Limerick and Clare had both qualified from munster at that stage and all the rave at the time was 3rd place was the place to be. I was at the match and it was clear to see that limerick hadn't anything like championship intensity to it. No whataboutery here as in essence it wasn't knock out. Dead rubber could have been another term used as I remember it was used in the media at the time.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 13:14:47 2403456 Link 0 |
Would you call this a dummy team?? LIMERICK: Nicky Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Darragh O'Donovan, Cian Lynch; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Seamus Flanagan, Shane Dowling, Graeme Mulcahy. Subs: Tom Condon for Finn (13, inj), Richie McCarthy for Mulcahy (HT), Aaron Gillane for Flanagan (49), David Dempsey for Hegarty (56), Barry Nash for English (64). bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/03/2022 13:19:48 2403459 Link 0 |
I'd call that a fine team. Already qualified out of munster with a match to spare.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 13:45:36 2403463 Link 0 |
Looking ahead to Sunday and I feel kiely will go strong enough. He'll be without Flanagan and Finn for sure with doubts over Nash. With o neill coughlan and Adam English playing ucd in freshers semi tonight he might give those lads the weekend off. I think o neill has shown enough as has coughlan to be pushing lads to get to where they need to be in the starting 15 so expect Tom morrissey and Hayes to get more game time. Would love to see Adam English get a start before league is over.. I know a lot of people feel He'll need the year but he's hugely exciting in an area where there isn't huge depth. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 13:54:31 2403465 Link 0 |
Will we try and get back to the hurling, I was listening to a few of the usual hurling podcasts and to Ryan and Derek McGrath gave a very interesting insight into how cork set up so well against us. They're backroom team in fairness to them has done serious work on us. The additions to that backroom team are obviously paying off. Kingston and DO'S looked clueless at the first water break of the AI final. I think Dealer made a very good point that tactics from a limerick point of view didn't come into it. I'd be hoping the guru Paul kinnerk has observed everything and will respond in kind for May. Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 02/03/2022 14:45:42 2403475 Link 0 |
Under any rule, current or otherwise, hitting a player with the elbow or shoulder in the head is extremely dangerous. People can argue about which hit was worst but that's not the point, any hit to the head considering what we know now about brain injuries, concussion etc should be penalised severely. To be fair to Dónal Óg when he was asked about his fellow Corkman and the red card he called it out as very dangerous play and that the red card was definitely warranted. I have seen punters in the past on RTÉ and they'd never come clean about a player from their own county. I see a lot of that here too, unfortunately.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 02/03/2022 14:57:46 2403479 Link 1 |
Absolutely a fine team, 14 starters of the 15 started that's years final ( Gillane for Dowling) which bears the question why a few posts ago you claimed Kiely rested a good few in this match? Maybe your attempts of deflection and whataboutery tied you up in knots.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/03/2022 15:14:06 2403485 Link 0 |
I thought TJs summary of corks tactics was spot on and exactly what I felt watching the match live. Millerick followed Lynch everywhere and they flooded the space in front of our inside line. The covering of o mahony and coleman was evident and they ran everywhere. The main thing I took from the match was how sharp cork were but also how off the pace limerick were with their touch. Now with only 8 regulars starting I felt cork seized their chance and fair play to them they went out and got a performance. Over the last couple of league campaigns kiely had always tried a few new lads but they were always surrounded by lots of established players. I think he could have started one or two more last weekend but circumstance might have got in the way re WOD Nash Hego etc. That said kiely and kinnerk will dissect the way cork set up to stifle limerick in that first half. In that regard I think cork have shown a big hand here already but maybe they calculated that they needed to regardless. Fascinating stuff 7 weeks out from the championship match. I think we also could be a bit quick in casting aside some of the lads that played. It can be tough to stand out when the team is a bit off it and with only 8 regulars starting and the other side in bad need of a statement performance playing at near championship pace. A bit more patience is required I think but we're all mad for hurling so can be frustrating at times. That said championship is 7 weeks away and the business end of it is 4 months away so no need to panic just yet. I'm not a huge gambling man but the bookies are seldom wrong. Limerick are 8/11 and its 6/1 bar so that might indicate the relevance of performance currently. That said I like what wexford and Dublin are doing in leinster and I think they might shock a few of the bigger fish in that province. Munster as always will be a bear pit. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 15:14:52 2403487 Link 0 |
I'd agree here 100% that the hit to the head needs to be clamped down on as someone who's suffered a few in my time. The red cards given in the cork match were both justified absolutely and no one could argue that. I just wonder how this will play out in the championship if there is contact to the head area but clearly accidental and the receiving player may or may not exaggerate it. I'm not putting my county jersey on here just genuinely commenting on how matches could be decided by accidental head collisions in a sport that has so many of them within a match. It will be so tough on officials come the summer daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 16:25:36 2403513 Link 1 |
It's the same pattern each year, lots of cards during the league and a different application of the rules in the championship.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 02/03/2022 17:48:38 2403532 Link 0 |
Very few refs give second yellow without damn good reason. I saw your fellow county James Owens in '18, below in Cork go for his pocket for a card after Sean O'Donoghue, committed a very high and dangerous clothes tackle on Cian Lynch. However he had been yellow carded a few minutes earlier and James realising this quickly relented, even though Limerick were already down to fourteen men. How come nobody from other counties, including thodse from Wexford, seemed to see anything wrong with the way Brendan Maher took out Limericks Peter Casey in the '19 Munster Final. Casey had already scored 1.6 from play in a scintillating MOTM performance and yet Maher got away without getting a yellow for a wild and reckless, which left Peter having to be stretchered off the field. Is there one law in some Wexford peoples eyes for Limerick players and another for Tipp men. I remember another case a good few years, after a Clare/Kilkenny game in Thurles in which there were a few minor fireworks, but nothing of note,' an ex Wexford hurling Star, making his maiden appearance on 'Sunday Sport' lost the run of himself and unfairly put most of the blame for the Shenanigans' of the day on the perfectly decent Dalcassans. I attended the game, shouting for my Banner neighbours of course and I saw nothing unseemly worth talking about. In the aftermath, Ger Loughnane put it succinctly, when he said he 'often saw more pushing coming out from last Mass in Crusheen'. However our Model County Hero made such a sang and dance about it, claiming that the Cats were awfully badly treated- which they were not- that it was his first and last appearance on the show. Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 02/03/2022 18:21:28 2403536 Link 1 |
I don't think officials will have any problem once there all doing the same thing..however some refs seem to be more worried about themselves,that includes our rep on the hurling panel..a ref I've great time for in last few years is Tomas walsh from Waterford but I havnt seen him on duty in many league games..I also think limerick need to watch the loose use of the hurley which they are being very closely watched on..also some of the well known names on limerick panel definitely have to stop reacting to stuff happening on the field..our boys are at the top and every team will find a way of knocking them off their perch..killkenny were brilliant at not reacting to stuff.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2569 - 02/03/2022 19:06:26 2403542 Link 0 |
No big deal about that Ennis result in '18, after all the McCarthy Cup ended up in Limerick in August after they had beaten Cork, Tipp and Kilkenny and then dethroned the All Ireland Champions. (1) That Clare team were a fine side, having won the All Ireland in '13 and with many of team still in situ, including Tony Kelly one of the finest players of his generation. (2) Any team, especially an expierianced one, can have an off day. The collapse of a very fine Wexford side to Limerick in 2014 in Thurles is just one example of several good teams. falling on their face on a particular day. (3) Ennis has always been the graveyard of visiting teams for decades. Cork and Tipp, even at their peaks have almost always refused to engage in Home/Away Championship games with Clare (or indeed with Waterford). (4) That loss was probably the making of Limerick in '18, as it gave them a smooth enough build up to taking on the three giants, KK, CK and GY. The loss was in fact just a minor hiccup and in no way a set back. So overall that result is nothing major in the general scheme of things in the unforgettable hurling season that 2018 was. Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 03/03/2022 09:12:59 2403567 Link 0 |
You're right. It's been that way for many years now. Can sometimes make the league at times irrelevant bar the need to get lads up to speed and have a look at a few new players.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 03/03/2022 09:28:34 2403570 Link 0 |
Do limerick have a discipline issue or not? In the year 2022? That is my question? Every county has injustices from years gone by they can bring if they want but it does nothing other than deflect. Personally I feel its the single biggest thing that could hold them back in 2022 if not addressed. Every county has strengths/weaknesses that can be discussed but as AI Champions ye are by far the most relevant. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 03/03/2022 10:05:10 2403576 Link 2 |
Not disagreeing with any of this but it still doesn't solve the riddle of someone claiming Kiely 'Rested a good few' in that game when he clearly didn't.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 03/03/2022 10:40:55 2403580 Link 0 |
Do limerick have a discipline issue or not? In the year 2022? That is my question? Every county has injustices from years gone by they can bring if they want but it does nothing other than deflect. Personally I feel its the single biggest thing that could hold them back in 2022 if not addressed. Every county has strengths/weaknesses that can be discussed but as AI Champions ye are by far the most relevant. LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 03/03/2022 10:51:30 2403585 Link 0 |
It's a valid question. It was the same question this time last year and the year before. For me its a spotlight issue. I think the red cards limerick have had in championship since 18 answers it. 2 in 2018, 0 in 2019, 0 in 2020, 1 in 2021(rescinded). I think this is the important part. How many have other countys had in same time frame? That would help to see if limerick have had vastly more than others. And saying some tackles deserved reds for me I disingenuous as all matches have tackles in them thar are potential reds that go unpunished. Wexford last weekend for example. Do they have a particular problem this year? I would say it's the same in previous years. Higher degree of scrutiny, refs like to throw out cards in the league etc. The important thing is come April the championship starts and all this is forgotten I feel posters on here have answered this already but there are certain wexford posters(for some reason) that want to continue to peddle this. Its tiresome but the media drive it so understandable. daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 03/03/2022 11:43:23 2403592 Link 0 |
I didn't realise you had so much interest in a team line up from 4 years ago from a different county but let me finish this as you seem to require further comment.. A lot of water under the bridge since then. 3 munsters 2 leagues 3 All Irelands so forgive me for not remembering so accurately. My memory of that match was limerick didn't mind not winning and played like it. You can argue the merits of thatall you want. Gillane was sat out that day so if they truly needed the win he would have started and limerick would have treated the match differently. But fair play on the research.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 03/03/2022 11:48:06 2403594 Link 0 |
Fair enough stance. You are completely discounting every league which is convenient and also the wild pulls ye have gotten away with. Maybe it won't be an issue or maybe it will snowball and the breaks will go the opposite way - thats the crux of my question. Time will tell.
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 03/03/2022 13:14:26 2403625 Link 0 |