Limerick GAA thread

Big win for cork today and well deserved. I think what we've learned is that with the exception of young o neil our fringe players didn't stand up. This has been the most disappointing story of the league. Not everything worked out for O'Neil but he was constantly in the thick of things. Graeme mulcahy gets that corner forward spot automatically which isn't a good thing. Reidy and o'connell didn't take their opportunities Again our shooting was extremely poor but in that first half we didn't create the scoring opportunities either.
Maybe they have done a tonne of heavy training, I don't know but cork ran rings around us from word go.
When we brought the regulars in I thought cork withstood it really well. Flanagan was silly to give the ref an opportunity straight away to even up the playing field with that red card.
Those players have given us 3 all ireland which is some going. Perhaps fatigue is taking its toll. They owe us nothing and are bound to have an odd off day. I'm thinking of Tom Morrissey who has yet to find anywhere close to his regular form. A player is bound to have an odd off day. When he does though who is there to step into his shoes? We are totally reliant on the first 15 and that's it

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 27/02/2022 17:59:28    2402771

Replying To Mads:  "Big win for cork today and well deserved. I think what we've learned is that with the exception of young o neil our fringe players didn't stand up. This has been the most disappointing story of the league. Not everything worked out for O'Neil but he was constantly in the thick of things. Graeme mulcahy gets that corner forward spot automatically which isn't a good thing. Reidy and o'connell didn't take their opportunities Again our shooting was extremely poor but in that first half we didn't create the scoring opportunities either.
Maybe they have done a tonne of heavy training, I don't know but cork ran rings around us from word go.
When we brought the regulars in I thought cork withstood it really well. Flanagan was silly to give the ref an opportunity straight away to even up the playing field with that red card.
Those players have given us 3 all ireland which is some going. Perhaps fatigue is taking its toll. They owe us nothing and are bound to have an odd off day. I'm thinking of Tom Morrissey who has yet to find anywhere close to his regular form. A player is bound to have an odd off day. When he does though who is there to step into his shoes? We are totally reliant on the first 15 and that's it"
It was a great opportunity for guys to put their hands up, but as you said there is far too much reliant on the first 15. That would be the most worrying thing from a Limerick point of view.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2417 - 27/02/2022 19:10:21    2402793

Yeah it was a disappointing performance overall. Cork were impressive. I liked the solidity they had around their halfback line. Some ok performances for Limerick. Donal o Donovan ,ONeill (after 2 terrible first half wides) , WOD when he came on was good.
I'd agree with the prevailing sentiment. The bench is bare enough. There's plenty of dead wood there. Hanley was poor. Reidy must he some man in training because he gets start after start. He's so profligate with his shots. 2 frees wide from the same spot aswell. Off again. Boylan wouldnt hit a barn door. For a big guy with alot if experience he's not pushed on. Pat Ryan is a good sub but not good enough to start.
Costello did ok as did English when he came on. Again neither is in my championship 15. Coughlan was ok but he's very slow ,like shockingly slow. He's a fine hurler, great hands but for me not a starter. So only O Neill has put up his hand.
Please can someone tell Hayes to stop shooting off his back foot..just stop it. Its an easy fix.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/02/2022 19:11:39    2402795

I'm in agreement that not enough fellas are putting hands up..I won't be in any way critical of any players as they have been outsnding for 5 years..shooting in 2 of the 3 matches has been dreadful..looks like one spot up for grabs..it's after this to get the rest of panel
Is going to be very difficult..a big worry it looks like fellas who have got starts are better being brought on in games..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2568 - 27/02/2022 20:44:40    2402831

It's not a good state to be in. Awkward game against Clare in Ennis with Tony Kelly back and shooting the lights out. Grame Mul has played himself onto the starting 15 by not actually playing, that's how bad the subs are. O Connell can get on ball but doesn't seem to be able to turn. He's got no confidence. Hegarty is an awful loss. Tom Morrissey can't seem to get away from anyone at the moment. He was never fast but he's struggling at the moment. He worked hard in the second half.
Iv no doubt that come April John Kiely will have a seriously primed team. Its a definite. But we don't have the subs. There's one new player that adds value,that's O Neill. He's learning alot. Has Peter Casey any chance of playing this April or May?

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/02/2022 21:09:11    2402842

Replying To bloodyban:  "It's not a good state to be in. Awkward game against Clare in Ennis with Tony Kelly back and shooting the lights out. Grame Mul has played himself onto the starting 15 by not actually playing, that's how bad the subs are. O Connell can get on ball but doesn't seem to be able to turn. He's got no confidence. Hegarty is an awful loss. Tom Morrissey can't seem to get away from anyone at the moment. He was never fast but he's struggling at the moment. He worked hard in the second half.
Iv no doubt that come April John Kiely will have a seriously primed team. Its a definite. But we don't have the subs. There's one new player that adds value,that's O Neill. He's learning alot. Has Peter Casey any chance of playing this April or May?"
Very surprised at how bad they were today. No sign of any incremental improvements from the last game. I appreciate panel members are fully entitled to stake their claim but some of the forwards were way off the required standard. At the very least, we should be slotting over most of the frees. The likes of Shane Dowling is a huge loss to our panel. Dunno who you'd be excited about now coming on

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 27/02/2022 21:47:24    2402848

Replying To bloodyban:  "It's not a good state to be in. Awkward game against Clare in Ennis with Tony Kelly back and shooting the lights out. Grame Mul has played himself onto the starting 15 by not actually playing, that's how bad the subs are. O Connell can get on ball but doesn't seem to be able to turn. He's got no confidence. Hegarty is an awful loss. Tom Morrissey can't seem to get away from anyone at the moment. He was never fast but he's struggling at the moment. He worked hard in the second half.
Iv no doubt that come April John Kiely will have a seriously primed team. Its a definite. But we don't have the subs. There's one new player that adds value,that's O Neill. He's learning alot. Has Peter Casey any chance of playing this April or May?"
I'd say it would be madness to attempt to play Peter Casey. Let him recuperate and be ready for 2023.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 28/02/2022 08:35:54    2402857

The fringe players were very poor yesterday, with the exception of Cathal O Neill. David Dempsey and Adrian Breen are both gone from the panel this year, which is hard to understand, particularly with Casey out and the weakness of the forward options from the bench.

shslimk (Limerick) - Posts: 1 - 28/02/2022 10:19:35    2402889

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I'd say it would be madness to attempt to play Peter Casey. Let him recuperate and be ready for 2023."
Absolutely, the lad is exactly what's required but he doesn't deserve to be rushed back because we're in a bit of bother. The championship is so early this year, it decided it for him really.
Lads that corner forward spot is a right conundrum for me. I have always stated I'm a massive fan of Tom Morrissey why wouldn't you be. At this moment in time cathail o neill is showing better form.
So that puts lynch, hegarty and O'Neil with hopefully Morrissey challenging hard or taking over once championship hits. Reidy right now is a half forward sub at best. So against clare next day out. Gillane and mulcahy for game time will surely start. Does kiely persist with Reidy to see if he will adapt in the corner or does he give young Adam English a run. I'd be inclined to go with the latter.
Like another poster said. Shooting off target it one thing but the touch and speed is completely missing too. Kiely for the first time in a long time was visibly worried the last day.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 28/02/2022 10:42:45    2402895

Replying To Mads:  "Absolutely, the lad is exactly what's required but he doesn't deserve to be rushed back because we're in a bit of bother. The championship is so early this year, it decided it for him really.
Lads that corner forward spot is a right conundrum for me. I have always stated I'm a massive fan of Tom Morrissey why wouldn't you be. At this moment in time cathail o neill is showing better form.
So that puts lynch, hegarty and O'Neil with hopefully Morrissey challenging hard or taking over once championship hits. Reidy right now is a half forward sub at best. So against clare next day out. Gillane and mulcahy for game time will surely start. Does kiely persist with Reidy to see if he will adapt in the corner or does he give young Adam English a run. I'd be inclined to go with the latter.
Like another poster said. Shooting off target it one thing but the touch and speed is completely missing too. Kiely for the first time in a long time was visibly worried the last day."
I think we'll need a more in form Tom Morrissey if we are going to compete for honours again. So often he's been one of our go-to guys. I'd just keep playing him and letting him find some form, his attitude is still top class it just looks like he needs to get back into the flow of things.

Fair play to O'Neill he showed some guts and kept going and showing for the ball even when things were not going well for the forwards. I thought DOD went well at midfield. Looks like Lynch will also need a few backs to get back into inter-county mode. The early start of the championship is not ideal for us, last year they built momentum through the games and got better and better and peaked for the AI Final, then to drop back to nothing afterwards and have to try and get back to that standard again by April must be unbelievably challenging both physically and mentally for players and management who need to instill the same fire, hunger and motivation and try and keep things fresh. We will probably be more vulnerable in the early rounds and look to build momentum again.

Wonder if Limerick will put out close to a full-strength team against Clare at the weekend. The Banner men will really be looking forward to this one and with only the Offaly game remaining after that, it will be the only true test for Kiely to see where they are at.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 453 - 28/02/2022 12:21:15    2402936

Replying To Mads:  "Absolutely, the lad is exactly what's required but he doesn't deserve to be rushed back because we're in a bit of bother. The championship is so early this year, it decided it for him really.
Like another poster said. Shooting off target it one thing but the touch and speed is completely missing too. Kiely for the first time in a long time was visibly worried the last day."
I think its time to give English a run, if he doesn't get a run at this stage John Kiely is unlikely to trust his at this stage. Especially in the wake of yesterday's defeat, he needs to blood him at stage.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2417 - 28/02/2022 13:54:38    2402975

Yesterday's match albeit disappointing will have given kiely a lot of information going forward. I'd imagine the heavy physical work will taper off and now the hurling/ball work/touch/ tactics will kick in over the next 6 weeks in lead up to championship. Kiely naming 8 starters from last years AI final on Friday allowed Kingston to go very heavy with a near starting championship 15 on the Saturday. This made sense to cork to exorcise a small bit what happened last August. It worked very well for cork and they looked very sharp and have clearly a lot of work done. They looked very close to championship fitness and some of their tactics were interesting.

On tactics i felt kiely held a bit back. Leaving Quaid Nash and Byrnes out from the start left limerick without their best 3 distributors and this lead to some wasteful play from limerick early on. Their accuracy in the pass especially was very poor and the link play suffered. Limerick still look leggy to me and that combination can be very hard to overcome. I also felt kiely held back on the cork puck outs without putting any pressure on collins and allowing them to do as they please in the FB line. The use of collins as an extra man in the FB line has disaster written all over it for cork.

Kiely will be concerned however with some of his fringe players not really stepping up to where he might have liked. There are still questions re 15 come April. Kiely will give mulcahy the jersey on Sunday and it will be Graemes to lose from here on. He will also be keen to get the likes of Dan Hayes and Tom more game time as they look a small bit rusty and their touch is still off but 7 weeks is loads of time for these lads. I still feel we have a nice bit of cover in the backs but it's up front where we are a little light. Casey and Murphys ACL injuries are losses but kieky still has options.

I felt leaving the GG yesterday that cork have handed back limerick a bit of the impetus and motivation after the match. April was always going to be corks revenge match for last August but now kiely will have limerick finely tuned for that first match. The bear has been poked well and truly.

I don't like to finish on a bad note but I thought kingstons hit on finn was a cowardly act and could have done a lot of damage. Anytime someone has to be hospitalised after an intentional hit to the head it should be called out. We in limerick are a physical bunch without a doubt but I don't think we'd ever go out to intentionally hurt someone. Kingston I'm sure it was a rush of blood intentionally went to hurt finn and succeeded.

Onto clare next week and I'm sure kiely will go v strong as the experimentation phase is now over.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 28/02/2022 14:38:42    2402995

Replying To daveboy:  "Yesterday's match albeit disappointing will have given kiely a lot of information going forward. I'd imagine the heavy physical work will taper off and now the hurling/ball work/touch/ tactics will kick in over the next 6 weeks in lead up to championship. Kiely naming 8 starters from last years AI final on Friday allowed Kingston to go very heavy with a near starting championship 15 on the Saturday. This made sense to cork to exorcise a small bit what happened last August. It worked very well for cork and they looked very sharp and have clearly a lot of work done. They looked very close to championship fitness and some of their tactics were interesting.

On tactics i felt kiely held a bit back. Leaving Quaid Nash and Byrnes out from the start left limerick without their best 3 distributors and this lead to some wasteful play from limerick early on. Their accuracy in the pass especially was very poor and the link play suffered. Limerick still look leggy to me and that combination can be very hard to overcome. I also felt kiely held back on the cork puck outs without putting any pressure on collins and allowing them to do as they please in the FB line. The use of collins as an extra man in the FB line has disaster written all over it for cork.

Kiely will be concerned however with some of his fringe players not really stepping up to where he might have liked. There are still questions re 15 come April. Kiely will give mulcahy the jersey on Sunday and it will be Graemes to lose from here on. He will also be keen to get the likes of Dan Hayes and Tom more game time as they look a small bit rusty and their touch is still off but 7 weeks is loads of time for these lads. I still feel we have a nice bit of cover in the backs but it's up front where we are a little light. Casey and Murphys ACL injuries are losses but kieky still has options.

I felt leaving the GG yesterday that cork have handed back limerick a bit of the impetus and motivation after the match. April was always going to be corks revenge match for last August but now kiely will have limerick finely tuned for that first match. The bear has been poked well and truly.

I don't like to finish on a bad note but I thought kingstons hit on finn was a cowardly act and could have done a lot of damage. Anytime someone has to be hospitalised after an intentional hit to the head it should be called out. We in limerick are a physical bunch without a doubt but I don't think we'd ever go out to intentionally hurt someone. Kingston I'm sure it was a rush of blood intentionally went to hurt finn and succeeded.

Onto clare next week and I'm sure kiely will go v strong as the experimentation phase is now over."
Very interesting observations. Fair point about the cork punk out. You actually would have expected limerick to put pressure in there from the off

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 28/02/2022 16:06:16    2403031

Daveboy,after reading your post you are after making me feel slightly better..I thought a lot of our fellas were going through the motions which I wasn't happy with...however maybe they were holding back,especially on cork pick outs..last year limerick went after these big team and destroyed cork..I feel it's where cork will be left down cos he looks like a fella who likes to be seen,if he was watching football he might have seen a few fly keepers nearly being caught and Monaghan keeper was caught..also didn't like the way he ran to the Flanagan incident pleading for a card..another horrible habit after creeping into Gaa..think yesterday to might have been an eye opener for some panel members,( must try a lot harder)..bring on championship,I feel we can beat them but need to control discipline and aggression..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2568 - 28/02/2022 17:18:52    2403062

Replying To daveboy:  "Yesterday's match albeit disappointing will have given kiely a lot of information going forward. I'd imagine the heavy physical work will taper off and now the hurling/ball work/touch/ tactics will kick in over the next 6 weeks in lead up to championship. Kiely naming 8 starters from last years AI final on Friday allowed Kingston to go very heavy with a near starting championship 15 on the Saturday. This made sense to cork to exorcise a small bit what happened last August. It worked very well for cork and they looked very sharp and have clearly a lot of work done. They looked very close to championship fitness and some of their tactics were interesting.

Onto clare next week and I'm sure kiely will go v strong as the experimentation phase is now over."
Kingston got a cheap shot knee to the head as he fell over the goalie after he scored the second goal. His own tackle for the red card was poor.. he can't have any complaints. Overall the game was full of unnecessary off the ball stuff and some close to the play that the referee didn't pick up. Another Cork player should have got a red for the head high tackle he was booked for and W O"Donoghue could have walked for either of 2 separate incidents. No need for any of it. Not great to see Kiely bawling at the referee over a pull back the referee missed.

midfield9 (Westmeath) - Posts: 102 - 28/02/2022 17:36:15    2403072

I did think Kingstons challenge was as bad as I had seen in a while and there was a similair bad one later in the game on Hannon I believe. It was fairly obvious that Kingston wasn't happy about being tripped after scoring the second goal and this came within seconds of him getting back to his feet.
For the first time in years I felt cork forwards worked their socks off when they were without possession and it was notable there was a big effort to up the aggression stakes. I never seen Lehane as gassed before and that was down to the effort he was putting in when limerick had the ball. I didn't fancy cork to get out of Munster at the start of the year but I thought yesterday we seen something different from them. However stupid challenges won't serve them well. I found it interesting that their backs were also in the likes of Gillanes face for the whole second half. A bit of nastiness in their play which isn't a bad thing - albeit the two challenges were stupid so they'll need to ensure they curtail that and don't get carried away.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/02/2022 17:50:41    2403077

Replying To Fitzy01:  "I think we'll need a more in form Tom Morrissey if we are going to compete for honours again. So often he's been one of our go-to guys. I'd just keep playing him and letting him find some form, his attitude is still top class it just looks like he needs to get back into the flow of things.

Fair play to O'Neill he showed some guts and kept going and showing for the ball even when things were not going well for the forwards. I thought DOD went well at midfield. Looks like Lynch will also need a few backs to get back into inter-county mode. The early start of the championship is not ideal for us, last year they built momentum through the games and got better and better and peaked for the AI Final, then to drop back to nothing afterwards and have to try and get back to that standard again by April must be unbelievably challenging both physically and mentally for players and management who need to instill the same fire, hunger and motivation and try and keep things fresh. We will probably be more vulnerable in the early rounds and look to build momentum again.

Wonder if Limerick will put out close to a full-strength team against Clare at the weekend. The Banner men will really be looking forward to this one and with only the Offaly game remaining after that, it will be the only true test for Kiely to see where they are at."
I thought Tom M was fairly poor at this stage last year too and right up to and including first round of cship if memory serves me correctly. We all know what happened after that.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 28/02/2022 17:52:10    2403079

Replying To midfield9:  "Kingston got a cheap shot knee to the head as he fell over the goalie after he scored the second goal. His own tackle for the red card was poor.. he can't have any complaints. Overall the game was full of unnecessary off the ball stuff and some close to the play that the referee didn't pick up. Another Cork player should have got a red for the head high tackle he was booked for and W O"Donoghue could have walked for either of 2 separate incidents. No need for any of it. Not great to see Kiely bawling at the referee over a pull back the referee missed."
Yes he was childishly tripped when he scored the goal which did result him falling awkwardly on his head. As a result he was naturally furious and fair enough but "Knee into the head" is exactly the type of complete utter rubbish being spouted from all quarters these days. If it was a legitimate Knee into the head then a player would have to be banned for a number of matches. Do you honestly think that will happen after your so called Knee into the head

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 28/02/2022 18:24:04    2403086

Replying To tiobraid:  "I did think Kingstons challenge was as bad as I had seen in a while and there was a similair bad one later in the game on Hannon I believe. It was fairly obvious that Kingston wasn't happy about being tripped after scoring the second goal and this came within seconds of him getting back to his feet.
For the first time in years I felt cork forwards worked their socks off when they were without possession and it was notable there was a big effort to up the aggression stakes. I never seen Lehane as gassed before and that was down to the effort he was putting in when limerick had the ball. I didn't fancy cork to get out of Munster at the start of the year but I thought yesterday we seen something different from them. However stupid challenges won't serve them well. I found it interesting that their backs were also in the likes of Gillanes face for the whole second half. A bit of nastiness in their play which isn't a bad thing - albeit the two challenges were stupid so they'll need to ensure they curtail that and don't get carried away."
Cork went full tilt yesterday and put some pride back in the jersey. They will face a totally different beast easter Sunday. And An angry hungry beast at that. With that being their only match in cork in munster they will be under severe pressure to get out of munster imo.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 28/02/2022 18:35:36    2403095

Replying To Oldtourman:  "I'd say it would be madness to attempt to play Peter Casey. Let him recuperate and be ready for 2023."
And what is the story with his brother Mike? Is he coming back or not?

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 28/02/2022 19:06:17    2403107