Dublin GAA thread

Surprised a Dublin GAA thread has not been created yet, since the HS revamp - so here goes.....

Hopefully 2022 sees the Dubs getting back to the high levels of performance as during the past decade.
8 All Ireland wins in 10 years and the 6 in a Row - remarkable achievements.

We all know this year there was a lot going on behind the scenes, so it was great to see All the lads enjoying themselves at PA's wedding, inc Clucko, Jack and Paul M.
Looked like any covid related arguments were firmly put behind them....

Anyway, hope to see a lot of the previously regular Dublin posters back on here again in 2022.

Until then Atha Cliath Abú. Nollaig Shona agus Athbhliain daoibh go léir.

Up the Du6s...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 16/12/2021 09:06:35    2392978

Replying To Fionn:  "Surprised a Dublin GAA thread has not been created yet, since the HS revamp - so here goes.....

Hopefully 2022 sees the Dubs getting back to the high levels of performance as during the past decade.

We all know this year there was a lot going on behind the scenes, so it was great to see All the lads enjoying themselves at PA's wedding, inc Clucko, Jack and Paul M.

Anyway, hope to see a lot of the previously regular Dublin posters back on here again in 2022.

Up the Du6s...! "
Well said Fionn, we still have the nucleus of a great team and no doubt the lads will be out to put right the wrongs of this year, roll on 2022' the year of the Dubs, all the best to you and yours !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 16/12/2021 15:25:40    2393028

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "Surprised a Dublin GAA thread has not been created yet, since the HS revamp - so here goes.....

Up the Du6s...! "
Well said Fionn, we still have the nucleus of a great team and no doubt the lads will be out to put right the wrongs of this year, roll on 2022' the year of the Dubs, all the best to you and yours !"
Allot of question marks surround this dublin team heading into 2022, they be allot of pressure on dessies shoulders but you'd still have to make them favourites just about, happy Christmas to all our neighbours in dublin.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 17/12/2021 09:36:52    2393059

Any truth in the rumours of Fenton taking a year out? These lads owe the game absolutely nothing but its a shame Mannion and McCaffrey seem to have finished up also.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 17/12/2021 10:58:21    2393072

https://twitter.com/i/status/1471891691065905153

Super clip of him above.

Philly was some player and warrior for the Dubs.

8 All Ireland Medals
12 Leinster Championship Medals
5 National League Medals
2 All Stars
Nominated for Player of the Year

2 Dublin SFC Medals
1 Leinster Club Medal

2 Sigerson Medals

Will always be remembered as a vital part of this Du6s Golden Generation.

Took no prisoners on the pitch - even against his county team mates when playing club football for BK... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 17/12/2021 19:48:57    2393120

Replying To Fionn:  "https://twitter.com/i/status/1471891691065905153

Super clip of him above.

Philly was some player and warrior for the Dubs.

8 All Ireland Medals
12 Leinster Championship Medals
5 National League Medals
2 All Stars
Nominated for Player of the Year

2 Dublin SFC Medals
1 Leinster Club Medal

2 Sigerson Medals

Will always be remembered as a vital part of this Du6s Golden Generation.

Took no prisoners on the pitch - even against his county team mates when playing club football for BK... ;o)"
Great post Fionn

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/12/2021 09:35:12    2393130

The Ballymun/Vinnies clashes 6/7 years ago were worth seeing just for the Philly/Dermo showdown :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2550 - 18/12/2021 10:28:25    2393131

Enjoy the retirement Philly, what a career and 8 Celtic crosses in his back pocket, gave is some great days entertainment, Dublin will look a lot different next year.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 18/12/2021 11:31:06    2393134

Crokes got out of jail today. It was like watching one of those maiden hurdles where the long shot takes a 20 length lead and the favourite keeps clipping the top and jumping sideways!

Fair play to Portarlington, they nearly hung on but Crokes could have won that by 7/8 or more if they hadn't been so wayward in shooting. They'd be average enough without Mannion.

Still, they're very hard to beat no matter how badly they play so you'd still fancy them to win Leinster and maybe even get to the final.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2550 - 18/12/2021 20:35:40    2393215

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Crokes got out of jail today. It was like watching one of those maiden hurdles where the long shot takes a 20 length lead and the favourite keeps clipping the top and jumping sideways!

Fair play to Portarlington, they nearly hung on but Crokes could have won that by 7/8 or more if they hadn't been so wayward in shooting. They'd be average enough without Mannion.

Still, they're very hard to beat no matter how badly they play so you'd still fancy them to win Leinster and maybe even get to the final."
Crokes have been very average v Wolf Tones of Meath, and again tonight.

The steamrolled over Boden, but since then they have not been great at all.

They will need to improve greatly to beat Naas in the Leinster Final, imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 18/12/2021 21:49:37    2393227

Replying To Fionn:  "Crokes have been very average v Wolf Tones of Meath, and again tonight.

The steamrolled over Boden, but since then they have not been great at all.

They will need to improve greatly to beat Naas in the Leinster Final, imo."
Watched both games and thought the second was the better one, although the first was most exciting to watch. Having said that, Naas have the sort of self belief and tenacity and the ability to get vital scores that will make them a difficult proposition for anyone.

Be interesting to see two teams with a habit of leaving it late going head to head!

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2550 - 19/12/2021 11:27:51    2393241

Another warrior hangs up his shield.

This one stings, Philly. The reinforced. Steel of that great Dublin team. The man you want to go over the top by your side.

From the early days we're he used to drive me crackers, you look back at turning points in careers and even for Dublin GAA, for me it was that save on the goalie against Armagh, think it was 2010 after surviving the Giller cull. He grew from there, came on in the final early enough in 11 if my memory is right, but it was under Gavin he really took off.

The lazy media label was always of a hard man and perhaps a judgement made on his background and club, we see it a bit with JSmall as well. But he was a quality player from 2013 to 2016, he was terrific, he harnessed and developed every bit of potential in him, to be come top player, he retried the gooch, who knew it was time to call it a day trying to catch Philly heels around Croke Park. He developed to the extent that he'd chip in with crucial points and scores and a key line breaker coming from deep.

In a team leaders, he was a leader, when Rory went on his jollies he and Jamsie stepped up, when we were supposedly susceptible under the high ball, going to beast the big lads from Mayo, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone, simples. He loved competition, teams were nervous of him and I think he and Dermo, how they played scared the life out of teams, no fear, zero respect, they didn't care who they played, they just wanted to destroy you.

Never more at home the playing for Kickhams and Kickhams is so much of his story, we know the adversity he's lived through, we know the great work he dioes, a credit.

He retires as one of the most decorated players of all time, incredible career and meddle haul and key to almost all.

He will be adhered by Dubs and derided by the culchie country, Philly wouldn't have it any other way and we wouldn't have him any other way.

He will be remembered and revered wherever Sky Blue is worn, thanks for everything Philly, you owe Dublin nothing.

Legend.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/12/2021 15:09:05    2393333

Replying To TheUsername:  "Another warrior hangs up his shield.

This one stings, Philly. The reinforced. Steel of that great Dublin team. The man you want to go over the top by your side.

From the early days we're he used to drive me crackers, you look back at turning points in careers and even for Dublin GAA, for me it was that save on the goalie against Armagh, think it was 2010 after surviving the Giller cull. He grew from there, came on in the final early enough in 11 if my memory is right, but it was under Gavin he really took off.

The lazy media label was always of a hard man and perhaps a judgement made on his background and club, we see it a bit with JSmall as well. But he was a quality player from 2013 to 2016, he was terrific, he harnessed and developed every bit of potential in him, to be come top player, he retried the gooch, who knew it was time to call it a day trying to catch Philly heels around Croke Park. He developed to the extent that he'd chip in with crucial points and scores and a key line breaker coming from deep.

In a team leaders, he was a leader, when Rory went on his jollies he and Jamsie stepped up, when we were supposedly susceptible under the high ball, going to beast the big lads from Mayo, Kerry, Donegal and Tyrone, simples. He loved competition, teams were nervous of him and I think he and Dermo, how they played scared the life out of teams, no fear, zero respect, they didn't care who they played, they just wanted to destroy you.

Never more at home the playing for Kickhams and Kickhams is so much of his story, we know the adversity he's lived through, we know the great work he dioes, a credit.

He retires as one of the most decorated players of all time, incredible career and meddle haul and key to almost all.

He will be adhered by Dubs and derided by the culchie country, Philly wouldn't have it any other way and we wouldn't have him any other way.

He will be remembered and revered wherever Sky Blue is worn, thanks for everything Philly, you owe Dublin nothing.

Legend."
For someone giving out about them, you've thrown out a few lazy labels yourself there.
He's not derided by the 'culchie country', whatever that is. He's the type of player who'll always have some people knocking him, as he played on the edge. The likes of Ryan McMenamin and Paul Galvin had got plenty criticism themselves for their style of play.
I've always been a big fan of his. He never shirked a challenge and never wilted in the heat of battle. He's a player we'd have loved to have had in our own full-back line. His point in the 2015 final was a real signature of how good he was going forward too.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 20/12/2021 21:35:15    2393372

Replying To WanPintWin:  "For someone giving out about them, you've thrown out a few lazy labels yourself there.
He's not derided by the 'culchie country', whatever that is. He's the type of player who'll always have some people knocking him, as he played on the edge. The likes of Ryan McMenamin and Paul Galvin had got plenty criticism themselves for their style of play.
I've always been a big fan of his. He never shirked a challenge and never wilted in the heat of battle. He's a player we'd have loved to have had in our own full-back line. His point in the 2015 final was a real signature of how good he was going forward too."
A term of affection rather than derision or maybe more of catchall, apologies if offence was caused! I liken it to Jackeen personally that doesn't offend me, but can understand if people dont like the reference to culchie, no offence intended. Happy Xmas to you!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 21/12/2021 11:30:33    2393386

Was always a huge fan of his.played on the edge maybe beyond at times but I always got the impression he was enjoying himself..wishing him all the very best in retirement and you will be missed..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 21/12/2021 14:13:25    2393404

Best of luck Philly, you won't be forgotten, Dublin legend!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 21/12/2021 16:10:25    2393421

https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dublins-2022-allianz-league-fixtures-confirmed

A shortened version, with Dublin's league fixtures after Xmas.

Footballers have 4 away games, with 3 in Croker.
Hurlers have 3 away games, with 2 in Parnell Park.

Dublin footballers playing Armagh, Mayo & Donegal in Croker.
Away to Kerry, Kildare, Tyrone & Monaghan.

Dublin hurlers playing Waterford & Kilkenny in the Neller.
Away to Antrim, Tipp & Laois.

With the way Covid is going - we will be lucky to get in to any of the games, unfortunately.... :o(

Fingers crossed it all clears up a bit.....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 21/12/2021 18:39:33    2393431

Replying To Fionn:  "https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dublins-2022-allianz-league-fixtures-confirmed

With the way Covid is going - we will be lucky to get in to any of the games, unfortunately.... :o(

Fingers crossed it all clears up a bit....."
Hopefully we get there pal, isnt it 5k limit until the end of January so that will account for Armagh game. Really looking forward to that we havent played Armagh in a game in anger in a long time.

Trip to Kerry looks is always good, craic, home from home in Healy and trek up the hill in Clones, we owe them one down there.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/12/2021 11:12:47    2393468

Replying To Fionn:  "https://www.dublingaa.ie/news/dublins-2022-allianz-league-fixtures-confirmed

Fingers crossed it all clears up a bit....."
Banning people from standing in the open air watching hurling or horses in January is peak idiocy, but that's the way it is going to be by the looks of things.

Hopefully, Mattie will try and shake things up a bit after last two years. Way too predictable. There's a few lads who put their hands up in the championship who should be given a chance. I'd like to see Currie given a shot in the sort of role he played for Na Fianna for example.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2550 - 22/12/2021 14:12:58    2393488

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Banning people from standing in the open air watching hurling or horses in January is peak idiocy, but that's the way it is going to be by the looks of things.

Hopefully, Mattie will try and shake things up a bit after last two years. Way too predictable. There's a few lads who put their hands up in the championship who should be given a chance. I'd like to see Currie given a shot in the sort of role he played for Na Fianna for example."
A bit mad alright but if you look at what is happening across the water, it is more than likely that our Gov will follow suit... :o(

Defo time for Mattie to get our Hurlers to the next level.
We are very predictable as you say, but we have some very skilled hurlers in our panel, and coming through from our U21 teams. A few tweaks here and there might work wonders.
Following our hurlers can be so frustrating - very seldom keep the momentum of a good performance with consecutive wins.
I actually think quite a bit of it is in the heads of the players when playing against a Top 4 team, in a match of substance. Our big victories are not frequent enough. Hopefully this changes sooner rather than later.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 22/12/2021 15:25:54    2393494