Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Jodie.sligo:  "Sligo play Down as we cannot meet Antrim again.. so no draw required. No easy games left! With wexford hurlers looking to play their Quarter final against Clare at home instead of a double header in Thurles... that could have a bearing on whether we are in Croker next Saturday or Sunday.. supposed to be Sunday initially."
You are right it is down. Be a tough game but Sligo will give them a good rattle.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 15/06/2024 22:07:36    2551735

Replying To Jodie.sligo:  "Sligo play Down as we cannot meet Antrim again.. so no draw required. No easy games left! With wexford hurlers looking to play their Quarter final against Clare at home instead of a double header in Thurles... that could have a bearing on whether we are in Croker next Saturday or Sunday.. supposed to be Sunday initially."
You are right it is down. Be a tough game but Sligo will give them a good rattle.

SuperSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 15/06/2024 22:14:58    2551738

Pressure paid off and the Tailteann Cup semis remain on the prime time Sunday slots.. Sligeach Abu!

Jodie.sligo (Sligo) - Posts: 2 - 16/06/2024 22:29:32    2552073

Replying To Jodie.sligo:  "Pressure paid off and the Tailteann Cup semis remain on the prime time Sunday slots.. Sligeach Abu!"
100% I agree. MC Entee was excellent with his comments. Remember if Leinster won the rugby match this scenario would never have occurred as rugby was pencilled in for next Saturday in Croke Park. We were steamrolled during the Covid when we never got an opportunity to play Galway, we had to fight Connacht Council to get our U.20 Connacht final played in Markievicz Park when they wanted the game in Bekan. Great to see a bit of fight and not lie down to the administration of Croke Park.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 17/06/2024 00:31:10    2552117

Replying To eoinog:  "100% I agree. MC Entee was excellent with his comments. Remember if Leinster won the rugby match this scenario would never have occurred as rugby was pencilled in for next Saturday in Croke Park. We were steamrolled during the Covid when we never got an opportunity to play Galway, we had to fight Connacht Council to get our U.20 Connacht final played in Markievicz Park when they wanted the game in Bekan. Great to see a bit of fight and not lie down to the administration of Croke Park."
Agreed. He came out firing but was spot on. At the end of the day, if games need to be moved, it can't be at the expense of other championship games less than a week in advance. Complete disrespect to suggest it.
Some of the comments following his interview show exactly why the GAA cannot afford to dilute football any further in this country. So many "Joe McDonagh of Football" comments are disappointing to see and are all the more reason to avoid any further tiering of championship football to small meaningless competitions with 6/7 teams.
With regards to the game, a great show on Saturday. We really have become a big scoring team and so much easier on the eye. It's hard to judge a tenure on one game, but a win next Sunday would be absolutely massive for this group. Down on paper are still a step ahead and it's going to take an outstanding performance to get past them.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 17/06/2024 07:22:48    2552135

Will be interested to see how Sligo go next week vs Down in Croker

hurler301 (Tipperary) - Posts: 11 - 17/06/2024 13:08:06    2552330

Said from the start of the TC that if we avoid Down we will win it. They are not a team that suits us as we concede far too much but I think it will be close and will come down to how good our impact off the bench can be. Bring on croker, its great to be back there!

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 330 - 17/06/2024 14:14:45    2552371

Replying To hurler301:  "Will be interested to see how Sligo go next week vs Down in Croker"
You have already said on another page that you are expecting Down to win.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 17/06/2024 14:24:25    2552381

A tough won for us but will add focus. Ryanair have decided to kick me in the ******** with a €300 return flight from Edinburgh on the Sunday. Add in a ticket plus snacks plus scoops and I'm goosed. I'm really hoping we get to final but either way Team has given a good return to us this year. Sligeach Abu

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 32 - 17/06/2024 14:30:06    2552386

Another win in the bag for the seniors but probably cant take too much from it. Limerick were much worse than expected. I took a lot of positives from this weekend. The crowd was close to 2,500 plus all the kids which is good considering Limerick wouldn't have many travelling. It was great to see the kids on the field at half time.
Fair play celebrating our 2 athletes Cadden and O Donnell too.
Great idea having the new murals at the COE of all our team captains lifting trophies and our 4 men football all stars.

Then on to the fixture debacle. Fair play to the county board on this. As alluded too we've stood up to the powers at be a few times in recent years and its not something we have done before then. A lot of county boards play the political game afraid of them but not this CB the last few years. We needed to get ahead of this so time was of the essence to make as much noise as possible, McEntee (our lord and saviour) in his element and added weight given Burns was pushing against us behind the scenes, Armagh on Armagh. CB statement on twitter and our chairman article in the indo all added weight. I am bit disappointed at the lack of public support from other county boards. The vote was close 27/20 voting against it. Fair play to all involved. Its great to see the new posters congratulating themselves as well.

So here we are v Down at 4pm in Croke Park on Sunday. Prime time. Down did not impress me against Wicklow but I'd expect a different animal on Sunday. I thought Wicklow left a fair few scores behind them. They also got plenty of possession which if we can get the same I feel we would do a lot more damage. My main concern is that Down play anything like the defensive system they did against Armagh in Ulster. Our defensive energy needs to improve a lot to cover the runs of Down from deep. It will be interesting as I am not sure I rate Down too highly. Our forward play will give us opportunities. It would be nice to see us kick on. Either way we will learn a lot about this team and management on Sunday and should more than any other game this year reflect we are at.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 17/06/2024 17:04:28    2552442

I suppose we can't ignore the Manning cup result at the weekend, Sligo 3-10 Leitrim 1-21. It was level at HT. Anybody at it?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 17/06/2024 17:49:33    2552470

Replying To Sligonian:  "Another win in the bag for the seniors but probably cant take too much from it. Limerick were much worse than expected. I took a lot of positives from this weekend. The crowd was close to 2,500 plus all the kids which is good considering Limerick wouldn't have many travelling. It was great to see the kids on the field at half time.
Great idea having the new murals at the COE of all our team captains lifting trophies and our 4 men football all stars.

Then on to the fixture debacle. Fair play to the county board on this. As alluded too we've stood up to the powers at be a few times in recent years and its not something we have done before then. A lot of county boards play the political game afraid of them but not this CB the last few years. We needed to get ahead of this so time was of the essence to make as much noise as possible, McEntee (our lord and saviour) in his element and added weight given Burns was pushing against us behind the scenes, Armagh on Armagh. CB statement on twitter and our chairman article in the indo all added weight. I am bit disappointed at the lack of public support from other county boards. The vote was close 27/20 voting against it. Fair play to all involved. Its great to see the new posters congratulating themselves as well.

So here we are v Down at 4pm in Croke Park on Sunday. Prime time. Down did not impress me against Wicklow but I'd expect a different animal on Sunday. I thought Wicklow left a fair few scores behind them. They also got plenty of possession which if we can get the same I feel we would do a lot more damage. My main concern is that Down play anything like the defensive system they did against Armagh in Ulster. Our defensive energy needs to improve a lot to cover the runs of Down from deep. It will be interesting as I am not sure I rate Down too highly. Our forward play will give us opportunities. It would be nice to see us kick on. Either way we will learn a lot about this team and management on Sunday and should more than any other game this year reflect we are at."
I agree with you about the Change Of Fixture debacle

Fair dues to Sligo CB and your manager for calling out this incredible insult to the Tailteann Cup .If it had been changed it would have done untold damage to the competition.

It really makes you wonder about the commitment to footballing in the weaker counties.

All Leitrim wishes Sligo well against Down and they will certainly be in with a shout.

I didn't know about the Fr Manning Cup game with Leitrim.You shouldn't be too surprised as Leitrim already had a big win over Offaly I think.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 482 - 17/06/2024 23:31:43    2552552

Replying To Sligonian:  "Another win in the bag for the seniors but probably cant take too much from it. Limerick were much worse than expected. I took a lot of positives from this weekend. The crowd was close to 2,500 plus all the kids which is good considering Limerick wouldn't have many travelling. It was great to see the kids on the field at half time.

So here we are v Down at 4pm in Croke Park on Sunday. Prime time. Down did not impress me against Wicklow but I'd expect a different animal on Sunday. I thought Wicklow left a fair few scores behind them. They also got plenty of possession which if we can get the same I feel we would do a lot more damage. My main concern is that Down play anything like the defensive system they did against Armagh in Ulster. Our defensive energy needs to improve a lot to cover the runs of Down from deep. It will be interesting as I am not sure I rate Down too highly. Our forward play will give us opportunities. It would be nice to see us kick on. Either way we will learn a lot about this team and management on Sunday and should more than any other game this year reflect we are at."
Agreed. I think a lot has been said on McEntee's tenure as Sligo Boss, both positive and negative on this forum. I know you can't put it all down to one game but as levels go, a win would be a real indication of significant progress. My heart says we will do it, my head says we will come up just short against a decent Down side. Either way, I'm looking forward to a trip up with the kids. We can't take any journey to HQ for granted and delighted to see us hang on to the main slot on Sunday.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 18/06/2024 10:17:30    2552618

Anyone know if there will be another train back out of Drumcondra on Sunday evening? 7:15 looks to be fully booked up

ldnirish (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 18/06/2024 15:36:32    2552760

"These are hurling quarter finals, which are probably dead rubber matches in the most case." Tony McEntee

Clare v Wexford - Cork v Dublin are the match ups. Regardless of outcome that is incredibly stupid comment to make and disrespectful to the counties involved. The exact respect he is looking to gain for us he doesn't even have for some great hurling counties. I don't know if the county board or his fanboy posters are aware he said that because I wouldn't be calling those excellent comments, you probably did but are too blinded to see it. We may have got the outcome we wanted but those comments are unnecessary and will offend other counties. I still feel the County board were right to put him out there but he let them down with that comment.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 18/06/2024 16:03:18    2552774

Replying To ldnirish:  "Anyone know if there will be another train back out of Drumcondra on Sunday evening? 7:15 looks to be fully booked up"
Shows up tickets online back available, they might have added extra carriages but unlikely to be another train

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 450 - 18/06/2024 16:49:42    2552788

Replying To Sligonian:  ""These are hurling quarter finals, which are probably dead rubber matches in the most case." Tony McEntee

Clare v Wexford - Cork v Dublin are the match ups. Regardless of outcome that is incredibly stupid comment to make and disrespectful to the counties involved. The exact respect he is looking to gain for us he doesn't even have for some great hurling counties. I don't know if the county board or his fanboy posters are aware he said that because I wouldn't be calling those excellent comments, you probably did but are too blinded to see it. We may have got the outcome we wanted but those comments are unnecessary and will offend other counties. I still feel the County board were right to put him out there but he let them down with that comment."
He (I) was dead right

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 19/06/2024 14:18:14    2553011

Down are hot favourites for not only the game on Sunday but also for the entire competition. They are expected to beat us because they are traditionally a much stronger GAA county than us, were runners up last year, plus they trimmed us in Newry a few months ago and they also won promotion. However they were also favourite to win the Tailteann Cup last year and also expected to beat Westmeath in the Div 3 decider. They lost both . I think we will win, but it will take the best 70+ minutes until this administration to overcome Down who are a very good team. I don't know if MC Guinness will be fit and he will be a big loss. If he's not fit and Lee Deignan starts then we have really only Spillane and Walsh to come off the bench that has real pace and will attack. Maybe O Boyle will be added to the 26. Croker is a huge pitch, there's no hiding place and on a warm day we will need every sub to make a contribution when called upon and that is my worry. Is the bench strong enough?. Best of luck to them all. Hopefully there will be a great crowd from Sligo

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 20/06/2024 11:46:22    2553164

A fair few pundits are actually tipping Sligo but doesn't carry much weight. For example Flynn's level of analysis is surface level.

This game will be won and lost in the match up and tactics. This Down team's running power concerns me and if they target certain areas and weaknesses it could be a long day. I think Down will target a fast start, take risks and run at us and then sit back. Hopefully both teams go man for man as that will suit us. Hopefully Mark Walsh gets plenty of mins. Eddie will start. Squad wont change but I don't know how Shane Deignan or Daire O Boyle aren't making the squad.

Is there much of buzz back home? I am expecting a huge Sligo crowd to travel. Hopefully 7/8000. Looking forward to watching it.

All the best to all involved.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 21/06/2024 18:01:36    2553486

Replying To Sligonian:  "A fair few pundits are actually tipping Sligo but doesn't carry much weight. For example Flynn's level of analysis is surface level.

This game will be won and lost in the match up and tactics. This Down team's running power concerns me and if they target certain areas and weaknesses it could be a long day. I think Down will target a fast start, take risks and run at us and then sit back. Hopefully both teams go man for man as that will suit us. Hopefully Mark Walsh gets plenty of mins. Eddie will start. Squad wont change but I don't know how Shane Deignan or Daire O Boyle aren't making the squad.

Is there much of buzz back home? I am expecting a huge Sligo crowd to travel. Hopefully 7/8000. Looking forward to watching it.

All the best to all involved."
Best of luck Sligo.
Ye might be the only Connacht County standing by Sunday night.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1624 - 21/06/2024 18:47:57    2553491