As a starting point, I'm really disappointed that the Limerick forum got wrapped into a national one and I've stayed off the forum as a result. I enjoyed the banter between the locals. I'm not terribly interested in the external view which is increasingly hostile to Limerick because we've had success in recent years. It's a bit like what happened with Clare in the late 1990's. Everyone likes you when you're losing. That particularly applied to the Cork contingent who really struggle with losing to Limerick because they're not used to it.
It's a challenging league campaign for Limerick so far from a number of perspectives.
The real standout aspect of last year is that Limerick timed their run to peak in the All Ireland series. They were bang average in the league and early stages of the championship last year but when they hit top form - they were breath taking. I reckon that JK and his background team are hoping to deliver a similar run this year balancing down time and physical preparation in order to be as efficient as possible bearing in mind that this is now a settled team with the majority of the players now with 5 years of intercounty experience. They're not a bunch of kids anymore. Fine tuning like this could leave us very exposed at the preliminary stages of the championship and April 17th is approaching fast. Bottom line is that management will be with either geniuses or idiots depending on if they win or not which is always the case anyway. I guess the key thing is that Limerick are planning to win an All-Ireland - not just a match in Cork in mid April and that approach brings an element of risk. Remember Tipp got beat by Cork a few years ago in the first round and won the All Ireland afterwards. From watching the games so far, it's obvious that the players are not tuned in. The amount of mishandling is very high and they look leggy particularly late in games. Also, we've gone from scoring for fun in 2022 to the lowest scoring team across both 1A and 1B so far in 2023. That's a dramatic decline in scoring rate. I guess some is coming from the reality that everyone is playing a sweeper against us but it's mostly because we're struggling to play good hurling which will be fixed. I also see a lot of comments about depth in the squad which I reckon is overstated. Ritchie English is having an outstanding league and I'm delighted to see Mike Casey back on the fold which gives us good cover in the backs. I think that Dan needs to step up as he's had some difficulties in the early going. Cathal O'Neill has started every league game and is progressively playing better every day. I thought he was excellent against Galway in particular. You'd like to see guys like Pat Ryan, David Reidy, Conor Boylan and Robbie Hanley play better but they're not doing worst than the established starters so I guess the underlying issues are blunting everyone. That's apart from Nash, Byrnes (my favorite Limerick hurler), and Declan Hannon who have all done consistently well so far. The concerns about competition for places has to be mitigated by the reality that any player trying to break through is competing for a place against a established All Star player so it's really tough. I think Adam English is the real deal. He might not start games this year but I'm hopeful that he'll finish a lot of them. He's point against Clare was an absolute beauty. There's a lot of talk about hand passing and rucks at the moment. Some people think that these are key elements to Limerick success and want changes to nullify it. I'd be very relaxed about forcing hurling back to the 1990's man on man approach because it would just amplify the athletic advantage that Limerick possess with players of the sheer size of Hegarty, Hayes and WOD down the middle. You could put those lads into a rugby pack and they'd look at home. Final comment is that JK needs to decide does he stick with the 2022 formula (minus Peter Casey) or does he twist and give the opposition a different look?. Every other manager has Limerick inside his head all winter. Certainly Cork have though of little else and came to Limerick with a detailed battle plan to deal with specific players and patterns of play. I'm sure that PK was taking notes. I'd be intrigued as to how would they cope if they walk out on April 17th and find Ritchie English at corner back, Nash at wing back, Hayes in midfield, O'Neill at 10 and Gearoid at 14 with Flanagan and Gillane wide in the corners. Maybe it's time to tweak the system with a few bombs in on top of Gearoid and whatever turkey is picked to play full back on the day and let chaos reign in the Cork full back line in a totally different way to which Limerick pulled them apart in the All Ireland final? It's just a thought. Cork have not had a full back that they can reply on in over 15 years and plenty of false dawns in the interim. They know that they have to nail that position.
Anyway - Keep the Faith. JK and PK know what they're doing and we'll be grand. The one county that I'm watching keenly is Waterford and if they get beyond us this year - I won't begrudge them (too much).
Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 10/03/2022 15:33:21
Replying To foreveryoung: "I'd love to debate hurling issues, but neither with Wexford nor Limerick people. I'd like to do it with KK or Tipp folk, but there seems to be only one Tipp fella on HS and he admittedly knows his stuff, and also only one cat who happens to be more clown than cat." Cockney cat is a fairly knowledgable lad. There were a few other Kilkenny folk on this too but they havent posted since the forum got reorganised. Tiobraid is a knowledgeable fella also. If you want to debate with Tipp and Kilkenny lads why are you posting on this forum?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 10/03/2022 15:44:16
Replying To bloodyban: "You just like a softer type of hurling than us Wexico. This is limerick. We like it physical and on the edge. It's abit of a macho sporting county. The 30's team were a savagely physical bunch. Young Munsters ,Shannon, Garryowen...all play a hard brand of rugby.. yeah even Garryown the fancy Dan's can mix it. I dont agree that Flanagan deserved a red in the Munster final last year. He put Maher on his ass..so what...play away" I'd summarise the 1st paragraph as a load of hot air with little or no relevance to the modern game, dare I say it more whataboutery and deflection which has become a trademark of you and 1 or 2 other posters on this thread, on the 2nd paragraph if you think that incident didn't merit a red then your seriously deluded.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/03/2022 16:34:22
Replying To Dealer: "As a starting point, I'm really disappointed that the Limerick forum got wrapped into a national one and I've stayed off the forum as a result. I enjoyed the banter between the locals. I'm not terribly interested in the external view which is increasingly hostile to Limerick because we've had success in recent years. It's a bit like what happened with Clare in the late 1990's. Everyone likes you when you're losing. That particularly applied to the Cork contingent who really struggle with losing to Limerick because they're not used to it.
It's a challenging league campaign for Limerick so far from a number of perspectives.
The real standout aspect of last year is that Limerick timed their run to peak in the All Ireland series. They were bang average in the league and early stages of the championship last year but when they hit top form - they were breath taking. I reckon that JK and his background team are hoping to deliver a similar run this year balancing down time and physical preparation in order to be as efficient as possible bearing in mind that this is now a settled team with the majority of the players now with 5 years of intercounty experience. They're not a bunch of kids anymore. Fine tuning like this could leave us very exposed at the preliminary stages of the championship and April 17th is approaching fast. Bottom line is that management will be with either geniuses or idiots depending on if they win or not which is always the case anyway. I guess the key thing is that Limerick are planning to win an All-Ireland - not just a match in Cork in mid April and that approach brings an element of risk. Remember Tipp got beat by Cork a few years ago in the first round and won the All Ireland afterwards. From watching the games so far, it's obvious that the players are not tuned in. The amount of mishandling is very high and they look leggy particularly late in games. Also, we've gone from scoring for fun in 2022 to the lowest scoring team across both 1A and 1B so far in 2023. That's a dramatic decline in scoring rate. I guess some is coming from the reality that everyone is playing a sweeper against us but it's mostly because we're struggling to play good hurling which will be fixed. I also see a lot of comments about depth in the squad which I reckon is overstated. Ritchie English is having an outstanding league and I'm delighted to see Mike Casey back on the fold which gives us good cover in the backs. I think that Dan needs to step up as he's had some difficulties in the early going. Cathal O'Neill has started every league game and is progressively playing better every day. I thought he was excellent against Galway in particular. You'd like to see guys like Pat Ryan, David Reidy, Conor Boylan and Robbie Hanley play better but they're not doing worst than the established starters so I guess the underlying issues are blunting everyone. That's apart from Nash, Byrnes (my favorite Limerick hurler), and Declan Hannon who have all done consistently well so far. The concerns about competition for places has to be mitigated by the reality that any player trying to break through is competing for a place against a established All Star player so it's really tough. I think Adam English is the real deal. He might not start games this year but I'm hopeful that he'll finish a lot of them. He's point against Clare was an absolute beauty. There's a lot of talk about hand passing and rucks at the moment. Some people think that these are key elements to Limerick success and want changes to nullify it. I'd be very relaxed about forcing hurling back to the 1990's man on man approach because it would just amplify the athletic advantage that Limerick possess with players of the sheer size of Hegarty, Hayes and WOD down the middle. You could put those lads into a rugby pack and they'd look at home. Final comment is that JK needs to decide does he stick with the 2022 formula (minus Peter Casey) or does he twist and give the opposition a different look?. Every other manager has Limerick inside his head all winter. Certainly Cork have though of little else and came to Limerick with a detailed battle plan to deal with specific players and patterns of play. I'm sure that PK was taking notes. I'd be intrigued as to how would they cope if they walk out on April 17th and find Ritchie English at corner back, Nash at wing back, Hayes in midfield, O'Neill at 10 and Gearoid at 14 with Flanagan and Gillane wide in the corners. Maybe it's time to tweak the system with a few bombs in on top of Gearoid and whatever turkey is picked to play full back on the day and let chaos reign in the Cork full back line in a totally different way to which Limerick pulled them apart in the All Ireland final? It's just a thought. Cork have not had a full back that they can reply on in over 15 years and plenty of false dawns in the interim. They know that they have to nail that position.
Anyway - Keep the Faith. JK and PK know what they're doing and we'll be grand. The one county that I'm watching keenly is Waterford and if they get beyond us this year - I won't begrudge them (too much)." Ah Jeez,don't let the cat out of the bag..... Cork , Tipp ,KK Galkway pls ignore above....Dealer is only kidding. BTW rumor has it powers that be in Limerick are actively canvassing Croke Park to re-institute the water breaks for the championship. JP has promised a sunroof on Croke Park as an enticement. Stay tuned...more at 11...
PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 10/03/2022 18:15:24
Replying To LarryOBrother: "It's the flat out defence from "hurling" men that shock me to be honest. Instead of debating or acknowledging it all ye do defend , deflect, ignore. I think that attitude will get ye in the long run!! CTGAA10 at lease could debate the point in fairness to him." What's going to get us in the long run, will you be happier when Cork are dominant in the next few years or KK and Tipp are winning again. Is it not better for the game overall when Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Clare and yourselves are winning. Of course we have players that should have been sent off and they were-what more do you want from us. Daithi Burke pulled a terrible stroke the other night an didn't even give away a free, where's the whinging from you about that? Toughen up, people who play the game understand you give it and you take it, some you win and some you lose. We have lost more than our fair share over the years.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 10/03/2022 22:01:26
Replying To Dealer: "As a starting point, I'm really disappointed that the Limerick forum got wrapped into a national one and I've stayed off the forum as a result. I enjoyed the banter between the locals. I'm not terribly interested in the external view which is increasingly hostile to Limerick because we've had success in recent years. It's a bit like what happened with Clare in the late 1990's. Everyone likes you when you're losing. That particularly applied to the Cork contingent who really struggle with losing to Limerick because they're not used to it.
Anyway - Keep the Faith. JK and PK know what they're doing and we'll be grand. The one county that I'm watching keenly is Waterford and if they get beyond us this year - I won't begrudge them (too much)." Great post
Scuba191 (Limerick) - Posts: 17 - 11/03/2022 07:37:17
Replying To bloodyban: "The opponent loses his right to any 'safety' as soon as he starts swinging out of people. It's not a graduated response ...or it shouldn't be. It's an Irish problem. Remember the aussie rules and the Irish lads would do foot trips and stuff and the Aussies would retaliate by boxing them...Well that's kinda how it is in Limerick in sports. I am 100% behind that . Its easy to stop. Don't be sneaky ,don't hang out of guys ect. You do and you get a box." By God, I hope you're not training any chaps in your local GAA club. I'm all for manly tough hurling but swinging a hurl at a man's head or slapping back into his privates is not manly, or Irish, or whatever cloak your putting on on it. Its cowardly.
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 11/03/2022 09:17:51
Anyway - Keep the Faith. JK and PK know what they're doing and we'll be grand. The one county that I'm watching keenly is Waterford and if they get beyond us this year - I won't begrudge them (too much)." A few genuine Limerick hurling questions:
1. Is Colin Coughlan the real deal? He was touted as being a superstar? I thought he was a bit mechanical looking in he league. 2. Will Mulcahy start or will he chance Cathal O'Neill? 3. Is there big worries about the form of Lynch, Hegarty, WOD, DOD and Tom Morrissey? Gillane scored a goal v Galway but was poor in other games? Or are they just easing themselves back in? Speaking from a Wexford perspective i was shocked we matched ye physically in Wexford Park as i know our lads were only back training roughly 4-6 weeks at that time with big Covid interruptions. 4. I've said what i've had to say about discipline previously!!!!!!!!
P.S I still think ye are justifiably favourites for the AI. A lot of talk about Waterford and i get it but in reality their panel is almost the same as this time last year when ye destroyed them. De Burca returning is obviously massive but they need forwards more than backs in my opinion and will come up short.
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 11/03/2022 09:59:45
Replying To LarryOBrother: "A few genuine Limerick hurling questions:
1. Is Colin Coughlan the real deal? He was touted as being a superstar? I thought he was a bit mechanical looking in he league. 2. Will Mulcahy start or will he chance Cathal O'Neill? 3. Is there big worries about the form of Lynch, Hegarty, WOD, DOD and Tom Morrissey? Gillane scored a goal v Galway but was poor in other games? Or are they just easing themselves back in? Speaking from a Wexford perspective i was shocked we matched ye physically in Wexford Park as i know our lads were only back training roughly 4-6 weeks at that time with big Covid interruptions. 4. I've said what i've had to say about discipline previously!!!!!!!!
P.S I still think ye are justifiably favourites for the AI. A lot of talk about Waterford and i get it but in reality their panel is almost the same as this time last year when ye destroyed them. De Burca returning is obviously massive but they need forwards more than backs in my opinion and will come up short." Colin is very young. 19 years of age. Played freshers this year with UL. His obvious weakness is his speed and lack of experience/awareness but in nearly every other facet he has what it takes. He won't start v cork..
Depending on how kiely wants to attack this year tactically neither o neill or mul may not start. But right now o neill is limericks most consistent forward so has the jersey if required. I think he could have a big impact in his first proper year. Again 19 and played freshers.
I'd have no worries at all with the form of wod, lynch, hego, Tom morrissey. I've seen enough from the lads even in this years league to know that its v close and 6 weeks behind closed doors training marking the likes of funn hayes hannon byrnes will sharpen those tools. Clearly the sharpness needs to be worked on but as dealer said these lads have 5 years behind them playing in every sort of of pressure.
I think gillane since the wexford match has been very sharp and v hungry looking and from what I heard is motoring I'm training. He'll need to tailor his game as we have all discussed come championship and concentrate on doing what he's the best in the country at in leading the line in a 2 v 3 scenario which could be a 2 v 4 at times.
If I'm being honest Waterford look v sharp but they might have a little to find from a scoring perspective when they play against v good defenses so I'd agree with you there. My main concerns this year from a limerick point of view is kilkenny. I like what they've done and I feel they could be very dangerous.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 11/03/2022 10:35:04
Larry I think all of us in limerick are hoping we will come right in time..cork is the huge game for both counties,whoever loses will probably struggle to get out of munster..I don't want our fellas going to ennis needing a huge result..on players you mentioned,I think most will be ok,and some are slow starters..on Coughlan think he's a fab hurler going forward but has a problem turning and getting back..I would like to see Adam English get his chance at corner forward..I feel o neill can he huge addition and what I like is kiely has stuck with him..suspensions and injuries will play a huge part this year..it looks as if our panel may not be what it was,we,ll have to wait and see..great year ahead..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2570 - 11/03/2022 11:07:54
Replying To LarryOBrother: "By God, I hope you're not training any chaps in your local GAA club. I'm all for manly tough hurling but swinging a hurl at a man's head or slapping back into his privates is not manly, or Irish, or whatever cloak your putting on on it. Its cowardly." Well, here's my take on it. Don't dish it out, unless you're prepared to take it. Colm O'Rourke, great footballer; an all-time great in my opinion. Well, where was he from 1975 to about 1985? He got an 1983 All-Star (Dublin & Galway couldn't really get too many after that AIF), but spent a lot of that time, nursing his knee and recovering from a bad ACL. Opponents? Knew the knee was bad, and went for it like a hound after a fox. If that meant he never played the game again, so what? The defender was a hard man and did his job.
It was only when O'Rourke learned to drive his elbow back forcefully straight through whatever was behind him and damn the consequences , that defenders realized this man wasn't ready going to be messed with. Instead of blackguarding on the field of play, he earned respect. The likes of Lyons, McEntee, and Cassells from that great Meath era taught O'Rourke how to defend himself while training with him.
Colm O'Rourke went from being this gifted footballer to being this great footballer because he learned how to hit back. Nobody blackguarded that man from about 1986 onwards, and his game and Meath football benefitted thoroughly from it.
Was O'Rourke wrong? Was he a coward for doing what he had to do? Did you ever actually play any physical sports yourself, Larry?
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 11/03/2022 11:33:47
Replying To CTGAA10: "Larry I think all of us in limerick are hoping we will come right in time..cork is the huge game for both counties,whoever loses will probably struggle to get out of munster..I don't want our fellas going to ennis needing a huge result..on players you mentioned,I think most will be ok,and some are slow starters..on Coughlan think he's a fab hurler going forward but has a problem turning and getting back..I would like to see Adam English get his chance at corner forward..I feel o neill can he huge addition and what I like is kiely has stuck with him..suspensions and injuries will play a huge part this year..it looks as if our panel may not be what it was,we,ll have to wait and see..great year ahead.." Id agree with this. I think we are a little behind where we were last year. I think that's obvious. I was confident after the Galway match that we were on the right track. I'm ignoring the cork match to a certain degree which some might think is selective buy I was hoping for a bit more v clare. I think this 6 weeks that we are in now is crucial. Like any serial winners it'd difficult to sustain all that hunger but they're an incredible bunch
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 11/03/2022 12:05:09
Replying To foreveryoung: "Well, here's my take on it. Don't dish it out, unless you're prepared to take it. Colm O'Rourke, great footballer; an all-time great in my opinion. Well, where was he from 1975 to about 1985? He got an 1983 All-Star (Dublin & Galway couldn't really get too many after that AIF), but spent a lot of that time, nursing his knee and recovering from a bad ACL. Opponents? Knew the knee was bad, and went for it like a hound after a fox. If that meant he never played the game again, so what? The defender was a hard man and did his job.
It was only when O'Rourke learned to drive his elbow back forcefully straight through whatever was behind him and damn the consequences , that defenders realized this man wasn't ready going to be messed with. Instead of blackguarding on the field of play, he earned respect. The likes of Lyons, McEntee, and Cassells from that great Meath era taught O'Rourke how to defend himself while training with him.
Colm O'Rourke went from being this gifted footballer to being this great footballer because he learned how to hit back. Nobody blackguarded that man from about 1986 onwards, and his game and Meath football benefitted thoroughly from it.
Was O'Rourke wrong? Was he a coward for doing what he had to do? Did you ever actually play any physical sports yourself, Larry?" You love digging yourself into holes foreveryoung lol
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 12:32:05
Replying To daveboy: "Colin is very young. 19 years of age. Played freshers this year with UL. His obvious weakness is his speed and lack of experience/awareness but in nearly every other facet he has what it takes. He won't start v cork..
Depending on how kiely wants to attack this year tactically neither o neill or mul may not start. But right now o neill is limericks most consistent forward so has the jersey if required. I think he could have a big impact in his first proper year. Again 19 and played freshers.
I'd have no worries at all with the form of wod, lynch, hego, Tom morrissey. I've seen enough from the lads even in this years league to know that its v close and 6 weeks behind closed doors training marking the likes of funn hayes hannon byrnes will sharpen those tools. Clearly the sharpness needs to be worked on but as dealer said these lads have 5 years behind them playing in every sort of of pressure.
I think gillane since the wexford match has been very sharp and v hungry looking and from what I heard is motoring I'm training. He'll need to tailor his game as we have all discussed come championship and concentrate on doing what he's the best in the country at in leading the line in a 2 v 3 scenario which could be a 2 v 4 at times.
If I'm being honest Waterford look v sharp but they might have a little to find from a scoring perspective when they play against v good defenses so I'd agree with you there. My main concerns this year from a limerick point of view is kilkenny. I like what they've done and I feel they could be very dangerous." Taking out games vs Limerick, Waterford have won 5 out of 6 in championship until Cahill so I think they defiantly deserve the best of the rest tag, looking at there front 8 positions Barron, Aussie, Dessie and Steven Bennett are 4 certain starters but after that they plenty of options with Shane and Kieran Bennett, Jack Fagan, Patrick Curran Jack Prendergast, Peter Hogan, Pauric Mahony, his younger brother Mikey has joined the panel too, Michael Kiely. Fagan and the 2 bennetts can cover half back too, add in the returning De Burca and Iralith Daly a year older now too in defence, I think corner back has been there achilles heel but the job Ian kenny did on Eoin Cody in the club final suggests he might be a lad ready to go to another level.
On Coughlan like you said he's very young and sometimes lads end up exceeding expectations based on there underage pedigree and unfortunately some go the other way too, for example and with due respect to him I think a 19 or 20 year old Gearoid Hegarty wasn't seen as a future hurler of the year but his hard work elevated him to another level and full credit to him for that.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2022 12:33:16
Replying To Viking66: "You love digging yourself into holes foreveryoung lol" Let Larry answer for himself. My riposte wasn't directed at you. But if you wish you could also answer, and by that I mean answer the specific questions that I posted, and not by giving a general-good-for-nothing overall observation that benefits nothing nor no one.
At least the man that digs a hole, holds a shovel. Okay, putty hands?
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 11/03/2022 13:17:39
Replying To wexico15: "Taking out games vs Limerick, Waterford have won 5 out of 6 in championship until Cahill so I think they defiantly deserve the best of the rest tag, looking at there front 8 positions Barron, Aussie, Dessie and Steven Bennett are 4 certain starters but after that they plenty of options with Shane and Kieran Bennett, Jack Fagan, Patrick Curran Jack Prendergast, Peter Hogan, Pauric Mahony, his younger brother Mikey has joined the panel too, Michael Kiely. Fagan and the 2 bennetts can cover half back too, add in the returning De Burca and Iralith Daly a year older now too in defence, I think corner back has been there achilles heel but the job Ian kenny did on Eoin Cody in the club final suggests he might be a lad ready to go to another level.
On Coughlan like you said he's very young and sometimes lads end up exceeding expectations based on there underage pedigree and unfortunately some go the other way too, for example and with due respect to him I think a 19 or 20 year old Gearoid Hegarty wasn't seen as a future hurler of the year but his hard work elevated him to another level and full credit to him for that." 100% correct and i think coughlan has a huge future for limerick once he gets a bit of experience and know how. As I said he has it all bar a bit of smarts to tailor his game.
On Waterford they have more than enough and you're probably correct saying they are best of the rest depending on how limerick start the year in April. I just think their scoring potential against a back line like limericks might hamper them but maybe this could be their year. There are a lot of things pointing in the right direction for Waterford in fairness. That historical weight of no AI can be a huge obstacle as we know only too well down here.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 11/03/2022 13:24:08
Replying To foreveryoung: "Let Larry answer for himself. My riposte wasn't directed at you. But if you wish you could also answer, and by that I mean answer the specific questions that I posted, and not by giving a general-good-for-nothing overall observation that benefits nothing nor no one.
At least the man that digs a hole, holds a shovel. Okay, putty hands?" You are right it is up to himself to answer. He might choose not to. I'm fairly sure you have seen him playing on telly. Of course I cant be certain being as we are all anonymous. You wont have seen me on telly but putty hands is fairly apt. I played rugby to a reasonable level and played and trained against a couple of lads who won many caps for Ireland. I was a loose head prop back in the day when we hardly ever handled the ball! What is your sporting history?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 14:15:13
Replying To foreveryoung: "Well, here's my take on it. Don't dish it out, unless you're prepared to take it. Colm O'Rourke, great footballer; an all-time great in my opinion. Well, where was he from 1975 to about 1985? He got an 1983 All-Star (Dublin & Galway couldn't really get too many after that AIF), but spent a lot of that time, nursing his knee and recovering from a bad ACL. Opponents? Knew the knee was bad, and went for it like a hound after a fox. If that meant he never played the game again, so what? The defender was a hard man and did his job.
Was O'Rourke wrong? Was he a coward for doing what he had to do? Did you ever actually play any physical sports yourself, Larry?" Answering your question- whatever about O Rourke and his career as a Footballer it's still not manly to try to beat a lad around the head with a hurl on or off the pitch. Or squeezing their balls. Which is the point you were answering.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 14:22:10
Was O'Rourke wrong? Was he a coward for doing what he had to do? Did you ever actually play any physical sports yourself, Larry?" Answering your question- whatever about O Rourke and his career as a Footballer it's still not manly to try to beat a lad around the head with a hurl on or off the pitch. Or squeezing their *****. Which is the point you were answering.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 14:28:57
Replying To Viking66: "Answering your question- whatever about O Rourke and his career as a Footballer it's still not manly to try to beat a lad around the head with a hurl on or off the pitch. Or squeezing their *****. Which is the point you were answering." Good. If an opponent doesn't swing back into your face or grabs your balls, then don't do that back. But if an opponent drives a punch or a hurley butt into my back or kidney region (irreparable damage, not evident in the actual day of contact, can ensue in later life), in a dirty blow, I have the right to turn around (foolishly) and blow the jaw off that thug. Of course, I could get a red card, but it's my right to defend myself against that thug.
I don't want to get into differences between Irish and American sports as it's chalk and cheese, but in our sports, generally, the player is professional enough not to have to resort to the ways of lesser-level, lower level players; ie, dirty play and red cards stuff. We don't feel that we have to stop our opponent at all costs, as we still get paid and it is possible to be sanctioned if we operate outside the regulations.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 11/03/2022 15:15:19