Limerick GAA thread

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Countryman,not sure where you are going with that comment..it was a scandalous decision.read all reports on game,have a look at prominent comments on twitter from former players..no one can see how a red card was given..it changed the game completely and cost nuig a fitzgibbon..the ref is being blamed but linesman I formed him..also have a look at the antics at the time of the former cork keeper who was involved with UL..he must be very proud..there are to many big decisions made now where just not enough evidence exists.."
Cian had a few words with him afterwards. As always cian lynch showed total class after the injustice. You'd just have to feel really sorry that 25 galway young lads will never get a fitzgibbon medal because of it. It's sad that the game has gone to this that sidelines are looking to get lads sent off. That soccer element is creeping in and its a shame. Cheers was 100% swayed by the actions of that particular UL coach. Shameful stuff.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 11:11:21    2401221

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "What's been going on two years?? Refs avoiding making harsh calls against Limerick??
Can't wait to hear all the defences and excuses for Cian Lynch today. What was he at?? A strike or an attempted strike is a red card. Cowardly carry on if you ask me swinging at him from behind"
It's sad that these forums have garnered trolls and the like. It used to be about discussing hurling and the teams hoping to win the AI. Now its drivel like this that must be absorbed.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 11:19:21    2401225

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "What's been going on two years?? Refs avoiding making harsh calls against Limerick??
Can't wait to hear all the defences and excuses for Cian Lynch today. What was he at?? A strike or an attempted strike is a red card. Cowardly carry on if you ask me swinging at him from behind"
"Swinging at him from behind" would be laughable if similar attitudes weren't have such serious consequences. The hurley was kicked out of his grasp. Everyone and their dog knows that. The sneering begrudgery is getting tiresome. At this stage if a limerick player puts his hands on his hips, he will be accused of instigating a row. Absolutely sick of it now.
What are people calling for tippy tappy hurling where no one can lay a glove? Furthermore if the limerick way was simply just physicality we wouldn't have won league title never mind multiple munster and all irelands in the last few years.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 20/02/2022 11:22:04    2401227

"Swinging at him from behind" would be laughable if similar attitudes weren't have such serious consequences. The hurley was kicked out of his grasp. Everyone and their dog knows that. The sneering begrudgery is getting tiresome. At this stage if a limerick player puts his hands on his hips, he will be accused of instigating a row. Absolutely sick of it now.
What are people calling for tippy tappy hurling where no one can lay a glove? Furthermore if the limerick way was simply just physicality we wouldn't have won league title never mind multiple munster and all irelands in the last few years.

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 20/02/2022 11:25:00    2401230

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Countryman,not sure where you are going with that comment..it was a scandalous decision.read all reports on game,have a look at prominent comments on twitter from former players..no one can see how a red card was given..it changed the game completely and cost nuig a fitzgibbon..the ref is being blamed but linesman I formed him..also have a look at the antics at the time of the former cork keeper who was involved with UL..he must be very proud..there are to many big decisions made now where just not enough evidence exists.."
What was the difference between the 2 swipes done by the Tipp corner back last week and what happened Lynch?
Either both should have been sent off or none.

SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 357 - 20/02/2022 11:46:43    2401235

Replying To daveboy:  "It's sad that these forums have garnered trolls and the like. It used to be about discussing hurling and the teams hoping to win the AI. Now its drivel like this that must be absorbed."
I'm not trolling I'm being honest, it probably was harsh, he didn't properly connect or hurt anyone but he swiped at O Mara's legs on the ground from behind… they are the facts. Defend him all you want, call it a joke, deflect to other incidents etc but you need to look at it objectively and ask what was he actually doing? Why did he even give Sean Cleere a decision to make?

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 20/02/2022 12:02:05    2401243

If people maintain that Cian's was a red card for a swipe,then I fear we are in for a long and controversial hurling year..I know it doesn't help them but fair play to nuig for appealing th decision..by all accounts he would be forced to miss a club game of card stood..it might be interesting to see how that UL selector gets on when club scene gets back to normal..a hoorible part of Gaelic games now seems to be to have some one roaring into officials face..maybe this is a reason now for numbers being cut back on sideline..it's horrible to see..I was surprised nuig didn't complain more yesterday,but fair play they held it together..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2567 - 20/02/2022 12:21:02    2401247

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I'm not trolling I'm being honest, it probably was harsh, he didn't properly connect or hurt anyone but he swiped at O Mara's legs on the ground from behind… they are the facts. Defend him all you want, call it a joke, deflect to other incidents etc but you need to look at it objectively and ask what was he actually doing? Why did he even give Sean Cleere a decision to make?"
Brian o meara kicked the hurley out of his hand. I just hope cleere had the decency to apologise to the NUIG management after he was shown what actually happened and maybe Anthony nash might look back with a bit of regret of his actions but he'll justify it with the trophy on the shelves in UL I'm sure. I don't think ove read one piece from a pundit/ex player/journalist that says anything like what you've seen. The objectivity you seek can be found all over social media if you fear I'm lacking it.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 12:35:48    2401251

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I'm not trolling I'm being honest, it probably was harsh, he didn't properly connect or hurt anyone but he swiped at O Mara's legs on the ground from behind… they are the facts. Defend him all you want, call it a joke, deflect to other incidents etc but you need to look at it objectively and ask what was he actually doing? Why did he even give Sean Cleere a decision to make?"
He certainly didnt help himself Larry but it still wasnt a sending off.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16491 - 20/02/2022 13:17:27    2401265

If you don't know the difference between a swipe and a hurl getting tangled between a man's legs..... you may need to find a new sport to follow....fact

dingo (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 20/02/2022 13:37:32    2401271

Replying To Viking66:  "He certainly didnt help himself Larry but it still wasnt a sending off."
Helping himself had nothing to do with it. It wasnt a free,yellow or red. It was nothing. The Wexford people on here are deluded. No Tipperary, Cork or Kilkenny people on here claiming Lynch had any part to play in that sending off. So here's why I think that is. It's abit of begrudgery. Counties that have been down for along time don't like to see other counties lifting themselves and having sustained periods of success. The same thing happened Clare in the 90's. The big three don't need to do it. The treatment of Hegarty is gone well beyond legitimate criticism at this stage.
In fairness 2 journalists have stood up and said teams playing Limerick are getting away with alot more this year. So the rules of 2022 have been set. Its going to take a tremendous effort to win the 3 in a row..If they do then its going to be an amazing achievement.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/02/2022 14:29:52    2401289

Replying To bloodyban:  "Helping himself had nothing to do with it. It wasnt a free,yellow or red. It was nothing. The Wexford people on here are deluded. No Tipperary, Cork or Kilkenny people on here claiming Lynch had any part to play in that sending off. So here's why I think that is. It's abit of begrudgery. Counties that have been down for along time don't like to see other counties lifting themselves and having sustained periods of success. The same thing happened Clare in the 90's. The big three don't need to do it. The treatment of Hegarty is gone well beyond legitimate criticism at this stage.
In fairness 2 journalists have stood up and said teams playing Limerick are getting away with alot more this year. So the rules of 2022 have been set. Its going to take a tremendous effort to win the 3 in a row..If they do then its going to be an amazing achievement."
Think you didnt read the post you are answering lad.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16491 - 20/02/2022 17:43:04    2401357

Replying To bloodyban:  "Helping himself had nothing to do with it. It wasnt a free,yellow or red. It was nothing. The Wexford people on here are deluded. No Tipperary, Cork or Kilkenny people on here claiming Lynch had any part to play in that sending off. So here's why I think that is. It's abit of begrudgery. Counties that have been down for along time don't like to see other counties lifting themselves and having sustained periods of success. The same thing happened Clare in the 90's. The big three don't need to do it. The treatment of Hegarty is gone well beyond legitimate criticism at this stage.
In fairness 2 journalists have stood up and said teams playing Limerick are getting away with alot more this year. So the rules of 2022 have been set. Its going to take a tremendous effort to win the 3 in a row..If they do then its going to be an amazing achievement."
And it's certainly not begrudgery on my part. I've been supporting Limerick in the Munster Championship since the 90s some of my best friends outside of Wexford live there and I'm up there myself drinking at least 4 weekends every year since the 90s. Noone happier outside of your county than me to see you having success.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16491 - 20/02/2022 17:47:28    2401359

Limerick will do well to win many matchs in this years championship.
It seems Referees and officials will look for any excuse to send off Limerick players to appease Donal Og And the rest of the media who dont like Limerick winning too much.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 759 - 20/02/2022 18:20:21    2401373

Replying To OpenStand:  "Limerick will do well to win many matchs in this years championship.
It seems Referees and officials will look for any excuse to send off Limerick players to appease Donal Og And the rest of the media who dont like Limerick winning too much."
I wouldn't agree. We were discussing the same thing this time last year. Come championship it tends to be reffed a bit more the way the game should be played.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 20/02/2022 19:14:50    2401400

Replying To daveboy:  "I wouldn't agree. We were discussing the same thing this time last year. Come championship it tends to be reffed a bit more the way the game should be played."
Spot on Daveboy. It's the same every year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16491 - 20/02/2022 19:25:25    2401408

In the Leader today that W O' D available for the game against Cork.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1113 - 21/02/2022 10:52:32    2401523

Replying To skillet:  "In the Leader today that W O' D available for the game against Cork."
Hard to keep a good man down. Be interesting to see the team for Sunday. Kiely will want to get more minutes into the likes of finn hayes Hannon DoD Lynch Tom Morrissey Mulcahy. I'd expect them all to start depending on WoD reaction to being back training. Mike casey is back and training well I believe although Dan might like another run to get the bit of sharpness back. Team I think might start

Quaid
Finn Dan English
Byrnes Hannon Hayes
DoD WoD/Hanley
O Neill Lynch Tom
Gillane Flanagan Mul

I'd like to see coughlan come in for byrnes and Adam English see 20-25 minutes along with Darren o Connell. David Reidy should get more minute on the wing as that's where I feel he's more comfortable. Cork will bring a strong team so should be a good game with a big wish for conditions and the pitch to be favourable.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 21/02/2022 12:08:37    2401554

Absolutely its begrudgery. You've got the nail on the head.
It was the exact same with the great Kilkenny team, the same with the dubs and now its Limerick.
Its pathetic.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2417 - 21/02/2022 13:50:22    2401596

Interesting team selection for tomorrow. Actually thought Kiely might hold Lynch back for another week. He's had such a hectic fitzgibbon cup campaign. Looking forward to seeing how the forwards in particular get on. Lovely for O'Neil to get a run alongside morrissey and lynch. The same can be said for coughlan in the half backline. Playing with loads of experience around him. Really hope Darren O'Connell gets stuck in from the start. Nice to see kiely give another young player a go. That corner forward position is still well up for grabs

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 376 - 26/02/2022 16:44:41    2402504