Yes deliberately hitting a player is wrong. But Cork need players who will get stuck in to win the ball. No good having 15 lads who are all geniuses with the ball if they rarely get it.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16488 - 16/02/2022 15:36:35 2400720 Link 0 |
Kirby never missed a free after that. But as you say that's in the past. Looking forward I dont see anyone else except possibly Waterford winning enough ball and doing something with it while at the same time pressuring Limerick into mistakes and misses. If it hadn't of been for all their injuries and having to play so many games in a row through the backdoor they would have gone furthur last year. If Limerick lose a couple of key players to injury that would make a difference also. Lynch in particular is very important to their style of play. The advantage of the settled team they have had the last few years could be a disadvantage if the wheel loses too many spokes.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16488 - 16/02/2022 15:43:06 2400723 Link 0 |
Think so too. The 2 lads arent central to the team. If Waterford had of had a fully fit panel from the start they wouldnt have had to go through the backdoor. That wouldve made a bigger difference to that game.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16488 - 16/02/2022 15:45:30 2400724 Link 0 |
ye did but you yourslef had a comment on the Wexford thread a couple of weeks ago about Tipp!
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/02/2022 16:00:08 2400731 Link 0 |
You're right, he knew how to win frees but thats a skill in its own is it not? Even so it wasnt the case in this incident.
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/02/2022 16:02:11 2400732 Link 0 |
It wouldnt have been hate anyway. I dont do hate- any time I used to when I was younger it always got me in trouble. I wouldn't be shy of saying I'd prefer to see anyone else win apart from the big 3 but I'd be like that in most sports. I'd support the underdogs. Unless I'd been to the bookies!!!
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16488 - 16/02/2022 16:17:42 2400736 Link 3 |
Yes that's a fair point regarding injuries to key players. With P Casey out up front things are already looking light. All players have to play to an exceptionally high standard to get onto the limerick first 15 at the minute. However there are always the few special players in particular that if out you'd miss badly. When the chios are down another along with Lynch up front who doesn't get half enough attention is Tom Morrissey. Time and time again he steps up with an answer when things aren't going well. Kilkenny in '18 and Galway semi in '20 spring to mind Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 375 - 16/02/2022 18:49:26 2400771 Link 0 |
Did you see the first ten minutes of the ,07 Final. The same KK player shoved the butt of his hurley Into the face of both Lucey and Hickey and Noel Hickey should have been sidelined on the spot for his tackle on Mike Fitz. Kilkenny were not always saints either.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4512 - 18/02/2022 18:25:43 2401020 Link 1 |
Rockies. If you did play in an earlier era, you would know that most refs back then would have not given a card (or booked them at the time) for Hegarty's reaction. He was provoked and while he did raise his hurley it was harmless enough in a shemozzle. What about the famous rule of the third man in. Rule 7.2 (b), Category III (vi) offence, "contributing to a melee" is a red card offence. Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 19/02/2022 14:44:33 2401080 Link 1 |
Lar Foley was sent off for a lot less, along with Tom Ryan in 1961 all Ireland. Lar was provoked.Benny Dunne also sent off after retaliating against Tommy Walsh in 2009 All Ireland!
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 19/02/2022 17:35:51 2401116 Link 0 |
Ah hold on. The Benny Dunne pull was just plain dangerous. You swear he was trying to lay out a hedge. G Hegarty's challenge was a red, but a world apart from Benny's pull
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 19/02/2022 17:49:09 2401118 Link 1 |
Benny would have got away with that in a different area. He was overhead pulling on the ball... just that Tommy's helmet was in the way. Prior to that, Tommy knocked Bennys helmet over his eyes!
Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 19/02/2022 18:39:59 2401128 Link 0 |
Ridiculous sending off of Cian Lynch today, when NUIG had it in the bag. Plain old robbed! I guess super well funded UL couldn't get skinned by us twice!! togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 19/02/2022 18:49:42 2401132 Link 0 |
Refs are getting influenced by a media driven narrative that limerick are overly physical. It's been a concerted effort going on 2 years now. There might be a reaction now seeing as though this has cost a university from another county a well deserved first fitzgibbon cup. Cian won't be upset for himself but gutted for his team mates and management. He has 2 already. It's sad that it has come to this. As a limerick man and a former UL student I felt so sorry for NUIG after this was stolen from them.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 19/02/2022 19:06:46 2401138 Link 3 |
Another Limerick man sent off yesterday I see. countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 838 - 20/02/2022 10:22:55 2401200 Link 0 |
Never a sending off lad
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16488 - 20/02/2022 10:27:08 2401204 Link 0 |
What's been going on two years?? Refs avoiding making harsh calls against Limerick?? Can't wait to hear all the defences and excuses for Cian Lynch today. What was he at?? A strike or an attempted strike is a red card. Cowardly carry on if you ask me swinging at him from behind LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 20/02/2022 10:30:08 2401206 Link 0 |
The reaction and antics of a few of the UL players and management was very disappointing to see. Needs to be stamped out of GAA asap dingo (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 20/02/2022 10:33:05 2401208 Link 1 |
horgan and cleere should recieve lenghty bans for what the done to cian lynch yesterday if cleere saw what the rest of the country saw he wouldnt have sent him off so what did he really see leftback (Limerick) - Posts: 66 - 20/02/2022 10:51:16 2401215 Link 0 |
Countryman,not sure where you are going with that comment..it was a scandalous decision.read all reports on game,have a look at prominent comments on twitter from former players..no one can see how a red card was given..it changed the game completely and cost nuig a fitzgibbon..the ref is being blamed but linesman I formed him..also have a look at the antics at the time of the former cork keeper who was involved with UL..he must be very proud..there are to many big decisions made now where just not enough evidence exists.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2566 - 20/02/2022 11:01:25 2401220 Link 0 |