Donegal GAA thread

Replying To ninety-two:  "We're minus Murphy,McBrearty and McHugh, and a full month s&c behind everyone else (thanks to the mess made of appointing our management). Many players are even more than that due to injury. We should improve with fitness.

What worries me most is the lack plan A, never mind plan B or C. What are we trying to do? Can anyone genuinely see anything in our play, or in our tactics, that might be a work in progress, that could eventually bare fruit? I honestly can't.

I would fear the negativity surrounding things could excellerate our decline, and this year is going to be a very short one.

Plenty of Div 2 teams would have beaten us playing like that."
i think there is no plan ABC it is just off the cuff Gallen always injured nothing to build on

highdropingball (Donegal) - Posts: 99 - 19/03/2023 19:51:26    2464890

What can you say????....another Donegal performance devoid of direction, energy and pace. Wasn't expecting us to beat Mayo but I thought we might have laid a glove on them. The type of lethargic, motionless and football that has no game plan has already seen us consigned to div 2 next year and it this rate I wouldn't rule out a trip to division three if something doesn't change drastically.

Whoever presided over this debacle should go, chairman already gone, but he wasn't acting alone his buddy on the selection committee should join him along with whoever else was involved.

I would saw a new broom would be needed to get Lacey, kavanagh, mcguinness and the 40 other coaches back on board but I fear that ship has sailed. The new county chairman ( I know very little about him tbh) needs to step up and sort this mess out. We have enough of statements filled with platitudes....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 19/03/2023 19:51:28    2464891

Replying To endgame:  "Hope Roscommon beat them in Castlebar on Easter Sunday so. Up the Rossies."
4 years ago, Mayo got to league final. First game in championship, Rossies arrived in McHale Park with a new manager. Great game of hard hitting football and ye beat us. We'll deserved win, fair play and won Connacht. We should be more than wary and not read much into our form or yer form in the middle of March. Hopefully another great game awaits.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 19/03/2023 20:12:08    2464900

Replying To totalrecall:  "We're Carr and Burke of Roscommon not appointments at the same time?? Don't think our performances have anything to do with s & c, more to do with no obvious game plan and a continuation of the pedestrian football that has plagued Donegal football for the past 8 years or so."
Davy Burke was appointed Roscommon manager the day after we appointed Paddy Carr, so that argument doesn't add up when u look at the facts.
He first met the squad a full 3 and a half weeks later in a changing room and only 12 players showed up out of 24 that were invited in.
2 of the 3 people who selected the manager r now on his backroom team. We get what we deserve.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 19/03/2023 20:39:11    2464917

Replying To ninety-two:  "We're minus Murphy,McBrearty and McHugh, and a full month s&c behind everyone else (thanks to the mess made of appointing our management). Many players are even more than that due to injury. We should improve with fitness.

What worries me most is the lack plan A, never mind plan B or C. What are we trying to do? Can anyone genuinely see anything in our play, or in our tactics, that might be a work in progress, that could eventually bare fruit? I honestly can't.

I would fear the negativity surrounding things could excellerate our decline, and this year is going to be a very short one.

Plenty of Div 2 teams would have beaten us playing like that."
The seniors current athletic dev coach acts in a professional capacity (on his second season) so the players have been under there regime all during off season & early preseason (irrelevant of management and timing of appointment). This makes things a lot worse. We neither look fit & have players breaking down so far into the season - doesn't bode well for championship. Mayo have been physically one of top three teams in the country this past decade.

NewLad2021 (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 19/03/2023 21:07:25    2464930

Seriously lacking insides forwards and full forwards at the moment.
Who are the best scoring forwards in Donegal club scene that Carr could call up?

Another culture problem in Donegal Football at all levels is NOT playing with the head up to, 1st of all SEE a run from a forward and 2nd, lacking the technical ability to kick a defense splitting pass. This is something the Donegal Coaching officer needs to prioritize all clubs at underage level to focus on in the next 10 years.

Tirchonailabu56 (Donegal) - Posts: 16 - 19/03/2023 21:47:14    2464946

I actually thought we started quite well today, and in the first 10 minutes we kicked more passes forward than we did in the rest of the games together. Signs were encouraging. I think it was 0-06 to 0-05 after 25 minutes. But then the wheels came off, Mayo got a squeeze on our kick outs, and really pressed us in. All of a sudden it was half time, and 5 behind.

The start we needed to the 2nd half never materialised. Instead of scoring ourselves, Mayo completely took over. Realistically the game was over after 10 minutes of the second half. Then all our problems became really obvious.

Fitness wise we are absolutely miles off the pace. Eoghan Ban was the only Donegal player who appeared to have the ability to even run at Mayo's pace. Physically, we are not stopping teams. We looked flat footed, Mayo lightning fast.

Our transition is painfully slow. As for Plan A, B or C. We have scored one goal in 6 league games so far. How many have we looked like scoring? When did we last even create a goal chance. A couple of years ago we had men queueing up at the back post to palm goals in because we creating openings. We hardly look like creating point scoring opportunities these days. There was an ironic cheer from the crowd today when we got our first point of the second half. I felt sick hearing it.

If we go to Newry in 5 weeks time with a display like today's, as poor as Down are, it sickens me to say it, we'll do well to win. That's how far we've fallen.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 19/03/2023 21:53:33    2464950

Replying To Tirchonailabu56:  "Seriously lacking insides forwards and full forwards at the moment.
Who are the best scoring forwards in Donegal club scene that Carr could call up?

Another culture problem in Donegal Football at all levels is NOT playing with the head up to, 1st of all SEE a run from a forward and 2nd, lacking the technical ability to kick a defense splitting pass. This is something the Donegal Coaching officer needs to prioritize all clubs at underage level to focus on in the next 10 years."
Might be time to get a new coaching officer so!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 19/03/2023 21:54:11    2464951

Replying To NewLad2021:  "The seniors current athletic dev coach acts in a professional capacity (on his second season) so the players have been under there regime all during off season & early preseason (irrelevant of management and timing of appointment). This makes things a lot worse. We neither look fit & have players breaking down so far into the season - doesn't bode well for championship. Mayo have been physically one of top three teams in the country this past decade."
And have we brought Mike McGurn in to oversee him?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 19/03/2023 21:55:51    2464953

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "And have we brought Mike McGurn in to oversee him?"
I think that was one of many rumours that as circulated before the backroom team was confirmed. Seems to be just Mattie Brady & Ruairi Crealey looking after the s&c

NewLad2021 (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 20/03/2023 08:57:16    2464971

Replying To SignTheContract:  "The conditioning of the Mayo is years ahead of our lads."
It's not a conditioning problem, its actually a couple of other factors

1. Tactical setup / Preparation - Management have not been meticulous enough at ironing out our tactical and positional flaws, like Shaun Patton getting the ball out when the opposition really press up hard and how our attacks break down when we enter the opposition half. Paddy Carr may have underestimated the scale of the project, perhaps the timelines needed for preparation and the level of analysis needed now. It's clear that we need some innovation when we enter the oppositions half.

2. Player Availability - Whether injuries or players opting out, we have been playing with a severely weakened starting 15 and squad, we have quality players sitting at home either injured or because they can't commit to the Donegal campaign for whatever reason. This has resulted in young players getting a proper run at it, but when we play top sides like Mayo who are currently the best performing league team, that inexperienced is badly exposed.

Yesterday we were staying with Mayo well until almost half time until a flurry of mistakes and poor passes in the Mayo half allowed Mayo to open up a lead and later pull away due to their superior strength and depth. Some of that was down to inexperience or lack of match fitness etc, however they are the best team in the league in 2023 and we are the worst. In my opinion I thought we should have beat Galway, I thought we were better than Monaghan until 50 minutes, then we ran out of steam. I thought we had the beating of Armagh, but the same lack of creativity in attack is what let us down.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 20/03/2023 09:01:23    2464973

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Might be time to get a new coaching officer so!"
We can but hope.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 20/03/2023 09:20:23    2464979

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "And have we brought Mike McGurn in to oversee him?"
Sorry lads whose the men on the commitee that are now part of management set up?

10DLSAM (Derry) - Posts: 264 - 20/03/2023 09:22:00    2464981

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I actually thought we started quite well today, and in the first 10 minutes we kicked more passes forward than we did in the rest of the games together. Signs were encouraging. I think it was 0-06 to 0-05 after 25 minutes. But then the wheels came off, Mayo got a squeeze on our kick outs, and really pressed us in. All of a sudden it was half time, and 5 behind.

The start we needed to the 2nd half never materialised. Instead of scoring ourselves, Mayo completely took over. Realistically the game was over after 10 minutes of the second half. Then all our problems became really obvious.

Fitness wise we are absolutely miles off the pace. Eoghan Ban was the only Donegal player who appeared to have the ability to even run at Mayo's pace. Physically, we are not stopping teams. We looked flat footed, Mayo lightning fast.

Our transition is painfully slow. As for Plan A, B or C. We have scored one goal in 6 league games so far. How many have we looked like scoring? When did we last even create a goal chance. A couple of years ago we had men queueing up at the back post to palm goals in because we creating openings. We hardly look like creating point scoring opportunities these days. There was an ironic cheer from the crowd today when we got our first point of the second half. I felt sick hearing it.

If we go to Newry in 5 weeks time with a display like today's, as poor as Down are, it sickens me to say it, we'll do well to win. That's how far we've fallen."
Brilliant post, couldn't put it any better myself.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 20/03/2023 10:08:19    2465003

The sad reality is that yesterday's game was men against boys. They looked physical stronger in all areas of the field, and worryingly looked a lot sharper in all areas of the field.
The reality is we have gone back to the pre mcguinness era where we got bullied by the top teams.
Them years we were always able to keep up with teams until a certain period of the game, but when things were wrong we folded. We were weak mentality wise and did not have a winning mentality.
I dont blame the player's, they are down themselves and no one enjoys getting bullied.
I dont blame the management, he is a proud Donegal man. However i feel he is out of his depth and should never have got the job.
At the moment the entire gaa community in Donegal is on a downer with the academy mess, the mess that was made of picking the management. Both the men and ladies getting relegated.
Its not helpful then that the mentality of our committee is to close doors and give no information to the media.
This is the time when so many in the Donegal gaa community are looking for answers to be completely open and transparent.
Otherwise i believe we will continue to free fall and that saddens me.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 20/03/2023 11:00:04    2465045

Bring back bonner and rochford. Support poor again yesterday when we needed it most. Mayo have a fabulous support even with all the all irelands they lost.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 20/03/2023 11:01:35    2465047

Well things are going from bad to worse. A humbling defeat at home and injuries to Mogan and Gallen. We're a middling Division 2 team at present and will do well to get out of Newry with a win to be honest about it. I can't remember morale being as low in the county in a long, long time. The county board exists in order to promote the well-being and best interests of Donegal GAA. In no sense whatsoever is that the case currently. I see they've advertised looking for an u16 academy manager now? Laughable.

I think someone else already mentioned it here, and I agree, we are currently like English soccer fans clamoring for an unwanted chairman/board to sell up and get out. I really think that needs to happen and fast. An independent audit conducted by Croke Park would soon sort out the bluffers. There would be no hiding places then. I keep hearing there's two sides to the story. Lets hear them so. I believe that's what Paul McGonigle was after, but as we all know he was unsuccessful in his bid for chairman.

I would strongly recommend again that you get to your next club meeting and make your opinion heard. It's the only way change can happen.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 20/03/2023 11:30:10    2465071

Replying To The keeper:  "The sad reality is that yesterday's game was men against boys. They looked physical stronger in all areas of the field, and worryingly looked a lot sharper in all areas of the field.
The reality is we have gone back to the pre mcguinness era where we got bullied by the top teams.
Them years we were always able to keep up with teams until a certain period of the game, but when things were wrong we folded. We were weak mentality wise and did not have a winning mentality.
I dont blame the player's, they are down themselves and no one enjoys getting bullied.
I dont blame the management, he is a proud Donegal man. However i feel he is out of his depth and should never have got the job.
At the moment the entire gaa community in Donegal is on a downer with the academy mess, the mess that was made of picking the management. Both the men and ladies getting relegated.
Its not helpful then that the mentality of our committee is to close doors and give no information to the media.
This is the time when so many in the Donegal gaa community are looking for answers to be completely open and transparent.
Otherwise i believe we will continue to free fall and that saddens me."
As I told you last year we're not good enough.. this is not being disrespectful it's fact. Sick listening to this great talented squad that bonner and rochford were holding back. I admire all players who put on our county jersey. Look at mayo how far ahead of us they are. We still had 10 of the starting team in the Ulster final last year playing.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 20/03/2023 11:41:07    2465085

Replying To rorysboys:  "Bring back bonner and rochford. Support poor again yesterday when we needed it most. Mayo have a fabulous support even with all the all irelands they lost."
We could have packed MacCumhaill Park to the rafters yesterday and told the Mayo supporters to watch the game in Jacksons and the Villa Rose and it wouldn't have made a difference. There are more fundamental issues to resolve than lack of numbers going through the gates. If we sort out the important bits the match attendances will look after themselves.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 20/03/2023 11:43:16    2465086

Replying To The keeper:  "The sad reality is that yesterday's game was men against boys. They looked physical stronger in all areas of the field, and worryingly looked a lot sharper in all areas of the field.
Otherwise i believe we will continue to free fall and that saddens me."
I fully agree. I didn't know the details of the fall out between Lacey/Academy and the County Board until the last week or so and was reluctant to take sides without having a clear picture. Yesterdays result is not directly linked to that mess, but it is clear that a massive overhaul of the County Executive is needed if we are to progress Donegal football.

As much as I am not a fan of Sean Cavanagh, he actually made a solid point last night, that we need key positions to be filled by people who understand and have experience in high performance and can build Donegal football accordingly.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 20/03/2023 11:49:16    2465090