Nick Quaid was top class again. Nash and English were good and Dan in fairness. The half backs were OK to good. Coughlan was left for dust a few times . He's got no pace but tonnes of hurling. He's probably a centre back in the making. Midfield was poor. O Donovan has been good when others were bad so he was due an off day. O Donoghue was quiet. Hegarty was way off..his attempts at ball control were very unlike him. He was poor. The rest of the forwards were workmanlike and no better. Not even a sniff of a goal chance. They look like they need a week off rather than more hard work. bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 06/03/2022 21:04:25 2404152 Link 0 |
But is it the last match? Is our last match not against Tipp? BTW, am I the only that thinks that Jason McCarthy's 'tackle' on Lynch early in the second half was at least worthy of a yellow yellow card and why was Lohan allowed to mouth off to the Ref in relation to the incident. If it was Davy who was carrying like Lohan he would have been yellow carded way sooner.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 08:06:44 2404164 Link 0 |
Ya definitely worthy of a red card. The thing i can't understand though is why did the fullback clutch his face as if hit head on? The young Meehan lad did it earlier in the game after a challenge. I detest it. Everytime Cian Lynch went down it was for a 'proper' hit. Shane Dowling alluded to something similar in the Antrim game and commended the player for not rolling around after being swiped at
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 07/03/2022 10:00:42 2404183 Link 0 |
This is what's going to happen all year lads. It's something that you'd hope come championship the refs will clamp down on. When you're playing against a physically formidable outfit you exaggerate their physicality to maximise your chances of winning. I'm not mentioning any particular team/incident but its creeping into the game massively for me. Someone will get sent off for a simulated foul and until then they won't move on it. It brings the video assistant into question for me. Reason we never needed this was hurlers never went down like this before but maybe its time the discussion moved to Congress. Again I'm not in anyway mentioning a particular county i just dislike with a passion a player intentionally trying to provoke a response that ends in a card through physical hits with fist/hurley/knees on the player who reacts. Umpires rather than focusing on the retaliation should stamp out the constant provocation before it ends up with the player retaliating getting the line.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 07/03/2022 10:10:59 2404189 Link 1 |
Shocs. What do you call a 'proper' hit. Cian Lynch was concentrating on picking up a ball when a player came him in and shouldered him on the head. In no way in the World was McCarthy trying to play the ball. It was right in front of where the linesman was standing and it also very hard to see how the ref, did not see for what it was. Also Lohan was mouthing all day to the ref and was listened by the official, while he pleaded his players case. No way should this carry on be allowed. If Lynch did this Social Media would be buzzing with it.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 11:27:25 2404206 Link 0 |
Lohan and Davy very similar people when it comes to temper.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16507 - 07/03/2022 12:17:40 2404223 Link 1 |
Probably as revenge for Diarmuid Byrnes' pretending he got hit against Clare a few years ago and getting Reidy sent off. Leaving aside my sarcastic remark, I completely agree with you. It's awful to see and I'd worry it'll become even more prevalent. We have players in Galway who have been guilty of the same. I have no issue with players being hung out to dry for faking injury or or pretending they got a bad belt. There's no excuse for it an it should be highlighted any time it happens. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2415 - 07/03/2022 12:39:37 2404233 Link 1 |
Stupid comment no comparison what so ever, Referee was poor yesterday diden't let game flow free disallowed a perfect goal . Brian has hardly even interacted with referee before this clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 07/03/2022 12:45:13 2404235 Link 0 |
Sorry OTM, i didn't mean proper in the sense that they were clean. Far from it. 'Proper' was in the sense that they were far from light challenges, some of which had clear intent.
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 07/03/2022 12:48:22 2404238 Link 0 |
Jason McCarthy midriff connected with Cian's head not a shoulder if you had looked at it properly ref was right on the spot, If you were at match you would have seen a whistle happy ref even some Limerick supporters were smiling at some of the decisions he gave against Clare. Can a manager not query a decision? was John Kiely not spoken to even the Great Brian Cody has a go not and again Brian Lohan has earned the right to express his opinion clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 07/03/2022 12:51:23 2404241 Link 0 |
There were a few incidents that I felt deserved cards but ref and officials didn't see or ignored them..thought lynch incident was dangerous and could have been red,if I'm right think Clare got the free.gillane deserves red but simulation played its part..daithi Burke escaped red for breaking a hurley of cork players knee,don't know how..Heffernan definitely lucky not to have got red as it looked very dangerous..also I thought Downey from cork got s high hit to head on Saturday night on dugout side,again if I'm right free against him for over carrying..surely there needs to be explanations for these decisions,or am I dreaming.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2569 - 07/03/2022 12:52:29 2404244 Link 1 |
I think in fairness the Daithi Burke incident was just missed by the ref, it wasn't inaction and i'd say it was only a possible red, probably a yellow though looked more like a mistimed pull than a deliberate attempt to strike. Lynch incident is very hard to get right, i see both arguments but in fairness i don't think McCarthy led with shoulder or anything so i would say the ref just about got it right. Gillane should have gotten a straight red......A strike or an attempt to strike is a red card.... he was lucky, again. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 07/03/2022 13:10:04 2404251 Link 0 |
Spot on to all of the above. As a general comment, i think hurling is becoming a lot more cynical. 20 years ago, dirty challenges were with the hurley mainly. Nowadays there's an awful lot of head/neck high 'challenges', many of which are quite dangerous. This is compounded by the fact that the players involved are much stronger than before. Throw in a bit of simulation here and there and you end up with a curious mix. In the main (aside from the almost funny D Byrnes incident in Ennis previously), our lads are a very honest bunch of hurlers in that they hit hard and get hit and take it. I just wish though that they could cut out the odd reckless challenge and be a bit cuter Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 07/03/2022 13:27:04 2404258 Link 0 |
Thought Dowling made an interesting observation about teams not pressing up on our puckouts. The full backing has loads of space but hit it into a crowded middle third. It kind of explains a reason why our midfielders and half forward have been struggling thus far. They are being out numbered in the middle. Lynch was very bust again and T Morrissey improved but WO'D, DO'D weren't a patch on their normal selves. Had very little influence. I accept the point that Hegarty was far from himself. Nicky Quaid picked him out perfectly and he fumbled the ball with no pressure on him. This was a guy who started very well against Welford. All the chat seems to have gotten to him. Hopefully he can get back to himself because if we do have yo start bypassing the crowded middle third then we are going to need his long reach Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 377 - 07/03/2022 13:41:32 2404266 Link 0 |
I was at the game and both sides got 'iffy' decisions. The fact is he had no business charging into Lynch's head whatsoever and could have caused serious injury by a reckless charge. Lohan was at it all day, a fact commented upon in todays Examiner. He got a yellow card for his conduct and rightly so. Don't talk to me about Cody and another youngish KK Manager, whom I cannot comment upon today. Suffice to say this continual haranguing of refs would not be tolerated in any other code. Managers are there there to manage teams and not to continually dictate to refs.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 13:55:44 2404273 Link 2 |
It first time Brian Lohan has been called out on this so very judgemental by you of course it would be beyond you to EVER have a good work for a Clare player or team you can pretend to be Grand old man of hurling but when it comes to Clare bitterness is never far away. Do you have the right to charge a player with reckless behaviour when the official's right beside it diden't warrant a free clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 07/03/2022 14:15:15 2404282 Link 1 |
There you go Larry,, always tolerant of misdemeanors by players from other counties, but always demanding that Limerick players never, ever get the benefit of the doubt.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 14:30:27 2404287 Link 1 |
Lohan a show on the sideline yesterday Seething with rage Player in the square before the ball Square ball,free out Rules there for all Scuba191 (Limerick) - Posts: 17 - 07/03/2022 14:30:47 2404288 Link 1 |
Who knows with that incident. Maybe Byrnes was winded by a tackle from Reidy. I am watching Byrnes for the past seven or eight years and I never saw him go down easily or at all.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 14:36:09 2404290 Link 0 |
What was Gillane trying to do with his second swing?? Did Jason McCarthy lead with the elbow or shoulder? Was Daithi Burke trying to play the ball or simply hit Robbie O'Flynn?? Answer all three questions logically and see where you end up. It's not bias its just the truth. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 07/03/2022 14:47:56 2404294 Link 0 |