Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Whyme923:  "7 subs second half and only getting two mins?

I thought Enda was very unfair on GD. One stage he didn't give a free to a GD player when a Eunans player ran straight for him with his back turned to the ball from a kick out. Same happens about five mins later but it was the GD player running with the back turned but he gave a free to Eunans.

GD just didn't have the forwards when they got chances. I noticed they didn't have Aidan Breathnach either. They only had 19 players togged in comparison to Eunans. GD will be back and Eunans will take Dungloe by 8+"
Eunans by 8+, all day long you're right!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1381 - 29/09/2024 20:31:22    2572408

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Eunans by 8+, all day long you're right!"
Eunans will be lucky to score 8 as far as I can see. Hopefully Dungloe can pull off a shock.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2974 - 29/09/2024 22:46:01    2572424

Big day for An Clochán Liath today. Will join St. Eunan's and Aodh Ruadh at senior level in Ladies, Men's, and Hurling next year. No mean feat.

Astonishing that their men hadn't made a county final since 1964 when you look at number of star county men over the years. The three Currans have now broken ground that the Sweeneys couldn't. Good luck to them v Eunan's, will be a popular underdog I'm sure. Anything can happen in 60 minutes of club football, especially this time of year.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 425 - 29/09/2024 22:47:46    2572425

Replying To Whyme923:  "7 subs second half and only getting two mins?

I thought Enda was very unfair on GD. One stage he didn't give a free to a GD player when a Eunans player ran straight for him with his back turned to the ball from a kick out. Same happens about five mins later but it was the GD player running with the back turned but he gave a free to Eunans.

GD just didn't have the forwards when they got chances. I noticed they didn't have Aidan Breathnach either. They only had 19 players togged in comparison to Eunans. GD will be back and Eunans will take Dungloe by 8+"
Surprised GD didn't bring on James Boyle. Came on as a sub in the Reserve game and must have scored 5 points.

Big difference in standard but surely worth a go.

Newman21 (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 30/09/2024 09:12:25    2572462

Thought both games weren't great at the weekend, although I expected more from the Eunan's game. Eunan's wont care too much though as they won and that's all that matters. Fair play to Dungloe, absolutely brilliant achievement for them to get to a county final for the first time in 60 years and they're full credit for it.

dgcrusader (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 30/09/2024 10:37:42    2572485

Replying To Newman21:  "Surprised GD didn't bring on James Boyle. Came on as a sub in the Reserve game and must have scored 5 points.

Big difference in standard but surely worth a go."
James Boyle was injured for GD. Eunans will open up in Ulster and win it.

Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 30/09/2024 10:55:52    2572490

Replying To StockholmGael:  "Gaoth Dobhair defended fairly well, but were woeful in attack. They've no forwards that can kick scores. With Cian Mulligan, MacNiallais and Wardy lost to emigration, the half forward and forward line is not functional. Also missing OMcFF and Gillespie to injuries definitely showed. Ridiculously over-reliant on Dara O Baoill, with the workrate of the rest of the squad, bar maybe Michael Roarty was embarrassing in comparison. Eunans were pretty poor also, maybe the game vs NC sapped the life out of them. This one is Eunan's to lose."
Wardy.... stop will ya

ModernMaharaja (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 30/09/2024 11:29:43    2572495

Replying To Whyme923:  "James Boyle was injured for GD. Eunans will open up in Ulster and win it."
can't see them opening up under the current manager. Its a problem with modern football, managers trust the system and don't allow players to express themselves.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 557 - 30/09/2024 11:55:41    2572504

Replying To greenfan:  "can't see them opening up under the current manager. Its a problem with modern football, managers trust the system and don't allow players to express themselves."
It is interesting that in the 4 Q/Fs and 2 S/Fs no team apart from two teams that were beaten viz Kilcar and Glenswilly managed to get more than 10 scores.It has been a horror show for the neutral follower.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1114 - 30/09/2024 12:20:38    2572511

I'm in Moville on my holidays, a shout out to the Moville ladies whom lost the senior final yesterday but didn't let that disappointment stop them from having a enjoyable night in the local pub

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 207 - 30/09/2024 12:26:41    2572512

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "I'm in Moville on my holidays, a shout out to the Moville ladies whom lost the senior final yesterday but didn't let that disappointment stop them from having a enjoyable night in the local pub"
That's what it's all about or should be, no good unless you can enjoy yourself, it's a 'game' of football after all, not life or death.
I think that's the big problem through football of all grades now, this fear of losing possession, it may get results but it's boring the head off any unfortunate person watching it.
Can't be much fun to play it either unless that's your level.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2974 - 30/09/2024 12:53:16    2572527

Replying To gunman:  "It is interesting that in the 4 Q/Fs and 2 S/Fs no team apart from two teams that were beaten viz Kilcar and Glenswilly managed to get more than 10 scores.It has been a horror show for the neutral follower."
Yeah the games have been poor spectacles. Friends and family down the country have been messaging me asking where have all the Donegal flair players gone...

I think we still do have really skillful players but the systems employed by most teams now doesn't leave them much room to express themselves. I heard people giving out about some inside forwards not performing well or doing enough. But with the suffocating tactics on show across the board I think it's very harsh.

These tactics will get you to a certain point, but if you want to win trophies you need to be able to bring something more to the table.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9477 - 30/09/2024 13:44:25    2572539

Let's hope the FRC can sort this out, crowds were disappointing at the weekend too. Nobody wants to watch this rubbish.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 36 - 30/09/2024 14:45:33    2572558

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "Let's hope the FRC can sort this out, crowds were disappointing at the weekend too. Nobody wants to watch this rubbish."
It's like Serie A in previous generations where teams would take a 1-0 win all day every day instead of a 3-2 or a 4-2 win for example.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9477 - 30/09/2024 16:07:53    2572581

Replying To Newman21:  "Surprised GD didn't bring on James Boyle. Came on as a sub in the Reserve game and must have scored 5 points.

Big difference in standard but surely worth a go."
That was Sean Boyle.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1189 - 30/09/2024 16:25:09    2572585

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "That's what it's all about or should be, no good unless you can enjoy yourself, it's a 'game' of football after all, not life or death.
I think that's the big problem through football of all grades now, this fear of losing possession, it may get results but it's boring the head off any unfortunate person watching it.
Can't be much fun to play it either unless that's your level."
Absolutely, what it should be about. Community, togetherness and friends for life.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 207 - 30/09/2024 18:34:50    2572600

Replying To TheRock2121:  "That was Sean Boyle."
My mistake - he looked good enough to have a run in the second game.

Newman21 (Donegal) - Posts: 38 - 01/10/2024 14:54:58    2572699

Any truth that the young lads aren't allowed behind the goals anymore as a firework or something went off at Gweedore game at the Eunans end??

Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 02/10/2024 10:52:24    2572768

Replying To Whyme923:  "Any truth that the young lads aren't allowed behind the goals anymore as a firework or something went off at Gweedore game at the Eunans end??"
Hi Whyme923: There were no fireworks on the pitch anyway.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 02/10/2024 13:03:54    2572784

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi Whyme923: There were no fireworks on the pitch anyway."
haha certainly none.

After listening to DL Debate and Donegal sport hub you really wonder what the pundits and supporters expect when you really think of it? Are lads who have done 10months training including maybe over 100 gym sessions etc... go out and play open football that we all want to see because we want to see it or are they going out to play a system that gives them the best chance of winning and reaching qtr/semi/finals?

Whyme923 (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 04/10/2024 09:01:41    2572991