Limerick GAA thread

Replying To clooney:  "It first time Brian Lohan has been called out on this so very judgemental by you of course it would be beyond you to EVER
have a good work for a Clare player or team you can pretend to be Grand old man of hurling but when it comes to Clare bitterness is never far away.

Do you have the right to charge a player with reckless behaviour when the official's right beside it diden't warrant a free"
When have I ever criticised a Clare player? Bad Judgement by me??? Well I am in good company as at east one National Paper -the only one I read today- also commented on his behavior.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 15:20:50    2404301

cleary had hit hand around gillanes neck as d ball was dropping so it was a penalty before gillane pulled wild gillane got a tap on the head off the ball and got a yellow is that fair its a joke cleary was at it all the time off the ball against pat ryan in the munster senior league final aswell and umpires ignored it all day

leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 66 - 07/03/2022 15:35:17    2404304

Replying To clooney:  "It first time Brian Lohan has been called out on this so very judgemental by you of course it would be beyond you to EVER
have a good work for a Clare player or team you can pretend to be Grand old man of hurling but when it comes to Clare bitterness is never far away.

Do you have the right to charge a player with reckless behaviour when the official's right beside it diden't warrant a free"
Clooney, How many Managers have called out by the Referee in this fashion anyway? You say the ref had a clear view of the incident. If he had why did he go to the Linesman and then allow Lohan some thing like a 30 second interview on the matter.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 18:38:52    2404351

Clooney, How many Managers have called out by the Referee in this fashion anyway? You say the ref had a clear view of the incident. If he had why did he go to the Linesman and then allow Lohan some thing like a 30 second interview on the matter.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 07/03/2022 18:39:18    2404352

Well done Ard Scoil Ris
Strong second half display against newross gc college
Best of luck on St Patrick's Day

Scuba191 (Limerick) - Posts: 17 - 08/03/2022 14:03:58    2404461

Replying To Scuba191:  "Well done Ard Scoil Ris
Strong second half display against newross gc college
Best of luck on St Patrick's Day"
Like what lads used to say about the All Ireland senior championship. Being provincial champions might possibly stand against you. Both lost their semi finals this year. Well played to Ardscoil Ris hope they win the final!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16507 - 08/03/2022 15:36:15    2404488

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I think in fairness the Daithi Burke incident was just missed by the ref, it wasn't inaction and i'd say it was only a possible red, probably a yellow though looked more like a mistimed pull than a deliberate attempt to strike.
Lynch incident is very hard to get right, i see both arguments but in fairness i don't think McCarthy led with shoulder or anything so i would say the ref just about got it right.
Gillane should have gotten a straight red......A strike or an attempt to strike is a red card.... he was lucky, again."
Gillane was being held by the neck, a red card was given to Jack Browne near the end of the game for the same infringement. Conor Cleary should have walked also.

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 79 - 08/03/2022 20:58:24    2404541

Replying To aloneitstands:  "Gillane was being held by the neck, a red card was given to Jack Browne near the end of the game for the same infringement. Conor Cleary should have walked also."
Spend an hour watching Conor McDonald getting mauled every time a ball comes near him and then tell me the amount of times he swings back or lashes out???
Make excuses for Gillane all ye want but the man has a discipline problem, similar to Austin Gleeson, a great hurler but if you get at him he retaliates.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 09/03/2022 09:18:57    2404554

Larry I'm in agreement with most of what you are saying.we will always defend our own..all counties now know that 3 or 4 of our fellas can be got at..it's going to happen during championship to..I'd just hope that our boys can hold it together and not do anything stupid..what I can't understand is with 7 officials on the field watching the prodding ,poking,pinching and other stuff going on it's not brought to refs attention..I feel if refs dealt with it in a few matches and biked a couple of players it would be sorted,however it'll take a brave ref to do it..also deal with the play acting of players to..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2569 - 09/03/2022 09:40:25    2404557

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Spend an hour watching Conor McDonald getting mauled every time a ball comes near him and then tell me the amount of times he swings back or lashes out???
Make excuses for Gillane all ye want but the man has a discipline problem, similar to Austin Gleeson, a great hurler but if you get at him he retaliates."
Tell me one player who actually got hurt? none. throwing themselves down. Cian Lynch was hit so was Barry Nash, umpires see nothing. Fair play is all thats needed. I can understand if a player gets frustrated because they are targeted time and time again. Of course ye are all saints in Wexford!!

aloneitstands (Limerick) - Posts: 79 - 09/03/2022 09:53:26    2404558

Replying To daveboy:  "This is what's going to happen all year lads. It's something that you'd hope come championship the refs will clamp down on. When you're playing against a physically formidable outfit you exaggerate their physicality to maximise your chances of winning. I'm not mentioning any particular team/incident but its creeping into the game massively for me. Someone will get sent off for a simulated foul and until then they won't move on it. It brings the video assistant into question for me. Reason we never needed this was hurlers never went down like this before but maybe its time the discussion moved to Congress. Again I'm not in anyway mentioning a particular county i just dislike with a passion a player intentionally trying to provoke a response that ends in a card through physical hits with fist/hurley/knees on the player who reacts. Umpires rather than focusing on the retaliation should stamp out the constant provocation before it ends up with the player retaliating getting the line."
"Someone will get sent off for a simulated foul"

Happened already when Diarmuid Byrnes hit the deck after a ghost took him out in Ennis in 2018

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 09/03/2022 10:28:19    2404566

Replying To aloneitstands:  "Gillane was being held by the neck, a red card was given to Jack Browne near the end of the game for the same infringement. Conor Cleary should have walked also."
Jesus Christ there is some comical stuff here. Lads Gillane got what was coming to him. If I was a defender marking him I would be out to frustrate him and keep close as much as I can because his discipline is shocking. Couldn't believe he stayed on the pitch against Tipp last year either when he pulled another dirty stroke.

He was just lucky against Clare that he was on a yellow already as it was a straight red all day.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 09/03/2022 10:34:15    2404569

Jack Browne got a second yellow and it was for repeated fouling not for one incident. There refer told him he committed three fouls and had no option but to give him a yellow.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 09/03/2022 10:35:29    2404570

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Jack Browne got a second yellow and it was for repeated fouling not for one incident. There refer told him he committed three fouls and had no option but to give him a yellow."
I think the point was that cleary did what browne did which was a yellow offence and hence cleary should have been sent off for a second yellow and probably should have been a penalty as well if thats the case. What gillane subsequently did would have then reversed that to a throw in ball and 2 yellows then two reds. But this is all subjective stuff and county bias is understandable from all sides.

Can't wait for the start in April. Mouth watering stuff.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2022 11:02:34    2404579

Replying To daveboy:  "I think the point was that cleary did what browne did which was a yellow offence and hence cleary should have been sent off for a second yellow and probably should have been a penalty as well if thats the case. What gillane subsequently did would have then reversed that to a throw in ball and 2 yellows then two reds. But this is all subjective stuff and county bias is understandable from all sides.

Can't wait for the start in April. Mouth watering stuff."
Do you think it warranted a straight red card?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 09/03/2022 11:29:43    2404587

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Do you think it warranted a straight red card?"
I think it would have been harsh but I could see why people could say its a straight red ya. The clare lads I was sitting beside last Sunday felt there wasn't a lot in it and the contact to the head area was minimal but the action was wrong absolutely. As I said the league is the league and with little or no consequence hence the hits that are going in off the ball tend to drop off come the real stuff. The spotlight is firmly on limerick and that's understandable . I saw a lot of unsavoury stuff over the weekend that doesn't get traction and again it's understandable because the participating countys aren't in the spotlight as much. Its all noise really as its forgotten about come April but its good for us to debate it away as its a bit of craic.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2022 11:43:22    2404589

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Larry I'm in agreement with most of what you are saying.we will always defend our own..all counties now know that 3 or 4 of our fellas can be got at..it's going to happen during championship to..I'd just hope that our boys can hold it together and not do anything stupid..what I can't understand is with 7 officials on the field watching the prodding ,poking,pinching and other stuff going on it's not brought to refs attention..I feel if refs dealt with it in a few matches and biked a couple of players it would be sorted,however it'll take a brave ref to do it..also deal with the play acting of players to.."
I get that but the reality is its going to happen to him again and again during the summer and even if he does get the odd free for off the ball fouling it won't be near enough to cover what actually goes on. You just can't retaliate like that.

I'd say he has Kielys heart broken, he can be unmarkable if he just let his hurling do all the talking.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 09/03/2022 11:52:55    2404591

Replying To aloneitstands:  "Tell me one player who actually got hurt? none. throwing themselves down. Cian Lynch was hit so was Barry Nash, umpires see nothing. Fair play is all thats needed. I can understand if a player gets frustrated because they are targeted time and time again. Of course ye are all saints in Wexford!!"
If you looked at that incident properly you would see that Conor Cleary was holding Gillane if referee blew then, a second yellow to Conor & a penalty but he dident & Aron Gillane swung twice second time he hit Cleary on the helmet side of hurley knocked him off his feet & hurley out of his hand contrary to what J Kiely & other posters here like to claim there was no simulation Cleary got up straight away felt side of his helmet picked up his hurley and wisely stayed away from the incident.
IMO Aron Gillane was lucky to get a second yellow only of course backs get away with pulling dragging not in rules of course but until umpires report it & player gets a yellow it wont stop

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 996 - 09/03/2022 12:31:17    2404598

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I get that but the reality is its going to happen to him again and again during the summer and even if he does get the odd free for off the ball fouling it won't be near enough to cover what actually goes on. You just can't retaliate like that.

I'd say he has Kielys heart broken, he can be unmarkable if he just let his hurling do all the talking."
He has all limerick supporters worried at times with the way he plays Larry but he's a lad where he plays his best when he's right there on the edge. People say he should just forget it and play away and that works for most but not Aaron imo. He is at his absolute best at times when he sometimes goes beyond what's permitted. For the vast majority of his career he has an exemplary disciplinary record and he was won it all and imo the Best FF in the country . Unmarkable at times. It seems to us supporters very simple. Stop flicking the hurley but when you're in the white hot battle and you're getting plenty of off the ball stuff itvcan be hard to control esp when you are that type of player. I might be wrong but I'm sure the limerick panel will look at the likes of Aaron hego and Flanagan and would be begging not to change one bit. It's that small bit of nastiness that sets you apart imo and you deal with the consequences if they come. It can be hard to fathom at times.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 09/03/2022 12:42:44    2404602

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I get that but the reality is its going to happen to him again and again during the summer and even if he does get the odd free for off the ball fouling it won't be near enough to cover what actually goes on. You just can't retaliate like that.

I'd say he has Kielys heart broken, he can be unmarkable if he just let his hurling do all the talking."
The point is if he do not behave himself he will have to be dropped. However in the 'The Sunday Game' last Sunday Night, Anne Cantwell asked if opposition coaches will now coach their players to wind up certain Limerick players, with a view to getting them put off. Both the guest experts, including Shane Dowling, seemed to agree that this would be the order of the day, without a word of condemnation of such behavior. I do not agree with this cynicism, but as it seems to be usual conduct for other counties, should Kiely and his management do some research on the conduct of other teams and highlight good players, who have got put off in the past and then coach his players to engage in 'rising' these players with a view to having them put off. After all everything is fair in Love and War

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 09/03/2022 13:13:30    2404606