Limerick GAA thread

Replying To baire:  "What's your view on ' Connor's high hit on Tuohy in Pearse Stadium? The TG4 view was that it was definitely a straight red."
Taught he was lucky, players in general have to be very careful with the macho crowd pleasing thundering shoulders, if they a little bit high or if the opposition player slightly dips you can easily be sitting in the stand.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 01/03/2022 21:54:26    2403347

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "No i disagree, if you stick your elbow out and hit someone in the face you're asking for trouble. Anyway we'll agree to disagree!"
Sure! Like the clamping down on handpassing it will be interesting to see how the head contact thing is refereed come championship. See what is thought to be dangerous.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16495 - 02/03/2022 07:29:10    2403350

Replying To baire:  "What's your view on ' Connor's high hit on Tuohy in Pearse Stadium? The TG4 view was that it was definitely a straight red."
I'd agree Baire under the current rules. Though it was more like Flanagans than Kingstons. Kingstons was as bad as I've seen in a long time and I watch alot of hurling from under 5s upwards.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16495 - 02/03/2022 07:31:18    2403351

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "No i have to disagree, Finn moves right before impact and Kinston connects shoulder to face. Flanagan sticks out his elbow to make sure he hits him. Both of them are red cards. I don't know how you could say Kingston looks meditated whereas Flanagan is clumsy? A clumsy tackle dosen't result with the elbow coming out past the horizontal.
And he's another player with discipline issues for Kiely to worry about."
Larry
Do you think Kingston has any disciplinary issues to worry about. One of his players was put off for a nasty challenge that put a player in hospital, (in passing I might add that over the last four years not one opposition player has been hospitalised due to an injury inflicted by a Limerick player). Another Cork player, and Donal Og agreed, should have been put for the high tackle on Hannon and two of his players were put off V Clare in the Championship last year.
In the cauldron atmosphere of Pairc Ui Caoimh on Easter Day, it should be interesting to see which team will be the most disciplined.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 02/03/2022 09:07:13    2403360

Replying To Viking66:  "Watched the Kingston one back a few times Larry. Dont think it was mistimed it looked more like revenge for the tangle up after the goal earlier. It was lined up from a good way out. If it was rugby it wouldve been a straight red. It was a shoulder clean into the side of the head. I heard Finn had to go to hospital after it. They are the sort of tackles that could lead to a lad being paralysed or brain damaged for the rest of his life. Alot worse than breaking someone's arm with the chop of a hurl . Should get a long ban for it.
Flanagans looked clumsy but harmless. Both were standing nearly still- no real impact- if anything it was hard to see why the Cork lad had to dive on the floor. He seemed to be absolutely fine after the red was shown."
Yes indeed. If Hannon, who took a fine belt, had 'pulled' a 'Cathal Barrett' on it, and went down like a bag of spuds ,the Cork lad would have also got the line, but the three times All Ireland Captain is made of far finer stuff than that.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 02/03/2022 09:44:14    2403374

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Larry
Do you think Kingston has any disciplinary issues to worry about. One of his players was put off for a nasty challenge that put a player in hospital, (in passing I might add that over the last four years not one opposition player has been hospitalised due to an injury inflicted by a Limerick player). Another Cork player, and Donal Og agreed, should have been put for the high tackle on Hannon and two of his players were put off V Clare in the Championship last year.
In the cauldron atmosphere of Pairc Ui Caoimh on Easter Day, it should be interesting to see which team will be the most disciplined."
No I don't to be honest. As i said in an above post i thought Flanagans tackle had more intent but not the same result. Both unquestionable red cards. Possibly if Corks aggression manifests from Sunday then maybe Kingston might start to worry but their record is no where near as marked as Limericks. Both lads in the Clare game got two yellows, that happens.
Again you can deflect and say because Limerick lads never put anyone in hospital it dosen't make it that bad or whatever but the fact is that's three years in row Flanagan has gotten straight reds, was the ref wrong every time there? Limericks red card record since 2018 is shocking.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 02/03/2022 09:59:22    2403381

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "No I don't to be honest. As i said in an above post i thought Flanagans tackle had more intent but not the same result. Both unquestionable red cards. Possibly if Corks aggression manifests from Sunday then maybe Kingston might start to worry but their record is no where near as marked as Limericks. Both lads in the Clare game got two yellows, that happens.
Again you can deflect and say because Limerick lads never put anyone in hospital it dosen't make it that bad or whatever but the fact is that's three years in row Flanagan has gotten straight reds, was the ref wrong every time there? Limericks red card record since 2018 is shocking."
Larry you have clearly an agenda and it's getting tiresome. All ireland medals are what count at the end of a players career not the amount of cards he has gotten. You keep peddling away though. I'd like to see where it gets you.

Hurling is a hugely physical game and I love it for what it is. Hurling has never been better from a skill, fitness, ball playing athletic perspective. These guys are finely tuned athletes and the speed of the game has gone through the roof. Hurling has always had a physical element and even an overly physical element to it. It's what we come back for. Sometimes things boil over and thats part of it.

Anyone that tries to pretend Hurling was better 30 years ago hasn't watched a match from back then in quite a while. It was woeful stuff. Exciting, exhilarating, visceral almost but from all the elements I mentioned above light years behind.

I am aware I initiated the chat around Kingston as I felt sometimes when a player goes beyond it should be called out. But it's done now and he'll serve his suspension. Larry just seems to be the only one here who can't see what it was and I trying to deflect.

Alas onto next Sundays action. Let more prep be done. When Easter weekend is over very few people will remember who won what in the league. I'd ask one question can anyone name the last 15 winners of the league. I bet most will rattle off last 15 winners of the All Ireland.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 10:24:15    2403389

Just dipped in for a nose at the Limerick mood. Surprised to see discipline being discussed.
The biggest problem regarding refereeing is lads playing for frees and lads trying to get opponents sent off. Every county has these players.
As a player myself, if a player has committed to a shoulder and the defender backs out of it and turns into a well intentioned shoulder, the defender gets everything he has coming to him.
I only saw some of the match but the shoulder by Jack O'Connor (Wexford) was just as well intentioned as those which got red cards between Limerick and Cork. Players trying to play the ball are being met with a defender trying to get him sent off.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1890 - 02/03/2022 10:29:23    2403395

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "No I don't to be honest. As i said in an above post i thought Flanagans tackle had more intent but not the same result. Both unquestionable red cards. Possibly if Corks aggression manifests from Sunday then maybe Kingston might start to worry but their record is no where near as marked as Limericks. Both lads in the Clare game got two yellows, that happens.
Again you can deflect and say because Limerick lads never put anyone in hospital it dosen't make it that bad or whatever but the fact is that's three years in row Flanagan has gotten straight reds, was the ref wrong every time there? Limericks red card record since 2018 is shocking."
Red cards are brandished in the league like confetti. It always amazes me come championship some of those tackles aren't even frees. Refs like to enforce certain things in the league like steps, handpasses, multiple cards. Come championship that goes as they are mostly ex hurlers and know its a physical game and let it go.

Limericks red card record in the championship since 18 is a lot better than most countys and esp corks.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 10:30:28    2403396

Limerick have had 2 red cards in the last 4 hurling championships. Aaron Gillane in round Robin in 2018. Peter casey (rescinded at the first hurdle) semi final in 2021. So one player served a suspension for a red card offense for limerick in the last 4 years..

These are the facts. You can waffle on about league and refs missing calls which they all do in most matches but these are the facts.

I couldn't be bothered totting up the other countys but I'd be surprised if limerick weren't near the bottom of the list or at the bottom.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 10:45:18    2403400

Larry
After last years All Ireland Final, there was a whole load of whingers on giving out about Limerick despite the fact that they beat one of the power houses of the game by 16 points- in fairness none of them from Cork. When I pointed out to them that there were two blood substitutions in the whole game, and that Lynch's injury looked by far the worse and that the two players who had to go off injured went off due to injuries that were inflicted by no other player, they quietened down somewhat. It amazes me that overall it is only a few contributors on here from Wexford and Galway that seem to get so worked up about Limerick behaviour.
If you want to see real violence in an All Ireland just play back the tape of the 2007 Final-it is available on utube.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 02/03/2022 11:01:52    2403405

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick have had 2 red cards in the last 4 hurling championships. Aaron Gillane in round Robin in 2018. Peter casey (rescinded at the first hurdle) semi final in 2021. So one player served a suspension for a red card offense for limerick in the last 4 years..

These are the facts. You can waffle on about league and refs missing calls which they all do in most matches but these are the facts.

I couldn't be bothered totting up the other countys but I'd be surprised if limerick weren't near the bottom of the list or at the bottom."
You've conveniently forgot the merited reds limerick have got away with in that time bit like when you had a pop at Kingston and it was a awful challenge you failed to mention Finn's cheap shot hurl to the head a minute or 2 before the incident following the goal.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/03/2022 11:12:42    2403407

Replying To wexico15:  "You've conveniently forgot the merited reds limerick have got away with in that time bit like when you had a pop at Kingston and it was a awful challenge you failed to mention Finn's cheap shot hurl to the head a minute or 2 before the incident following the goal."
I did mention refs miss calls like they do in all matches. The spotlight is very much on limerick and its wonderful to have it on us. Long may it be there wexico.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 11:39:45    2403419

Replying To daveboy:  "Limerick have had 2 red cards in the last 4 hurling championships. Aaron Gillane in round Robin in 2018. Peter casey (rescinded at the first hurdle) semi final in 2021. So one player served a suspension for a red card offense for limerick in the last 4 years..

I couldn't be bothered totting up the other countys but I'd be surprised if limerick weren't near the bottom of the list or at the bottom."
Did Tom Condon not get one for one for a particularly dirty stroke??

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 02/03/2022 12:30:26    2403437

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Did Tom Condon not get one for one for a particularly dirty stroke??"
You're right there Larry. I'd forgotten that dead rubber match in Ennis when kiely rested a good few. As I said we welcome the spotlight. I'd still put limerick near the bottom I'd imagine in last 4 years of championship hurling if you fancied shining a light on the rest of the countys.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 12:38:35    2403440

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Larry
After last years All Ireland Final, there was a whole load of whingers on giving out about Limerick despite the fact that they beat one of the power houses of the game by 16 points- in fairness none of them from Cork. When I pointed out to them that there were two blood substitutions in the whole game, and that Lynch's injury looked by far the worse and that the two players who had to go off injured went off due to injuries that were inflicted by no other player, they quietened down somewhat. It amazes me that overall it is only a few contributors on here from Wexford and Galway that seem to get so worked up about Limerick behaviour.
If you want to see real violence in an All Ireland just play back the tape of the 2007 Final-it is available on utube."
It's not an agenda. I'm objective and I like to think my opinions are fact based.
Limerick have a discipline issue, its the single biggest thing ye should be worried about. Ye got away with it in the Munster Final last year but them breaks tend to even themselves out. As i honestly asked would ye have won an All-Ireland if ye had lost to Tipp and played against Waterford with the two boys suspended? Fine lines. Instead of excusing it and justifying it and deflecting i think ye should address it.
Galway have a pace and strength of panel issue - said that on the forum last week.
Wexford have a strength of panel issue that we hope is getting better than worse. Plus we probably just aren't good enough but we live in hope.

It's a forum, opinons matter.

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 02/03/2022 12:40:05    2403443

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "It's not an agenda. I'm objective and I like to think my opinions are fact based.
Limerick have a discipline issue, its the single biggest thing ye should be worried about. Ye got away with it in the Munster Final last year but them breaks tend to even themselves out. As i honestly asked would ye have won an All-Ireland if ye had lost to Tipp and played against Waterford with the two boys suspended? Fine lines. Instead of excusing it and justifying it and deflecting i think ye should address it.
Galway have a pace and strength of panel issue - said that on the forum last week.
Wexford have a strength of panel issue that we hope is getting better than worse. Plus we probably just aren't good enough but we live in hope.

It's a forum, opinons matter."
Your objectivity sailed out the window when you said Flanagans hit was worse than Kingstons. You make some good points in fairness and a lot of your analysis is spot on but that was a beauty.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 12:49:21    2403446

Replying To daveboy:  "Your objectivity sailed out the window when you said Flanagans hit was worse than Kingstons. You make some good points in fairness and a lot of your analysis is spot on but that was a beauty."
Kingstons hit done more damage but Flanagans had more intent - thats my opinon

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 02/03/2022 12:53:40    2403447

Replying To daveboy:  "You're right there Larry. I'd forgotten that dead rubber match in Ennis when kiely rested a good few. As I said we welcome the spotlight. I'd still put limerick near the bottom I'd imagine in last 4 years of championship hurling if you fancied shining a light on the rest of the countys."
No that was a game for a spot in the Munster final, Tipp in Thurles in 2019 was a dead rubber, your some yokes for deflection and whataboutery...

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/03/2022 13:04:54    2403452

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "Kingstons hit done more damage but Flanagans had more intent - thats my opinon"
You're entitled to your opinion 100%

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1198 - 02/03/2022 13:07:06    2403454