Daveboy I'm as limerick as you..however it's getting harder to defend what certain players have done in the past few years..when kk were at there best very few of there players did anything stupid or silly in games..I did lister to tommy walsh Monday night and he maintains reffing has completely changed...I want to see the officials on sideline and at the post getting involved more,they are all wired up now and it can be done very easy..there are fellas on all teams who aren't saints and push things as far as possible,as long as they are left do this then it will continue and more than likely get worse..think championship will be more ferocious than it has been in a long time and I fear the number of cards that will be given out.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2570 - 09/03/2022 13:30:42 2404612 Link 0 |
Not defending what they're doing just putting my opinion as to why. Kiely and kinnerk will pick the players they feel will do the job for limerick in the championship and will take everything into account.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2022 14:01:44 2404624 Link 0 |
I'd say that's been going on in all sports including hurling for a good while now. As regards the physical battles and hits, strikes and blocking often when the ball was up the other end of the pitch it's been going on in hurling since there was organised hurling. I'm sure like me you have read numerous player biographies from the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s and if anything the advent of tv has made the game alot cleaner than ever it was. The only thing I find really annoying which you wont read about happening in the golden years of hurling is simulation. If a lad threw himself to the floor during the 50s hed probably be getting it from his own teammates never mind their opponents, supporters and the press.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16508 - 09/03/2022 14:06:11 2404625 Link 0 |
I'd say that's been going on in all sports including hurling for a good while now. As regards the physical battles and hits, strikes and blocking often when the ball was up the other end of the pitch it's been going on in hurling since there was organised hurling. I'm sure like me you have read numerous player biographies from the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s and if anything the advent of tv has made the game alot cleaner than ever it was. The only thing I find really annoying which you wont read about happening in the golden years of hurling is simulation. If a lad threw himself to the floor during the 50s hed probably be getting it from his own teammates never mind their opponents, supporters and the press.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16508 - 09/03/2022 14:06:29 2404626 Link 0 |
Viking I'm in agreement as regards simulation..it's horrible in the game now..players getting slaps of a hand or shoulder into midriff,down on the ground ,helmet off,holding their heads..it's happening with every county..it's very difficult for a ref in this situation due to the danger of a possible serious neck or head injury..most players who end up rolling around usually get up and play on after this..again we have officials are wired up,surely they could tell a ref about such incidents.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2570 - 09/03/2022 14:32:13 2404631 Link 0 |
The winding up of Austin Gleeson this year if off the charts. Knowing he may react and a chance to get him sent off. Of course it is nothing new. Mullane was targeted for it and a player admitted it was discussed in their dressing home. The only thing was it back fired and the 14 men won. Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3127 - 09/03/2022 14:56:52 2404635 Link 0 |
I think its time Congress looked at video analysis mid game
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2022 15:25:56 2404642 Link 0 |
That is the point Viking66 it has to be regarded by teammates and managers as unethical and not acceptable. There can't be rules made for every non wanted trend. On the flip side of it there has been posters on here who accuse players of it to justify complaining about calling of dangerous play. Like hitting to the head. Kieran Bennett took a shot to the head knocking his strap tied helmet off last Sunday and was genuinely hurt. The ones that annoy me is the guy holding his face and replay shows he was not even touched. All team including my own are doing assimilation.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3127 - 09/03/2022 18:26:27 2404676 Link 0 |
That day proved that the best way to shut these fellas up is on the scoreboard.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2419 - 09/03/2022 18:29:36 2404678 Link 0 |
The sad fact was that Waterford never tried to get that red card rescinded. I know it was the RIGHT Thing to do, but all the major counties would have moved mountains and would have probably succeeded in getting their man back on.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 10/03/2022 07:36:19 2404706 Link 0 |
Well big Full Forwards driving man and ball into the net was a feature of the game for decades, until Nex Rea hit Thurles on a glorious Sunday in 73 and perfectly legally repeatedly buried the Tipp goalie in the back of the net. The square ball rule was promptly introduced As we can see from Rugby ever tittle tattle on the field can now be picked up on camera.So maybe it is time to put the behavior of these hairos on view in the same way everybody else's conduct is being put under the microscope. After All it was obviously video evidence that got a Waterford player put off at half time last year.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 10/03/2022 08:08:04 2404711 Link 0 |
But should Conor McDonald have to put with this, when there are umpires often standing feet away and can see what is going on . Why are the likes of you approving of a talented player being blackguarded. Do we want to see players getting away with negative tactics all day long or would we not far prefer to see exceptional of players like the Gorey man entertain us with the full range of their talents. By all means contest the ball fair but when people are hauled, dragged and even caught by the the testicles, that carry on needs to be called out also.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 10/03/2022 10:08:30 2404719 Link 1 |
As regards the incident last year, Gullane would have been put off if Barrett had not made such a four case meal of the incident' rolling around the ground like a decapitated duck. If he did that years ago the whole country, and especially his own team mates, would have laughing at him.' Barrett's role in getting Ritchie Hogan put off two years earlier may have also been a factor. Anyway if Gullane had gone, Barrett himself would have walked himself for the dirty stroke he drew across Hegarty's hand a few minutes later when he was clean through on goal. In fairness to Hegarty he just got on with the game. Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 10/03/2022 10:17:55 2404722 Link 1 |
I think the point is getting lost here..... Conor MacDonald does get dragged and hassled under a high ball as much as any player playing the game, it is a thin line between what is a free and what is a fair contest and forwards get away with it a bit too. He gets the odd free and generally gets between 3 and 4 points from play in every game, a decent return. What he doesn't do is retaliate and swing at lads heads with the hurl, jeopardising your team and the safety of your opponent. If you think that's an acceptable response to being manhandled then we are in complete disagreement.
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 10/03/2022 11:06:40 2404736 Link 0 |
You just can't seem to let it go Larry. I hope it doesn't keep you awake too much. I wish the likes of wexford/dublin all the best in the summer and hope not to see a dirty stroke pulled from now till July 17th. Ill reconvene after Easter Sunday. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 10/03/2022 12:10:35 2404758 Link 1 |
I think the comical attempts to defend Gillane here haven't helped, weather ye like or not he has proven himself to be a player who is more likely to lash out than other forwards, yes he gets targeted but marquee forwards in all counties get targeted weather we like it or not, this isn't some form of begrudgery etc. facts are in the last 12 months Flanagan has 2 reds and Gillane got 1 and both men should have seen the line in the Munster final on top of that.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/03/2022 12:36:22 2404760 Link 1 |
It's the flat out defence from "hurling" men that shock me to be honest. Instead of debating or acknowledging it all ye do defend , deflect, ignore. I think that attitude will get ye in the long run!! CTGAA10 at lease could debate the point in fairness to him. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 10/03/2022 13:24:35 2404770 Link 0 |
I'd love to debate hurling issues, but neither with Wexford nor Limerick people. I'd like to do it with KK or Tipp folk, but there seems to be only one Tipp fella on HS and he admittedly knows his stuff, and also only one cat who happens to be more clown than cat.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 10/03/2022 13:44:11 2404776 Link 2 |
You just like a softer type of hurling than us Wexico. This is limerick. We like it physical and on the edge. It's abit of a macho sporting county. The 30's team were a savagely physical bunch. Young Munsters ,Shannon, Garryowen...all play a hard brand of rugby.. yeah even Garryown the fancy Dan's can mix it. I dont agree that Flanagan deserved a red in the Munster final last year. He put Maher on his ass..so what...play away bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 10/03/2022 14:37:30 2404787 Link 0 |
The opponent loses his right to any 'safety' as soon as he starts swinging out of people. It's not a graduated response ...or it shouldn't be. It's an Irish problem. Remember the aussie rules and the Irish lads would do foot trips and stuff and the Aussies would retaliate by boxing them...Well that's kinda how it is in Limerick in sports. I am 100% behind that . Its easy to stop. Don't be sneaky ,don't hang out of guys ect. You do and you get a box.
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 10/03/2022 14:42:39 2404788 Link 0 |