Sligo GAA thread

Replying To Timmy86:  "Ur right ,but going by the crowds going to football ,no one cares about that either..."
Well the CCC definitely don't

Ice_cream_dromore (Sligo) - Posts: 11 - 21/05/2024 17:28:08    2546224

Replying To eoinog:  "Exactly, stop the rot
We went 53 years (I think) without winning a minor title and we had never won a title at U.20 or the old U.21 age group until 2022. We don't want to go back to those days. For the last 2 years at minor level we basically played Leitrim for the wooden spoon. I'm not casting aspersions on any of the teams or the management I know 2 lads left and went off trying other sports. That will always happen. Thankfully one has returned. We just have to try and upp our game again."
Winning Connacht underage titles is great especially for the belief side of the game but tbh I have always looked more at quality of players than results. You can get lucky and have a bunch come through together but really you only need 3 or 4. The system you play can mask a lot too. The last 2 minor teams have plenty of good players, last year alone Conor Walsh and Eli have stepped up to u20 and have elite talents but have to get more consistent. It can go either way at that age. I seen a fair few of last years u20 regress and some push on. It the nature of developing talent and not working on your game.

I watched us beat Leitrim again on Friday in the shield and we were the better team. I still like the look of our spine and the way we move the ball at times was very good. Phillips, Lillie, lavin, nicholson especially have great leadership and Duffy and Walsh show promise but need more consistency. Ben Cawley caught the eye when he came on.

I honestly believe there is enough coming through to push on the seniors next few years and we have been very competitive in Connacht underage for a long time now. Last 2 minor teams weren't that far away. I think you are being overly negative and we will be fine. Its the scoring forwards that worry me.

Fair play to the seniors getting another win and easing past a poor Tipp. Nice for Sligofan's to have a relaxing day out in Semple. Bigger tests ahead as we play Antrim to top the group.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 21/05/2024 19:22:14    2546243

Replying To Timmy86:  "Don't mean to burst your bubble and I ain't a mayo fan ,but mayo left 7 starters off and took off a further 5 at h/t when they were well up (they are a serious side )and will probably win all -Ireland, but sligo are miles off them"
I know Mayo are talked up a lot by those in Connacht and within their own county but like last year I expect the U17 winner to come out of Ulster (Derry or Armagh) and I wouldn't rule out another All Ulster All Ireland final as was the case in 2023 with Monaghan and Derry.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3404 - 21/05/2024 20:32:26    2546255

I see we're off to Cavan for the Antrim game on Sunday 2nd....nothing but bad results there but hoping that we can make amends for that!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 373 - 23/05/2024 09:52:02    2546517

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "I see we're off to Cavan for the Antrim game on Sunday 2nd....nothing but bad results there but hoping that we can make amends for that!"
The ground doesn't bother me. I know in the past we lost minor and U.20 games there but we just weren't good enough , this team is good enough to beat Antrim. Our much anticipated league starts this weekend which is basically a continuation of the rubbish leagues that was played up to now. Clubs still don't have Co players and further to that there will probably be a good gang of young lads going travelling for the summer, so teams may actually be weaker now than a month ago.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 23/05/2024 10:52:26    2546532

Replying To eoinog:  "The ground doesn't bother me. I know in the past we lost minor and U.20 games there but we just weren't good enough , this team is good enough to beat Antrim. Our much anticipated league starts this weekend which is basically a continuation of the rubbish leagues that was played up to now. Clubs still don't have Co players and further to that there will probably be a good gang of young lads going travelling for the summer, so teams may actually be weaker now than a month ago."
I remember Down giving us an awful hiding there in 2010 but they made the All Ireland final that year losing out to Cork. Agreed, we should be good enough to beat Antrim. I would love to see a buzz coming back into the team. They deserve all of our support in pursuit of the TC!

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 330 - 23/05/2024 14:34:01    2546606

Breffni is great venue for North Sligonians. Its a good pitch which should suit us. We have had some tough teams there so I wouldn't worry about our record. I do remember a Paul Taylor masterclass there in a Sligo league win a while ago.

We beat Antrim well in the league but they look to have improved like ourselves since. Losing 13-9 to Down I thought they showed well. A home quarter final at stake. Hopefully Sligo people wake up and start to go and support the seniors properly.

Delighted the match is selected for GAAGO for us expats.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 23/05/2024 20:39:55    2546701

Replying To Sligonian:  "Breffni is great venue for North Sligonians. Its a good pitch which should suit us. We have had some tough teams there so I wouldn't worry about our record. I do remember a Paul Taylor masterclass there in a Sligo league win a while ago.

We beat Antrim well in the league but they look to have improved like ourselves since. Losing 13-9 to Down I thought they showed well. A home quarter final at stake. Hopefully Sligo people wake up and start to go and support the seniors properly.

Delighted the match is selected for GAAGO for us expats."
I think this will be a tight one. Antrim will fancy their chances on neutral ground.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 24/05/2024 13:14:06    2546820

Replying To eoinog:  "The ground doesn't bother me. I know in the past we lost minor and U.20 games there but we just weren't good enough , this team is good enough to beat Antrim. Our much anticipated league starts this weekend which is basically a continuation of the rubbish leagues that was played up to now. Clubs still don't have Co players and further to that there will probably be a good gang of young lads going travelling for the summer, so teams may actually be weaker now than a month ago."
You'd never know there was a league commencing in Sligo. Not much in the way of promotion. We should be on round 3 or 4 at this stage. I'd agree that teams indeed seem weaker so you can expect surprises over the first few rounds.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 24/05/2024 13:17:56    2546822

Replying To johncreilly:  "You'd never know there was a league commencing in Sligo. Not much in the way of promotion. We should be on round 3 or 4 at this stage. I'd agree that teams indeed seem weaker so you can expect surprises over the first few rounds."
Any predictions?

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 35 - 24/05/2024 21:54:57    2546892

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "Any predictions?"
I can't resist a challenge but prediction is a pure lottery because there is no form to go on plus some teams have several players missing.
Wins for
Shamrock Gaels
Curry
Tourlestrane
Molaise Gaels
St.Marys

In Div 2
Owenmore Gaels
Geevgh
Easkey
Ballymote
Enniscrone

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 25/05/2024 17:04:00    2546989

Replying To eoinog:  "I can't resist a challenge but prediction is a pure lottery because there is no form to go on plus some teams have several players missing.
Wins for
Shamrock Gaels
Curry
Tourlestrane
Molaise Gaels
St.Marys

In Div 2
Owenmore Gaels
Geevgh
Easkey
Ballymote
Enniscrone"
That's a pretty good effort considering we have very little to go off. There will be a lot of ups and downs in the league as teams try to get settled. Every team seems to be missing players at present.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 27/05/2024 12:07:18    2547568

Almost impossible to predict which way the league will go, like ye said with so many teams missing players. Add to that lot of the spring league games were tight with 1 or 2 score wins.
Predictions are like a lucky bag for now, we might have a better idea after the weekend

Tirerrill (Sligo) - Posts: 6 - 29/05/2024 18:08:18    2548227

I see all div 1 and 2 games this week are down for Friday night. Are the Friday games that popular amongst players?

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 29/05/2024 23:08:02    2548272

It appears the County chair is disconnected from the senior football team, after his email yesterday outlining that players not in the 26 for the Antrim game this weekend could play for their clubs it's been made quite clear that this won't be the case. A bit of an embarrassment really, how is it our neighbors in mayo can let lads play with their clubs and we can't?

westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 36 - 30/05/2024 13:39:55    2548384

Replying To Tirerrill:  "Almost impossible to predict which way the league will go, like ye said with so many teams missing players. Add to that lot of the spring league games were tight with 1 or 2 score wins.
Predictions are like a lucky bag for now, we might have a better idea after the weekend"
Are county players outside the 26 available this weekend & will that make a difference to teams missing players?

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 35 - 30/05/2024 13:41:14    2548387

Replying To westvoice:  "It appears the County chair is disconnected from the senior football team, after his email yesterday outlining that players not in the 26 for the Antrim game this weekend could play for their clubs it's been made quite clear that this won't be the case. A bit of an embarrassment really, how is it our neighbors in mayo can let lads play with their clubs and we can't?"
That answers that.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 35 - 30/05/2024 15:02:47    2548422

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "That answers that."
There has been a disconnect between the chair and the clubs for years.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 30/05/2024 16:02:53    2548434

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "I see all div 1 and 2 games this week are down for Friday night. Are the Friday games that popular amongst players?"
Fridays are popular (particularly on bank holiday weekends) provided a decent amount of notice is given as some players have to travel from Dublin / Galway etc. and make necessary work arrangements to leave early.
Unfortunately club players have had at most two weeks notice for fixtures this year to date which is extremely disappointing.

benbulbingael (Sligo) - Posts: 5 - 30/05/2024 16:22:28    2548439

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "Are county players outside the 26 available this weekend & will that make a difference to teams missing players?"
No idea, highly doubt it unless McEntee turned a corner. Only county level players back are the few lads who left the panel towards the end of the league, u20s who returned to clubs a month ago, and you can also include the Hurlers/dual players who'll boost their teams.

Seems to be a disjoint and confusion at county board/ccc though. The messy fixture making was bad enough, now that email doing the rounds is adding to it by the looks of it.

Tirerrill (Sligo) - Posts: 6 - 30/05/2024 19:11:40    2548466