Longford GAA thread

Badly needed win at the weekend regardless of performance. Great represention from the Killoe club.
Also good to see another Killoe man speaking out at congress.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 26/02/2024 18:55:33    2528453

Replying To botheyesclosed:  "Why is Paddy Collum sitting out the last couple of games, is it to do with the issue in the club with the committee not being finalised? I don't know anything about the issue, apart from what I heard in gossip in Waterford last week, and I wouldn't place much trust in the source of that gossip ;-)
I hope it doesn't affect any football activity in the club or county. Maybe Spinx could clear it up and quash or confirm the rumours, namely that the club are suspended from all football activity until this committee issue is resolved."
I'd imagine it's more to do with the fact we now have somebody to compete with him, time to give Hughes his chance looks fitter and has had to 3 steady games in a row after a very good season with county champions. Makes sense, same way their 7 players playing at the weekend did, hard to believe Liam Hughes only started last weekend for 1st time and Mimnagh same in league easily 2 of the best players on the pitch last Sunday and also through last year's championship.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 26/02/2024 22:36:38    2528512

Replying To Spinx:  "Why would we be suspended from all activity?!! If we were, we wouldn't be training away, playing challenge games and 2 of our lads on the county panel!!"
you were here years ago as a clonguish hurler, then a killoe man and now from drumlish. will you be slashers next?

drivetime (Longford) - Posts: 5 - 27/02/2024 12:03:42    2528588

Replying To drivetime:  "you were here years ago as a clonguish hurler, then a killoe man and now from drumlish. will you be slashers next?"
I wouldn't have called myself a hurler, but I did give it a go.
As we have no hurling club in Drumlish, we hurled with Clonguish Gaels.
You must not be that clued in to the hurling scene in Longford.....either that or you have only crawled out from your cave that you have been in the last 30 odd years!!
And, although I live on the border of Drumlish and Killoe, I wouldn't call myself a Killoe man!!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 27/02/2024 12:51:59    2528605

Replying To Spinx:  "I wouldn't have called myself a hurler, but I did give it a go.
As we have no hurling club in Drumlish, we hurled with Clonguish Gaels.
You must not be that clued in to the hurling scene in Longford.....either that or you have only crawled out from your cave that you have been in the last 30 odd years!!
And, although I live on the border of Drumlish and Killoe, I wouldn't call myself a Killoe man!!!"
"We had a few who played with the club called, Ricco, Juice and Emerson. One lad who played with another club and also played for the county was called Saddam!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1214 - 14/06/2015 09:40:00"

Only in a cave for 9 years :)

drivetime (Longford) - Posts: 5 - 27/02/2024 14:21:05    2528633

Replying To drivetime:  ""We had a few who played with the club called, Ricco, Juice and Emerson. One lad who played with another club and also played for the county was called Saddam!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1214 - 14/06/2015 09:40:00"

Only in a cave for 9 years :)"
Were you looking for these lads names?

Fergal Reilly (Ricko), Conor Heslin (Juice or Juicebox), JP Farley (Emerson for short or Emerson Fittipaldi) and Padraig Brady (Saddam).

Jaysus, the trouble you are going to is laughable lol

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 27/02/2024 15:01:19    2528650

Replying To Spinx:  "Were you looking for these lads names?

Fergal Reilly (Ricko), Conor Heslin (Juice or Juicebox), JP Farley (Emerson for short or Emerson Fittipaldi) and Padraig Brady (Saddam).

Jaysus, the trouble you are going to is laughable lol"
you say Padraig Brady is from another club. caught out typical clonguish s-stirrer on the pitch off it and online.

drivetime (Longford) - Posts: 5 - 27/02/2024 15:33:01    2528661

Replying To drivetime:  "you say Padraig Brady is from another club. caught out typical clonguish s-stirrer on the pitch off it and online."
Obviously a typo young lad. It was meant to say from our senior club!

But sure look, if it makes you feel better, you just go on thinking what you want to believe in your little head.

It will help you sleep at night as it is obvious you are not if you are delving through years of hoganstand posts just to find one glitch of a typo from me hahahaha

On your way now young lad as I will not be conversing with you again lol

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 27/02/2024 15:48:50    2528667

Spinx, have a look outside before pulling the curtains tonight, you will probably see Drivetime!

Anyway, back to footballing matters. Big game on Sunday. Do we have enough on this panel to beat Leitrim?

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 27/02/2024 17:28:23    2528692

Replying To Frank74:  "Spinx, have a look outside before pulling the curtains tonight, you will probably see Drivetime!

Anyway, back to footballing matters. Big game on Sunday. Do we have enough on this panel to beat Leitrim?"
He is safe Frank I wouldnt know where to go! one day he lives beside the 98 the next hes on the border with killoe and other days in newtown and killoe. big property man!!

drivetime (Longford) - Posts: 5 - 28/02/2024 09:37:07    2528771

Replying To Frank74:  "Spinx, have a look outside before pulling the curtains tonight, you will probably see Drivetime!

Anyway, back to footballing matters. Big game on Sunday. Do we have enough on this panel to beat Leitrim?"
It will be a tough ask.
After only beating Waterford by 3 points I would have said no.
But we had a big improvement against London which has swayed me back a bit.
I still think Leitrim are just a little bit better than what we have on our side at the moment.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 28/02/2024 11:21:58    2528786

Pointing out the obvious but a must win on Sunday. Nothing between the teams and hopefully home advantage will pull us tgrough.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 28/02/2024 17:16:46    2528832

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "Pointing out the obvious but a must win on Sunday. Nothing between the teams and hopefully home advantage will pull us tgrough."
Will your 7 men start again?

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 28/02/2024 23:17:05    2528864

Replying To #Putitup:  "Will your 7 men start again?"
it done no harm last weekend with all 7 putting in a shift but it was against London, if we didnt get a result in that game would of been one of our worse results in my life time! Progress has been made since the first 2 games and I feel this weekend will show us where this team is at, we have always had Leitrims number any time we have played them in the last 10 years!!

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 29/02/2024 08:43:03    2528884

Replying To Garmin:  "it done no harm last weekend with all 7 putting in a shift but it was against London, if we didnt get a result in that game would of been one of our worse results in my life time! Progress has been made since the first 2 games and I feel this weekend will show us where this team is at, we have always had Leitrims number any time we have played them in the last 10 years!!"
At half time it was shaping up to be probably the worst result ever but in fairness the second half was a different story. The 7 lads put in a mighty shift. Longford would be bottom of the pile without the Killoe club at present carrying the entire county. Credit where it is due, as a club they are miles ahead of everyone

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 29/02/2024 09:54:08    2528895

Good luck to the lads and ladies on Sunday against Leitrim - both must win games. Leitrim seem a bit ahead in both to be honest. Our lads might be able to rally with a bit of momentum. Hard to call.

Fair play to CB for publishing the ACFL structure & rules for 2024/25 on the county website (resources link). link. Includes each divisions format for both years including rules for promotion/relegation for both years. No sign of any rule relating to use of county players in Division 1 games so that previous restriction for first half of the league must now be gone. Likely they will publish the championship structures too at the same link. Good step to publish this stuff so credit where it's due.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 472 - 29/02/2024 10:51:40    2528904

Really looking forward to this weekend should be a close game nothing between us on paper

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 29/02/2024 11:15:05    2528908

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "At half time it was shaping up to be probably the worst result ever but in fairness the second half was a different story. The 7 lads put in a mighty shift. Longford would be bottom of the pile without the Killoe club at present carrying the entire county. Credit where it is due, as a club they are miles ahead of everyone"
Liosbreac6265 is there a little bit of sarcasm in that, I'd imagine most would say clonguish are in the strongest place as a club with serious talent coming through but i do think both clubs deservemassive credit for the players they are producing.. In fairness Killoe probably don't get the credit for what they have achieved since 2012 and their current batch definitely deserved to be in the team and did surely give the team alot more balance last week, but it was only London. Looking forward to the weekend, leitrim probably a season ahead of Longford as regards where they are as a team but I think we could turn them over and open up div 4 again.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 29/02/2024 21:24:12    2528984

Replying To #Putitup:  "Liosbreac6265 is there a little bit of sarcasm in that, I'd imagine most would say clonguish are in the strongest place as a club with serious talent coming through but i do think both clubs deservemassive credit for the players they are producing.. In fairness Killoe probably don't get the credit for what they have achieved since 2012 and their current batch definitely deserved to be in the team and did surely give the team alot more balance last week, but it was only London. Looking forward to the weekend, leitrim probably a season ahead of Longford as regards where they are as a team but I think we could turn them over and open up div 4 again."
No sarcasm. The facts speak for themselves, half the county team, the club is in the top 3 divisions, 6 championships won since 2012. On Clonguish, potential is just that until it delivers.

I think Longford will sneak past Leitrim.

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 01/03/2024 09:19:23    2529015

Replying To #Putitup:  "Will your 7 men start again?"
Yes I think they should start on Sunday. They did enough against London. I wouldn't worry too much about not getting credit from people here. It's only a couple of posters who go out of their way to show bad feeling towards the club. Spinx and Liosbreac should be proud with the work done in Clonguish at underage and are well set up to push on at senior.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 01/03/2024 20:46:55    2529137