Monaghan GAA thread

Mayo, couldn't be any tougher

222 (UK) - Posts: 691 - 23/05/2022 12:12:43    2419660

We're absolutely riddled with injuries, lads, and to key players at that. I'd have ye as warm favourites for this one.

On another note, it's a novel championship pairing given it's the first meeting between the counties, hope ye enjoy your trip to West Mayo.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 23/05/2022 13:05:03    2419679

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Mayo away isn't the worst draw. Didn't want Armagh or Tyrone, sick of the sight of them. We need a bring a huge support and the management need to learn from the Derry game. No point having Dessie Ward, one of our most creative players assigned to another marking role that other players are more suited too. We lost last year's Ulster Final and the Derry game because of this (among other reasons). Using Dessie in this way is what the opposition wants.

We're going to need a far better showing from the FF line.

I think Castlebar will suit us and Mayo don't have a great record there.

Hon da Farney!"
Mayo have never lost a home qualifier in McHale Park, so I think it is a pretty bad draw

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2380 - 23/05/2022 13:07:42    2419681

Mayo is an excellent draw.. we could have got cork, Louth or Meath and hammered them and papered over the cracks.. at least now with Mayo if we're good enough wel beat them and if not so be it…

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 23/05/2022 13:28:23    2419699

V tough draw but team needed it after poor showing v Derry. In fairness to mayo they will come out and play none of this defensive rubbish and if we are not good enough so be it. You can't ask for fairer than that.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 23/05/2022 13:36:50    2419706

You'll be well able for them

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1568 - 23/05/2022 13:57:15    2419724

Tough tough draw, but the positive is that we take out a genuine good team in the process. I'd like to hope if we do it's a solid win like Monaghan teams of old, I'd take any win but any of our big wins lately have been down to individual brilliance, i.e Jack v Dublin, great win but papered over the cracks just like a potential win v Louth or Meath could have been, but you can't have it all in sport.

I think we'll get as much out of this as we want to, we could go out and put in a poor performance like Armagh a few years back or go out and go on a run again like we did in 2018 but do we have the same motivation or drive as we did then? As others have mentioned in regard to Dessie and his role in the team, it's really important we get the selections spot on right now. I think O'Connell, unless he has injuries needs to start and even if he has a good game in half back I think McCarthy really needs to get into that forward line again. It looks like we may have to take a gamble and throw Drew in to shore up the bank line as we've been so open back there.

Mayo have a good running game with Ruane, D O'Connor, Jason Doherty, Keegan, Eoghan McLaughlin and Patrick Durcan who is very good at what he does.

In O'Donoghue, a Cillian O'Connor who has more football under the belt now and Orme they have some sharpshooters, all 3 liable to score on the turn which will offer more to their attack than Derry who I found were very effective in scoring with runs off the shoulder as opposed to a long ball in and McGuigan turning and popping it over so we're gonna see a different form of attack altogether.

Oisin Mullen and O'Hora gonna be tough tight again to Jack and Manzy but I feel it'll be more open and McHale Park and being an underdog will suit us more than Derry in the Athletic Grounds. We can certainly win this one.

Missed out on a good weekend stay away in Wexford, Waterford and Galway in 2018 so hopefully make the trip west, Love Mayo and the towns and people are great so here's hoping it's a good weekend all round

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 23/05/2022 14:18:19    2419732

Doesn't matter who we got in the draw, we're going no where so let's be done with this dire season, set up and management.
Time to appoint someone who is actually a manager that demands and deserves respect.
Time to blood more young players.
Time to stop relying on our 30 somethings who have given everything they have got.
Time to stop focusing every year on scraping by in division 1 of the league.
Time to begin transitioning.
Time to stop celebrating the nearly or jumping around like an eegit just became we managed to avoid relegation.
Time to get some pride back in the county and give the players the professional set up they deserve.....

farney_exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 71 - 23/05/2022 14:19:23    2419733

Toughest draw possible I think.
The last championship visit to the West was one of Monaghan's best performances, coming on the back of two previous very good performances in the Super 8s.
Do Monaghan have the same tactical awareness this time to outplay Mayo? Judging by the Derry game I'd doubt it.
Mayo will be strong favourites here but hoping to see Monaghan put a big match together and take that step forwards instead of endlessly cyling between being much better than the weaker teams but too easily beaten by teams who think they are going places, and see them as a good test but beatable.
That's how Mayo will view Monaghan and it's up to Monaghan to put down a marker in this game or else it's going to be a short summer. That mean defence has to return.

PolicemanFox (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 23/05/2022 14:22:08    2419735

Replying To farney_exile:  "Doesn't matter who we got in the draw, we're going no where so let's be done with this dire season, set up and management.
Time to appoint someone who is actually a manager that demands and deserves respect.
Time to stop relying on our 30 somethings who have given everything they have got.
Time to stop celebrating the nearly or jumping around like an eegit just became we managed to avoid relegation.
Time to get some pride back in the county and give the players the professional set up they deserve....."
And maybe , just maybe Time for everyone to just get behind this team in what's going to be a massive massive game for them . Opinions on manager and management should be parked aside until we finish our championship run . That's the least this group of players deserve

Positivity (Monaghan) - Posts: 9 - 23/05/2022 15:35:20    2419779

These kind of games were bantys and monaghans stock and trade years ago complete underdogs going in against hot favourites least with the bookies. Think we will get a performance but whether its good enough I'd be doubtful. Probably mayo by a couple of points and a close run thing for banty to dine out on for the next few months esp if mayo do their usual run to the semi final or final. Put it this way if monaghan are beat out the gate like kildare game in 2010 or Armagh in 2019 ended up the whole set up you would think becomes untenable.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 23/05/2022 16:48:05    2419822

Replying To farney_exile:  "Doesn't matter who we got in the draw, we're going no where so let's be done with this dire season, set up and management.
Time to get some pride back in the county and give the players the professional set up they deserve....."
Some fan you are wanting for a defeat

MalsBalls (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 23/05/2022 18:28:18    2419845

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Mayo away isn't the worst draw. Didn't want Armagh or Tyrone, sick of the sight of them. We need a bring a huge support and the management need to learn from the Derry game. No point having Dessie Ward, one of our most creative players assigned to another marking role that other players are more suited too. We lost last year's Ulster Final and the Derry game because of this (among other reasons). Using Dessie in this way is what the opposition wants.

We're going to need a far better showing from the FF line.

I think Castlebar will suit us and Mayo don't have a great record there.

Hon da Farney!"
Are you on something? Go check Mayo's home qualifier record. ONE AND DONE.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 23/05/2022 18:52:47    2419849

Spot on farney_exile. Maybe time to tip up to Glen and ask MOR to return and build a good young team over a 3 year period.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 23/05/2022 18:57:52    2419851

Replying To Positivity:  "And maybe , just maybe Time for everyone to just get behind this team in what's going to be a massive massive game for them . Opinions on manager and management should be parked aside until we finish our championship run . That's the least this group of players deserve"
Nonsense. That is only an excuse to go on to another season of eejit fist pumps after McKenna Cup and relegation victories. If defeat in Mayo can speed up the release of Monaghan football from the Circus Performers then bring it on.

seamusorinn (USA) - Posts: 295 - 23/05/2022 19:02:04    2419852

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Mayo have never lost a home qualifier in McHale Park, so I think it is a pretty bad draw"
Ok,but who have they beaten? Cork in extra time, limped past Fermanagh I recall and Armagh. Is there a single qualifier win that they shouldn't have won? Monaghan is,by a country mile, the hardest test they've ever had in qualifiers.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 23/05/2022 20:11:04    2419860

Is it not time to support our players and managers. Is it not time to be positive. Everyone can look at the negatives but very few will look at the positives and that's the problem with a lot on this forum. I think managing to avoid relegation deserves celebrating. Dont drink with the big dogs if your going to **** like a pup. I don't believe pride ever left our county team, we had a good support against Derry, only thing is there support belived in there players and managers when our supporters were more worried about the manager underperforming.

I don't fear Mayo as much as I did Derry. Our biggest strength is intensity and hardwork. Derry beat us on these aspects whereas I don't think Mayo will. Mayo were always more physical and bigger than us, this year not so much. There middle 8 will bring a lot of pace like Derry but if we play the right players in the right position we could overpower them. Monaghan will gain the underdog title for this match and we love to hear nothing better. In my eyes this could be the last match for our mgt so I believe they will give 110% to get over the line.

On another note, Cavan played Mayo in a friendly Saturday gone by. Hopefully Vinny and Marty have a good sit down and a chat.

MonaghanBoi (Monaghan) - Posts: 55 - 23/05/2022 21:02:16    2419864

Replying To seamusorinn:  "Nonsense. That is only an excuse to go on to another season of eejit fist pumps after McKenna Cup and relegation victories. If defeat in Mayo can speed up the release of Monaghan football from the Circus Performers then bring it on."
It's not going to happen, regardless. If we get thumped by 30 points in Mayo, Banty will still be in charge next year. He will not be removed by the CB.

moodoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 441 - 24/05/2022 09:38:48    2419879

Time to win 50 All-Irelands in a row!!!
There was mistakes made in the Derry match, there is no doubt about that.. but the hope is that the mistakes are learned from.. lets see what happens against Mayo, We are not out of the championship yet. when I go to a match, I stay to the end even if my team are losing by 20 points. I am not leaving at half time..
All the negative talk about the team\management can be put on the backboiler until the end of the championship.
This is a good draw for the team.. it will show if they are contenders or not..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 24/05/2022 09:55:46    2419882

Tickets availabl now lads. Safe travelling.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 24/05/2022 10:29:47    2419892