Dublin GAA thread

Replying To Fionn:  "Sssssssshhhhh ;o)

Murch to come back also..... double Ssssshhhh ;o)"

Brian Howard did the business

What a baller, I'd have up right up there.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2023 11:15:16    2498987

Replying To jimbodub:  ":)

Brian Howard did the business

What a baller, I'd have up right up there."
He was superb when he got back up to speed after his return.

I rate him highly tbh.

Defending, attacking, work rate, athleticism, skill, in-game knowledge - he has it all

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 04/08/2023 11:28:06    2498992

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would like to see that from play stat if the "advanced mark" was taken out - that's not scoring from play in my book - even if its counted as."
I treat a mark as a score from play. You can score a free by strolling up after a colleague has been fouled and earned the free, but a mark in general has to be earned by the scorer. For sure some of them are fairly soft marks when the players catch the ball in their chest with nobody nearby, But some "normal" points from play can be soft too when a player receives the final pass close to goal while unmarked due to overlaps having being created.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 982 - 04/08/2023 11:41:03    2498995

Replying To Fionn:  "He was superb when he got back up to speed after his return.

I rate him highly tbh.

Defending, attacking, work rate, athleticism, skill, in-game knowledge - he has it all"
It's the likes of him that will continue the fight.

But you never know, the lads may prefer a more rounded 10 ;)

Although let's be honest, it takes a huge amount to put in back to backs.

Don't see it, so just making sure to take this one all in. Herself is sick of me on YouTube this week after dinner, watched every podcast, every clip.. haha

Brilliant one with Paddy Andrews and James O'Donoghue just after the game, Paddy full of emotion watching his former team mates still on the pitch.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2023 12:22:28    2499004

Replying To Fionn:  "He was superb when he got back up to speed after his return.

I rate him highly tbh.

Defending, attacking, work rate, athleticism, skill, in-game knowledge - he has it all"
Indeed he does , agreed 100%

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 04/08/2023 12:23:46    2499005

Replying To jimbodub:  "It's the likes of him that will continue the fight.

But you never know, the lads may prefer a more rounded 10 ;)

Although let's be honest, it takes a huge amount to put in back to backs.

Don't see it, so just making sure to take this one all in. Herself is sick of me on YouTube this week after dinner, watched every podcast, every clip.. haha

Brilliant one with Paddy Andrews and James O'Donoghue just after the game, Paddy full of emotion watching his former team mates still on the pitch."
Yes, saw that one also.
Great to see what it meant to Paddy as an ex player also.

I know we have all already said it many times - but this one really did feel extra special.

As for Back2Back next year - please dont jinx it... lol ;o)

Look a couple might call it a day but Evan and David will have learned a hell of a lot from Stephen being there this year.

Collie, Cormac and Lee really stepped up to the plate this season.

Bugler, Lahiff, McMahon, McGarry, Murphy, O'Dell. O'Gara, Newcombe and Paddy Small will all improve after this also.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 04/08/2023 13:55:13    2499032

Replying To superbluedub:  "Indeed he does , agreed 100%"
And only 26..... future captain imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 04/08/2023 13:57:10    2499034

Replying To anotheralias:  "I treat a mark as a score from play. You can score a free by strolling up after a colleague has been fouled and earned the free, but a mark in general has to be earned by the scorer. For sure some of them are fairly soft marks when the players catch the ball in their chest with nobody nearby, But some "normal" points from play can be soft too when a player receives the final pass close to goal while unmarked due to overlaps having being created."
It is interesting that teams appear to be abandoning it. In fairness it can be an award for a good high take or catch under pressure but on balance it slows the game up. There were a fair few examples this year when you'd be thinking that had a lad gone for broke rather than a mark that there would have been a goal or at very least penalty or free.

Con was clearly under instructions to do the latter last Sunday. May have cost him 2 points but he did the right thing. There were a few on Hill nearly had conniptions when CK took one way out the field as Dublin were pressing in last ten!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 04/08/2023 14:31:16    2499042

Replying To Fionn:  "Yes, saw that one also.
Great to see what it meant to Paddy as an ex player also.

I know we have all already said it many times - but this one really did feel extra special.

As for Back2Back next year - please dont jinx it... lol ;o)

Look a couple might call it a day but Evan and David will have learned a hell of a lot from Stephen being there this year.

Collie, Cormac and Lee really stepped up to the plate this season.

Bugler, Lahiff, McMahon, McGarry, Murphy, O'Dell. O'Gara, Newcombe and Paddy Small will all improve after this also."
That's all we can hope for.. keep on fighting

Plenty of lads there that will make sure of it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2023 14:58:03    2499049

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Jack gets an unfair press. He is what you see, He obviously takes defeat badly and while he doesn't hide it i can't honestly say I've ever seen him do or say anything that might be construed as disrespectful of the opposition. Even his commiseration with Kilkenny last year was interpreted by some who know neither as some sort of insult. You can't win!

I'm sure at the end of the day he hates being beaten by Dublin, just as Heffo hated being beaten by Kerry. It hurts, and it should, and it shows, I was listening to him doing an interview on RnaG a week or so before the match and he was clearly just as infused with the history and lore or the rivalry as anyone else. He's not going to be dancing around with a stupid smile on his face after losing one!"
Nice comments Barney and yes Jack hates losing but gas massive respect for other county players. I saw him going around looking to find Dublin players to congratulate them.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 04/08/2023 15:18:39    2499055

Replying To jimbodub:  "That's all we can hope for.. keep on fighting

Plenty of lads there that will make sure of it."
Not much coming from the camp so far but should imagine that info will start drip feeding out over next week or two. I think if I was in the 9 medal club I'd give it one more push to try to make 10. I truly hope that Jack and Paul remain on and that rumours of Ciaran jacking it are wholly false. We have a good young base building with Fento, Howard, Smalls, Scully, Ciaran giving us a great blend. Fingers crossed.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 04/08/2023 18:28:14    2499079

Replying To Joxer:  "Not much coming from the camp so far but should imagine that info will start drip feeding out over next week or two. I think if I was in the 9 medal club I'd give it one more push to try to make 10. I truly hope that Jack and Paul remain on and that rumours of Ciaran jacking it are wholly false. We have a good young base building with Fento, Howard, Smalls, Scully, Ciaran giving us a great blend. Fingers crossed."
You could be right Joxer and dont forget some on 8 might want to push for 9.
We will find out in due course.

Hopefully Jamesie stays on - but Deano will defo be gone I reckon.
But the majority will hopefully go again next year....

Nice to see ex Kerry players not whinge about the referee, especially Tomas O Sé. Fair play.
Online a lot of kerry fans still moaning about Gough, I actually thought overall he had a very good game.

Look, Kerry were beaten by the better team, so some are looking for excuses or trying to knock the win in some shape or form, or just trying to ease the pain of the defeat by suggesting the ref had a bad game. But Gough is one of the best ref we have, so to cherry pick one or 2 incidents is infantile tbh, Will they still be talking about him until next year - probably.
It is their way of dealing with this hard to take defeat - so each to their own I suppose.
#LETITGO...

Anyway, it wont be long before we are immersed in the Club Championship.
So lots more football & hurling to go to and watch over the next few months.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 05/08/2023 12:32:56    2499114

Another big Final to look forward to next weekend.

Has the makings of a cracker also.

Looking forward to heading back to Croker for it.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 05/08/2023 12:36:04    2499115

Replying To Joxer:  "Not much coming from the camp so far but should imagine that info will start drip feeding out over next week or two. I think if I was in the 9 medal club I'd give it one more push to try to make 10. I truly hope that Jack and Paul remain on and that rumours of Ciaran jacking it are wholly false. We have a good young base building with Fento, Howard, Smalls, Scully, Ciaran giving us a great blend. Fingers crossed."
Add in Lee Gannon. A good footballer. The Dubs are going nowhere even if there are a few retirements. I wonder what Cluxton will do. 41 years but excellent last Sunday and all championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2402 - 05/08/2023 14:47:40    2499137

Dubs are going nowhere for sure

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 06/08/2023 15:47:59    2499254

Massive game for the Jackie's on Sunday.

Should be a cracker. Kerry have already beaten us this year and both teams have been the best in the Championship by a distance this season.

Hopefully a large turnout for all the ladies finals on Sunday

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4229 - 12/08/2023 02:20:20    2500138

Replying To Fionn:  "Massive game for the Jackie's on Sunday.

Should be a cracker. Kerry have already beaten us this year and both teams have been the best in the Championship by a distance this season.

Hopefully a large turnout for all the ladies finals on Sunday"
Should be classic. Not unlike the mens in that Kerry are clearly the coming team while Dublin are attempting to mix the old and new after a few years dropping back.

Dublin were very impressive against cork who were clearly expecting a more physical battle but Dublin just destroyed them for pace and accuracy. Kerry beat Dublin in a real dogfight in Parnell and while it came at a stage where neither were close to full tuning, I think that might stand to the Kerry girls. Dublin backed in to 4/9 which I really can't see basis for.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3516 - 12/08/2023 09:31:39    2500147

I was at the Kerry Dublin game in Parnell Park and it was a very exciting hard fought game. Kerry just about edged it but now with the Kerry Captain missing through cruciate injury I think Dublin have a slight edge
Hopefully a good game and hopefully weather OK. Amazing it's the first time ever Dublin and Kerry have met in an All ireland ladies final. Looking forward to it and I will be there. Ladies football has gone from strength to strength over the years and they have brilliant rules like the timekeeping and the pick up. People say allowing the girls pick the ball off the ground gets rid of a great skill. There s not much skill putting toe to the ball (and alot just pretend anyway). Also if running at pace it's still quicker to chop the ball up to your hands rather than bend down so that skill would still be used. Timekeeping is brilliant also. Men should take note! Best of luck to all 6 teams tomorrow.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3907 - 12/08/2023 20:35:32    2500235

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I was at the Kerry Dublin game in Parnell Park and it was a very exciting hard fought game. Kerry just about edged it but now with the Kerry Captain missing through cruciate injury I think Dublin have a slight edge
Hopefully a good game and hopefully weather OK. Amazing it's the first time ever Dublin and Kerry have met in an All ireland ladies final. Looking forward to it and I will be there. Ladies football has gone from strength to strength over the years and they have brilliant rules like the timekeeping and the pick up. People say allowing the girls pick the ball off the ground gets rid of a great skill. There s not much skill putting toe to the ball (and alot just pretend anyway). Also if running at pace it's still quicker to chop the ball up to your hands rather than bend down so that skill would still be used. Timekeeping is brilliant also. Men should take note! Best of luck to all 6 teams tomorrow."
Big issue with the pick-up straight off the ground is head impacts.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 887 - 13/08/2023 01:10:18    2500264

Should be a great game, Kerry had a tough game vs Meath, but it should be a bumper crowd, nice day, great atmosphere, looking forward to it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 13/08/2023 10:13:19    2500276