Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "For a club with big numbers what's happening to yous. Should be winning junior championships regularly."
You'd have to ask someone from the Convoy club that question.

Anybody know of any bookies that take odds on the Ulster JFC? Looking to see what odds you'd get on Carndonagh.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 975 - 24/09/2024 18:03:53    2571657

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Any players across the various Championships stand out as potential county material?
While they wouldn't be new to the scene, an injury free Conor O'Donnell and Odhran McFadden-Ferry would be great additions (and yes I know the latter hasn't featured for Gaoth Dobhair).

Gary McFadden is one of the best man markers about and has been up with the county before, but county football maybe isn't the be all and end all for everyone.

Are there any players from the likes of Dungloe, Four Masters and St. Michaels who could make the step up?
Any rough diamonds in the intermediate/junior?"
Has anyone spotted any potential county lads?

Morrison back is interesting for Eunans. Looks fresh. Could he do a job for the county?

Can Caufield push on next year? Looks a prospect.

I see Jamie Grant is back playing for Termon.

Hopefully Ethan O Donnell stays about.

How far away is Oran Mc Fadden Ferry?

Can lads like Conor O Donnell and Caolon Mc Colgan stay fit?

We are close but need to find a physical presence or two in the side and also a score getter to help Farah. I don't think there's one in the club championship so we might need to reinvent who plays 13 and 15. Maybe with lads like Roarty and Ethan potentially playing, maybe we can give boys like Mogan and Shane O Donnell more room to go forward.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1188 - 24/09/2024 18:26:09    2571659

The end of Naomh Conaills golden period?
You'd have to think so, many of their starters are well into their 30s, some in their early 30s now i.e. Eunan Doherty, O'Malley etc

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 81 - 24/09/2024 19:44:26    2571669

I think Jim will look at the following players;
Conor Roarty (Naomh Conaill) - will go straight into county senior squad
Odhran McFadden Ferry (Gaoth Dobhair) and Ethan O'Donnell - both back from Oz
Oisin Caulfield (Na Rossa) - was in squad this year for McKenna Cup, might be used more often this year.
Karl Magee (Dungloe), Conor Reid (Four Masters), Patrick MacElwee (Downings) - all on Co U20 this year (their last year) and had good performances this year for their clubs. They may all be looked at to see if they cut the mustard.
Other players that have done well in games I've seen in the League/ Championship that might be looked at;
Jamie Grant (Termon)
Cian McMenamin (Termon) - still County u20 this year
Callum McCrea (Four Masters) - still County u20 this year
Sean Martin (MacCumhaills) - still County U20 this year
Kieran Tobin (St Eunans)
Colin McFadden (St Micheals)
Conor Morrison (St Eunans)
Senan Carr (Four Masters) - still County u20 this year
Richard O'Rourke (Four Masters)
Keelan Dunleavy (Glenswilly)
Conor Duck O'Donnell (St Eunans)
Danny Rodgers (Dungloe)
Tuathal Lunney (Naomh Muire)

If Donegal can get one or two more man markers, Jim might try push Peadar Mogan and Ciaran Moore more forward into attacking roles.

Squad could look something like if they only added McFadden Ferry, Ethan O'Donnell, and Finbar Roarty (which I think will happen);

Goalkeepers x3 - Patton, Mulreanny, Daithi Roberts
Full Backs /Man markers x6: Curran, McCole, McFadden Ferry, McMenamin, McColgan, Ban
Half Backs x7: McHugh, Mogan, Roarty, Moore, McMonagle, McKelvey, Ethan O Donnell
Midfielders x3: McGee, Langan, Hugh
Half Forwards x5: Thompson, Shane O'Donnell, Aaron Doherty, Odhran Doc, Daire O Baoill,
Full Forwards x5 : Paddy, Farrah, Jamie Brennan, Niall O'Donnell, McGuinness

That is a squad of 29 players with likes of Philip Doherty, Evan Broderick, Ryan McFadden, Rory O'Donnell, Oisin Caulfield, etc fighting it out with a few of the above list of players for other positions on the extended panel.

KHL (Donegal) - Posts: 110 - 24/09/2024 23:52:02    2571696

Add Conor O'Donnell Carn to my previous post. If we got him fully fit would be another huge option in forward line. What we would give to have Micheal Murphy of the bench for the last 20mins in games next year. Exciting times ahead with the Ulster Championship becoming even harder to win with Tyrones new management team, an improving Down, Armagh, and Derry & the All Ireland wide open.

KHL (Donegal) - Posts: 110 - 24/09/2024 23:58:03    2571697

I was at the Micheal's vs kilcar game Saturday. Shockingly poor from kilcar who lost all shape when their two sweepers went off injured. Mcshane and Campbell had them flowing in the first half and was impossible for Michael's to get a long kickout off with Campbell floating around the middle. Micheal's won't go any further but they got momentum and took advantage. Is there any word of Langan coming back?

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 25/09/2024 01:17:56    2571698

Replying To Jimsam12:  "I was at the Micheal's vs kilcar game Saturday. Shockingly poor from kilcar who lost all shape when their two sweepers went off injured. Mcshane and Campbell had them flowing in the first half and was impossible for Michael's to get a long kickout off with Campbell floating around the middle. Micheal's won't go any further but they got momentum and took advantage. Is there any word of Langan coming back?"
Your continuous posting of Campbell is quite odd, 17 posts on this forum and nearly every one of them about him, no other person mentions him anywhere near as frequently as yourself.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 25/09/2024 10:29:21    2571729

Replying To peiledoir20:  "You'd have to ask someone from the Convoy club that question.

Anybody know of any bookies that take odds on the Ulster JFC? Looking to see what odds you'd get on Carndonagh."
Carn will get it tough in the final against Muff, if Lynch isnt fully fit for Muff, like the weekend there then I think Carn could nick it. In the Junior B, Carn will be much too strong against Convoy.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 25/09/2024 10:31:04    2571730

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Your continuous posting of Campbell is quite odd, 17 posts on this forum and nearly every one of them about him, no other person mentions him anywhere near as frequently as yourself."
Yea noticed that myself.. strange

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2542 - 25/09/2024 10:46:06    2571735

There is a lot of talk on here about the need for "man markers" which seems to be at variance with McGuinness's approach.In our last game against Galway we had 2 so called man markers in Curran and McMenamin on the bench which demonstrates that we favour players that can add more value in an attacking sense and probably contribute to the scoreboard.I would tend to agree with that approach.It should not necessarily mean that if a player is good at attacking that he must be poor at defending.Good defending just requires discipline and concentration.In any event I would say that McCole,Eoghan Ban,Mogan,McGonigle and McHugh will be 5 of our 6 backs with possibly McColgan or Curran being the sixth.Barrng injuries it will be very hard for any new faces to break in there.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1110 - 25/09/2024 11:00:33    2571742

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Carn will get it tough in the final against Muff, if Lynch isnt fully fit for Muff, like the weekend there then I think Carn could nick it. In the Junior B, Carn will be much too strong against Convoy."
Muff will put it up to Carn no doubt about it, added in to that it's an Inishowen Derby they will work for it but they are a serious outfit that play a lovely brand of football. They have one of the top forwards in the county playing for them. I can't see them being beat.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 975 - 25/09/2024 11:25:30    2571751

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Young Roarty from NC looks a serious prospect as well.

I think where we're lacking is really dangerous inside forwards who unfortunately are becoming a bit of a dying breed with the way the game has gone."
Daire McDaid from Termon seems to always put up a good score had 2-5 against Naomh Columba would be one to look at possibily

StandHogan51 (Donegal) - Posts: 5 - 25/09/2024 11:55:30    2571759

Replying To dgcrusader:  "Your continuous posting of Campbell is quite odd, 17 posts on this forum and nearly every one of them about him, no other person mentions him anywhere near as frequently as yourself."
Come back to me next year when we fall short around the middle AGAIN when the answer is staring us straight in the face in our club championship. Galway targeted us with bigger men in lines of the pitch just as Down did the year before.

Jimsam12 (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 25/09/2024 11:57:48    2571760

Replying To StandHogan51:  "Daire McDaid from Termon seems to always put up a good score had 2-5 against Naomh Columba would be one to look at possibily"
Yeah and Seanan Carr as well. Although he was well bottled up last weekend, he has a good eye for a goal. If the chance is on he tends to go for it and none of this fist-passing over the bar craic.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9469 - 25/09/2024 12:13:11    2571766

Replying To Jimsam12:  "Come back to me next year when we fall short around the middle AGAIN when the answer is staring us straight in the face in our club championship. Galway targeted us with bigger men in lines of the pitch just as Down did the year before."
If you genuinely think that the main reason we lost to Down and Galway was because we didn't have Campbell around the middle for those games then you really do need to start going to more county games.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 25/09/2024 12:39:45    2571772

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Muff will put it up to Carn no doubt about it, added in to that it's an Inishowen Derby they will work for it but they are a serious outfit that play a lovely brand of football. They have one of the top forwards in the county playing for them. I can't see them being beat."
Yeah that's a fair assessment, I was at the game and they are miles better than Convoy. A mix of big men inside and also pacey forwards further out the pitch. Convoy, in saying that, were dreadful. Didn't recognise much of that team from the one that won the Junior a few years ago. I think some of that team were playing in the Junior B game before for whatever reason!

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 25/09/2024 12:43:32    2571773

Replying To gunman:  "There is a lot of talk on here about the need for "man markers" which seems to be at variance with McGuinness's approach.In our last game against Galway we had 2 so called man markers in Curran and McMenamin on the bench which demonstrates that we favour players that can add more value in an attacking sense and probably contribute to the scoreboard.I would tend to agree with that approach.It should not necessarily mean that if a player is good at attacking that he must be poor at defending.Good defending just requires discipline and concentration.In any event I would say that McCole,Eoghan Ban,Mogan,McGonigle and McHugh will be 5 of our 6 backs with possibly McColgan or Curran being the sixth.Barrng injuries it will be very hard for any new faces to break in there."
Agree. It was clear that's what he was up to last year. For every player bar mccole (and mccole did get the equalizer against Tyrone) if you weren't pacey and could not take a score you were not starting. In the covid matches against Derry you could hear Gallagher clearly shouting to let certain players go forward because they were not going to trouble the scoreboard. He would not have being saying that with defenders starting this year.

Though for next year it's likely there will be be the three man up and three men back rule. I suppose from a forward point of view that would certainly suit the likes of mcbrearty, Farrah and Niall O'Donnell. And I'm ok with that as I find it somewhat depressing to see Farrah gassing himself running up and down the pitch.
From a defensive point of view it might start bringing a little more man on man defending and if a player can't go forward place less value on their attacking ability. In saying that I think you rotate defenders so players might just end up swapping when they need a break.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 774 - 25/09/2024 13:10:24    2571779

Replying To dgcrusader:  "If you genuinely think that the main reason we lost to Down and Galway was because we didn't have Campbell around the middle for those games then you really do need to start going to more county games."
when did we lose to Down?

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 25/09/2024 13:22:18    2571781

Replying To ModernMaharaja:  "when did we lose to Down?"
Ulster Championship 2023

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 25/09/2024 13:42:23    2571789

Replying To Jimsam12:  "I was at the Micheal's vs kilcar game Saturday. Shockingly poor from kilcar who lost all shape when their two sweepers went off injured. Mcshane and Campbell had them flowing in the first half and was impossible for Michael's to get a long kickout off with Campbell floating around the middle. Micheal's won't go any further but they got momentum and took advantage. Is there any word of Langan coming back?"
Would maybe the possibility that Kilcar pressed the kickout in the first half be the reason? Michaels actually got most of their kickouts away in the first half, but lost possession on turnovers upfield.
As opposed to the second half when Kilcar dropped off and Michaels took their kickouts short. I think that's a bigger factor than Campbell who wasn't as influential as you're making out.

donegalgael-12 (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 25/09/2024 14:03:18    2571799