Limerick GAA thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good. If an opponent doesn't swing back into your face or grabs your balls, then don't do that back. But if an opponent drives a punch or a hurley butt into my back or kidney region (irreparable damage, not evident in the actual day of contact, can ensue in later life), in a dirty blow, I have the right to turn around (foolishly) and blow the jaw off that thug. Of course, I could get a red card, but it's my right to defend myself against that thug.

I don't want to get into differences between Irish and American sports as it's chalk and cheese, but in our sports, generally, the player is professional enough not to have to resort to the ways of lesser-level, lower level players; ie, dirty play and red cards stuff. We don't feel that we have to stop our opponent at all costs, as we still get paid and it is possible to be sanctioned if we operate outside the regulations."
I watch alot of baseball and the benches getting cleared is a common enough occurrence. Likewise pitchers deliberately hitting batters. But the lads dont hit eachother with the bats. So why do you think its manly for a lad to hit another lad with a hurl?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 15:44:18    2404952

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Good. If an opponent doesn't swing back into your face or grabs your balls, then don't do that back. But if an opponent drives a punch or a hurley butt into my back or kidney region (irreparable damage, not evident in the actual day of contact, can ensue in later life), in a dirty blow, I have the right to turn around (foolishly) and blow the jaw off that thug. Of course, I could get a red card, but it's my right to defend myself against that thug.

I don't want to get into differences between Irish and American sports as it's chalk and cheese, but in our sports, generally, the player is professional enough not to have to resort to the ways of lesser-level, lower level players; ie, dirty play and red cards stuff. We don't feel that we have to stop our opponent at all costs, as we still get paid and it is possible to be sanctioned if we operate outside the regulations."
Also you still didnt answer the question. What did you play and to what level? Did you play MLB? Triple A? Double A? Did you make it at any level in the game? Or are the only things you ever hit the buttons on your keyboard?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 15:46:55    2404953

Also you still didnt answer the question. What did you play and to what level? Did you play MLB? Triple A? Double A? Did you make it at any level in the game? Or are the only things you ever hit the buttons on your keyboard?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 15:47:03    2404954

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 15:49:30    2404956

Replying To Viking66:  "You are right it is up to himself to answer. He might choose not to. I'm fairly sure you have seen him playing on telly. Of course I cant be certain being as we are all anonymous. You wont have seen me on telly but putty hands is fairly apt. I played rugby to a reasonable level and played and trained against a couple of lads who won many caps for Ireland. I was a loose head prop back in the day when we hardly ever handled the ball! What is your sporting history?"
Seen him on TV? What does that even equate to? LarryO'Bother could be anyone. Most posters on here are anonymous. At least, I use my correct surname. My sporting history is in my bank account. I was paid (nothing compared to today's levels) to play…once upon a time.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2331 - 11/03/2022 15:53:46    2404957

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Seen him on TV? What does that even equate to? LarryO'Bother could be anyone. Most posters on here are anonymous. At least, I use my correct surname. My sporting history is in my bank account. I was paid (nothing compared to today's levels) to play…once upon a time."
Baseball? I didnt start watching til the 80s on AFKN so I probably missed you. Cubs had a great team in 84 so were on the telly alot that time. I've been a Cubs fan ever since. Highs and Lows. Mainly lows tbh until 2016! Before that I was growing up in Africa and we didnt have a telly. Anyway this has F all to do with Limerick hurling. Back on subject no doubt other teams will target the lads with hot heads who at the end of the day wont have their history in their bank accounts. I'll remember them as a great team I massively enjoyed watching whenever the cycle moves on: )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 17:03:17    2404970

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Seen him on TV? What does that even equate to? LarryO'Bother could be anyone. Most posters on here are anonymous. At least, I use my correct surname. My sporting history is in my bank account. I was paid (nothing compared to today's levels) to play…once upon a time."
Baseball? I didnt start watching til the 80s on AFKN so I probably missed you. Cubs had a great team in 84 so were on the telly alot that time. I've been a Cubs fan ever since. Highs and Lows. Mainly lows tbh until 2016! Before that I was growing up in Africa and we didnt have a telly. Anyway this has F all to do with Limerick hurling. Back on subject no doubt other teams will target the lads with hot heads who at the end of the day wont have their history in their bank accounts. I'll remember them as a great team I massively enjoyed watching whenever the cycle moves on: )

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16513 - 11/03/2022 17:04:11    2404971

Replying To Viking66:  "Also you still didnt answer the question. What did you play and to what level? Did you play MLB? Triple A? Double A? Did you make it at any level in the game? Or are the only things you ever hit the buttons on your keyboard?"
Why are do many Wexford lads on the Limerick page????

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 11/03/2022 17:33:52    2404975

I am sure most our Limerick thread owners on here are not too interested in baseball. However I will admit watching a lot of baseball during the summer and admire some of the skills involved. The ordinary person would be dead before they knew it if one of those pitchers threw a ball at you. The judgment catching the ball glove or no glove is something. Many are good athletes but many could not run to warm themselves. The reason they can play every day for 180 games is they are sitting 70% of the time and if no hits 99% of the time. How the game goes most of the time is predictable. If the pitchers go an inning or two and there are not hits go cut the grass there will be no change in two hours time. If the pitcher give up 5 or 6 runs in the first go cut the grass a blow out is on the way.
Limerick men apologies for infiltrating you page about a game I like but it would not hold a candle to the thrill of watching your guys in action.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3127 - 11/03/2022 19:45:31    2404982

Replying To bloodyban:  "You just like a softer type of hurling than us Wexico. This is limerick. We like it physical and on the edge. It's abit of a macho sporting county. The 30's team were a savagely physical bunch. Young Munsters ,Shannon, Garryowen...all play a hard brand of rugby.. yeah even Garryown the fancy Dan's can mix it.
I dont agree that Flanagan deserved a red in the Munster final last year. He put Maher on his ass..so what...play away"
Flanagan hit Maher under the chin with both his hands on the hurley. How was that not a red card?

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 618 - 11/03/2022 19:55:39    2404984

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "By God, I hope you're not training any chaps in your local GAA club. I'm all for manly tough hurling but swinging a hurl at a man's head or slapping back into his privates is not manly, or Irish, or whatever cloak your putting on on it. Its cowardly."
Well Larry you are living in a very rareified Hurling World if you thing nobody was ever sneakily grabbed by the testicles, while playing the ancient game. I have evidence from a still living player that this was the first greeting to inter county hurling he got from a very famous Tipp Corner back. I have been told by more than one player it has happened to them since and a young Limerick was clearly seen on TV been assaulted in this manner three or four years ago. I firmly feel this low kind of, as you would call it, un Irish conduct, should be very severely punished.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 11/03/2022 20:00:28    2404986

Replying To Viking66:  "Also you still didnt answer the question. What did you play and to what level? Did you play MLB? Triple A? Double A? Did you make it at any level in the game? Or are the only things you ever hit the buttons on your keyboard?"
It's almost like you Wexford guys are trolling abit now. It's a free forum but it's only you guys that come on here whinging about Limericks physical approach. The very best case scenario for Wexford is that you win one All Ireland and disappear again. Limerick have 3 in 4 years. That's a legacy you can't argue with. I love Wexford people but the guys on here are soft.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 11/03/2022 20:00:43    2404987

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "By God, I hope you're not training any chaps in your local GAA club. I'm all for manly tough hurling but swinging a hurl at a man's head or slapping back into his privates is not manly, or Irish, or whatever cloak your putting on on it. Its cowardly."
Well Larry you are living in a very rareified Hurling World if you thing nobody was ever sneakily grabbed by the testicles, while playing the ancient game. I have evidence from a still living player that this was the first greeting to inter county hurling he got from a very famous Tipp Corner back. I have been told by more than one player it has happened to them since and a young Limerick was clearly seen on TV been assaulted in this manner three or four years ago. I firmly feel this low kind of, as you would call it, un Irish conduct, should be very severely punished.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 11/03/2022 20:01:31    2404988

Replying To Clubgaa:  "Why are do many Wexford lads on the Limerick page????"
Most strong hurling counties most prominent forum is on boards rather than HS

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2022 21:48:05    2404996

Replying To updwell:  "What's going to get us in the long run, will you be happier when Cork are dominant in the next few years or KK and Tipp are winning again. Is it not better for the game overall when Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Clare and yourselves are winning. Of course we have players that should have been sent off and they were-what more do you want from us. Daithi Burke pulled a terrible stroke the other night an didn't even give away a free, where's the whinging from you about that? Toughen up, people who play the game understand you give it and you take it, some you win and some you lose. We have lost more than our fair share over the years."
Of course he will be happier. Sean Finn was one of the few I saw concussed by a dirty tackle this year - but sure what about it- he is only one of those upstarts who having won one All Ireland then had the temerity to come back and win two more. To paraphrase Anthony Daly 'why did they not just '**** off back down to Rathkeale' when they had won the first one and let the real the Aristocrats take over for another seventeen years. Oh the cheek of them for not knowing their place. The more I think of it, I feel even I'll end hating them myself, if they win another one. For the moment though, I'll still continue behind to rally behind the old white and green. But they would want to be careful- they could make an enemy out of me yet.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 12/03/2022 08:54:21    2405006

Viking66 there are just two levels. Dead slow and stopped. Skill like snooker, golf and darts but no worries about the auld heart rate for the players or spectators.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3127 - 12/03/2022 14:16:56    2405039

Replying To updwell:  "What's going to get us in the long run, will you be happier when Cork are dominant in the next few years or KK and Tipp are winning again. Is it not better for the game overall when Limerick, Galway, Waterford, Clare and yourselves are winning. Of course we have players that should have been sent off and they were-what more do you want from us. Daithi Burke pulled a terrible stroke the other night an didn't even give away a free, where's the whinging from you about that? Toughen up, people who play the game understand you give it and you take it, some you win and some you lose. We have lost more than our fair share over the years."
A lack of discipline will catch up with ye in the long run if it's not addressed and sorted out? If i can see it you can be sure other county players and managers can see it and will see it as a perceived weakness. That's all I've said. I' questioned here before that if Gillane and Flanagan had gotten the line in the Munster Final last year the whole championship could have been entirely different.... that in essence would have been ill discipline catching up with ye.
I gave my opinion on Daithi Burkes pull, in my opinion it wasn't intentional. Reckless alright, maybe could have warranted a card, but not intentional whereas the same cannot be said for Gillanes pull. He was trying to hit Conor Cleary in the head.
Anyway its great that every team going into 2022 has some sort of question marks hanging over them, big or small.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 14/03/2022 09:43:36    2405307

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "A lack of discipline will catch up with ye in the long run if it's not addressed and sorted out? If i can see it you can be sure other county players and managers can see it and will see it as a perceived weakness. That's all I've said. I' questioned here before that if Gillane and Flanagan had gotten the line in the Munster Final last year the whole championship could have been entirely different.... that in essence would have been ill discipline catching up with ye.
I gave my opinion on Daithi Burkes pull, in my opinion it wasn't intentional. Reckless alright, maybe could have warranted a card, but not intentional whereas the same cannot be said for Gillanes pull. He was trying to hit Conor Cleary in the head.
Anyway its great that every team going into 2022 has some sort of question marks hanging over them, big or small."
Larry for tbe love of God, will you just STOP. Move on and try and smooth that chip on your shoulder.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 14/03/2022 10:04:41    2405311

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "A lack of discipline will catch up with ye in the long run if it's not addressed and sorted out? If i can see it you can be sure other county players and managers can see it and will see it as a perceived weakness. That's all I've said. I' questioned here before that if Gillane and Flanagan had gotten the line in the Munster Final last year the whole championship could have been entirely different.... that in essence would have been ill discipline catching up with ye.
Anyway its great that every team going into 2022 has some sort of question marks hanging over them, big or small."
It would have not altered the out come of the championship one iota. Limerick won by the back door in '18 and they almost certainly would have done the same last year.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 14/03/2022 10:10:04    2405316

Replying To Oldtourman:  "It would have not altered the out come of the championship one iota. Limerick won by the back door in '18 and they almost certainly would have done the same last year."
They would have been up against a very in form Waterford team on the day though so it may not have been as clear cut as you think. It's all ifs and buts tho. Limerick were so dominant in that second half that they would probably have won with 14 and Flanagan surely would have not put in such a stupid tackle if already down to 14. In my memory the best team always wins the All Ireland every year.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/03/2022 13:43:42    2405389