I would imagine that Galway will put out much same team next day out one poster suggestion that might move Sean Kelly to half forward crazy suggestion he full back and will remain there in my opinion heard McLaughlin is out inj long term , if he was fit he definitely be on panel and pushing hard for starting ,, Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 26/04/2022 12:09:17 2413298 Link 0 |
The majority of their support don't rate us, it's a mix between delusion and despair I think. But it's fine, what do we care? We will go about our own business and leave them to it. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1732 - 26/04/2022 12:16:28 2413304 Link 0 |
That's what we like to hear and long may it continue! I think Pat Spillane stated also that if they want to reach an AI final there is a 50% chance they will have to beat Dublin and Kerry on the way so fair play to them if they can do that!
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 26/04/2022 12:42:56 2413311 Link 1 |
Don't think there's any S&C issue this year. Last year, yes. I think there was a few hospital passes given but when you attack fast you will always drop a few. Ponderous play can look like secure possession but it gets u nowhere in long term. Issue for me is kick outs. We need to mix it up better. That will keep opposition guessing. Opportunity for improvement ........ positive spin only this week!! Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 26/04/2022 12:50:05 2413314 Link 0 |
McLaughlin doesn't seem to have much luck with injuries. Seems like he's always out with something. Hopefully just growing pains and they clear up for him as Galway will need him in midfield over the next decade. Not like Conroy is getting any younger unfortunately .
Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2408 - 26/04/2022 14:09:51 2413342 Link 0 |
I heard it, deluded is the word that came into my head. Called a 22 year old rookie corner back average and couldn't get his club right. Wants Keegan unleashed out the field even though the he couldn't get a hand near Comer for the goal, couldn't catch Molloy when he was through on goal and couldn't get out in front of Patrick Kelly at any stage second half. Also stated Galway have 3 players even though Sean Kelly has been our best player for 2 years smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 547 - 26/04/2022 14:50:31 2413360 Link 1 |
@gbay no need to go to Carrick, Galway v Leitrim will be played in Pearse Stadium. Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 26/04/2022 14:58:37 2413362 Link 0 |
I am referring to ball being knocked out of Galway players' possession particularly in the first half when it happened to a few players - it even happened to Sean Kelly who is now considered one of Galway's main leaders and best players. Perhaps its learning to protect possession better or moving it on to a better placed player quicker.
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 26/04/2022 15:37:01 2413374 Link 0 |
even better., although there would be prob a bigger crowd in carrick.. either way looking forward to it.. gbay (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 26/04/2022 15:42:34 2413379 Link 0 |
I had the same thoughts. Just incredible ignorance and idiocy all round It's amazing how little knowledge some of the Mayo fans have. Majority struggle to name any Galway players past Comer, Walsh and Conroy. This is despite them styling themselves as superfans who go to every Mayo game (and yet cusriously no club games). Big difference between being a football fan and an event junkie bandwagoner PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 306 - 26/04/2022 15:58:41 2413384 Link 3 |
just heard it myself.. easy connacht title for roscommon in salthill if they man mark conroy.,comer and walsh!!!! we only have 3 good players as the rest arent up to scratch!!! interesting hearing no league games in mayo until they play again..very strange., while fitzgerald and costello played for there clubs over the weekend.. is it possible for galway to meet mayo again in the championship or qualifiers or would both teams need to reach the all ireland final..anyone no.!! is peter cooke home from abroad.? gbay (Galway) - Posts: 277 - 26/04/2022 16:31:46 2413393 Link 0 |
If Galway had only "3 players" what does that say about the "15 player" Mayo team losing to a team a fifth of their size? Where do these people come from? lol
tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 26/04/2022 17:20:11 2413410 Link 2 |
Had to stop listening after his comment about Keegan needing to be "unleashed" up the field. Where did they get him from? The man hasn't a clue.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1732 - 26/04/2022 18:28:27 2413430 Link 2 |
. Enjoy the win lads but it's never a great sign to be quoting Pat - unless you believe, as he seems to, that Roscommon are certain to win Connacht in which case it is a 50% chance that Mayo will have to beat Kerry and Dublin to reach the final. If Galway win Connacht its actually a 67% chance. While HS is an open forum and anyone can post whatever they wish I'd hope the standard is higher here than what we get from the RTE punditry circus. And yet given all that, the bookies have Mayo (with their many issues) at a shorter price than Galway to lift Sam. They must be delusional too! Perhaps we will get to see Mayo V Galway in Rd 2 of the qualifiers or the SF and the argument can be resolved. The season isn't over yet. timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 26/04/2022 19:07:02 2413441 Link 1 |
ye only play one sport Gaelic football and still Galway who play hurling as well beat ye sad to say mayo fans becoming a laughing stock
gboy (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 26/04/2022 21:18:21 2413466 Link 0 |
The reason the bookies mayo are a tad shorter in the betting (aside from the fact that they lay a large amount to over excited mayo fans each and every year), is that the qualifiers doesn't change the percentage chance of making a QF a huge amount. Mayo's first round could/will be as easy as Louth, limerick, Cork or Meath. Their second round will likely be one of Kildare, Clare, Ulster runner up and possibly Roscommon. Mayo are favourites for all of those ties, and to a large extent in some. If Galway lose to Roscommon in the final they'll actually have a harder run if anything, a 2 weeks turnaround from a loss to play someone like Armagh, Derry, Monaghan etc. In round 2, it's easier to be a round 1 qualifier than a beaten provincial finalist this year Nobody thinks it's delusional that Mayo could go far, or further than Galway. What's delusional is stating as if it's 100% fact that they'll beat Galway by up to 10 points next time PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 306 - 26/04/2022 21:54:21 2413471 Link 2 |
Really good informed post. Makes a lot of sense.
anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 1002 - 27/04/2022 10:27:11 2413524 Link 1 |
Galway fans don't rate Mayo either. Be seen plenty of commentary over the years that is was poor management and s&c as the only reason Mayo were beating Galway and/or getting further in the championship. As it stands now Galway are ahead of us in the pecking order. IF mayo can get the injuries cleared up we may go on a a run but I wouldn't be optimistic about our chances at all. Last year was another great chance squandered. As for Galway, if ye can tighten up and stop letting teams back into games then ye will win Connacht but the rossies will rightly be confident. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11705 - 27/04/2022 13:00:11 2413593 Link 1 |
We must not confuse the ordinary Mayo or Galway supporter with online posters. I would always rate Mayo as very good footballers as would my Mayo friends rate the Galway lads.
baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 27/04/2022 14:03:27 2413624 Link 0 |
In fairness, most people in Galway are well aware of how good Mayo have been over the past decade. A consistently top 2 or 3 team for most of that time. That doesn't mean we don't believe we can beat Mayo on any given day, but anyone with a bit of common sense knows Mayo have been well ahead of us for most of the last 10 years. I don't expect Mayo supporters to rate us or people from other counties either. We haven't done enough to earn that yet. Likewise, with them knowing how good or bad some of our players may be. To put it this way, I know that Shane Walsh is a better player than the majority who have won all-stars over the past 7 years. He hasn't won any though because we haven't been at the business end as a team. It's up to us to show how good we can be and do it on the bigger stages. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2460 - 27/04/2022 14:06:13 2413627 Link 0 |