Leitrim GAA thread

Leitrim are 7/4 with bookies yet a lot of posters here expect Leitrim to win fairly comfortably. I think a Leitrim win tomorrow would be a fantastic result. I don't understand why expectations are so high. We have an excellent bunch of forwards but unfortunately don't have the class in our defensive unit as things stand. Why do people have such high expectations of this management team in its first year in charge?

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 27/05/2022 12:11:06    2420469

Team is out! KB back in to start. Ryan O'Rourke not named he has a strain but I expect him to be involved on Saturday. Apparently Jack Heslin will also be starting.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 27/05/2022 14:27:28    2420498

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Was anyone else at the Div 1 Reserve league final last weekend. A really poor game. Ino both teams were missing there county lads and after all its just a glorified preseason competition. But seriously would've thought the standards would be higher. Ballinamore the better team. Mohill came back into the game before half time with two fortuitous goals but Ballinamores class pulled them through in the second half. Ballinamore young keeper Blessed looks a serious talent for the future the young man only has been playing the game 2-3 years so might not have the ball skills yet but by god does he have some kickout."
yeah the Spring league is a fair damp squid, id say a lot of players waiting for league proper to start/ college to end before going back to football. no medals were given out last year, wonder is it the same this year, if so you can see why players uninterested

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 464 - 27/05/2022 16:13:12    2420517

https://www.leitrimgaa.ie/2022/05/tailteann-cup-round-1-leitrim-v-antrim-team-announcement/
Casey out too.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 27/05/2022 16:33:40    2420520

I didn't think Ryan could be involved on Saturday once he's not in the named 26

I would expect Antrim to beat us unfortunately if they bring a full squad

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 27/05/2022 17:47:35    2420525

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Team is out! KB back in to start. Ryan O'Rourke not named he has a strain but I expect him to be involved on Saturday. Apparently Jack Heslin will also be starting."
A Leitrim team strong enough to win this game by a point or two.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3358 - 27/05/2022 17:54:24    2420526

Great win for Leitrim. Well done lads

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11245 - 28/05/2022 15:34:34    2420615

Well done lads that's a great win for us. Hopefully gives us the confidence to push on for the rest of this competition and for the league next year.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 28/05/2022 15:56:03    2420620

Mighty win fair play,

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 98 - 28/05/2022 16:00:10    2420622

Well done Leitrim. Hope you give this competition a good rattle and get a big boost for the League. Finally, I hope a big crowd turne up for it.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 651 - 28/05/2022 16:48:30    2420628

Congratulations! Great win keep it up lads!

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 28/05/2022 16:50:05    2420630

Well done Leitrim, great win. Would love to see ye be in the mix to win this competition.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 803 - 28/05/2022 16:59:09    2420632

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Well done Leitrim, great win. Would love to see ye be in the mix to win this competition."
Thats a great relief to all leitrim people to know that. Thanks.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 28/05/2022 18:12:48    2420654

Replying To howdareu:  "Thats a great relief to all leitrim people to know that. Thanks."
Must wear you down to have such a negative attitude.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 803 - 28/05/2022 18:31:57    2420657

I called it during the week, take chances and set up right and we would win. Def could have scored more and conceded less in 2nd half, but if we beat that shower by 15 or 20 it may have elavated a few egos and we may have learned nothing when there are still things to work on. Looking forward to Mondays draw

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 464 - 28/05/2022 19:17:14    2420671

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Must wear you down to have such a negative attitude."
Not negative at all. What makes you say that?

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 28/05/2022 20:05:57    2420684

I wasn't at the game. What was the attendance like.

I hear there was 3000 in Breffni yesterday.

Great win yesterday.
Fantastic rebound from the match with the Tribesmen.

Antrim finished 4th in Div 3.

Won by 8 V Longford,

Won by 9 V Fermanagh

Won by 6 V Wicklow

Drew with Laiois.

Again was there many in Pairc Sean yesterday.

Hope we don't Cavan.
Fermanagh or Sligo in Carrick would be ideal.

Again how many roughly were in Pairc Sean years at
I

leitrimforsam (Leitrim) - Posts: 85 - 29/05/2022 10:07:46    2420716

Replying To howdareu:  "Not negative at all. What makes you say that?"
I thought you were ratty too.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 29/05/2022 10:21:52    2420720

Replying To Backheel:  "I thought you were ratty too."
Oh not a bit ratty. We won with a very good performance without one of our best forwards. That makes me happy not ratty.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 29/05/2022 10:25:43    2420721

I was at the game yesterday I'd hazard a geuss at around 1500 spectators. I'd expect that to double for the next regardless the game is with it only been an hour away max let it be a home or away game. Leitrim were full value for the win. If we could avoid Cavan we have a chance of getting to Croke park. Cavan are the best team in it. Every extra game and week this group together is a bonus for the bigger picture of national league next season.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 29/05/2022 12:23:26    2420740