Sligo GAA thread

Replying To westvoice:  "It appears the County chair is disconnected from the senior football team, after his email yesterday outlining that players not in the 26 for the Antrim game this weekend could play for their clubs it's been made quite clear that this won't be the case. A bit of an embarrassment really, how is it our neighbors in mayo can let lads play with their clubs and we can't?"
Why can't they play???

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 30/05/2024 20:40:53    2548477

No clarity and conflicting messages from the fixture makers, wouldn't be like them lol..

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 35 - 30/05/2024 21:22:31    2548483

Replying To johncreilly:  "That's a pretty good effort considering we have very little to go off. There will be a lot of ups and downs in the league as teams try to get settled. Every team seems to be missing players at present."
I may not be as lucky this week. I would love if other would try a prediction also.
Curry to beat Shamrock Gaels
Eastern Harps to beat Mary's
Coolera to beat Calry
Tourlestrane to beat Tubber
Molaise to beat Coolaney

Owenmore Gaels to beat Easkey
St. Pats to beat Castleconnor
Geevagh to beat Enniscrone
Drumcliffe to beat the Bunnies
Ballymote to beat Farnans

Looking at the teams, some are decimated with players on the county panel.
Lots of lads also gone travelling and some emigrated

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 31/05/2024 11:47:13    2548544

Replying To eoinog:  "I may not be as lucky this week. I would love if other would try a prediction also.
Coolera to beat Calry
Molaise to beat Coolaney

Lots of lads also gone travelling and some emigrated"
My predictions

Shamrock Gaels to beat Curry
Mary's to beat Harps
Coolera to beat Calry
Molaise to beat Coolaney

Easkey to beat Owenmore Gaels
Enniscrone to beat Geevagh

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 450 - 31/05/2024 13:36:51    2548568

Replying To eoinog:  "I may not be as lucky this week. I would love if other would try a prediction also.
Coolera to beat Calry
Molaise to beat Coolaney

Lots of lads also gone travelling and some emigrated"
Curry v Shamrock Gaels - Curry win
Eastern Harps v Mary's - Mary's win
Calry v Coolera - Coolera Win
Tourlestrane v Tubber - Tourlestrane win
Coolaney v Molaise - Coolaney win

Owenmore Gaels v Easkey - draw
St. Pats v Castleconnor - Pats
Geevagh v Enniscrone - Enniscrone
Drumcliffe v Bunnies - DRP
Farnans v Ballymote - Ballymote

benbulbingael (Sligo) - Posts: 5 - 31/05/2024 14:27:57    2548574

The Minors play Donegal in Markievicz tomorrow at 2pm in the All Ireland B series. Donegal are very good. They topped their Ulster group and were pipped in the semi by Armagh. They hammered us in challenge pre championship. It will be very tough as I feel we are up against it. We need to find another level to compete with them.

All the best to the Seniors. I see Spillane is back in the squad and Cawley fortunate to be in there after his cameo the last day but hopefully he can finish his county career on a higher note. Starting 15 picks itself these days. Looking forward to watching this one. No sign of O Boyle, S Deignan or D Walsh in the squad, are they injured?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 31/05/2024 19:12:21    2548608

For those of us that did predictions, Ballymote fooled us all. That's two weeks in a row they caught me out. They won the warm up league so that will tell you the importance of that competition. Drumcliffe in Div 2 are finally taking the league seriously. They need to be in Div 1 if they are serious about winning the senior championship. In Div 1 the two teams that got promoted last yea, Harps and Coolaney have both registered wins and league winners last year , Shamrock Gaels who are probably most affected by county panelists have taken 2 bad beatings. Standard in general is poor. Sligo minors get to play their 7th championship game today which must be a record. They are up against it playing Donegal but with home advantage and a bit of momentum built up they will have no fear. Huge game tomorrow. We have beaten 2 Div 4 teams so it will be a step up in quality when we play Antrim. The benefit to the winner is huge,an extra week off and a home quarter final. A draw will suffice for us but it's impossible to play for a draw in Gaelic football especially on a good dry day in summer. I expect us to win.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 01/06/2024 10:36:49    2548661

Replying To eoinog:  "For those of us that did predictions, Ballymote fooled us all. That's two weeks in a row they caught me out. They won the warm up league so that will tell you the importance of that competition. Drumcliffe in Div 2 are finally taking the league seriously. They need to be in Div 1 if they are serious about winning the senior championship. In Div 1 the two teams that got promoted last yea, Harps and Coolaney have both registered wins and league winners last year , Shamrock Gaels who are probably most affected by county panelists have taken 2 bad beatings. Standard in general is poor. Sligo minors get to play their 7th championship game today which must be a record. They are up against it playing Donegal but with home advantage and a bit of momentum built up they will have no fear. Huge game tomorrow. We have beaten 2 Div 4 teams so it will be a step up in quality when we play Antrim. The benefit to the winner is huge,an extra week off and a home quarter final. A draw will suffice for us but it's impossible to play for a draw in Gaelic football especially on a good dry day in summer. I expect us to win."
Eoinóg, I know it was high scoring but I think you need to do the math again! Ballymote won. I think you got all your predictions right bar one!
Any tips for this weekends intercounty matches!?

shorona (Sligo) - Posts: 119 - 01/06/2024 11:33:48    2548670

Replying To shorona:  "Eoinóg, I know it was high scoring but I think you need to do the math again! Ballymote won. I think you got all your predictions right bar one!
Any tips for this weekends intercounty matches!?"
Good man thanks. The wrong score was posted on Sligo GAA first. Put your house on Dublin to beat Cavan, after that everything else will be tight enough))

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 01/06/2024 12:07:48    2548674

Job done, just about, we were the better team but couldn't put the game to bed. In saying that they had 2 really good goal chances and missed the target with both. I read a few on line articles which said it was an excellent game , I wouldn't agree. It was close, exciting and a huge score put up by both teams but it didn't mask the fact that the game was poor in quality . We were penalized for picking the ball up off the ground, pushing the forward to the ground resulting in cheap handy frees. We were opened up time and time again on the counter attack. Then we had Murphy who was a constant menace to Antrim as he kicked 5 from play taking a free on his own 45 plus on another occasion he took a short kick out from our keeper. He was no danger to Antrim when he was at that. Then MC Guinness went on a daft surging run with time nearly up and us leading only to be dispossessed easily. We can play a lot better and a few players are still searching for a bit of form. They need to get it fast. Good to see Lavin back on the pitch again and Walsh did well when introduced. I noticed that MC Entees favourite sub, the one he brings on in almost every game was left sitting in the dug out yesterday. I'm not bothered who we meet next but we need to be a lot sharper than yesterday. It's a pity we didn't win and break the Cavan ground hoodoo......

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 03/06/2024 12:13:35    2549142

Replying To eoinog:  "For those of us that did predictions, Ballymote fooled us all. That's two weeks in a row they caught me out. They won the warm up league so that will tell you the importance of that competition. Drumcliffe in Div 2 are finally taking the league seriously. They need to be in Div 1 if they are serious about winning the senior championship. In Div 1 the two teams that got promoted last yea, Harps and Coolaney have both registered wins and league winners last year , Shamrock Gaels who are probably most affected by county panelists have taken 2 bad beatings. Standard in general is poor. Sligo minors get to play their 7th championship game today which must be a record. They are up against it playing Donegal but with home advantage and a bit of momentum built up they will have no fear. Huge game tomorrow. We have beaten 2 Div 4 teams so it will be a step up in quality when we play Antrim. The benefit to the winner is huge,an extra week off and a home quarter final. A draw will suffice for us but it's impossible to play for a draw in Gaelic football especially on a good dry day in summer. I expect us to win."
Though we looked good in patches and can get scores when we need them, I still think we give up too many scores to win this competition.

johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 29 - 03/06/2024 13:01:48    2549154

Sligo 0-20 Antrim 0-20, a few of my takeaways, I didn't really see any massive development in the team since I seen them last influenced by any great coaching so the McEntee fans may want to cool the jets. Most of our excellent forward play came through Alan McLoughlin who thankfully committed this year. His creativity was elite. If he wasn't there we would be in trouble. It was great to see Lally playing so well too. Drive after, after drive he took his man on into space and created openings and made great decisions to break the gain line. His basketball background really helps in close contact situations. Being 5 pts up and 4 pts at the end of both halves only to be easily reeled back in was concerning especially from a mindset perspective. My biggest issue was the ego runs forward by players and taking themselves out of position. No interest in defending. It was astonishing how the same player jogging back slowly to defend would burst forward to attack even the defenders. It has to be the same effort both ways and I get taking breathers but still. If you watch the 40-42 min you'll see one of so called defenders watch Antrim attack our right flank. He is in the middle and could get ahead of the Antrim attack to slow them, but he stops and turns his back on the play and then leaves the middle open, taking himself of out the move. Gordon who is further away comes in from the far wing to help cover him but this is the kinda rubbish I watched for years. I hope its picked up on the video analysis because that cant happen. I know Antrim had 2 good goal chances but I was surprised Murphy fisted over both his goal chances. He should have at least tried to finish one of them. Murphy was very good yesterday. Can we put Alan McLoughlin on the frees instead of Carrabine especially from long range. It was a very entertaining match and we do look very good going forward so hopefully that will get the support up the next day. Id still have plenty of concerns with this team and management. Our kickout defence was poor and we let them up the field too easily. Mark Walsh had his usual excellent cameo. I wish we could development him into a 70 min player but like Dillon impact sub role seems to suit him for now. Hope to see the Sligo that kept Galway to 14 scores in the next few rounds. Overall I was disappointed not to win and push on but Antrim are decent and they were sharp in attack. But as said job done, maybe no harm keeping feet on the ground and a home quarter final to look forward to. Sligeach abu.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 03/06/2024 16:34:10    2549218

I see Roscommon have released their club championship fixtures. Any word on when the championship group draw in Sligo is? Surely it would be easier to schedule the championship with less balls in the air at that time of year (no Intercounty to schedule around). Leagues have been a bit of a disaster, 9 days notice for last Friday evenings round of games.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 35 - 03/06/2024 19:20:36    2549259

Replying To BreakingBall123:  "I see Roscommon have released their club championship fixtures. Any word on when the championship group draw in Sligo is? Surely it would be easier to schedule the championship with less balls in the air at that time of year (no Intercounty to schedule around). Leagues have been a bit of a disaster, 9 days notice for last Friday evenings round of games."
I have heard nothing about the championship draws. Normally they would be well over at this stage. Interesting game coming up in Markievicz Park on Sunday week with Galway playing Armagh. The Northern team won't pay a bit of notice of the parking restrictions around the grounds unless there are guards every couple of metres. That obviously means that our home quarter final will be played on the Saturday

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1745 - 04/06/2024 21:29:10    2549546

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo 0-20 Antrim 0-20, a few of my takeaways, I didn't really see any massive development in the team since I seen them last influenced by any great coaching so the McEntee fans may want to cool the jets. Most of our excellent forward play came through Alan McLoughlin who thankfully committed this year. His creativity was elite. If he wasn't there we would be in trouble. It was great to see Lally playing so well too. Drive after, after drive he took his man on into space and created openings and made great decisions to break the gain line. His basketball background really helps in close contact situations. Being 5 pts up and 4 pts at the end of both halves only to be easily reeled back in was concerning especially from a mindset perspective. My biggest issue was the ego runs forward by players and taking themselves out of position. No interest in defending. It was astonishing how the same player jogging back slowly to defend would burst forward to attack even the defenders. It has to be the same effort both ways and I get taking breathers but still. If you watch the 40-42 min you'll see one of so called defenders watch Antrim attack our right flank. He is in the middle and could get ahead of the Antrim attack to slow them, but he stops and turns his back on the play and then leaves the middle open, taking himself of out the move. Gordon who is further away comes in from the far wing to help cover him but this is the kinda rubbish I watched for years. I hope its picked up on the video analysis because that cant happen. I know Antrim had 2 good goal chances but I was surprised Murphy fisted over both his goal chances. He should have at least tried to finish one of them. Murphy was very good yesterday. Can we put Alan McLoughlin on the frees instead of Carrabine especially from long range. It was a very entertaining match and we do look very good going forward so hopefully that will get the support up the next day. Id still have plenty of concerns with this team and management. Our kickout defence was poor and we let them up the field too easily. Mark Walsh had his usual excellent cameo. I wish we could development him into a 70 min player but like Dillon impact sub role seems to suit him for now. Hope to see the Sligo that kept Galway to 14 scores in the next few rounds. Overall I was disappointed not to win and push on but Antrim are decent and they were sharp in attack. But as said job done, maybe no harm keeping feet on the ground and a home quarter final to look forward to. Sligeach abu."
Are they a better side since he took over?

Ice_cream_dromore (Sligo) - Posts: 11 - 05/06/2024 08:56:31    2549606

Replying To eoinog:  "I have heard nothing about the championship draws. Normally they would be well over at this stage. Interesting game coming up in Markievicz Park on Sunday week with Galway playing Armagh. The Northern team won't pay a bit of notice of the parking restrictions around the grounds unless there are guards every couple of metres. That obviously means that our home quarter final will be played on the Saturday"
Championship draws? Going on the farce that has been scheduling this year, I'd expect the draw in early August.
With Semi Finals and finals confirmed for Sunday the 23rd of June and Saturday the 13th of July respectively (should Sligo get there), what is stopping CCC fixing the remainder of games in the league? Would be most welcome at this stage with an extremely condensed calendar.

Ice_cream_dromore (Sligo) - Posts: 11 - 05/06/2024 09:02:24    2549607

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo 0-20 Antrim 0-20, a few of my takeaways, I didn't really see any massive development in the team since I seen them last influenced by any great coaching so the McEntee fans may want to cool the jets. Most of our excellent forward play came through Alan McLoughlin who thankfully committed this year. His creativity was elite. If he wasn't there we would be in trouble. It was great to see Lally playing so well too. Drive after, after drive he took his man on into space and created openings and made great decisions to break the gain line. His basketball background really helps in close contact situations. Being 5 pts up and 4 pts at the end of both halves only to be easily reeled back in was concerning especially from a mindset perspective. My biggest issue was the ego runs forward by players and taking themselves out of position. No interest in defending. It was astonishing how the same player jogging back slowly to defend would burst forward to attack even the defenders. It has to be the same effort both ways and I get taking breathers but still. If you watch the 40-42 min you'll see one of so called defenders watch Antrim attack our right flank. He is in the middle and could get ahead of the Antrim attack to slow them, but he stops and turns his back on the play and then leaves the middle open, taking himself of out the move. Gordon who is further away comes in from the far wing to help cover him but this is the kinda rubbish I watched for years. I hope its picked up on the video analysis because that cant happen. I know Antrim had 2 good goal chances but I was surprised Murphy fisted over both his goal chances. He should have at least tried to finish one of them. Murphy was very good yesterday. Can we put Alan McLoughlin on the frees instead of Carrabine especially from long range. It was a very entertaining match and we do look very good going forward so hopefully that will get the support up the next day. Id still have plenty of concerns with this team and management. Our kickout defence was poor and we let them up the field too easily. Mark Walsh had his usual excellent cameo. I wish we could development him into a 70 min player but like Dillon impact sub role seems to suit him for now. Hope to see the Sligo that kept Galway to 14 scores in the next few rounds. Overall I was disappointed not to win and push on but Antrim are decent and they were sharp in attack. But as said job done, maybe no harm keeping feet on the ground and a home quarter final to look forward to. Sligeach abu."
You've always disliked him Sligonian. The only question to ask is whether or not this team is in a better place since he took over. Answer is fairly easy. A lot of teams in the country have drifted the other way.

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 05/06/2024 11:46:31    2549660

Replying To Ice_cream_dromore:  "Championship draws? Going on the farce that has been scheduling this year, I'd expect the draw in early August.
With Semi Finals and finals confirmed for Sunday the 23rd of June and Saturday the 13th of July respectively (should Sligo get there), what is stopping CCC fixing the remainder of games in the league? Would be most welcome at this stage with an extremely condensed calendar."
Are all dates for remaining rounds of Tailteann now fixed?

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 05/06/2024 11:47:27    2549661

Replying To Bumblebee123:  "You've always disliked him Sligonian. The only question to ask is whether or not this team is in a better place since he took over. Answer is fairly easy. A lot of teams in the country have drifted the other way."
The difference between the McEntee supporters and those who don't really rate him are you don't hold him accountable at all. Whenever he gets any constructive criticism or questioned here there is always a few newbies who are supporters of his trying to defend, deflect or change the narrative, probably CB members or those close to him.

I don't know many McEntee supporters in Sligo tbh but when I ask what he has specifically done to improve us? It gets very quiet and vague. Are we in a better place because of McEntee? Not in my opinion but we are in a better place. Has he slowed our progress. I still believe so. Sunday was more evidence of that for me. Galway are fairly ordinary when comer is out and certain players are injured as evidenced against Westmeath. Just like the Kildare draw last year I become less impressed by those results as the days go by.

Of course we have improved over the 4 years but this year is really the first time we've seen some evidence. All these players are benefitting from Sean Boyles S&C. All the underage players coming through are nothing to do with McEntee. That is naturally going to put the team in a better place as a squad and training. His team selections are still questionable. His tactics were poor on Sunday. The kickout strategy was not good on ours or on there's. Our defence conceded 0-20 and 2 easy goal chances. That was potentially 2-20 against Antrim. Alan McLoughlins performances are self made, before the Clare I pointed to starting him CHF but credit it didn't take too long for them to catch on. Is the attacking play down to Kevin McLoughlin? I don't know how Shane Deignan or O Boyle aren't making the 26.

Here is the truth of it for me, Sligo seniors are in a great position. McEntee/Keane can't regress us now no matter what even though they have invested too much into some players with low ceilings. It gives us something to build with a great bunch of players with high ceilings to come in. We still have to move on from him after this year even if we win the Tailtean cup. That's just my opinion on what's best for Sligo football. I want Caroline Currid involved at all costs sooner rather then later on a Gerry McGowan management team. Then I will be happy but I'd still hold them as accountable if they didn't push us on.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1661 - 05/06/2024 20:35:56    2549769

Replying To Sligonian:  "The difference between the McEntee supporters and those who don't really rate him are you don't hold him accountable at all. Whenever he gets any constructive criticism or questioned here there is always a few newbies who are supporters of his trying to defend, deflect or change the narrative, probably CB members or those close to him.

I don't know many McEntee supporters in Sligo tbh but when I ask what he has specifically done to improve us? It gets very quiet and vague. Are we in a better place because of McEntee? Not in my opinion but we are in a better place. Has he slowed our progress. I still believe so. Sunday was more evidence of that for me. Galway are fairly ordinary when comer is out and certain players are injured as evidenced against Westmeath. Just like the Kildare draw last year I become less impressed by those results as the days go by.

Of course we have improved over the 4 years but this year is really the first time we've seen some evidence. All these players are benefitting from Sean Boyles S&C. All the underage players coming through are nothing to do with McEntee. That is naturally going to put the team in a better place as a squad and training. His team selections are still questionable. His tactics were poor on Sunday. The kickout strategy was not good on ours or on there's. Our defence conceded 0-20 and 2 easy goal chances. That was potentially 2-20 against Antrim. Alan McLoughlins performances are self made, before the Clare I pointed to starting him CHF but credit it didn't take too long for them to catch on. Is the attacking play down to Kevin McLoughlin? I don't know how Shane Deignan or O Boyle aren't making the 26.

Here is the truth of it for me, Sligo seniors are in a great position. McEntee/Keane can't regress us now no matter what even though they have invested too much into some players with low ceilings. It gives us something to build with a great bunch of players with high ceilings to come in. We still have to move on from him after this year even if we win the Tailtean cup. That's just my opinion on what's best for Sligo football. I want Caroline Currid involved at all costs sooner rather then later on a Gerry McGowan management team. Then I will be happy but I'd still hold them as accountable if they didn't push us on."
I am not necessarily a fan and agreed with you here under a different username (locked out) after year one of McEntee. In relation to not holding him accountable, I absolutely have in the past. When do you think he deserves any respect though? When they win, it's Boyle and previous underage management (not sure who you'd be referring to exactly) and when they lose, he's solely responsible. You can't have your cake and eat it too!

No doubt the S&C has finally started to match other counties. So what? Is it that elite? I'm not sure. Just getting to the level it should have been at.

No, underage players coming through aren't down to McEntee. As is the case in most intercounty senior setups so not sure what the point is there.

We are certainly a better team when we turnover the ball and much a more patient side in the top end of the pitch. There's 2 things that have improved though I agree, we still look shaky when we're turned over.

At the rate you're talking, had we beat Mayo, you'd be saying it wasn't the side of years gone past. Captain Hindsight.

You're raving about McLoughlin (again) who's a good lad but has plenty to do yet to put him in the conversation with top forwards in the province. Regardless, it's McEntee playing him there. Kevin McLoughlin is in the setup 6 months and now you're suggesting he's solely responsible? From what I hear, McFadden was the more popular choice amongst the players but who cares as they are both managed by McEntee.

With regards to Caroline Currid, I'm sure there has been plenty of approaches there. But again, you're scraping for me.

As for bringing in young fellas, the gap is large enough between U20 and senior as we saw when some of them came in. It takes time. You were crying out for Joe Keaney for long enough. Actually, I'm starting to see a pattern emerge here. McLoughlin, Keane, Currid. I wonder where you're from?

Here's the facts. Sligo we're an absolute mess of a senior team when he took them over. They're in a much better place now. Is he perfect? No. Is he better than so many others who are jumping around from job to job with nothing to show but huge bills? Absolutely.
Let me finish by saying this. I'm not sure if he'll be in the job much longer or if it's the right thing for Sligo Football if he is, but he does deserve some respect. If (and I don't think we will) we won the Tailteann, we'd be punching above our weight yet in my honest opinion. Rome wasn't built in a day and the level of interest in football in this county suggests we are doing well to be where we are.

Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 21 - 05/06/2024 23:48:48    2549780