone will care where it's being played . The same people will come late, the same people will be there in ample time.

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 15/01/2023 10:00:24    2452474

Replying To border Gael:  "Think people should get behind our new manager and give him a chance. He was a great servant for Monaghan and deserves his chance."
I think it might be a few years early for Vinny but yes we all need to turn out and get behind the set up. Was refreshing to see the effort in the 2 McKenna Cup games. Definitely some green shoots. Hopefully the 3 lost years under Banty can soon be forgotten. Should be a great atmosphere in Blaney on the 28th.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 15/01/2023 13:21:19    2452492

Replying To seamusorinn:  "I think it might be a few years early for Vinny but yes we all need to turn out and get behind the set up. Was refreshing to see the effort in the 2 McKenna Cup games. Definitely some green shoots. Hopefully the 3 lost years under Banty can soon be forgotten. Should be a great atmosphere in Blaney on the 28th."
I don't think you can post anything without slating Banty what's your obsession?

I think now is actually the right time for Vinny, we will probably be going through an experimental stage. There will be ups and downs but no better man than Vinny to keep the ship sailing. He will have full backing of team and full backing of true monaghan supporters.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 15/01/2023 18:12:11    2452567

Replying To seamusorinn:  "I think it might be a few years early for Vinny but yes we all need to turn out and get behind the set up. Was refreshing to see the effort in the 2 McKenna Cup games. Definitely some green shoots. Hopefully the 3 lost years under Banty can soon be forgotten. Should be a great atmosphere in Blaney on the 28th."
Every post you have put up on this page seamusorinn is critical of Banty,it's time you copped on your criticism of him has become an obsession and for you saying their will be great atmosphere in Blaney on the 28th I don't know about that when you can't get a ticket to go the game

Truecountysupporter (Monaghan) - Posts: 17 - 15/01/2023 19:47:05    2452600

Replying To MonaghanBoi:  "I don't think you can post anything without slating Banty what's your obsession?

I think now is actually the right time for Vinny, we will probably be going through an experimental stage. There will be ups and downs but no better man than Vinny to keep the ship sailing. He will have full backing of team and full backing of true monaghan supporters."
Do people not forget that Vinny was part of Bantys backroom team last year, he was always on Bantys shoulder giving him his take on things.

Monaghanfan123 (Monaghan) - Posts: 58 - 16/01/2023 09:46:02    2452649

Replying To Truecountysupporter:  "Hopefully the county board will have a bit of cop on and move the game to a venue that can hold the crowd. A lot of disgruntled monaghan supporters about who travelled up and down the country and can't get a ticket, time monaghan county board held their hands up and admitted their mistake and for once listen to the supporters"
I was told that it wasn't the county board, but the organizers of the league competition (Croke Park?) that set the venue's for the games. Fair few involved with the county board that are equally as annoyed with the venue, and that tickets are limited to 7000. Could easily get a few more thousand in there for people that would be willing to stand behind goals on the hill or the far embankment, but this probably wouldn't comply with some nonsense health and safety regs.

Does anyone know is the game being streamed on a GAA Go platform or the likes?

Mickod88 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 16/01/2023 11:14:17    2452665