Galway Football thread

Galway best team today and should have won by more. However if they were to meet again Croke Park later in year I suspect Mayo would win with more players back from injuries and others back to match fitness.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 489 - 24/04/2022 19:37:42    2412846

Well done Galway on welll deserved win in MacHale Park.

Won thanks to the game plan and work rate of the players making it happen. Joyce and his management to their credit had their home work done.

I see the usual sour grapes from Willie Joe himself on the Mayo Blog refusing to give Galway much credit. He was too cocky about winning and will have to suck it up now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 24/04/2022 19:39:06    2412847

Delighted I got it wrong about Galway hopefully we can push on now

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1098 - 24/04/2022 20:00:05    2412857

Sweet! A job well done by the lads, PJ, Con, Scan and all the backroom team. That was always going to be a massive battle to get over the line. Well, well worth the trip. These boys deserve following - so roll on Leitrim and then, most likely, the Rossies. These lads might just give us a long hot summer on the road. Believe!!! Up Galway.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1091 - 24/04/2022 20:08:49    2412860

Great result. Well deserved. Forwards very efficient on first half scraps although we dominated more in the 2nd half. Should have won by more in fairness in trying to game manage a lead like that even if Mayo have been a top tier team for a long period now. Hope some will lay off PJ and give credit where credit is deserved. The level of negativity can be tiring. Black card inconsistency very frustrating. If O'Laoi was to go as he did how come the ref did not apply consistency. From my view in the stand two of our players were milled in the 2nd half and only a yellow card was issued on one instance. Anyhow will take today after the lows since 2018.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1992 - 24/04/2022 20:19:36    2412865

FPlease someone what's Black card and what's the difference olaos black card was for rolling over C OC and later CzoC pulled down a galwayman ina rugby tackle and gets a yellow

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 24/04/2022 20:21:08    2412868

Congrats to PJ and all involved on a super win, esp the players. Mayo have confirmed they remain a top notch outfit. Hopefully this win will bring more confidence to the team. This was a full tilt championship with both teams wanting to win big time, unlike the 2 league finals.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1291 - 24/04/2022 20:21:52    2412869

The amount of selfless running off the ball today was unreal, I haven't seen before but I respect lads doing this sort of stuff as it forced Mayo to turn back. If they check the vests tomorrow, not far from top of the charts will be.
1. O'Laoi
2. Tierney.
3. McHugh

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 547 - 24/04/2022 20:33:51    2412877

You can't beat the character of Sean and Paul Kelly having their grandmother pass away last night and then to pull on the maroon jersey today. Two savage lads.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 24/04/2022 20:39:12    2412881

Great tigerish performance. Turnovers, blocks etc. Massive work rate.

We won our fair share of long kick outs but the lack of a ko strategy will catch us. We seemed to give up in the short kick out very early and our movement stopped.

Congrats to all involved. Far from perfect but a step in the right direction. Certainly no issue with our conditioning today.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1928 - 24/04/2022 21:02:44    2412888

Great win for the team and management. What will all the doom and gloom merchants say now?

We have won every league game we needed to and now beaten Mayo.

No chance Roscommon beat us a 3rd time in a row. Absolutely none and then we have a tough quarter against a qualifier.

PJ will remember the fancy dans getting carried away in 98 so will keep a lid on the hype.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 25/04/2022 07:10:31    2412911

I enjoyed that, a few pints last night, going for a walk on the prom, breakfast out with the papers and then a bit of light entertainment, reading the Mayo blog, Willie Joe will be putting lads in timeout and giving them detention.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 864 - 25/04/2022 09:38:14    2412944

Replying To lowballplease:  "Great win for the team and management. What will all the doom and gloom merchants say now?

No chance Roscommon beat us a 3rd time in a row. Absolutely none and then we have a tough quarter against a qualifier.

PJ will remember the fancy dans getting carried away in 98 so will keep a lid on the hype."
There is a chance Roscommon will beat us. I think we will beat them based on the improvement but let's not write off Roscommon. Galway should never write off Roscommon.

Lads worked hard yesterday but there's plenty of room for improvement. Mayo did get through our defense on occasion and they did not have the forwards to finish the job Roscommon did.

Overall obviously a great day yesterday. Great to see the lads working their ***** off. We should've won by more and letting Mayo back like that shouldn't have happened. A few frees coughed up too.

Thought Mcdaid made an immediate impact. Conroy was superb again my motm. Great to see Comer back and in form. Brings a serious physical presence. Shane's frees really kept the spirit up at times when the team needed it. Heaneys goal so calmly taken.

Conroys post match interview sums it up.A happy man but not getting carried away he will enjoy the day but that's it. Beating Mayo know won't matter in a few weeks if we can't continue winning.

Well done team and management. I travelled in hope yesterday and they gave me a great day out

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 25/04/2022 10:11:29    2412959

Replying To Yondu:  "Well done Galway on welll deserved win in MacHale Park.

Won thanks to the game plan and work rate of the players making it happen. Joyce and his management to their credit had their home work done.

I see the usual sour grapes from Willie Joe himself on the Mayo Blog refusing to give Galway much credit. He was too cocky about winning and will have to suck it up now."
Is that the same character as in The Sawdoctors' lyric "Will Galway beat Mayo? Not if they have Willie Joe" fame? lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 25/04/2022 10:33:55    2412973

Replying To lowballplease:  "Great win for the team and management. What will all the doom and gloom merchants say now?

PJ will remember the fancy dans getting carried away in 98 so will keep a lid on the hype."
It was a good performance but not a great performance as Dunphy would say. A lot of kick-outs lost with no strategy and allowing Mayo to kick 5 points in 8 mins is not good. You can't say we would beat Roscommon on that display as Roscommon have more firepower than Mayo and are more direct. Anyway one step at a time and prepare for the Leitrim game with the respect that it should be given.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 25/04/2022 10:45:39    2412980

I think that you might be getting a bit carried away.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 776 - 25/04/2022 11:02:11    2412992

Replying To GDL:  "I enjoyed that, a few pints last night, going for a walk on the prom, breakfast out with the papers and then a bit of light entertainment, reading the Mayo blog, Willie Joe will be putting lads in timeout and giving them detention."
John Gunnigan showing severe signs of sour grapes yesterday evening immediately knocking Galway and writing off any chances going forward.
I myself was wrong and am happy to say well done Lads

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 25/04/2022 11:31:19    2413004

Replying To Belclare:  "John Gunnigan showing severe signs of sour grapes yesterday evening immediately knocking Galway and writing off any chances going forward.
I myself was wrong and am happy to say well done Lads"
A mature post from Belclare. First time for everything.

BLT (Galway) - Posts: 53 - 25/04/2022 11:46:56    2413019

Well done yesterday. Fully deserved win.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1300 - 25/04/2022 11:52:29    2413027

What a great day out yesterday. You can't beat the craic between both sets of supporters, definitely the best derby in the country at the moment. Atmosphere and build up was brilliant, huge crowd up there.

As mentioned already it was a good performance but not a great one, but any day you beat Mayo in their back yard is a big win. Hopefully now we'll drive on and beat the Rossies, wont be easy. The only thing I'm worried about now is kickouts - Gleeson hoofed everything as far as he could.

I watched the highlights this morning and the black card was a joke, COC ran across Finnian and dived. He cleaned someone in the 2nd half and should have got a black himself.

Fair play to the Kellys, wasn't easy showing up after the passing of their granny. MOTM for me was Conroy, what a man!

tribesman123 (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 25/04/2022 12:13:06    2413040