Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To masseyferguson:  "Winning internet victories on a forum is more important to some lads than seeing their county making a bit of progress.Having been at all but 2 of our games this year I think the senior team are making great progress.Lads demanding we get promoted straight away from a league containing provincial champions from 2 years ago are away with the fairies.This must be the first year ever that nobody has walked away after the usual hiding we get in Connacht,that tells a lot.Coach Moran is building a squad of players that can be called upon at any time.We beat London and lads weren't happy,we put in a good shift in the first half against Galway and that wasn't enough,we were supposed to be well bet by Antrim but we bet them well and lads weren't happy.We have a derby game against Sligo in a 50/50 on Sunday with a semi final in Croke Park the week after for the winner and lads aren't happy.Lads giving out that we should be talking about winning this cup,well let's see if we get to the final and then we'll talk about it.Im sure Coach Moran and the lads have talked about it.I think we'll reap the rewards of this management team for years to come.Leitrim by 2 on Sunday."
Excellent post, covers everything. Incidentally the crowd for the All Ireland Club final was less than 20k this year and I think was about 17 last year and 15 the year before. Imagine the uproar if the GAA decided to hold it in a smaller ground. Ever player wants to play in Croke Park and if it means playing with the seagulls they will bring bread

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1648 - 03/06/2022 10:19:35    2421910

Replying To masseyferguson:  "Winning internet victories on a forum is more important to some lads than seeing their county making a bit of progress.Having been at all but 2 of our games this year I think the senior team are making great progress.Lads demanding we get promoted straight away from a league containing provincial champions from 2 years ago are away with the fairies.This must be the first year ever that nobody has walked away after the usual hiding we get in Connacht,that tells a lot.Coach Moran is building a squad of players that can be called upon at any time.We beat London and lads weren't happy,we put in a good shift in the first half against Galway and that wasn't enough,we were supposed to be well bet by Antrim but we bet them well and lads weren't happy.We have a derby game against Sligo in a 50/50 on Sunday with a semi final in Croke Park the week after for the winner and lads aren't happy.Lads giving out that we should be talking about winning this cup,well let's see if we get to the final and then we'll talk about it.Im sure Coach Moran and the lads have talked about it.I think we'll reap the rewards of this management team for years to come.Leitrim by 2 on Sunday."
You are missing the point. That poster talked about banquets and being on television, this isn't the oscars, it is about winning a trophy, that was my point. And it was forgotten about. Why wait until the final to talk about whether we can win it or not, Cavan were talking about winning it from an early stage. That's ambition. And our lads on their showing against Antrim are capable of winning it, so why not mention it now? I bet Sligo folk reckon they can win it too. Again I say this is a forum where everyone won't agree, there wouldn't be much craic in it if everyone did. Just strange posters from other counties coming in here and criticising Leitrim people for making their observations, about their own set up.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 03/06/2022 10:31:11    2421916

Replying To eoinog:  "Excellent post, covers everything. Incidentally the crowd for the All Ireland Club final was less than 20k this year and I think was about 17 last year and 15 the year before. Imagine the uproar if the GAA decided to hold it in a smaller ground. Ever player wants to play in Croke Park and if it means playing with the seagulls they will bring bread"
Would you reckon Roscommon cared that they won the 2006 minor All Ireland in Ennis for example? Not a yard, because they won the trophy!

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 03/06/2022 10:35:01    2421917

I can see both points of view on this to be honest. I think playing in Croke Park is probably an aim for young lads in all counties. It is the pinnacle, similar to playing in Aviva for League of Ireland players or Wembley for English clubs etc.

However I do think that the trophy is the most importnat thing- if not are we to say that Derry really cared where their final was last Sunday or the Munster hurling champions next weekend? They did not or will not once they win the cup.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 03/06/2022 11:01:25    2421925

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Would you reckon Roscommon cared that they won the 2006 minor All Ireland in Ennis for example? Not a yard, because they won the trophy!"
They'd have been fairly p****d off if the first match had not been in Croke Park that's for sure.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 03/06/2022 11:24:25    2421936

Replying To masseyferguson:  "They'd have been fairly p****d off if the first match had not been in Croke Park that's for sure."
We weren't too happy having to go to Kerrys doorstep either .
U20 Finals should be in Croker too.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1392 - 03/06/2022 12:36:40    2421960

exactly, if we do win this competition then it will mean so much more than a hammering in qualifiers and we will have earned the right to compete there rather than thrown in to the wolves. When teams like Tipp and Cavan can win provincials and get to AI quarters/semis, then it is not out of reach for us but time is needed for this to happen, and avoiding hammerings in the qualifiers is a stepping stone until we can compete at that level.
Don't even know why people are complaining about bringin it to Croker, sure as stated above it is not every young lads dream? They might rather win an AI but for a lot of counties, that just wont happen

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 456 - 03/06/2022 13:10:47    2421979

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We weren't too happy having to go to Kerrys doorstep either .
U20 Finals should be in Croker too."
I agree under 20 should be in Croker yes.

However ye hardly were sent to Kerry's doorstep in 2006- it is approx an hour and a half from Roscommon to Ennis- much more from certain parts of Kerry- eg Dingle it is 2 hours and 45 minutes and nearly three hours from South Kerry to Ennis.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 03/06/2022 13:15:12    2421981

Replying To howdareu:  "I never had an account of that name my friend. I think you are mistaken for someone else. I have said absolutely nothing on this forum remotely untrue or controversial and a sly dig and slight like that is uncalled for. Show some respect to other posters."
Sly dig? I was curious to what happened to your last account, you must be suffering from short term memory loss so we'll leave it there.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3336 - 03/06/2022 13:54:16    2422001

Replying To masseyferguson:  "They'd have been fairly p****d off if the first match had not been in Croke Park that's for sure."
The first match the majority of Croke Park tickets would have gone to senior finalists, sponsors etc and didn't the Rossies bring 20k to Ennis?

Not sure how much interest the supporters will have but Live on TV in Croke Park is a big occasion for the Leitrim players and are one win away from that now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/06/2022 14:03:19    2422005

Replying To gaelsboy:  "exactly, if we do win this competition then it will mean so much more than a hammering in qualifiers and we will have earned the right to compete there rather than thrown in to the wolves. When teams like Tipp and Cavan can win provincials and get to AI quarters/semis, then it is not out of reach for us but time is needed for this to happen, and avoiding hammerings in the qualifiers is a stepping stone until we can compete at that level.
Don't even know why people are complaining about bringin it to Croker, sure as stated above it is not every young lads dream? They might rather win an AI but for a lot of counties, that just wont happen"
The official attendance at the Leitrim v Derry Div 4 Final was 31,000, the majority support from Leitrim as Derry didn't travel. If we win in Sunday the opposition will come from the Southern section so the combined attendance could be higher than our last visit. Can't understand why this debate is taking place among posters who obviously don't do their research but express silly opinions. Of course our players want to get to Croke Park.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 130 - 03/06/2022 14:35:30    2422012

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Sly dig? I was curious to what happened to your last account, you must be suffering from short term memory loss so we'll leave it there."
Yes it was a sly dig. I have never had an accident that name which is a stupid one BTW. Seeing as you accuse people of having more than one account it begs the question how many have you got yourself??

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 03/06/2022 15:11:56    2422019

Is there any word on what our team is looking like for this weekend? Any injuries to be worried about and so forth.

weatherfieldgael (UK) - Posts: 60 - 03/06/2022 15:42:47    2422028

Replying To weatherfieldgael:  "Is there any word on what our team is looking like for this weekend? Any injuries to be worried about and so forth."
Yea team has been named. Ryan O'Rourke is back in 26, fergal mctague making away.. As for starting 15, wouldn't read to much into it as there will be changes.

1. Brendan Flynn

2. Paddy Maguire

3. Mark Diffley

4. Conor Reynolds

5. Shane Quinn

6. David Bruen

7. James Rooney

8. Pearce Dolan

9. Donal Wrynn

10. Cillian McGloin

11. Keith Beirne

12. Mark Plunkett

13. Domhnaill Flynn

14. Tom Prior

15. Riordan O Rourke

16. Nevin O Donnell

17. Emlyn Mulligan

18. Darragh Rooney

19. Jack Heslin

20. Dean McGovern

21. Evan Sweeney

22. Jordan Reynolds

23. Shane Moran

24. Conor Farrell

25. Ryan O Rourke

26. Aaron Hoare

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 03/06/2022 16:15:18    2422035

e

3. Mark Diffley

4. Conor Reynolds

5. Shane Quinn

6. David Bruen

7. James Rooney

8. Pearce Dolan

9. Donal Wrynn

10. Cillian McGloin

11. Keith Beirne

12. Mark Plunkett

13. Domhnaill Flynn

14. Tom Prior

15. Riordan O Rourke

16. Nevin O Donnell

17. Emlyn Mulligan

18. Darragh Rooney

19. Jack Heslin

20. Dean McGovern

21. Evan Sweeney

22. Jordan Reynolds

23. Shane Moran

24. Conor Farrell

25. Ryan O Rourke

26. Aaron Hoare

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 03/06/2022 16:48:33    2422039

Replying To howdareu:  "I agree under 20 should be in Croker yes.

However ye hardly were sent to Kerry's doorstep in 2006- it is approx an hour and a half from Roscommon to Ennis- much more from certain parts of Kerry- eg Dingle it is 2 hours and 45 minutes and nearly three hours from South Kerry to Ennis."
Apologies to the Leitrims for interfering but...
2006 there was no fancy Motorway from Tuam and an awful lot of us live well Nirth if Ros Town.
Anyway best wishes to Sligo and Leitrim, May the best team win and hope ye get a good crowd out.
Might even attend meself!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1392 - 03/06/2022 17:55:55    2422045

Replying To howdareu:  "Yes it was a sly dig. I have never had an accident that name which is a stupid one BTW. Seeing as you accuse people of having more than one account it begs the question how many have you got yourself??"
One and for the best part of 10 years one is all that is needed to post on here, So you felt that last name was stupid and have gone with howdareu now? thank for clearing that up.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3336 - 03/06/2022 22:01:08    2422064

I see we have another fella with low expectations of Leitrim... making excuses and so forth. Bottom line is we should have been promoted... Hyland didn't have much bother doing it with practically the same team. There's too much money and time are being spent for anything else. The hard work was put in against Tipperary and we obviously slipped up badly against London, a game we should have won. Anyhow there will be no excuses next year. Nothing less will do for 'Coach Moran'. Tomorrow will hopefully be another step forward towards that goal.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/06/2022 09:50:03    2422069

Replying To Square_B:  "I see we have another fella with low expectations of Leitrim... making excuses and so forth. Bottom line is we should have been promoted... Hyland didn't have much bother doing it with practically the same team. There's too much money and time are being spent for anything else. The hard work was put in against Tipperary and we obviously slipped up badly against London, a game we should have won. Anyhow there will be no excuses next year. Nothing less will do for 'Coach Moran'. Tomorrow will hopefully be another step forward towards that goal."
No doubt you'll be delighted if they lose.You can come on and gloat away.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 04/06/2022 11:26:46    2422086

Replying To masseyferguson:  "No doubt you'll be delighted if they lose.You can come on and gloat away."
What are you scuttering about. Another buck with low expectations because its 'Leitrim'. At this rate we'll need a coach to work on the fans as well...

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 04/06/2022 12:21:11    2422102