Sligo GAA thread

Groups for the senior championship were just made. Very lobsided again so some big teams will miss out.

Tourlestrane
Molaise
Curry
Marys
Drumcliffe

I feel we will be strong again but Towey and Brady are huge losses. I honestly don't know how Tourlestrane will react to last year but knowing their mentality, they'll bounce back strongly. Mary's may have lost big names but some of them were past their best and they will have good upcoming players like Niland and Rooney. Drumcliffe will be strong and Curry won't be easy.

Coolera
Calry
Shamrock Gaels
Easkey
Tubbercurry

You would expect Coolera and Shamrock Gaels to come out of this group. Good to see Easkey back in senior with Sloyan leading them. Is Kilcullen about? Big loss in the forwards. Tubber and Calry seem in low ebb but I rate Cox, Callaghan highly for Calry and obviously O Boyle will challenge any of their match ups but probably don't have enough outside of that with Cummins not there. Hopefully they come back. I rate McGee highly as a coach so I am sure he will improve Tubber.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 21/06/2024 19:33:09    2553501

Replying To Sligonian:  "Groups for the senior championship were just made. Very lobsided again so some big teams will miss out.

Tourlestrane
Molaise
Curry
Marys
Drumcliffe

I feel we will be strong again but Towey and Brady are huge losses. I honestly don't know how Tourlestrane will react to last year but knowing their mentality, they'll bounce back strongly. Mary's may have lost big names but some of them were past their best and they will have good upcoming players like Niland and Rooney. Drumcliffe will be strong and Curry won't be easy.

Coolera
Calry
Shamrock Gaels
Easkey
Tubbercurry

You would expect Coolera and Shamrock Gaels to come out of this group. Good to see Easkey back in senior with Sloyan leading them. Is Kilcullen about? Big loss in the forwards. Tubber and Calry seem in low ebb but I rate Cox, Callaghan highly for Calry and obviously O Boyle will challenge any of their match ups but probably don't have enough outside of that with Cummins not there. Hopefully they come back. I rate McGee highly as a coach so I am sure he will improve Tubber."
Towey will make squad for final if Sligo win Sunday so he be fine for Molaise

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 33 - 21/06/2024 21:36:37    2553515

Replying To eoinog:  "Down are hot favourites for not only the game on Sunday but also for the entire competition. They are expected to beat us because they are traditionally a much stronger GAA county than us, were runners up last year, plus they trimmed us in Newry a few months ago and they also won promotion. However they were also favourite to win the Tailteann Cup last year and also expected to beat Westmeath in the Div 3 decider. They lost both . I think we will win, but it will take the best 70+ minutes until this administration to overcome Down who are a very good team. I don't know if MC Guinness will be fit and he will be a big loss. If he's not fit and Lee Deignan starts then we have really only Spillane and Walsh to come off the bench that has real pace and will attack. Maybe O Boyle will be added to the 26. Croker is a huge pitch, there's no hiding place and on a warm day we will need every sub to make a contribution when called upon and that is my worry. Is the bench strong enough?. Best of luck to them all. Hopefully there will be a great crowd from Sligo"
Agree with most of what you said except for Croke Park being a huge pitch. I've no idea where this myth came from, according to Wikipedia Markievicz Park is bigger!

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 100 - 21/06/2024 23:45:35    2553527

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Not much action happening this week. Markievicz musn't be in great knick when no game this weekend on it.

Anyway might as well through a prediction out.
Curry to win the Junior B. Castleconnor to survive the Intermediate relegation and Geevagh to make the return back to Intermediate."
You are in the ball , You actually made me look it up !!!!
Croke Park 145 X 88
Markievicz Park 142 X 90
I thought the difference was much greater.
In the senior championship draw
Coolera and Gaels should make the semi finals from one group.
You would expect Molaise to do similar in the other group but the second spot is up for grabs.
Curry have a new lease of life with this new manager, Drumcliffe are always there or thereabouts and should have got promoted from Div 2 by the time championship comes along.
Mary's are a fickle team but Breheny must see something in them when he stayed another year.
And then you have Tourlestrane. They went for a big name manager and with no one involved in the Co set up he has all players at his disposal. Liam Gaughan and Conal Marren are both gone travelling so their hand is weakened considerably. They have a few old dogs left and it will be interesting to see if there's enough life left in them.. I will chance Drumcliffe.
Intermediate as always will be very close
Maybe Coolaney and Harps but Enniscrone could be the dark horse and on the other side Geevagh and Owenmore Gaels who I think are really coming together well All a bit of a lottery yet.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1751 - 22/06/2024 09:33:17    2553558

Two fairly imbalanced groups in the Intermediate and Senior championships with Group 2 in both containing the strongest contenders I think.

In Senior Group 1 hard to see past Coolera and Shamrock Gaels. Easkey and Tubber probably the bottom two.

Group 2 It's anyone's guess really which 2 will qualify except can rule Curry out.

Intermediate then in Group 1 all the teams will be happy with who joins them but hard to see a real contender among them for a champion. Bunninadden, Geevagh, Owenmore Gaels probably the best chances of progressing.

In Group 2 then I'd expect Eastern Harps to qualify but anything could happen for the other spot as the rest of them are all fairly level pegging in my book. Perhaps Mullinabreena slightly ahead but they didn't set the world on fire last year in the group stages.

As for the Junior fairly balanced as the three first teams haven't been put in same group. Ballymote, Cloonacool will progress from their side. st Michael's should although their league form is nothing too great so far and Molaises/Shamrock Gaels second team.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 374 - 22/06/2024 10:03:18    2553566

Replying To Sligonian:  "Groups for the senior championship were just made. Very lobsided again so some big teams will miss out.

Tourlestrane
Molaise
Curry
Marys
Drumcliffe

Coolera
Calry
Shamrock Gaels
Easkey
Tubbercurry

You would expect Coolera and Shamrock Gaels to come out of this group. Good to see Easkey back in senior with Sloyan leading them. Is Kilcullen about? Big loss in the forwards. Tubber and Calry seem in low ebb but I rate Cox, Callaghan highly for Calry and obviously O Boyle will challenge any of their match ups but probably don't have enough outside of that with Cummins not there. Hopefully they come back. I rate McGee highly as a coach so I am sure he will improve Tubber."
Sloyan was in with Longford and now with knockmore . As far as I know John feeney is over them last year and again this year . They will struggle with the hurling but have some good players .

Coolera will be delighted with the draw . Group two will be hard to call . Best of luck to Sligo be great for the county to get to final .

Onthe50!! (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 22/06/2024 22:27:24    2553830

I left Croke Park a very proud Sligo supporter. We left everything on the pitch, you couldn't ask for any more. No doubt there will be an in-depth analysis from a few yobs pointing out all the errors of our ways. For me we died with our boots on and emptied the tank.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1751 - 23/06/2024 19:34:19    2554115

Replying To eoinog:  "I left Croke Park a very proud Sligo supporter. We left everything on the pitch, you couldn't ask for any more. No doubt there will be an in-depth analysis from a few yobs pointing out all the errors of our ways. For me we died with our boots on and emptied the tank."
That's all you can ask of a team.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1633 - 23/06/2024 20:11:53    2554136

Hard luck lads, thought ye had it won. Great effort. Good things happening in Sligo football

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 192 - 23/06/2024 21:29:16    2554166

Sligo didn't deserve to lose that today. A massive performance against a good Down outfit. A replay would have been fairer on everyone- the players must be gutted but they can hold their heads high. 40 minutes played with a man down and still right in it until the death. Really unlucky.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 193 - 23/06/2024 23:22:53    2554194

Replying To Onthe50!!:  "Sloyan was in with Longford and now with knockmore . As far as I know John feeney is over them last year and again this year . They will struggle with the hurling but have some good players .

Coolera will be delighted with the draw . Group two will be hard to call . Best of luck to Sligo be great for the county to get to final ."
I was on about Rossa leading them on the field but thanks for the info on Dessie. Fair play to him getting the Knockmore gig.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 24/06/2024 00:12:54    2554198

Disappointing result for us given the bravery and intent of the performance in a game that was there for us. Some incredible performances today. Plenty of positives to be taken from this year. I will leave the analysis for another day as plenty to learn from this match up in what was a great game for those brave enough and as true a reflection of where we are at as you can get. Grateful to all the players and management team this year in all the efforts given. Between training, meetings, travelling and matches a huge amount goes in. No doubt there is more in us and more to come. Sligeach abu.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1663 - 24/06/2024 00:22:12    2554200

Hard luck Sligo. You opened some eyes this year. Keep up the great progress.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2172 - 24/06/2024 01:11:15    2554204

Replying To eoinog:  "I left Croke Park a very proud Sligo supporter. We left everything on the pitch, you couldn't ask for any more. No doubt there will be an in-depth analysis from a few yobs pointing out all the errors of our ways. For me we died with our boots on and emptied the tank."
The effort was outstanding. To see so many lads struggling with cramp was a sign of the tremendous effort. I don't feel we got the rub of the green from the man in the middle. A lot of strange calls for the majority of the game.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 31 - 24/06/2024 08:48:30    2554231

Was for me one of the finest efforts I have ever seen of a Sligo team. They left everything out there. You can't complain about effort and we just lost out in a ding dong battle. In real time at the game, Nathan Mullens contest for the ball looked harmless enough but the contact seemed to knock out the down lad so his goose was cooked. Carabine took a big hit later that went unpunished ???. Penalty I'm not so sure about... looked like the Down lad played for it. Mark Walsh being done for over carrying was a turning point, again a tight call. Would be great to see this team push on from this. Down will win TC this year so all in all a good season. Next year is the most important year for Sligo football in a long a while. Sligeach abu

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 33 - 24/06/2024 10:22:59    2554293

Thats all you can ask of a team, if theyhold together they will get there because they are a lovely outfit.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4914 - 24/06/2024 11:14:27    2554330

Replying To SligoScot:  "Was for me one of the finest efforts I have ever seen of a Sligo team. They left everything out there. You can't complain about effort and we just lost out in a ding dong battle. In real time at the game, Nathan Mullens contest for the ball looked harmless enough but the contact seemed to knock out the down lad so his goose was cooked. Carabine took a big hit later that went unpunished ???. Penalty I'm not so sure about... looked like the Down lad played for it. Mark Walsh being done for over carrying was a turning point, again a tight call. Would be great to see this team push on from this. Down will win TC this year so all in all a good season. Next year is the most important year for Sligo football in a long a while. Sligeach abu"
A magnificent display from Sligo yesterday, even with 14 men you carried the fight to Down, and led in extra time, until the late penalty. Sligo played really attractive football in the game.
I hope you will continue the good work.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1798 - 24/06/2024 12:16:28    2554371

Sligo have made huge strides in 2024, I'd argue after Donegal Sligo have made the biggest strides this year. There was a kick of a ball between Leitrim and Sligo in the final league game in 2023, they are miles a part today. I thought Sligo were the better team yesterday, had the better footballers. McEntee has done a fine job. The future looks good.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 300 - 24/06/2024 16:01:27    2554474

Was a proud day to be a Sligo man sitting in Croker yesterday. "They died with their boots on" - famous saying and think everyone can agree on this statement for Sligo yesterday. I know we lost and not looking for an excuse "ah sure we played well and we should be happy" Red card and soft peno was the key calls.
When watching it LIVE, thought red card was harsh but when seen the replays - can see why it was shown. Was tough on Mullen as he would not be a dirty player and was trying to clear it.
Sligo have improved so much, when you back to earlier meeting in the league when they got a hammering from Down. Overall it is progression in the right direction and would love to see McEntee stay on but be nice to bring in a new selector with the plan to progress him on to replace McEntee at the end of next year.
I think Armagh will snap him off Sligo to be honest, especially if they do not get past Roscommon.
Lally would be my player of the year, closely followed by McGuiness and Lyons.

Was anyone at any club games last weekend? Any reports? I see Sham Gaels got their first win and with the county players back - should pick up more. Molaise beat Tourlestrane and look to be going stronger than last year. Harps are picking off results in Div one and surely must be odds on favs for Intermediate? Calry seem to be really struggling but county players will be an addition. Poor Tubber have a lot of injuries and will be difficult league to stay up. Coolera beat Curry away which should not have happened, especially when Coolera do not really concentrate on the league.
Looking like DRP will be up in Div 1 next year, looking like Enniscrone will join them - which might surprise a lot of people.
Owenmore Gaels had another big win and are the form team in the league putting up some big scores. Is Dylan Walsh playing well for them? .Bunnies are starting to pick off some results - in fairness they would have some decent players.

This week could see some strange results with county players back.

RealSouthSligo (Sligo) - Posts: 89 - 24/06/2024 17:51:11    2554505

Great strides is right and really appreciate the comments from other counties. It was a great battling display yesterday, we have speed up front and tenacious defenders. We were just that bit weaker when it came to depth off the bench, I hate to not focus on the guys that got us there but it was a real shame we didn't have Alan Reilly yesterday. If we had a fit Spillane and Reilly I think we would have one with a few to spare.

Fair dues to all involved, we backed up the talk regarding fixtures schedule beforehand. I thought Lally was immense and not sure how he did not make the team of the week! Delighted for McGuiness too after a tough incident against Galway. Cummins was getting a hard time in the first half but came up big with a massive score. Mulligan will be all the better for that experience. We are building nicely so hopefully we can hang on to the full panel and give Div3 a rattle next year.

Sligeach Abu

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 334 - 24/06/2024 18:42:36    2554525