Limerick GAA thread

Looking forward to seeing how Adam English goes. Thought he was doing leaving cert but great to hear he was with the ul freshers lately. Perhaps it's not as clear cut for mulcahy to be starting.
Not Easy on young O'Neil to switch position but to be fair if he gets stuck in and manages to get on a bit of ball I'd be happy. I liked the look of o grady in the midfield in that first half against Galway. It would be great to see him too at some stage in the next couple of games.
As an aside in an under 20 munster final last year I thought gearoid's young brother did extremely well.
Any sign of him?

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 377 - 05/03/2022 11:23:33    2403856

Question about Mike Casesy,
I see he's named on the bench this weekend. If he is to force is way back into the starting 15 over the next while, where do people see his role in the current defense? Does he go back in full back and push Dan up a bit, or does he go in the corner and leave Dan at full back?
Interested in what Limerick people think.
Thanks.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2418 - 05/03/2022 13:04:51    2403870

Replying To Bon:  "Question about Mike Casesy,
I see he's named on the bench this weekend. If he is to force is way back into the starting 15 over the next while, where do people see his role in the current defense? Does he go back in full back and push Dan up a bit, or does he go in the corner and leave Dan at full back?
Thanks."
Mike started off as a corner back but I see him as an out and out Full back. Limerick have a luxury in the full back line as they've Dan and Mike as full backs and Finn Nash and Richie as corner backs. Nash and Dan could play 7 without much work too. Personally I think Dan is a better full back than wing and Nash is so comfortable in the corner receiving and distributing. It's a big headache for kiely but if needed he can use those 5 lads without being too worried. It not only gives options defensively but could allow for moving certain players around up top too depending onmatch ups and form.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 05/03/2022 13:58:01    2403879

Replying To Bon:  "Question about Mike Casesy,
Thanks."
My gut feeling would be is that Mike is a specialist full back. I stand corrected but I don't think he has played in the corners even for na piarsaigh. I could be wrong but I wouldn't see him in any other position if he was to get match fit

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 377 - 05/03/2022 14:27:18    2403888

Replying To daveboy:  "Mike started off as a corner back but I see him as an out and out Full back. Limerick have a luxury in the full back line as they've Dan and Mike as full backs and Finn Nash and Richie as corner backs. Nash and Dan could play 7 without much work too. Personally I think Dan is a better full back than wing and Nash is so comfortable in the corner receiving and distributing. It's a big headache for kiely but if needed he can use those 5 lads without being too worried. It not only gives options defensively but could allow for moving certain players around up top too depending onmatch ups and form."
If Dan went back to the wing would you see Kyle Hayes being moved back up to the forwards?

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2418 - 05/03/2022 14:33:41    2403893

Replying To Bon:  "If Dan went back to the wing would you see Kyle Hayes being moved back up to the forwards?"
It's clearly an option ya. If kiely was to go that way I think it would be nash possibly to 7 as richie is back to his best recently and Mike wouldn't be up to speed yet.

Kiely and kinnerk will be acutely aware that most inter County managers have spent the last few months mulling over ways to stifle the influence of lynch at 11 and hayes at 7. They have personnel to implement change at these positions but only if it suits the plan for 2022 within their own group.

Limerick have evolved most years tactically which is why they've been successful and I don't see this year being any different.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 05/03/2022 15:25:31    2403899

Replying To Bon:  "If Dan went back to the wing would you see Kyle Hayes being moved back up to the forwards?"
Hard to see Kyle Hayes ever back in the forwards. Aside from the 4 points in 2018s final ,his shooting is very hit and miss but of course he can turn and burst a hole in any half back line. He's been a Collossus at wing back. Hard to see the advantage in taking a risk moving him. Id say if Tom Morrissey doesn't regain form then there will be a question . Id have great faith in Morrissey coming good again when he's needed most.
Nash could play wing back. I see him as Hannons successor for centre back. If he was moved out there sooner in 2019 when Hannon was injured Limerick would have won. But that's the way it goes
Mike Casey is a fullback only so Dan would Have to be moved. Tricky one. I can't see Dan Morrissey being moved. He's too good at fullback.
Adam English has a great chance if he grasps it. I dont care how young he is. He's efficency and fearlessness is badly needed to reinvigorate that full forward line.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 05/03/2022 15:46:40    2403909

Replying To bloodyban:  "Hard to see Kyle Hayes ever back in the forwards. Aside from the 4 points in 2018s final ,his shooting is very hit and miss but of course he can turn and burst a hole in any half back line. He's been a Collossus at wing back. Hard to see the advantage in taking a risk moving him. Id say if Tom Morrissey doesn't regain form then there will be a question . Id have great faith in Morrissey coming good again when he's needed most.
Nash could play wing back. I see him as Hannons successor for centre back. If he was moved out there sooner in 2019 when Hannon was injured Limerick would have won. But that's the way it goes
Mike Casey is a fullback only so Dan would Have to be moved. Tricky one. I can't see Dan Morrissey being moved. He's too good at fullback.
Adam English has a great chance if he grasps it. I dont care how young he is. He's efficency and fearlessness is badly needed to reinvigorate that full forward line."
Good post. Spot on.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 05/03/2022 17:01:59    2403923

Replying To Mads:  "My gut feeling would be is that Mike is a specialist full back. I stand corrected but I don't think he has played in the corners even for na piarsaigh. I could be wrong but I wouldn't see him in any other position if he was to get match fit"
Ya i saw him play against Kilmallock (i think) in Bruff in the corner a few years back but mainly a fullback as you say

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 05/03/2022 20:33:27    2403982

Replying To daveboy:  "Good post. Spot on."
Ya but most of that hit and miss shooting has been from wing back. Think he's fairly accurate closer in

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 05/03/2022 20:37:08    2403984

Replying To Shocs07:  "Ya but most of that hit and miss shooting has been from wing back. Think he's fairly accurate closer in"
Hes a beast no matter where you put him. I just think kiely might have a trick or two up the sleeve for April.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 05/03/2022 20:51:28    2403991

Thanks for your input.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2418 - 05/03/2022 20:59:22    2403993

Replying To bloodyban:  "Hard to see Kyle Hayes ever back in the forwards. Aside from the 4 points in 2018s final ,his shooting is very hit and miss but of course he can turn and burst a hole in any half back line. He's been a Collossus at wing back. Hard to see the advantage in taking a risk moving him. Id say if Tom Morrissey doesn't regain form then there will be a question . Id have great faith in Morrissey coming good again when he's needed most.
Adam English has a great chance if he grasps it. I dont care how young he is. He's efficency and fearlessness is badly needed to reinvigorate that full forward line."
I saw Mike Casey playing at Left Corner Back on Allan Cadogan who was going well at the time down In Pairc Ui Rinn in a League game about '17. He was absolutely brilliant. I would have no fear of him at corner back if push came to shove.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 05/03/2022 21:06:16    2403995

We seem to have a surplus of good cover for the full back line, Nash would be a gfood addition to our f ull forward line.

Slade (Limerick) - Posts: 357 - 05/03/2022 21:11:55    2403999

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I saw Mike Casey playing at Left Corner Back on Allan Cadogan who was going well at the time down In Pairc Ui Rinn in a League game about '17. He was absolutely brilliant. I would have no fear of him at corner back if push came to shove."
Played corner back v kk in Nolan Park in championship in 17 and was limericks best hurler that day.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 05/03/2022 21:12:27    2404001

Replying To daveboy:  "Played corner back v kk in Nolan Park in championship in 17 and was limericks best hurler that day."
Yes indeed Dave, the entire KK Full Forward Line were held scoreless from play that night. Has it ever happened to a KK Full Forward Line before?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 05/03/2022 21:45:31    2404010

Daithí Burke broke his hurley in 2 off of a Cork player last night. Not even a yellow. And people think there aren't different rules for green jerseys.
Good win for Cork last night. In fairness never looked in trouble. Their backs haven't given much away at all either. Interesting alright how the goal keeper plays the ball a lot. Eoin murphy does that a bit too for the cats. Don't think they got too much change when they went directly long but had good variety with their puck outs. Pity about the over theatrics when tackled

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 377 - 06/03/2022 07:43:45    2404022

Replying To Mads:  "Daithí Burke broke his hurley in 2 off of a Cork player last night. Not even a yellow. And people think there aren't different rules for green jerseys.
Good win for Cork last night. In fairness never looked in trouble. Their backs haven't given much away at all either. Interesting alright how the goal keeper plays the ball a lot. Eoin murphy does that a bit too for the cats. Don't think they got too much change when they went directly long but had good variety with their puck outs. Pity about the over theatrics when tackled"
I found the match last night a very average watch. It felt like both teams were shadow boxing and had a very tame feel to the whole thing. I know circumstances were difficult for Galway and credit to them for fulfilling all the same.. Cork looked v slick at times and the one off runners is working for them albeit the intensity and physicality will go up several gears in a few weeks. The goalkeeper filling into the full back line and creating an extra man on the opposite wing is an interesting development with Murphy in kk starting it off a year or two back with o Keeffe from Waterford. I think this has disaster written all over it personally if its done often.

Cork have adopted a carbon copy of limericks style which you can't blame them as its successful. Time will tell if they have the physicality and conditioning to marry it up in the championship. They do look like they are near championship pace and sharpness.

Galway were a bit flat. On the Daithi Burke one I've little interest in comparing with other countys. The spotlight is always on the AI champions and I always feel the league is a free hit for refs to throw out a few cards and implement some form of change on tackles, steps, passes etc..it will always revert back to the free flowing game we love for the most part.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 06/03/2022 10:02:32    2404030

Good news on Hannon and Hayes. Both expected out for only 7-10 days. Sean back training Tuesday. I saw our season Flash before my eyes when lynch fell into a heap clutching his knee.

I'll make one observation of the league if I may. Limerick have had 4 monumentally physical battles and today in particular they got bounced everywhere they went in particular Nash took some punishment and still our best hurler on the day. Some of the other league games I've watched had very little intensity.training field type stuff. Now people might worry but for me limerick have possibly had the best prep for championship. They are trying to find that flow in their game and a bit of form but as they were well behind starting off I think those 4 weeks will stand to them hugely.

Positives from today for me was the increase in work rate and form of likes of O neill Tom morrissey and richie English again. Nicky was class and byrnes from play was powerful. His frees at the end cost limerick possibly the win but it was a hard day from free taking esp from distance. Tony Kelly missed 4 or 5 himself so tough windy day. Nash was excellent.

I think we were beaten in midfield which is not the norm. I just wonder is WoD still minding that shoulder. I think Caroline Currid might earn her dues with Hegarty. He looked like a man who was afraid to commit like his normal self. I'm summising but I think that red might have affected him. His basic hurling left him in the 2nd half and kiely did him a favour pulling him. I've never seen Gearoid so flat esp in 2nd half. He needs to be reminded that if you take the physicality out of his game he is not the hurler what won him HOTY 2 years ago. They'll get him right for April.

Before people write off Adam English he wont mark a better corner back this year bar training. It was his first proper competitive start and I think he'll improve hugely for it.

I enjoyed the match albeit at times the standard was poor. The ref was whistle happy but consistent I felt. I didn't see the Gillane incident but clare lads beside me said they were both at it and it didmt warrant either being sent off but again in the league officials have a bit of a free hit with decisions like that. I felt Jack brownes red was unnecessary.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 06/03/2022 18:41:56    2404121

Just saw Gillanes second yellow and the referee was correct with his decision.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 06/03/2022 19:57:44    2404130