Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To juande_ramos:  "Could not disagree more.

In 2019 we beat Wicklow in the qualifiers and drew Clare the week after who comfortably dispatched of us. 2018 we beat Louth and our reward for that was a draw V Monaghan. Now i can only speak from my own experience but beating Wicklow and Louth was great however i knew and expected both Clare and Monaghan to dispatch of us relatively easily as we were well off the pace of those two sides so i would not say i had much of a buzz going into those games. Beating Wicklow and Louth was great and gave us another day out but in reality it was a stay of execution. This is different as we are operating at our level.

The Tailteann Cup win at the weekend was great and i haven't felt a buzz for a championship like i have had this week in a long time going into a Leitrim game. I am glad the panel has stayed together and we are taking this competition seriously."
Weren't Clare a division above Leitrim at that stage, so similar to the structure of this particular partition cup now? What benefit would this be in this particular cup if the same thing happened?

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 09:58:39    2421726

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Leitrim supporters had a huge buzz when reaching the Div 4 final a few years ago. Brought many thousands to Croke Park will be interesting too see will the same buzz and thousands travel to Croke Park for a semi final of this competition ."
Say for sake of argument the semi final pairings are Leitrim v Offaly and Cavan v Westmeath. I'd say you'd barely scrap 15,000 at that...in a stadium of 82,000 capacity. There will be more buzz from seagulls flying around it.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 10:05:52    2421731

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Say for sake of argument the semi final pairings are Leitrim v Offaly and Cavan v Westmeath. I'd say you'd barely scrap 15,000 at that...in a stadium of 82,000 capacity. There will be more buzz from seagulls flying around it."
Moan whinge negativity.
Go for a walk and stop polluting this thread.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 02/06/2022 10:22:20    2421738

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "How will Leitrim or any of the teams in this particular partition cup develop if they are constantly playing teams at the same level as them?"
The levels are too vast to catch teams on a one-off day in the Connacht Championship. In this century, we have only reached the final once. The bigger teams get more games every season, so therefore develop even more than us. Look at our success in 1994. It was backed up by an All-Ireland B win in 1990 and by a Connacht U-21 victory in 1991, as well as playing at a high grade in the leagues. Winning, at any level, even if you dismiss it as a level as ours, brings momentum. There are so many examples in so many sports but let's just take Derry. Winning a Division 4 League title in 2019 against us. Within 3 years, they're up to Division 2 (3rd this year) and that momentum also brought them an Ulster title. We need the Tailteann Cup to play games at our level and get momentum by winning.

LeitrimLover94 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 02/06/2022 10:47:20    2421745

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Moan whinge negativity.
Go for a walk and stop polluting this thread."
How is being realistic being negative?

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 11:56:24    2421762

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Say for sake of argument the semi final pairings are Leitrim v Offaly and Cavan v Westmeath. I'd say you'd barely scrap 15,000 at that...in a stadium of 82,000 capacity. There will be more buzz from seagulls flying around it."
these counties dont have the population of Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc.. yet they will still bring a huge support despite this and that is realistic, sure why not play it in a public park pitch if that is the respect you think these footballers deserve? you know where you can go with yourself, small wonder some young lads wont commit to county when the likes of you belittle them

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 457 - 02/06/2022 12:14:50    2421771

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Moan whinge negativity.
Go for a walk and stop polluting this thread."
To be fair hes giving his or her opinions which everyone is entitled to do. Assume this poster is from leitrim and probably does not want to be lectured from people in other counties which I can understand especially when that county isn't really at the top table either.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 02/06/2022 12:26:42    2421772

Replying To gaelsboy:  "these counties dont have the population of Dublin, Kerry, Mayo etc.. yet they will still bring a huge support despite this and that is realistic, sure why not play it in a public park pitch if that is the respect you think these footballers deserve? you know where you can go with yourself, small wonder some young lads wont commit to county when the likes of you belittle them"
I don't think you're getting my point. The head honchos in Croke Park and sunday game analysts etc reckon that the biggest achievement for players from div 3 and 4 is to play in Croke Park, even if it is practically empty. Is that really the goal of a lad who starts training in Dec/Jan? Is that not belittling players from lower divisions? Arra isn't it good enough for them to be playing in Croke Park, that is the height of their careers, why would they need to be competing in the qualifiers like they always did before this? etc etc.

If a competition is meaningful does it matter where on earth it was played, wouldn't 6 or 7,000 in Pearse Park for a final between Leitrim and Cavan or the same amount in Portlaoise for an Offaly Westmeath final be just as good or even better than a cavernous Croke Park that has the same amount in it. It should be all about the trophy and not where it is played. But this is the carrot that is being flung at div 3 and 4 players, and a lot of that Leitrim team has played in Croke Park, and Cavan, Westmeath and Offaly too, so what is the big deal in playing in it anymore? If New York managed to win then there might be some novelty in it maybe.

There was 31,500 at the national league div 1 and 2 finals this year, which came from four counties with a combined population of 600,000 btw. Less than half full for the second most important competition in football, even with two games.

I'm not sure where I can go with myself, can you tell me?

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 13:30:59    2421785

We've played once in Croke Park since 2006 and I don't think we've ever won a game there. Course it's a big deal to potentially be playing a semi final there. Do you think any of the players who played in the lower hurling finals recently cared that there wasn't 82k there? It's a lot better then taking hammering from the likes of Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 02/06/2022 14:33:52    2421796

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "We've played once in Croke Park since 2006 and I don't think we've ever won a game there. Course it's a big deal to potentially be playing a semi final there. Do you think any of the players who played in the lower hurling finals recently cared that there wasn't 82k there? It's a lot better then taking hammering from the likes of Mayo or Armagh in the qualifiers."
Well we will hopefully see how big a deal it is if we can beat Sligo.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 16:18:25    2421826

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "How will Leitrim or any of the teams in this particular partition cup develop if they are constantly playing teams at the same level as them?"
Leitrim beat Antrim who are a division above them. If they beat Sligo then they will probably again be playing a team in a higher division and the same should they reach the final. This competition is for players. They would like to play in Croke Park. They would like the game on T.V. They would like the recognition of an All Star Award plus the banquet. It's them that put in the hard yards all year. Supporters just roll up and can have drinks before, during and after games and then dissect the performance, take out their phone go on this forum and slate everything and everyone. There are a lot of great genuine supporters that engage in good banter but for a small county you have more than your share of begrudgers, who constantly find angles to find fault with basically everything

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 02/06/2022 17:28:40    2421841

Replying To eoinog:  "Leitrim beat Antrim who are a division above them. If they beat Sligo then they will probably again be playing a team in a higher division and the same should they reach the final. This competition is for players. They would like to play in Croke Park. They would like the game on T.V. They would like the recognition of an All Star Award plus the banquet. It's them that put in the hard yards all year. Supporters just roll up and can have drinks before, during and after games and then dissect the performance, take out their phone go on this forum and slate everything and everyone. There are a lot of great genuine supporters that engage in good banter but for a small county you have more than your share of begrudgers, who constantly find angles to find fault with basically everything"
Well said.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 02/06/2022 18:41:37    2421849

Replying To eoinog:  "Leitrim beat Antrim who are a division above them. If they beat Sligo then they will probably again be playing a team in a higher division and the same should they reach the final. This competition is for players. They would like to play in Croke Park. They would like the game on T.V. They would like the recognition of an All Star Award plus the banquet. It's them that put in the hard yards all year. Supporters just roll up and can have drinks before, during and after games and then dissect the performance, take out their phone go on this forum and slate everything and everyone. There are a lot of great genuine supporters that engage in good banter but for a small county you have more than your share of begrudgers, who constantly find angles to find fault with basically everything"
True in everything you say .What future was there in playing in a backdoor competition where ultimately you will get hammered .

However you raise an interesting question about many of the contributions on the Leitrim Forum. Negativity and begrudgery appears to be the norm.

Thankfully these on line warriors are not typical Leitrim supporters .In fact we have the most loyal supporters in the country who year in ,year out put their hands in their pockets to fund raise.

This is why I seldom view the Leitrim Forum any more.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 02/06/2022 19:48:03    2421862

I certainly don't criticise the team, I think they are a credit the time and devotion they put into it, so not sure are you addressing me with that snipe. This just to clarify is a forum where differing views will be heard, and this is a thread which involves Leitrim. I am sure there are no dissenting voices on the Sligo thread. You mention about playing in Croke Park, being on tv, banquets, all stars etc...but you don't mention anything about winning the actual competition in question, that is telling.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 02/06/2022 20:01:53    2421865

Replying To howdareu:  "To be fair hes giving his or her opinions which everyone is entitled to do. Assume this poster is from leitrim and probably does not want to be lectured from people in other counties which I can understand especially when that county isn't really at the top table either."
Out of interest did your last account kentuckytucky get banned?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 02/06/2022 20:48:26    2421870

15,000 is by no means an insignificant amount. However yes, there would be no atmosphere if that number were to be in Croke Park. However this is the first year of the Tailteann Cup so it should get the bigging up it deserves. Croker for the semis and final and then we'll see what happens and take it from there in 2023. Maybe give every first time semifinalist a shot at Croker, I dunno.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 02/06/2022 21:34:56    2421874

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "15,000 is by no means an insignificant amount. However yes, there would be no atmosphere if that number were to be in Croke Park. However this is the first year of the Tailteann Cup so it should get the bigging up it deserves. Croker for the semis and final and then we'll see what happens and take it from there in 2023. Maybe give every first time semifinalist a shot at Croker, I dunno."
Oh well it would be a great crowd at a provincial ground for sure.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 03/06/2022 09:47:31    2421895

Winning internet victories on a forum is more important to some lads than seeing their county making a bit of progress.Having been at all but 2 of our games this year I think the senior team are making great progress.Lads demanding we get promoted straight away from a league containing provincial champions from 2 years ago are away with the fairies.This must be the first year ever that nobody has walked away after the usual hiding we get in Connacht,that tells a lot.Coach Moran is building a squad of players that can be called upon at any time.We beat London and lads weren't happy,we put in a good shift in the first half against Galway and that wasn't enough,we were supposed to be well bet by Antrim but we bet them well and lads weren't happy.We have a derby game against Sligo in a 50/50 on Sunday with a semi final in Croke Park the week after for the winner and lads aren't happy.Lads giving out that we should be talking about winning this cup,well let's see if we get to the final and then we'll talk about it.Im sure Coach Moran and the lads have talked about it.I think we'll reap the rewards of this management team for years to come.Leitrim by 2 on Sunday.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 03/06/2022 09:49:36    2421897

Replying To joeman123:  "True in everything you say .What future was there in playing in a backdoor competition where ultimately you will get hammered .

However you raise an interesting question about many of the contributions on the Leitrim Forum. Negativity and begrudgery appears to be the norm.

Thankfully these on line warriors are not typical Leitrim supporters .In fact we have the most loyal supporters in the country who year in ,year out put their hands in their pockets to fund raise.

This is why I seldom view the Leitrim Forum any more."
Isn't it the case that the winners of this particular partition cup get into the senior partition cup the following year, so the question is what is the point of that either if winning this comp means a hammering for the next year? I don't know why the excellent fund raising done in the county would make you stop looking at the forum?

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 03/06/2022 09:50:36    2421898

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Out of interest did your last account kentuckytucky get banned?"
I never had an account of that name my friend. I think you are mistaken for someone else. I have said absolutely nothing on this forum remotely untrue or controversial and a sly dig and slight like that is uncalled for. Show some respect to other posters.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 03/06/2022 10:01:54    2421902