Longford GAA thread

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "How many adult clubs in longford in modern times have gone extinct or have had to amalgamate. Can only think of one in Leitrim St Osnits but they were a break away club from manorhamilton."
Shroid Slashers and Forgney are no longer active. Moydow Harpers amalgamated with St. Patrick's, Ardagh to become Ardagh/Moydow. We've gone from having 24 clubs down to 21 in the last 10 years or so.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 06/03/2024 19:10:52    2530122

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "How many adult clubs in longford in modern times have gone extinct or have had to amalgamate. Can only think of one in Leitrim St Osnits but they were a break away club from manorhamilton."
Moydow Harpers amalgamated with Ardagh to become Ardagh/Moydow.

Shroid Slashers have, as far as I know, gone out of existence altogether, although their pitch at Lissardowling (a mile or so on the Edgeworthstown side of Longford on the N4) is still used for training by county teams.

Both of those had the disadvantage of sharing a parish with other clubs and having no local national school to act as a feeder/base to attract underage players. Forgney does have a school and a parish to itself (at least on the Longford side) but it has a small population base (although hardly much smaller than Mullinalaghta).

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 06/03/2024 19:50:42    2530125

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "Moydow Harpers amalgamated with Ardagh to become Ardagh/Moydow.

Shroid Slashers have, as far as I know, gone out of existence altogether, although their pitch at Lissardowling (a mile or so on the Edgeworthstown side of Longford on the N4) is still used for training by county teams.

Both of those had the disadvantage of sharing a parish with other clubs and having no local national school to act as a feeder/base to attract underage players. Forgney does have a school and a parish to itself (at least on the Longford side) but it has a small population base (although hardly much smaller than Mullinalaghta)."
So you're telling me there's a chance.... Centre Parc Forgeny St Munis' 2040 Leinster Senior Club Champions

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 07/03/2024 10:56:44    2530172

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "Moydow Harpers amalgamated with Ardagh to become Ardagh/Moydow.

Both of those had the disadvantage of sharing a parish with other clubs and having no local national school to act as a feeder/base to attract underage players. Forgney does have a school and a parish to itself (at least on the Longford side) but it has a small population base (although hardly much smaller than Mullinalaghta)."
Always find it funny with Ardagh / Moydow that they went downhill to an extent, I remember about 10 years ago they were always strong at underage with a big squad and they looked to have a decent future ahead of them, couple of Farrells, Sullivans, Dennigans, Finnans, etc all playing ball for them and then those names just disappeared. Whether the boys just lost interest in ball / emigrated, etc, I don't know. A lot of them would have played schoolboy up to minor and done quite well, pity because it's a fine part of Longford.

BallWatching (Longford) - Posts: 1 - 07/03/2024 17:08:20    2530213

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "My understanding is that they are still formally in existence but not active - there was talk about them fielding a junior team last year but it came to nothing. They were active enough, however, to ensure that they got a cut of JP's million."
Did Forgney and Shroid get a cut of the McManus loot? If they did you would wonder what will happen the money, presuming they have no overheads or loans.
Can anyone here explain how three clubs got almost double what the rest of the clubs got in Longford.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 07/03/2024 19:16:22    2530223

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "Did Forgney and Shroid get a cut of the McManus loot? If they did you would wonder what will happen the money, presuming they have no overheads or loans.
Can anyone here explain how three clubs got almost double what the rest of the clubs got in Longford."
Who were the 3? I'm guessing Slashers, Clonguish and Mostrim? If it was then with them been the only 3 hurling clubs in the county and also men's and women's football teams then there lies your answer. If not those 3, then I would not be able to hazard a guess on it!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 07/03/2024 20:39:32    2530229

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "Did Forgney and Shroid get a cut of the McManus loot? If they did you would wonder what will happen the money, presuming they have no overheads or loans.
Can anyone here explain how three clubs got almost double what the rest of the clubs got in Longford."
Forgney did, Shroid didn't. Football and hurling teams were counted separately.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 07/03/2024 23:15:05    2530242

I see the team of the championship has been announced. Am I the only one who thinks the process is flawed and is just a popular player contest or population of parish based? There should be a 3 person committee from the Leader Sport section to go through the games and pick out a team. There are players on this team who did not have the best of seasons and players not on it who did!! It's just like the All Stars and if your team do not make a semi final forget about how well you might have played in the previous 5 to 6 games.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 08/03/2024 07:22:40    2530255

I thought that Team of the Year was pretty fair. Who else deserved to be in it? It looks to me like someone in the Leader does screen it unofficially, and for the better.

zzidane (Longford) - Posts: 20 - 08/03/2024 09:29:55    2530270

Replying To zzidane:  "I thought that Team of the Year was pretty fair. Who else deserved to be in it? It looks to me like someone in the Leader does screen it unofficially, and for the better."
I thought Paddy Fox and Conor Smith were 2 of the best defenders in the championship this year.
Oran Kenny surely should have been in the forward line.
I thought them lads would have made it instead of Mickey Quinn, Jack Duggan and possibly Darren Moffett.
Probably a toss up between Fox and Moffett, so maybe getting to the final helped Moffett in that instance.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 08/03/2024 09:57:22    2530274

A little bit of extra support to the three clubs actually doing something to promote the small ball is a good thing, but I'm not surprised that there is a hint of begrudgery here. No reason with the numbers you have, and other big clubs, that you could not be making some effort. Well done to the county board on acknowledging this.

On the team of the championship, I am still trying to figure out how Darran Quinn was left off it at half back. He was outstanding in the knock out stages and should have been man of the match in the final. Conor Smith was superb also. It's a popularity contest and people are allowed vote as many times as they like taking away from its credibility. Selling papers seems to be the priority

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 08/03/2024 10:29:20    2530278

Most of the counties are splitting it up between men's football, ladies football, hurling, camogie and handball, so a five way split.
Longford has done the same.
We have an underage handball club going the last year or two, but I'm not sure if underage comes into it.
You can't be giving out that some clubs got more than others if your club is not willing to try and promote more than one or two GAA sports!!
But the Forgney one is a headscratcher!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 08/03/2024 10:41:50    2530281

I agree Darren Quinn 100% should have been on it.
Darren Moffett was outstanding for Killoe v Mullinalachta and the knockout stages where the title was on the line so well worth his place.
I'm not convinced with your other suggestions. Aidan McElligott and Gavin Farrelly also had good championships

zzidane (Longford) - Posts: 20 - 08/03/2024 10:43:09    2530282

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "Forgney did, Shroid didn't. Football and hurling teams were counted separately."
I can't understand Forgney putting in a claim for a cut of the money at all. They're not competing and haven't got the usual costs clubs have like physios, manager or mileage. A lot of clubs work hard to raise funds to keep going.
Fair play to any club who continue to promote any or all of our GAA games. Should hurling and football teams be counted separately? They pride themselves on being 'dual clubs' but are separate when it suits.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 08/03/2024 13:17:00    2530309

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "I can't understand Forgney putting in a claim for a cut of the money at all. They're not competing and haven't got the usual costs clubs have like physios, manager or mileage. A lot of clubs work hard to raise funds to keep going.
Fair play to any club who continue to promote any or all of our GAA games. Should hurling and football teams be counted separately? They pride themselves on being 'dual clubs' but are separate when it suits."
Yes, they should be counted separately as we have a few lads from yourselves and Drumlish playing with us.
Slashers have Killashee and Ballinalee lads playing with them.
I'm sure Wolfe Tones have Granard and Abbeylara lads playing with them.
Most other counties have split it the same way as Longford.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 08/03/2024 13:55:44    2530317

Don't think anyone would begrudge hurling getting a separate cut. The letter from JP (i.e. the leaked Roscommon one which you can google) seemed clear on the split... "to be evenly divided and distributed amongst the GAA, Camogie and Ladies clubs". Handball & Rounders are sections of the GAA Club and in Longford the three clubs that play hurling are dual club, so that's all 1 GAA club. If CB decided to treat the hurling as separate, I don't think that's a bad thing. It's not like anyone else is going to be coming with bags of money for hurling in Longford anytime soon, and if those clubs are making that extra effort year-on-year then fair enough. Since we don't have Camogie clubs, and assuming the Forgney stuff above is true, that means the split would be 22 football and 3 hurling and 16 ladies clubs sharing the pot. That would mean clubs getting around €24k each (or €48k each for Clonguish, Slashers and Mostrim GAA clubs) and it would be up to each club to then decide how to flow it down to each section of their club (including handball & rounders). I don't know what any club got, so that is just a guess at the numbers.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 472 - 08/03/2024 14:37:55    2530325

Fair play to the CB for splitting it that way. The 18 or 19 other clubs are quite happy to sit on their hands and not do anything for hurling. But when it comes to a bit of extra money been handed our to the 3 clubs that work wonders to keep it going, these other clubs or should I say club's fans are kicking off about it!! (Exemption felrom above 18 or 19 clubs to Kenagh and Dromard who are developing underage hurling, it's great to see.)

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 08/03/2024 16:24:19    2530342

Replying To Frank74:  "Yes, they should be counted separately as we have a few lads from yourselves and Drumlish playing with us.
Slashers have Killashee and Ballinalee lads playing with them.
I'm sure Wolfe Tones have Granard and Abbeylara lads playing with them.
Most other counties have split it the same way as Longford."
I don't get your logic that hurling clubs are entitled to the money because they have lads from other parishes playing with them. Longfordgaaabu put it well in another post that it should be up to each GAA club to distribute their share as they see fit between gaelic, hurling, handball and rounders.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 08/03/2024 16:26:49    2530343

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "A little bit of extra support to the three clubs actually doing something to promote the small ball is a good thing, but I'm not surprised that there is a hint of begrudgery here. No reason with the numbers you have, and other big clubs, that you could not be making some effort. Well done to the county board on acknowledging this.

On the team of the championship, I am still trying to figure out how Darran Quinn was left off it at half back. He was outstanding in the knock out stages and should have been man of the match in the final. Conor Smith was superb also. It's a popularity contest and people are allowed vote as many times as they like taking away from its credibility. Selling papers seems to be the priority"
Rounders and handball are games that need promotion badly. I would argue they need it more than other GAA sports.
Or maybe they are the small ball games you are referring to? You're hardly one of those blinkered people who only sees hurling?

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 08/03/2024 16:34:15    2530345

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Don't think anyone would begrudge hurling getting a separate cut. The letter from JP (i.e. the leaked Roscommon one which you can google) seemed clear on the split... "to be evenly divided and distributed amongst the GAA, Camogie and Ladies clubs". Handball & Rounders are sections of the GAA Club and in Longford the three clubs that play hurling are dual club, so that's all 1 GAA club. If CB decided to treat the hurling as separate, I don't think that's a bad thing. It's not like anyone else is going to be coming with bags of money for hurling in Longford anytime soon, and if those clubs are making that extra effort year-on-year then fair enough. Since we don't have Camogie clubs, and assuming the Forgney stuff above is true, that means the split would be 22 football and 3 hurling and 16 ladies clubs sharing the pot. That would mean clubs getting around €24k each (or €48k each for Clonguish, Slashers and Mostrim GAA clubs) and it would be up to each club to then decide how to flow it down to each section of their club (including handball & rounders). I don't know what any club got, so that is just a guess at the numbers."
22 football (including Forgney), 3 hurling, and 15 ladies' clubs, leaving €25,000 per cheque.

TurnipAyter (Longford) - Posts: 148 - 08/03/2024 17:16:44    2530354