Longford GAA thread

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Good luck to the lads and ladies on Sunday against Leitrim - both must win games. Leitrim seem a bit ahead in both to be honest. Our lads might be able to rally with a bit of momentum. Hard to call.

Fair play to CB for publishing the ACFL structure & rules for 2024/25 on the county website (resources link). link. Includes each divisions format for both years including rules for promotion/relegation for both years. No sign of any rule relating to use of county players in Division 1 games so that previous restriction for first half of the league must now be gone. Likely they will publish the championship structures too at the same link. Good step to publish this stuff so credit where it's due."
Stumbled across this, and the outline of the various leagues. Fair play to them. Question: I see for each division there's a cup for finishing top of each division, and then there's a second cup after the semifinals and final of each division. Which one is the more prestigious?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1032 - 02/03/2024 00:56:49    2529156

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "
Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Good luck to the lads and ladies on Sunday against Leitrim - both must win games. Leitrim seem a bit ahead in both to be honest. Our lads might be able to rally with a bit of momentum. Hard to call.

Fair play to CB for publishing the ACFL structure & rules for 2024/25 on the county website (resources link). link. Includes each divisions format for both years including rules for promotion/relegation for both years. No sign of any rule relating to use of county players in Division 1 games so that previous restriction for first half of the league must now be gone. Likely they will publish the championship structures too at the same link. Good step to publish this stuff so credit where it's due."
Stumbled across this, and the outline of the various leagues. Fair play to them. Question: I see for each division there's a cup for finishing top of each division, and then there's a second cup after the semifinals and final of each division. Which one is the more prestigious?"
The second cup you refer to is called the leader cup and when it comes to league is the one teams want to win. It's the oldest cup in the county, almost 90 years old!

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 02/03/2024 10:40:04    2529185

Are Forgney back operating as a club? I see your County account has Darren Finlass down representing Forgney. Great news if true.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 03/03/2024 00:22:40    2529342

Good win today. Very surprised with how bad Leitrim were. Have to keep it going now. Leitrim only beat London and Waterford, same as ourselves. They got a ghost penalty to beat Wexford. Carlow will be a tougher task I would suspect.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 03/03/2024 17:16:27    2529468

Replying To Spinx:  "Good win today. Very surprised with how bad Leitrim were. Have to keep it going now. Leitrim only beat London and Waterford, same as ourselves. They got a ghost penalty to beat Wexford. Carlow will be a tougher task I would suspect."
Unfortunately we have a bad habit of being unable to take our chances and make generally stupid mistakes like get sent off when we are most needed. Back to 2nd place but only on head to head and score difference, skin of teeth stuff, we most likely need all 4 points from the next 2 outings plus you and Carlow to fudge up. Could go any way but most likely yourselves or Carlow to go up with Laois

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 03/03/2024 18:30:57    2529503

Replying To gaelsboy:  "Unfortunately we have a bad habit of being unable to take our chances and make generally stupid mistakes like get sent off when we are most needed. Back to 2nd place but only on head to head and score difference, skin of teeth stuff, we most likely need all 4 points from the next 2 outings plus you and Carlow to fudge up. Could go any way but most likely yourselves or Carlow to go up with Laois"
I think Leitrim will go up with Laois, Leitrim has the two easiest games left, both Laois and Tipperary have nothing to play for where Longford has to play Wexford and Carlow who have all to play for.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 03/03/2024 19:02:13    2529517

Replying To gaelsboy:  "Unfortunately we have a bad habit of being unable to take our chances and make generally stupid mistakes like get sent off when we are most needed. Back to 2nd place but only on head to head and score difference, skin of teeth stuff, we most likely need all 4 points from the next 2 outings plus you and Carlow to fudge up. Could go any way but most likely yourselves or Carlow to go up with Laois"
Who was your player who got sent off? Was he the same lad who got a yellow in the first half for shoving Gallagher into the advertisement hoarding when he had a line ball? Very silly second yellow to get after winning a free to put his fist into the face of Hagan.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 03/03/2024 19:20:33    2529526

Replying To blueman1903:  "I think Leitrim will go up with Laois, Leitrim has the two easiest games left, both Laois and Tipperary have nothing to play for where Longford has to play Wexford and Carlow who have all to play for."
Hopefully Wexford will go up with Laois!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 03/03/2024 20:18:24    2529548

Replying To blueman1903:  "I think Leitrim will go up with Laois, Leitrim has the two easiest games left, both Laois and Tipperary have nothing to play for where Longford has to play Wexford and Carlow who have all to play for."
If that's the case, we don't deserve to. We won't go up anyhow... not a hope we'll beat Laois. Of all, Wexford probably deserve to go up but would like to see Longford do it.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/03/2024 20:26:36    2529552

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully Wexford will go up with Laois!"
The head to head with Leitrim will come against ye.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 03/03/2024 20:31:31    2529554

Replying To blueman1903:  "The head to head with Leitrim will come against ye."
Hopefully Leitrim don't win their last 2 and we do. In that case I think we are nearly certain to go up. We have to win our last 2 I feel. If Leitrim and Carlow also win their last 2 we have to better their scoring difference to go up, which we should do. If ourselves and Carlow are the only 2 counties to win their last 2 we have the head to head.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 04/03/2024 07:01:45    2529607

Lads, don't be losing any sleep over it until the 6th round of games are played. A lot of football left to be played and too many permutations to be going through. Let's just be quiet, get the next round of games out of the way and then talk about it. We could be beat Carlow. Carlow could beat us and if they do, then ye can take your chat back to the Wexford forum!!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 04/03/2024 07:58:30    2529611

Replying To Spinx:  "Lads, don't be losing any sleep over it until the 6th round of games are played. A lot of football left to be played and too many permutations to be going through. Let's just be quiet, get the next round of games out of the way and then talk about it. We could be beat Carlow. Carlow could beat us and if they do, then ye can take your chat back to the Wexford forum!!!"
True too

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11869 - 04/03/2024 09:29:55    2529622

Well done to the lads yesterday. Nice bit of momentum developing and good atmosphere in the park. You have to hand it to the Leitrim crowd, they travel in numbers. Two tough games ahead, can go either way, but it's good to be in the mix and in control of our destiny for a change.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 472 - 04/03/2024 11:03:24    2529654

Well done lads fully deserved win yesterday. Think your game in Wexford will be a winner takes all on the final day. Best of luck for the rest of the year.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 04/03/2024 13:49:28    2529725

It would be some achievement for Longford to get promotion this year after the poor start ye had and also the amount of players missing. Just on the players for you who are in the know, where are they all gone?

Darragh Doherty
Peter Lynn
Tadgh McNevin
Fergal Sheridan
Daire O'Brien
Oran Kenny
Aaron Farrell
Jack Mackin
Iarla O'Sullivan

That's a huge amount of lads for a small county like Longford to be missing and all senior club players if I'm not mistaken.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 05/03/2024 09:09:02    2529878

Replying To Oddball:  "It would be some achievement for Longford to get promotion this year after the poor start ye had and also the amount of players missing. Just on the players for you who are in the know, where are they all gone?

Darragh Doherty
Peter Lynn
Tadgh McNevin
Fergal Sheridan
Daire O'Brien
Oran Kenny
Aaron Farrell
Jack Mackin
Iarla O'Sullivan

That's a huge amount of lads for a small county like Longford to be missing and all senior club players if I'm not mistaken."
Also missing from panel last year:
Andrew Farrell
Robbie smyth
Pj masterson
James mcgivney
David mcgivney
Rian brady
Gary Rogers
Liam connerton
So when your missing roughly 14/15 of last years panel it's not bad going!

Gaa24689 (Longford) - Posts: 1 - 05/03/2024 18:24:52    2529983

Replying To Oddball:  "Are Forgney back operating as a club? I see your County account has Darren Finlass down representing Forgney. Great news if true."
No, Forgney are not back from the dead.
It's just our county media person playing the stupid games like they were for the hurling, by putting clubs in that don't exist!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 06/03/2024 08:25:19    2530026

Replying To Oddball:  "Are Forgney back operating as a club? I see your County account has Darren Finlass down representing Forgney. Great news if true."
My understanding is that they are still formally in existence but not active - there was talk about them fielding a junior team last year but it came to nothing. They were active enough, however, to ensure that they got a cut of JP's million.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 06/03/2024 16:05:15    2530098

How many adult clubs in longford in modern times have gone extinct or have had to amalgamate. Can only think of one in Leitrim St Osnits but they were a break away club from manorhamilton.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 06/03/2024 17:29:57    2530111